How does the income tax system work in Luxembourg?

If you are going to work in Luxembourg, you will probably have some queries on the tax system of the country. Do you have to pay tax in the Grand-Duchy? Which income will be taxed? What are the different types of taxes and rates that apply? To find answers to all these questions, follow our expat’s guide to taxes in Luxembourg.

Residents and non-residents

First of all, you have to know that the taxation of individuals in Luxembourg is based entirely on the concept of residence, regardless of nationality. Individuals are considered to be resident taxpayers if they have their fiscal residence in Luxembourg and have been living in the country for longer than six months consecutively. Non-resident taxpayers refer to people who cross the border to work and to new incomers to Luxembourg within the first six months. Residents have to pay income tax according to their global earnings while non-residents are taxable on their Luxembourg income source only. There are, however, a number of situations where resident foreigners may be granted a special status, allowing them to be taxed as non-residents on certain categories of income.

There are double tax treaties between the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg and 80 or more countries, designed to ensure that income that has already been taxed in one country isn’t taxed again in another. You can check the list of the Luxembourg double tax treaties in force on the direct tax authority website. If you are subject to double taxation, you are strongly advised to consult a tax expert to optimize your taxation.  

Three different tax classes

Income tax rates are progressive in Luxembourg. They vary from 0% up to 42%. There are five categories of taxable income in Luxembourg: income from trades or businesses, employment income including salary and benefits, pensions and annuities, investment income and other income including any payments for jobs or services in excess of € 250 and taxable capital gains. The calculation of Luxembourg income taxes depends of the applicable tax class, established according to the individual’s personal situation. There are three tax classes : class 2, class 1a and class 1. Class 2 includes married taxpayers, widows whose partners have died during the last three years preceding the current tax year and separated or divorced individuals for the three years following the year of divorce or separation. Civil partners have to pay collective taxes according to the class 2 rates, upon request, following the end of the fiscal year, through assessment by filling an income tax declaration form provided they have been living at the same address throughout the fiscal year. From 1 January 2018, new measures will enter into force. Upon request, married resident taxpayers will have the possibility to continue to file a joint tax return or to opt for separate individual taxation. Non-resident married taxpayers will be able to opt to be treated as Luxembourg tax residents and benefit from tax class 2 provided that more than 90% of the worldwide income of one member of the household is taxable in Luxembourg.

Class 1a includes widowed persons not included in class 2, individuals aged at least 65 on 1 January and single parents where the child forms part of their household. Class 1 includes everyone not eligible in classes 1a and 2. Resident and non-resident taxpayers are eligible to a tax moderation for their children provided those are less than 18 years old on the 1 January of the fiscal year and are part of the household. 

Highly skilled workers tax regime

If you are living in Luxembourg as a highly skilled worker who have been recruited abroad by your company, you are entitled to the impatriate tax regime. Several conditions must be met, such as being a Luxembourg resident, having been employed based on skills that are not replacing another local employee and earning a minimum annual salary of € 50,000. The main advantage of this tax regime is that you can obtain tax relief for certain expenses such as relocation, school fees, rent and utilities and even home leave trips (one trip per year per family member). If you think you might be eligible to the impatriate tax regime, talk to your employer about applying.

Tax card and tax return

Soon after your arrival, you will be issued a tax card (fiche de retenue d’impôt) from the direct tax authority (Administration des Contributions directes). The card contains personal details and the details of any deductions you are entitled to, such as dependent children, and indicates the tax category to which you belong. This information is issued to calculate the amount of tax payable per month and should be given to your employer. In case of any changes to your personal circumstances which may affect the amount you need to pay, you have to notify it to the tax office.

Completing an income tax return (declaration pour l’impôt sur le revenu) can be very complicated. Don’t hesitate to engage the services of a professional accountant. It will cost you money but will make the whole process easier. 

11/17

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Wie funktioniert das Einkommensteuersystem in Luxemburg?

Wenn Sie in Luxemburg arbeiten möchten, haben Sie sicher Fragen zum Steuersystem des Landes. Müssen Sie im Großherzogtum Steuern zahlen? Welche Einkünfte werden besteuert? Welche Steuerarten und Steuersätze gelten? In unserem Steuerleitfaden für Expats in Luxemburg finden Sie Antworten auf all diese Fragen.

Ansässige und Nichtansässige

Zunächst einmal sollten Sie wissen, dass die Steuerregelungen für natürliche Personen in Luxemburg unabhängig von der Nationalität ausschließlich auf dem Wohnsitzprinzip basieren. Natürliche Personen gelten als ansässige Steuerpflichtige, wenn sie ihren Steuersitz in Luxemburg haben und mindestens sechs Monate am Stück im Land gelebt haben. Nichtansässige Steuerpflichtige sind Personen, die zum Arbeiten über die Grenze kommen, sowie neu eingereiste Personen während ihrer ersten sechs Monate in Luxemburg. Ansässige müssen auf alle ihre Einkünfte Einkommensteuer zahlen, wohingegen Nichtansässige nur ihre Einkommensquelle in Luxemburg versteuern müssen. In gewissen Fällen erhalten im Land ansässige Ausländer jedoch einen Sonderstatus, durch den sie in bestimmten Einkommenskategorien steuerlich als Nichtansässige behandelt werden.

Das Großherzogtum unterhält Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen mit mindestens 80 Ländern, die dafür sorgen sollen, dass Einkünfte, die bereits in einem Land versteuert wurden, nicht in einem anderen Land ein weiteres Mal besteuert werden. Die für Luxemburg geltenden Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen finden Sie auf der Website der Steuerbehörde. Wenn Sie der Doppelbesteuerung unterliegen, sollten Sie sich unbedingt an einen Steuerberater wenden, um Ihre Steuerlast zu optimieren.  

Drei unterschiedliche Steuerklassen

Die Einkommensteuersätze in Luxemburg sind progressiv. Sie liegen zwischen 0 % und 42 %. Es gibt fünf Kategorien für zu versteuernde Einkünfte in Luxemburg: Einkünfte aus wirtschaftlicher Tätigkeit, Einkünfte aus abhängiger Beschäftigung, z. B. Gehälter und betriebliche Leistungen, Renten und Pensionszahlungen, Kapitalerträge und sonstige Einkünfte, z. B. Zahlungen für Arbeiten oder Dienstleistungen über 250 € und besteuerbare Gewinne. Die Einkommensteuer in Luxemburg wird anhand der jeweiligen Steuerklasse ermittelt. Diese hängt von der persönlichen Situation des Steuerpflichtigen ab. Es gibt drei Steuerklassen: Klasse 2, Klasse 1a und Klasse 1. Klasse 2 gilt für verheiratete Steuerpflichtige, für Verwitwete, deren Partner in den letzten drei Jahren von dem aktuellen Steuerjahr verstorben sind, und für getrennt Lebende oder Geschiedene in den drei Jahren nach der Trennung bzw. Scheidung. Lebenspartner werden nach Ende des Steuerjahres auf Antrag gemeinsam gemäß der Steuersätze der Klasse 2 besteuert, wenn sie eine Steuererklärung abgeben, sofern sie während des gesamten Steuerjahres unter einer gemeinsamen Anschrift gelebt haben. Ab dem 1. Januar 2018 gelten neue Vorschriften. Verheiratete ansässige Steuerpflichtige haben die Möglichkeit, weiterhin auf Antrag eine gemeinsame Steuerklärung einzureichen oder sich separat besteuern zu lassen. Nicht ansässige verheiratete Steuerpflichtige können auf Wunsch als steuerlich in Luxemburg ansässige Personen behandelt werden und von Steuerklasse 2 profitieren, wenn mehr als 90 % der weltweiten Einkünfte eines Mitglieds des Haushalts in Luxemburg versteuert werden.

Klasse 1a gilt für Verwitwete, die nicht in Klasse 2 fallen, Personen, die am 1. Januar mindestens 65 Jahre alt waren, und Alleinerziehende, deren Kinder in ihrem Haushalt leben. Alle Personen, die nicht in die Klassen 1a oder 2 fallen, fallen in Klasse 1. Ansässige und nichtansässige Steuerpflichtige haben Anspruch auf einen Kinderfreibetrag, sofern ihre Kinder am 1. Januar des Steuerjahres unter 18 Jahre alt waren und in ihrem Haushalt leben. 

Steuerregelung für hochqualifizierte Fachkräfte

Wenn Sie als hochqualifizierte Fachkraft in Luxemburg leben und von Ihrem Arbeitgeber im Ausland angeworben wurden, haben Sie Anspruch darauf, steuerlich als ausländischer Mitarbeiter (Impatriate) behandelt zu werden. Dazu müssen einige Bedingungen erfüllt sein. So müssen Sie zum Beispiel in Luxemburg ansässig sein, aufgrund von Fähigkeiten eingestellt worden sein, mit denen Sie keinen ortsansässigen Mitarbeiter ersetzt haben, und mindestens 50.000 € jährlich verdienen. Der Hauptvorteil dieser Steuerregelung besteht darin, dass Sie bestimmte Aufwendungen, z. B. den Umzug nach Luxemburg, Schulgebühren, Miete und Nebenkosten und sogar Besuche im Heimatland (eine Reise pro Jahr und Familienmitglied), steuerlich geltend machen können. Falls Sie der Ansicht sind, dass Sie Anspruch auf Behandlung nach der Impatriate-Steuerregelung haben, wenden Sie sich wegen der Beantragung an Ihren Arbeitgeber.

Lohnsteuerkarte und Steuererklärung

Kurz nach Ihrer Ankunft erhalten Sie eine Lohnsteuerkarte (fiche de retenue d’impôt) von der Steuerbehörde (Administration des Contributions directes). Auf dieser Karte sind Ihre persönlichen Daten und Ihre Steuerfreibeträge, z. B. Kinderfreibeträge, eingetragen. Hier ist auch Ihre Steuerklasse angegeben. Diese Informationen dienen dazu, den monatlichen Steuerbetrag zu ermitteln. Sie müssen sie an Ihren Arbeitgeber weitergeben. Falls sich Veränderungen Ihrer persönlichen Situation ergeben, die sich auf Ihre Steuerlast auswirken können, müssen Sie das Finanzamt benachrichtigen.

Eine Steuererklärung (déclaration pour l’impôt sur le revenu) kann sehr kompliziert sein. Zögern Sie nicht, einen Steuerberater hinzuzuziehen. Das kostet zwar Geld, macht Ihnen das Verfahren aber erheblich leichter. 

11/17

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten

  • Einwanderung war für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Großherzogtums schon immer von entscheidender Bedeutung und an diesem Trend wird sich auch nichts ändern. 1961 hatte Luxemburg 314.900 Einwohner, 13.2 % davon Ausländer.

  • Es ist jedes Jahr das Gleiche. Die Sommerferien haben begonnen und Sie wissen nicht, wie Sie Ihre Kinder beschäftigen sollen. Was ist das Beste für Ihre Kinder und ist es nicht schon zu spät, Aktivitäten für sie zu planen?

  • Es ist Sommer. Das kann für Familien in aller Welt eine tolle Zeit sein. Wenn die Kinder nicht zur Schule müssen, rücken schnell der jährliche Sommerurlaub und das angesagteste Reiseziel in den Blickpunkt. Wenn man im Ausland lebt, ändert sich das Urlaubskonzept jedoch. Oft steht man vor einem Dilemma und der Urlaub wird alles andere als erholsam!