Being in love in Luxembourg      

Finding love is not always easy, but is it more difficult in a multilingual and multicultural country such as Luxembourg? It is true that starting love with someone from another culture can be complicated but, in the Grand-Duchy, there can be an extra layer of complexity you might not have experienced in your home country.   

The Grand-Duchy is a unique place in that many people you meet on a day-to-day basis through work won’t actually live in the country. More than 180,000 people - almost half of the working population - commute into Luxembourg for work from Belgium, Germany and France[1]. With such a transient population, dating can be a bit hit and miss. In addition, many people in the Grand-Duchy do not have time to really look for love and build a relationship due to a busy professional and personal schedule. And, last but not least, there is the language barrier. If you speak only English and not one of the three national languages (Luxembourgish, French or German), finding love – especially local love - may be more problematic than expected. 

Where to go to start dating? 

The best solution is to go to Luxembourg City. English is the lingua franca in the capital city where the majority of the residents (71%) is made of non-Luxembourgish people from 167 different nationalities. This is why there are plenty of places in the town where you can easily socialise in the language of Shakespeare: popular bars such as Konrad Café & Bar, Scott’s Pub, Café des Tramways, The Tube Bar, O’Bar, Rocas or Hitch; upmarket bars such as Octans and cultural cafés such as Café des Capucins or Café des Artistes. And the list is not exhaustive.

And don’t think that city residents are buttoned-up people. It is a myth. If you are looking for after-work entertainment, there are a lot of lively bars for cocktail hour or aperitif. The most vibrant are those clustered along rue du Marché-aux-Herbes and the neighbouring streets, including Le Palais, Go Ten or Urban, where crowds spill onto the street with beer bottles and cocktail glasses in hand during the summer. There are also places to head late in the evening. The trendiest area is “Les Rives de Clausen”, located in the old site of the Mousel brewery and renowned for its nightlife. Aside from the partying scene, Luxembourg City has a large number of wine bars and an impressive line-up of exclusive restaurants with different styles of cuisine from around the world. 

Online dating and singles agencies

You can also try to find the love supreme by using dating and matchmaking websites or applications like Tinder, Badoo or AdopteUnMec (only in French). Sometimes it works or… not. If you want to connect with like-minded expatriates in Luxembourg, you can sign up for online expat communities such as Expatica Dating[1] or InterNations Luxembourg[2]. InterNations Luxembourg organises monthly events and activities for Luxembourg expatriates and newcomers.

Perhaps you are reluctant to use dating sites and prefer to communicate immediately face to face and avoid any possibility to hide your personality behind a screen. In this case, singles agencies are your last option. The most important ones are Love4You, a social club for singles[3], and Luxdates, an introduction agency for educated and sophisticated singles in Luxembourg and Greater Region[4]. They propose a quality service based on your needs but they are not really cheap.       

Whatever your dating strategy is, don’t forget that Luxembourg is a small country and that the number of bars and restaurants where you can go is limited compared to big cities like Berlin, London or Paris. In other words, the chances to bump into someone you had dated are big. It means that if you do a have a negative experience in Luxembourg, avoiding that person in the future will be almost impossible unless one of you moves away. So learn to be emotionally mature and deal with the fact that the only way of forgetting someone is mentally letting go. And don’t take it too seriously. Really, don’t. To paraphrase Oscar Wilde, love is much too important to be taken seriously.

[1] 186,706 cross-border workers as at the fourth quarter of 2017: 45,117 from Belgium, 44,875 from Germany and 96,714 from France (sources: Statec).  

[2] www.luxembourgdating.expatica.com

[3] http://www.internations.org/luxembourg-expats

[4] love4you.lu

[5] luxdates.lu

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Liebe in Luxemburg      

Die Liebe zu finden ist nicht immer leicht. Aber ist sie in einem mehrsprachigen, multikulturellen Land wie Luxemburg noch schwerer zu finden? Es ist wahr, dass eine Liebesbeziehung zu jemandem aus einer anderen Kultur kompliziert sein kann, aber hierzulande kommt noch eine zusätzliche Dimension hinzu, die Sie aus Ihrem Heimatland möglicherweise nicht kennen.   

Das Großherzogtum ist ein einzigartiger Ort. Viele der Menschen, die Ihnen im Arbeitsalltag begegnen, leben gar nicht im Land. Mehr als 180.000 Menschen –fast die Hälfte aller Beschäftigten, pendeln aus Belgien, Deutschland und Frankreich nach Luxemburg zur Arbeit[1]. In einer so mobilen Gesellschaft wird Dating zum Glücksspiel. Viele Menschen im Großherzogtum haben außerdem gar keine Zeit, um sich mit der Partnersuche zu beschäftigen und eine Beziehung aufzubauen, weil sie bereits alle Hände voll mit Karriere und Privatleben zu tun haben. Und nicht zuletzt ist da auch noch die Sprachbarriere. Wenn Sie nur Englisch und keine der drei Nationalsprachen (Luxemburgisch, Französisch oder Deutsch) sprechen, kann sich die Suche nach der Liebe – besonders zu Einheimischen – als schwieriger erweisen, als gedacht. 

Wo kann man jemanden kennenlernen? 

Am besten in der Stadt Luxemburg. Englisch ist Verkehrssprache in der Hauptstadt, wo die Mehrheit der Einwohner (71 %) keine Luxemburger sondern Menschen mit 167 verschiedenen Nationalitäten sind. Daher gibt es in der Stadt viele Orte, wo Sie in der Sprache Shakespeares Kontakte knüpfen können: beliebte Kneipen wie Konrad Café & Bar, Scott’s Pub, das Café des Tramways, The Tube Bar, O’Bar, Rocas oder Hitch, Szenebars wie das Octans und Kulturcafés wie das Café des Capucins oder das Café des Artistes. Und das sind noch längst nicht alle. 

Glauben Sie auch nicht, dass die Einwohner der Stadt ein zugeknöpftes Völkchen sind. Das ist ein Gerücht. Wenn Sie nach der Arbeit etwas Unterhaltung suchen, können Sie in zahlreichen lebhaften Bars einen Cocktail oder Aperitif trinken gehen. Am meisten los ist in der rue du Marché-aux-Herbes und ihren Nachbarstraßen, z. B. im Le Palais, Go Ten oder Urban, wo im Sommer auch viele Menschen mit Bierflaschen und Cocktailgläsern in der Hand die Straßen bevölkern. Es gibt aber auch Orte, an denen auch zu fortgeschrittener Stunde noch etwas los ist. Die angesagteste Gegend heißt „Les Rives de Clausen“ auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Mousel-Brauerei. Sie ist bekannt für ihr Nachtleben. Neben der Partyszene bietet die Stadt Luxemburg zahlreiche Weinstuben sowie ein beeindruckendes Angebot an exklusiven Restaurants mit verschiedenen kulinarischen Stilrichtungen aus aller Welt. 

Online-Dating und Partnervermittlungen

YSie können auch versuchen, Ihre große Liebe über Kontakt-Websites oder Apps wie Tinder, Badoo oder AdopteUnMec (nur auf Französisch) zu finden. Manchmal funktioniert es … manchmal aber auch nicht. Wenn Sie Kontakt zu gleichgesinnten Expats in Luxemburg suchen, können Sie sich bei Expat-Online-Communitys wie Expatica Dating[1] oder InterNations Luxembourg[2] anmelden. InterNations Luxembourg organisiert jeden Monat Veranstaltungen und Aktivitäten für Expats und Neuankömmlinge in Luxemburg.

Möglicherweise möchten Sie aber auch keine Dating-Websites nutzen und lieber direkt von Angesicht zu Angesicht kommunizieren, weil Sie befürchten, dass Ihre Persönlichkeit per Computer nicht zur Geltung kommt. In diesem Fall bleibt Ihnen noch die Möglichkeit, eine Partnervermittlung zu nutzen. Die wichtigsten sind Love4You, ein geselliger Club für Singles[3], und Luxdates, eine Kontaktvermittlungsagentur für gebildete, niveauvolle Singles in Luxemburg und der Großregion[4]. Sie bieten einen hochwertigen Service an, der sich an Ihren Bedürfnissen orientiert, aber sie sind nicht gerade billig.      

Egal, wie Ihre Dating-Strategie aussieht, vergessen Sie nicht, dass Luxemburg ein kleines Land ist und Ihnen verglichen mit Großstädten wie Berlin, London oder Paris nur eine kleine Zahl von Kneipen und Restaurants zur Verfügung stehen. Mit anderen Worten: Die Chance, dass Sie einem früheren Date wieder über den Weg laufen, ist hoch. Das bedeutet, dass es fast unmöglich sein dürfte, jemandem, mit dem Sie schlechte Erfahrungen gemacht haben, künftig aus dem Weg zu gehen, es sei denn, einer von Ihnen zieht weg. Werden Sie also erwachsen und gewöhnen Sie sich daran, dass Sie jemanden nur dann vergessen können, wenn Sie innerlich loslassen. Nehmen Sie es nicht zu ernst. Wirklich! Frei nach Oscar Wilde: Die Liebe ist viel zu wichtig, um sie ernst zu nehmen.

[1] 186.706 Grenzgänger mit Stand vom vierten Quartal 2017: 45.117 aus Belgien, 44.875 aus Deutschland und 96.714 aus Frankreich (Quelle: Statec).  

[2] www.luxembourgdating.expatica.com

[3] http://www.internations.org/luxembourg-expats

[4] love4you.lu

[5] luxdates.lu

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten

  • Einwanderung war für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Großherzogtums schon immer von entscheidender Bedeutung und an diesem Trend wird sich auch nichts ändern. 1961 hatte Luxemburg 314.900 Einwohner, 13.2 % davon Ausländer.

  • Es ist jedes Jahr das Gleiche. Die Sommerferien haben begonnen und Sie wissen nicht, wie Sie Ihre Kinder beschäftigen sollen. Was ist das Beste für Ihre Kinder und ist es nicht schon zu spät, Aktivitäten für sie zu planen?

  • Es ist Sommer. Das kann für Familien in aller Welt eine tolle Zeit sein. Wenn die Kinder nicht zur Schule müssen, rücken schnell der jährliche Sommerurlaub und das angesagteste Reiseziel in den Blickpunkt. Wenn man im Ausland lebt, ändert sich das Urlaubskonzept jedoch. Oft steht man vor einem Dilemma und der Urlaub wird alles andere als erholsam!