Bringing pets to Luxembourg, is it difficult?

The answer is no. The process to move to Luxembourg with your pet is relatively smooth. If your pet is a dog, a cat or a ferret, there will be no quarantine imposed as long as the following requirements are met. 

Step 1: Pet microchip 

The first step is to have your pet microchipped with an ISO 11784/11785 compliant 15-digit pet microchip. ISO standard 11784 defines the structure of the microchip information content and standard 11785 determines the protocol for scanner-microchip information. The standards include the assignment of a 15-digit numeric identification code to each microchip: 3 digits of the identification number designate either the 3-digit country code of the country in which the animal was implanted (only used if there is a central, national database that takes on the responsibility of administering number allocation and ensuring no number duplication) or the 3-digit manufacturers code (if there is no central, national database to ensure number uniqueness),  1 digit denotes the animal’s category (optional) and the remaining 8 or 9 digits denote a unique animal identification number.

If your pet’s microchip is not ISO compliant, you can either bring your own microchip scanner or ask you veterinarian to give you a pet compliant chip. A tattoo is an acceptable form of certification as long as it was given prior to July 2011, is clearly visible and your pet was vaccinated for rabies after the tattoo was applied.

Step 2: Vaccinations and rabies antibody titration test

If your pet is entering Luxembourg from a rabies-free or rabies-controlled country (Australia, Canada, European Union, United States of America, etc.), it will need proof of a current rabies vaccination that was administered after the microchip was implanted. If this your pet’s first vaccination after microchipping, you have to wait for 21 days before traveling. There is no waiting period after boosters if the previous vaccination was administered after a microchip was implanted and the previous vaccination had not expired when the booster was given.

If your pet is entering Luxembourg from high-rabies country[1], your pet must be microchipped, then vaccinated for rabies (in that order). After waiting 30 days, a rabies antibody titration test (Fluorescent Antibody Virus Neutralization or FAVN) must be administered. The test consists of a three-fold serum dilution series and is used to detect rabies virus neutralizing antibody after vaccination.

[1] For more information, see the Rabies risks in terrestrial animals by country updated in June 2017 by the Public Health England : www.gov.uk/government/publications/rabies-risks-by-country/rabies-risks-in-terrestrial-animals-by-country

Step 3: Health certificate

If you are moving to Luxembourg from a country outside of the European Union, you need to obtain a health certificate for your pet. The health certificate must be endorsed by the government agency responsible for the import and export of animals and must be completed by a licensed veterinarian within 10 days of travel. If your pet is travelling from the United States, the veterinarian must be accredited by the USDA (U.S. Department of Agriculture). The health certificate needs to show proof of the rabies vaccination (established minimum 30 days and maximum 1 year before entering Luxembourg). The health certificate must also include a written statement of the owner of person accompanying the animal that the animal is not subject to movement that has the purpose of sale or transfer of ownership.

If you are moving to Luxembourg from another EU Member State, you need to have an EU Pet Passport for your pet delivered by your veterinarian. Vaccination against rabies must be documented in the EU Pet Passport.

Additional legal obligations for dog owners

If your pet is a dog, don’t forget that you have additional legal obligations: you have to register your furry friend at the local municipal office, pay an annual tax (minimum € 10 a year, depending of the municipality) and provide proof of liability insurance for any damages that could be caused by the dog.   

And if your dog belongs to a breed considered as potentially dangerous[1], you must provide proof that you have followed a training course, a veterinary certificate that the animal has been castrated and a certificate that the dog has successfully succeeded behaviour training (a minimum of 24 hours of lessons must have been carried out).

[1] See the list at www.guichet.public.lu/citoyens/fr/famille/animaux-domestiques/acquisition-chien/identifier-declarer-chien/index.html

03/20

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Ist es schwierig, Haustiere nach Luxemburg mitzubringen?

Die Antwort lautet: nein. Es ist verhältnismäßig einfach, mit Haustieren nach Luxemburg zu ziehen. Wenn Sie einen Hund, eine Katze oder ein Frettchen haben, gilt keine Quarantäne, wenn die folgenden Bedingungen erfüllt sind. 

1. Schritt: Mikrochip für Haustiere 

Im ersten Schritt müssen Sie Ihr Haustier mit einem ISO 11784/11785-konformen 15-stelligen Mikrochip für Haustiere versehen. Die ISO-Norm 11784 legt die Struktur der auf dem Mikrochip gespeicherten Informationen fest und die Norm 11785 das Protokoll für Scanner-Mikrochip-Informationen. Die Standards sehen vor, dass jedem Mikrochip ein 15-stelliger numerischer Identifikationscode zugewiesen werden muss: drei Stellen der Identifikationsnummer stehen für den dreistelligen Ländercode des Landes, in dem das Tier gechippt wurde (wird nur verwendet, wenn eine zentrale nationale Datenbank vorhanden ist, die für die gesamte Nummernzuweisung verantwortlich ist und sicherstellt, dass Nummern nicht doppelt vergeben werden) oder den dreistelligen Herstellercode (wenn keine zentrale nationale Datenbank vorhanden ist, die sicherstellt, dass die Nummern eindeutig sind), eine Stelle bezeichnet die Tierkategorie (optional) und die verbleibenden acht oder neun Stellen stehen für die eindeutige Identifikationsnummer des Tiers.

Wenn der Mikrochip Ihres Haustiers nicht ISO-konform ist, können Sie entweder einen eigenen Mikrochip-Scanner mitbringen oder Ihren Tierarzt bitten, dem Tier einen entsprechenden Chip zu implantieren. Eine Tätowierung ist als Nachweis akzeptabel, sofern sie vor Juli 2011 angefertigt wurde, deutlich sichtbar ist und Ihr Tier nach dem Tätowieren gegen Tollwut geimpft wurde.

2. Schritt: Impfungen und Tollwut-Antikörpertitrierungstest

Falls Ihr Haustier aus einem Land nach Luxemburg kommt, das frei von Tollwut bzw. in dem die Tollwut unter Kontrolle ist (Australien, Kanada, Europäische Union, USA usw.), müssen Sie eine aktuelle Tollwutimpfung nachweisen, die vorgenommen wurde, nachdem der Chip implantiert wurde. Wenn dies die erste Impfung ist, die nach dem Chippen bei Ihrem Tier vorgenommen wurde, müssen Sie vor der Reise 21 Tage warten. Nach einer Auffrischungsimpfung gilt keine Wartezeit, wenn die vorherige Impfung nach der Implantation des Mikrochips vorgenommen wurde und der Impfschutz bei der Auffrischungsimpfung noch nicht abgelaufen war.

Wenn Ihr Haustier aus einem Land mit hohem Tollwutrisiko nach Luxemburg kommt[1], muss Ihr Haustier gechippt und anschließend gegen Tollwut geimpft werden (in dieser Reihenfolge). Nach Ablauf einer Wartezeit von 30 Tagen muss ein Antikörpertitrierungstest (Fluorescent Antibody Virus Neutralization, FAVN) durchgeführt werden. Der Test besteht aus einer dreifachen Serum-Verdünnungsreihe und dient dazu, nach einer Impfung das Vorhandensein von Antikörpern, die das Tollwutvirus neutralisieren, festzustellen.

[1] Weitere Informationen finden Sie im Artikel Rabies risks in terrestrial animals by country (Tollwutrisiko bei Landtieren nach Ländern), aktualisiert im Juni 2017, von Public Health England: www.gov.uk/government/publications/rabies-risks-by-country/rabies-risks-in-terrestrial-animals-by-country

3. Schritt: Gesundheitszeugnis

Wenn Sie aus einem Land außerhalb der Europäischen Union nach Luxemburg kommen, müssen Sie ein Gesundheitszeugnis für Ihr Haustier beschaffen. Das Gesundheitszeugnis muss von der für die Ein- und Ausfuhr von Tieren zuständigen Behörde bestätigt und von einem lizenzierten Tierarzt innerhalb von 10 Tagen vor Abreise ausgestellt worden sein. Falls Ihr Haustier aus den USA kommt, muss der Tierarzt durch das US-Landwirtschaftsministerium USDA (U.S. Department of Agriculture) zertifiziert sein. Das Gesundheitszeugnis muss den Nachweis einer Tollwutimpfung erbringen (die mindestens 30 Tage und maximal ein Jahr vor Einreise in Luxemburg verabreicht wurde). Außerdem muss das Gesundheitszeugnis eine schriftliche Erklärung des Eigentümers oder der Person, die das Tier mitbringt, beinhalten, dass das Tier nicht zum Verkauf bestimmt oder eine andere Form des Eigentumsübergangs geplant ist.

Wenn Sie aus einem anderen EU-Mitgliedsstaat nach Luxemburg umziehen, benötigen Sie einen von einem Tierarzt ausgestellten EU-Heimtierausweis für Ihr Tier. Impfungen gegen Tollwut müssen im EU-Heimtierausweis dokumentiert werden.

Zusätzliche gesetzliche Pflichten von Hundehaltern

Wenn Sie einen Hund haben, denken Sie an Ihre weiteren gesetzliche Pflichten: Sie müssen Ihren Vierbeiner bei der lokalen Gemeindeverwaltung anmelden, eine jährliche Steuer bezahlen (Mindestens 10 €/Jahr, je nach Gemeinde) und eine Haftpflichtversicherung für Schäden nachweisen, die Ihr Hund verursachen könnte.  

Falls Ihr Hund einer Rasse angehört, die als potenziell gefährlich gilt[1], müssen Sie nachweisen, dass Sie an einer Schulung teilgenommen haben und eine tierärztliche Bescheinigung vorlegen, dass das Tier kastriert ist, ebenso wie eine Bescheinigung, dass der Hund erfolgreich ein Verhaltenstraining (mindestens 24 Unterrichtsstunden) absolviert hat.

[1] Die Liste finden Sie unter www.guichet.public.lu/citoyens/de/famille/animaux-domestiques/acquisition-chien/identifier-declarer-chien/index.html

03/20

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten

  • Einwanderung war für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Großherzogtums schon immer von entscheidender Bedeutung und an diesem Trend wird sich auch nichts ändern. 1961 hatte Luxemburg 314.900 Einwohner, 13.2 % davon Ausländer.

  • Es ist jedes Jahr das Gleiche. Die Sommerferien haben begonnen und Sie wissen nicht, wie Sie Ihre Kinder beschäftigen sollen. Was ist das Beste für Ihre Kinder und ist es nicht schon zu spät, Aktivitäten für sie zu planen?

  • Es ist Sommer. Das kann für Familien in aller Welt eine tolle Zeit sein. Wenn die Kinder nicht zur Schule müssen, rücken schnell der jährliche Sommerurlaub und das angesagteste Reiseziel in den Blickpunkt. Wenn man im Ausland lebt, ändert sich das Urlaubskonzept jedoch. Oft steht man vor einem Dilemma und der Urlaub wird alles andere als erholsam!