Biking in Luxembourg

Now that the spring is close, why no riding a bike? It is one of the easiest transport solutions. For distances under 6 km, bicycles are more efficient than cars. And for longer distances, combining biking with public transport is the best alternative to driving. But what is the state of cycling in the Grand Duchy? What are the resources put in place to make bicycles easier to use?  

Compared to cities at the head of the pack in Europe such as Amsterdam or Copenhagen, Luxembourg City is not so far behind. Local authorities have adopted a policy in favour of soft mobility and bicycles now play an important role in the daily lives of Luxembourg residents. Today, more than a million of bicycles are counted per year at the 13 checkpoints located on the streets of the capital.

The situation of Luxembourg City is not an exception. With more than 280,000 bicycles used in 2017, the whole country is bike-friendly. According to the Eco-Counter Worldwide Cycling Index 2018, the Grand Duchy is the first country with Italy which has the best progression of bicycle traffic between 2016 and 2017 (+10%). More than 600 km of cycle paths – 139 in Luxembourg City - are currently available on the national territory and this number should increase to 900 km in the next five years. 

You don’t even need a bike, you can rent it

There are several self-service bicycle companies in Luxembourg. The rental system is very simple: you borrow a bicycle for a fee and you re-deposit it at another station. The main cities of the country are equipped with self-service bicycles on the principle of bike-sharing.

In Luxembourg City, the vel’Oh! self-service rental bike system is a real success story. Available 24/7 at a super cheap price – you can rent a bike for 2 € for one day and 18 € for an annual subscription (the first half hours are free) -, the system has an increasing number of subscribers (7,819 in 2018) and 86 rental stations located in the town and the surrounding communes (Bertrange, Hesperange and Strassen). Since the end of the year 2018, the vel’Oh! stations are gradually equipped with electric bicycles. These new electrically-assisted bikes called pedelecs – 600 out of a total of 850 - have an autonomy of 30 to 40 km and help you to accelerate up to a maximum of 25 km per hour. Luxembourg is the second city in Europe, after Stockholm, to introduce such bikes.  

Similarly, the association “Vélo en Ville” located in the Grund allows you to rent bikes and tandems for the whole family. You can have 20% discounts on bike rental prices per day, weekend or week for groups from 4 people, children and young people under 26 years old. 

Combine biking with bus and train

In the Grand Duchy, bikes are carried on buses and trains free of charge. You are allowed to take your bicycle on any bus adequately equipped and on any national CFL train provided that you load and unload your bike yourself. Moreover, you can leave your bike at the station in a dry and secure place by using an mBox. You can find these secure parking boxes near 32 stations in the country. To get access to an mBox, you have to order it in the mShop and charge it on your mKaart – if you have one – at one of the numerous Pick Up stations.

Don’t forget the rules!

As a cyclist, you have to follow a certain number of rules. First of all, you have to ride on bicycle paths. There are three types of paths especially designed for cyclists: separated bike path, mandatory bike lane on the road and mandatory path for cyclists and pedestrians. You are allowed to ride in pedestrian zones if there is a special sign. Usually it is also marked when you can ride there: permanently, during or excluding certain hours. In certain cases, if there is a special sign, you can ride on unidirectional streets in both directions. If nothing is marked on the road, you have to ride on the very right side of the road. The following things are forbidden: riding on pavement, touching other cyclists while riding, releasing the steering bar with two hands simultaneously and riding more than two cyclists in one line.

By contrast, there is no specific parking rules for bicycles. You can park everywhere as long as your bike doesn’t hamper with other vehicles and pedestrians to pass. In the cities, and Luxembourg City in particular, there are plenty of bicycle racks. It is better to live your bike there but you are not obliged to use them. The helmet is not included into the list of the compulsory equipment but it is highly recommended to wear it.

So, what do you wait to ride a bike? Biking is good your wallet, your health, your quality of life and the environment. The only thing you risk is having a bike addiction. The more you cycle, the less you will want to return to other forms of transport.

03/19

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Radfahren in Luxemburg

Der Frühling steht vor der Tür. Warum also nicht aufs Fahrrad umsteigen? Es ist eines der einfachsten Transportmittel. Auf Strecken unter 6 km sind Fahrräder effizienter als Autos. Bei längeren Strecken ist eine Kombination aus Fahrrad und öffentlichem Nahverkehr die ideale Alternative zum Auto. Aber wie sieht es im Großherzogtum mit dem Radfahren aus? Welche Ressourcen stehen zur Verfügung, um es den Radfahrern einfacher zu machen?  

Die Stadt Luxemburg bleibt nicht weit hinter den europäischen Vorreitern wie Amsterdam oder Kopenhagen zurück. Die lokalen Behörden haben sich die Förderung der sanften Mobilität zum Ziel gesetzt und das Fahrrad spielt mittlerweile eine wichtige Rolle im Alltag der Luxemburger. Heute werden an den 13 Checkpoints auf den Straßen der Hauptstadt jährlich über eine Million Fahrräder gezählt.

Die Situation in der Stadt Luxemburg ist keine Ausnahme. 2017 waren mehr als 280.000 Fahrräder im Einsatz. Damit ist das ganze Land fahrradfreundlich. Laut Eco-Counter Worldwide Cycling Index 2018 ist das Großherzogtum zusammen mit Italien das Land, das zwischen 2016 und 2017 die größten Fortschritte beim Fahrradverkehr erzielt hat (+10 %). Zurzeit stehen auf dem Staatsgebiet über 600 km Radwege – 139 in der Stadt Luxemburg – zur Verfügung. Diese Zahl soll in den kommenden fünf Jahren auf 900 km steigen.

Sie brauchen nicht einmal ein Fahrrad, Sie können es mieten!

Es gibt mehrere Self-Service-Fahrradanbieter in Luxemburg. Das Mietsystem ist ganz einfach: Sie leihen sich gegen Gebühr ein Fahrrad aus und geben es an einer anderen Station zurück. Die wichtigsten Städte des Landes sind mit Self-Service-Fahrrädern nach dem Bike-Sharing-Prinzip ausgestattet.

In der Stadt Luxemburg ist das Self-Service-Fahrradverleihsystem vel’Oh! ein voller Erfolg. Die Fahrräder sind rund um die Uhr zu einem äußerst günstigen Preis verfügbar – Sie können bereits für 2 € für einen Tag oder für 18 € für ein Jahresabonnement Fahrräder mieten (die erste halbe Stunde ist kostenlos). Das System verzeichnet steigende Abonnentenzahlen (2018 waren es 7.819) und verfügt über 86 Leihstationen in der Stadt und den umliegenden Gemeinden (Bartringen, Hesperingen und Strassen). Seit Ende 2018 werden die Stationen von vel’Oh! nach und nach mit E-Bikes ausgestattet. Diese neuen Fahrräder mit elektronischem Hilfsmotor bzw. „Pedelecs“ – 600 von insgesamt 850 – haben eine Reichweite von 30 bis 40 km. Mit ihrer Hilfe können Sie auf bis zu 25 km pro Stunde beschleunigen. Luxemburg ist nach Stockholm die zweite Stadt in Europa, die diese Fahrräder einführt.

In ähnlicher Weise können Sie über den Verein „Vélo en Ville“ im Stadtteil Grund Fahrräder und Tandems für die ganze Familie mieten. Gruppen ab 4 Personen, Kinder und junge Leute bis 26 Jahre erhalten 20 % Rabatt auf die Fahrradmieten für einen Tag, ein Wochenende oder eine Woche.

Fahrrad mit Bus und Bahn kombinieren

Fahrräder dürfen im Großherzogtum in Bussen und Bahnen kostenlos mitgenommen werden. Sie können Ihr Fahrrad in jeden entsprechend ausgestatteten Bus und jeden nationalen CFL-Zug mitnehmen, sofern Sie Ihr Rad selbst ein- und ausladen. Außerdem können Sie Ihr Fahrrad mit der mBox trocken und sicher am Bahnhof abstellen. Sie finden diese sicheren Parkboxen in der Nähe von 32 Bahnhöfen im Land. Wenn Sie eine mBox nutzen möchten, müssen Sie sie im mShop bestellen und mit Ihrer mKaart – sofern vorhanden – an einer der zahlreichen Abholstationen bezahlen.

Halten Sie sich an die Regeln!

Als Fahrradfahrer müssen Sie bestimmte Regeln befolgen. Zunächst einmal müssen Sie auf den Fahrradwegen fahren. Es gibt drei Arten von speziell für Radfahrer konzipierten Wegen: gesonderte Fahrradwege, vorgeschriebene Fahrradspuren auf der Straße und vorgeschriebene Wege für Fahrradfahrer und Fußgänger. In Fußgängerzonen dürfen Sie fahren, wenn ein entsprechendes Verkehrsschild vorhanden ist. Normalerweise ist auch angegeben, wann Sie dort fahren dürfen: immer oder während bzw. außerhalb von bestimmten Zeiten. In einigen Fällen, wenn ein entsprechendes Schild vorhanden ist, dürfen Sie Einbahnstraßen in beide Richtungen befahren. Wenn keine Fahrbahnmarkierungen vorhanden sind, müssen Sie ganz rechts auf der Straße fahren. Folgendes ist untersagt: Fahren auf dem Bürgersteig, andere Radfahrer während der Fahrt berühren, den Lenker mit beiden Händen gleichzeitig loslassen und zu zweit in derselben Spur fahren.

Spezielle Parkvorschriften gibt es hingegen für Fahrräder nicht. Sie dürfen Ihr Fahrrad überall abstellen, solange es keine anderen Fahrzeuge oder Fußgänger behindert. In den Städten, vor allem in der Stadt Luxemburg, gibt es viele Fahrradständer. Es ist besser, wenn Sie Ihr Fahrrad dort abstellen, aber Sie sind nicht dazu verpflichtet. Eine Helmpflicht besteht nicht, aber es wird nachdrücklich empfohlen, einen Helm zu tragen.

Also, worauf warten Sie noch? Fahrradfahren ist gut für Ihren Geldbeutel, Ihre Gesundheit, Ihre Lebensqualität und die Umwelt. Die einzige Gefahr ist das Suchtpotenzial. Je mehr Sie Fahrrad fahren, desto weniger gern möchten Sie wieder auf andere Transportmittel umsteigen. 

03/19

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten

  • Einwanderung war für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Großherzogtums schon immer von entscheidender Bedeutung und an diesem Trend wird sich auch nichts ändern. 1961 hatte Luxemburg 314.900 Einwohner, 13.2 % davon Ausländer.

  • Es ist jedes Jahr das Gleiche. Die Sommerferien haben begonnen und Sie wissen nicht, wie Sie Ihre Kinder beschäftigen sollen. Was ist das Beste für Ihre Kinder und ist es nicht schon zu spät, Aktivitäten für sie zu planen?

  • Es ist Sommer. Das kann für Familien in aller Welt eine tolle Zeit sein. Wenn die Kinder nicht zur Schule müssen, rücken schnell der jährliche Sommerurlaub und das angesagteste Reiseziel in den Blickpunkt. Wenn man im Ausland lebt, ändert sich das Urlaubskonzept jedoch. Oft steht man vor einem Dilemma und der Urlaub wird alles andere als erholsam!