Hiring domestic help in Luxembourg

Finding a balance between private and professional life can be tough, especially if you are working hard in your career. If it is your case, hiring someone to maintain your home, to take care of your children or to iron your clothes can be highly helpful. In Luxembourg, a lot of domestic helpers offer their services. But how does it work? What is the procedure? Do you have to pay social security contributions? Can you benefit from the income tax allowance?     The procedure is very straightforward, sometimes more straightforward than finding a cleaner or a babysitter. Of course, there are a lot of websites and useful social media groups for Luxembourg. Home Help, for instance, lists cleaners, housekeepers, babysitters, catsitters, dog walkers, handymen, gardeners and other professionals looking for work and detailing their experience, contact details and language spoken[1]. The problem is that it is always difficult to trust our children, our home and our personal belongings to someone that we don’t know. If you want to be sure that you hire a trustworthy person, you can ask your friends, your colleagues, your commune of your residence or in local expat Facebook pages or groups. [1] Pay attention to the fact that expenses for hiring gardeners, drivers or concierge staff are not deductible.

Drawing up an employment contract

Anyway, if you want to hire a domestic helper directly, you have to draw up with the person you are hiring a written employment contract. This contract will include the start date, the place and nature of work, the number of daily or weekly working hours, the normal working times and the basic salary. The salary must correspond at least at the social minimum wage: around EUR 14.5 per hour for a qualified worker, around EUR 12 gross per hour for a non-qualified worker and EUR 9 to 10 gross for young people between 15 and 18 (July 2019)[1]. However, if a member of your family or another close relation (friend or neighbour) is providing care and help to a legally dependent person, you don’t have to draft an employment contract. The worker is referred to as an informal carer (aidant informel), even where payment for the services is involved.

Registering the employee with the Joint Social Security Centre

You must also register your employee with the Joint Social Security Centre (Centre Commun de la Sécurité Sociale or CCSS). You only need to complete a declaration of employment in a private household (only available in French and downloadable here), including the net hourly salary or, where applicable, the fixed net monthly salary and send it to the CCSS. The CCSS then will calculate the gross salary, the social security contributions and the flat-rate tax (10%) to be withheld. So, by the end of each month, you pay your domestic helper the net amount directly, and you will receive from the CCSS an invoice for tax and social security. As a private household hiring an employee, you are automatically exempt from compulsory membership with the Employer’s Mutual Insurance Scheme.

We strongly recommend you not to employ domestic helpers illegally. Implications can be significant. What will happen, for instance, if your cleaner is injured when working and is not registered with the CCSS? Moreover, by doing so, you won’t benefit from the income tax allowance. If your domestic helper is registered with the CCSS, you will receive from the CCSS a special certificate that grants you the right to an income tax allowance for extraordinary expenses.

 

Using an agency

If drawing up an individual employment contract sounds too complicated and too time-consuming for you, you can use an agency. There are several agencies, for cleaning services in particular. Some of them even allow you to book a cleaner online!

Using an agency is more expensive and generally, you have to sign a minimum period contract, but you save time. You don’t have to deal directly with the domestic helper and with the CCSS and you don’t need to find someone else if your cleaner is off sick or decides to leave. The agency will provide you an alternative. And since 2010, as for the domestic helper hired by yourself, you can deduct the agency fees from your income tax declaration as extraordinary expenses.


Just arrived in the Grand Duchy? Visit our
website.

05/20

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Das Einstellen einer Haushaltshilfe in Luxemburg

Ein Gleichgewicht zwischen Beruf und Privatleben zu finden ist schwierig - insbesondere dann, wenn man im Beruf sehr gefordert ist. Wenn Sie von dieser Situation betroffen sind, kann es sehr hilfreich sein, jemanden einzustellen, der sich um Ihre Wohnung oder Ihre Kinder kümmert oder Ihre Kleidung bügelt. In Luxemburg bieten viele Haushaltshilfen ihre Dienste an. Aber wie funktioniert das? Wie müssen Sie dabei vorgehen? Müssen Sie Sozialversicherungsbeiträge bezahlen? Können Sie den Einkommenssteuerfreibetrag in Anspruch nehmen?    Das Verfahren ist sehr unkompliziert, manchmal einfacher als die Suche nach einer Putzfrau oder einem Babysitter. Natürlich gibt es eine Menge Websites und nützliche Social-Media-Gruppen für Luxemburg. Home Help listet zum Beispiel Reinigungskräfte, Haushaltshilfen, BabysitterInnen, KatzenpflegerInnen, HundeausführerInnen, HandwerkerInnen, GärtnerInnen und andere Fachkräfte auf, die Arbeit suchen und ihre Erfahrungen, Kontaktdaten und gesprochene Sprache detailliert angeben[1]. Das Problem ist nur, dass es immer schwierig ist, unsere Kinder, unser Zuhause und unsere persönlichen Gegenstände jemandem anzuvertrauen, den wir nicht kennen. Wenn Sie sicher sein wollen, dass Sie eine vertrauenswürdige Person einstellen, können Sie Ihre Freunde oder Ihre Kollegen um Rat bitten oder in Ihrer Wohngemeinde oder in lokalen Expat-Facebook-Seiten oder -Gruppen nachfragen. [1] Achten Sie darauf, dass Ausgaben für die Einstellung von Gärtnern, Fahrern oder Concierge-Personal nicht abzugsfähig sind.

Aufsetzen eines Arbeitsvertrags

Wenn Sie eine Haushaltshilfe direkt einstellen möchten, müssen Sie mit dieser Person einen schriftlichen Arbeitsvertrag aufsetzen. Dieser Vertrag enthält das Datum des Arbeitsbeginns, den Ort und die Art der Arbeit, die Anzahl der täglichen oder wöchentlichen Arbeitsstunden, die normalen Arbeitszeiten und das Grundgehalt. Das Gehalt muss mindestens dem sozialen Mindestlohn entsprechen: ca. 14,5 EUR pro Stunde für eine qualifizierte Arbeitskraft, ca. 12 EUR brutto pro Stunde für eine nicht-qualifizierte Arbeitskraft und 9 bis 10 EUR brutto für junge Leute zwischen 15 und 18 Jahren (Juli 2019)[1]. Wenn jedoch ein Familienmitglied oder eine andere nahe stehende Person (Freund oder Nachbar) eine unterhaltsberechtigte Person betreut und ihr hilft, müssen Sie keinen Arbeitsvertrag aufsetzen. Der Arbeitnehmer wird als informeller Betreuer (aidant informel) bezeichnet, auch wenn es um die Bezahlung der Leistungen geht.

Registering the employee with the Joint Social Security Centre

Sie müssen Arbeitnehmer auch beim Gemeinsamen Zentrum für soziale Sicherheit (Centre Commun de la Sécurité Sociale oder CCSS) anmelden. Dazu müssen Sie lediglich eine Erklärung über die Beschäftigung in einem Privathaushalt (nur auf Französisch und here zum Download verfügbar) ausfüllen, die den Nettostundenlohn oder gegebenenfalls den festen Nettomonatslohn enthält, und diese an das CCSS schicken. Das CCSS berechnet dann den Bruttolohn, die Sozialversicherungsbeiträge und die einzubehaltende Pauschalsteuer (10 %). Sie zahlen also am Ende jedes Monats den Nettobetrag direkt an Ihre Haushaltshilfe und erhalten vom CCSS eine Rechnung für Steuern und Sozialversicherung. Als privater Haushalt, der eine Haushaltshilfe einstellt, sind Sie automatisch von der Pflichtmitgliedschaft im Versicherungssystem auf Gegenseitigkeit für Arbeitgeber befreit.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen dringend, keine Haushaltshilfe illegal zu beschäftigen. Die Auswirkungen können ganz erheblich sein. Was passiert zum Beispiel, wenn Ihre Reinigungskraft bei der Arbeit verletzt wird und nicht beim CCSS registriert ist? Außerdem kommen Sie dadurch nicht in den Genuss des Einkommenssteuerfreibetrags. Wenn Ihre Haushaltshilfe beim CCSS registriert ist, erhalten Sie vom CCSS eine spezielle Bescheinigung, die Ihnen das Recht auf einen Einkommenssteuerfreibetrag für außerordentliche Ausgaben gewährt.

Einbeziehung einer Agentur

Wenn Ihnen das Aufsetzen eines individuellen Arbeitsvertrags zu kompliziert und zu zeitaufwändig erscheint, können Sie auch eine Agentur damit beauftragen. Es gibt verschiedene Agenturen, insbesondere für Reinigungsdienste. Bei einigen von ihnen können Sie eine Reinigungskraft sogar online buchen!

Die Inanspruchnahme einer Agentur ist teurer und im Allgemeinen müssen Sie einen Vertrag mit einer Mindestlaufzeit abschließen, aber Sie sparen Zeit. Sie müssen sich nicht direkt mit der Haushaltshilfe und dem CCSS befassen und Sie müssen sich auch nicht um Ersatz kümmern, wenn Ihre Reinigungskraft krank ist oder kündigt. Die Agentur wird Ihnen eine Alternative zur Verfügung stellen. Und seit 2010 können Sie die Vermittlungsgebühren für eine bei Ihnen angestellte Haushaltshilfe als außerordentliche Ausgaben in Ihrer Einkommenssteuererklärung abziehen.

 

Sie sind gerade erst im Großherzogtum angekommen? Besuchen Sie unsere Website.

 
 

05/20

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten

  • Einwanderung war für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Großherzogtums schon immer von entscheidender Bedeutung und an diesem Trend wird sich auch nichts ändern. 1961 hatte Luxemburg 314.900 Einwohner, 13.2 % davon Ausländer.

  • Es ist jedes Jahr das Gleiche. Die Sommerferien haben begonnen und Sie wissen nicht, wie Sie Ihre Kinder beschäftigen sollen. Was ist das Beste für Ihre Kinder und ist es nicht schon zu spät, Aktivitäten für sie zu planen?

  • Es ist Sommer. Das kann für Familien in aller Welt eine tolle Zeit sein. Wenn die Kinder nicht zur Schule müssen, rücken schnell der jährliche Sommerurlaub und das angesagteste Reiseziel in den Blickpunkt. Wenn man im Ausland lebt, ändert sich das Urlaubskonzept jedoch. Oft steht man vor einem Dilemma und der Urlaub wird alles andere als erholsam!