How to become a Luxembourg citizen by naturalisation?

Since the reformed legislation on Luxembourgish nationality came into force on 1 April 2017, the number of naturalisations has been exploding. In 2017, some 9,000 people have applied for a Luxembourg passport. It is three times more than the previous year. In 2016, the figure was only 2,796! The reform has relaxed the rules. But what is the procedure and what documents do you need if you want to acquire Luxembourg nationality by naturalisation?

The new law of 8 March 2017 recognises 3 possibilities of obtaining or acquiring the Luxembourg nationality: by simple operation of law, by option and by naturalisation. Under certain conditions, Luxembourg nationality is automatically granted by simple operation of law: filiation, adoption, birth on Luxembourg soil or de facto enjoyment of this status (you believe in good faith to be Luxembourgish and acts as such, even though you are not). 

24 hours of Luxembourgish language

The acquisition of the Luxembourg nationality by option is possible in ten cases: adults with a parent, adoptive parent or grandparent who is or was Luxembourgish, parents of a Luxembourgish minor, in the event of a marriage to a Luxembourgish national, etc[1]. If you have legally resided in Luxembourg for at least 20 years and if your final year of residence immediately preceding the option declaration has been uninterrupted, you can acquire the Luxembourg nationality by simply taking a Luxembourg language course organised by the National Institute of Language (LNS) or by a provider offering a course certified by the minister responsible for national education. The course has a total duration of 24 hours and aims to offer an introduction to the language through a focus on speaking and listening skills. No test is required. You just have to provide the course attendance attestation.

If the Luxembourg nationality by simple operation of law or by option does not apply to you, you can become Luxembourgish by naturalisation. Naturalisation is open to all adults provided that you meet 3 conditions. Firstly, you must have legally resided in Luxembourg for at least five years and your final year of residence preceding the naturalisation application must have been uninterrupted. Secondly, you must either attend the Vivre ensemble au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg course or pass the test[2] without attending the course. Free of charge and available in English, the test and the course cover the fundamental rights of citizens (3 X 2 hours), the state and municipal institutions in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg (6 x 2 hours), the history of Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the European integration (3 x 2 hours).

The Sproochentest

The third perquisite for voluntary acquisition of nationality is the knowledge of the Luxembourgish language, as evidenced by a Luxembourgish language exam pass certificate. Organised by the INL, the Luxembourgish oral exam is not free – the registration fee is set at EUR 75 – and consists of a spoken test (A2 level) and a listening test (B1 level). In the spoken test, you have to show your ability to use simple language by introducing yourself to the examiner and by describing a visual aid. In the listening test, you have to listen 3 tracks – a radio news item, an everyday conversation between two people, a discussion or presentation on a specific topic – and, after each track, answer a multiple-choice test paper by tickling your answer on your answer sheet (be careful because there is sometimes a slight difference between the options!). In order to pass the Luxembourgish language exam, you must get a score of at least 50% on the spoken test. A score less than 50% on the spoken test may be offset by the score obtained on the listening test. In this case, you can still pass the exam if the arithmetic average of the scores obtained in the 2 tests is equal or higher than 50% of the full score. Registration for the exam can be made online and the registration form (in French) should be sent, along with the supporting documents, before the registration deadline. One piece of advice: don’t delay in registering at the Sproochentest. The wait time for registration may be long (several months)!

After having fulfilled the prerequisites, you must submit the following documents to the civil registrar of your commune: copy of birth certificate, copy of a valid passport, biographical details, Luxembourgish language exam pass certificate, the Vivre ensemble au Grand Duché de Luxembourg certificate and criminal record certificates (from your country and from Luxembourg). Be patient! The minister of Justice will grant your naturalisation within a period of 8 months from submission of the naturalisation application!  


For more information, you can contact the Nationality Infoline: 8002 1000. And don’t forget to visit our
website to discover our solutions tailor-made to you.

 

06/20

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Wie funktioniert die Einbürgerung in Luxemburg?

Seit die reformierten Gesetze zur Luxemburger Staatsbürgerschaft am 1. April 2017 in Kraft traten, ist die Zahl der Einbürgerungen in die Höhe geschossen. 2017 beantragten 9.000 Personen einen Luxemburger Pass. Das ist dreimal so viel wie im Jahr zuvor. 2016 waren es nur 2.796! Durch die Reform wurden die Regelungen gelockert. Aber wie sieht das Verfahren aus und welche Dokumente benötigen Sie, wenn Sie sich in Luxemburg einbürgern lassen und die Staatsbürgerschaft annehmen möchten?

Das neue Gesetz von 8. März 2017 kennt drei Möglichkeiten, die Luxemburger Staatsbürgerschaft zu erhalten: von Rechts wegen, nach Wahl und durch Einbürgerung. Unter bestimmten Umständen wird die Luxemburger Staatsbürgerschaft von Rechts wegen gewährt: Abstammung, Adoption, Geburt auf dem Staatsgebiet von Luxemburg oder wenn Sie diesen Status de-facto genießen (Sie sind in guten Glauben der Ansicht, dass Sie Luxemburger sind, und handeln als solcher, auch wenn Sie es nicht sind).

24 Lerneinheiten in Luxemburgisch

In zehn Fällen ist es möglich, nach Wahl die Luxemburger Staatsbürgerschaft anzunehmen: Erwachsene, wenn ein Elternteil, Adoptivelternteil oder Großelternteil Luxemburger ist oder war, Eltern von Minderjährigen mit Luxemburger Staatsangehörigkeit, bei der Heirat mit einem Luxemburger Staatsbürger usw.[1] Wenn Sie mindestens 20 Jahre lang legal in Luxemburg gelebt haben, davon das letzte Jahr vor der entsprechenden Antragstellung (Optionserklärung) ohne Unterbrechung, können Sie die Luxemburger Staatsangehörigkeit erhalten, indem Sie einfach an einem vom Nationalen Spracheninstitut (LNS) oder einem Anbieter von vom Bildungsminister anerkannten Sprachkursen organisierten Luxemburgisch-Sprachkurs teilnehmen. Der Kurs dauert insgesamt 24 Stunden und soll eine Einführung in die Sprache mit Schwerpunkt auf gesprochener Sprache und Hörverständnis bieten. Es muss keine Prüfung abgelegt werden. Sie müssen lediglich die Teilnahmebescheinigung für den Kurs vorlegen.

Wenn Sie die Luxemburger Staatsbürgerschaft von Rechts wegen oder nach Wahl nicht erhalten können, können Sie durch Einbürgerung Luxemburger werden. Die Einbürgerung steht allen Erwachsenen offen. Sie müssen allerdings drei Bedingungen erfüllen. Erstens müssen Sie mindestens fünf Jahre lang legal in Luxemburg gelebt haben, das letzte Jahr vor dem Antrag auf Einbürgerung unterbrechungsfrei. Zweitens müssen Sie am Kurs Vivre ensemble au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg teilnehmen oder die Prüfung[2] ohne Kursteilnahme bestehen. Der Kurs und die Prüfung sind kostenlos und auf Englisch verfügbar. Behandelt werden die Grundrechte der Bürger (3 x 2 Stunden), die staatlichen und kommunalen Einrichtungen im Großherzogtum Luxemburg (6 x 2 Stunden), die Geschichte des Großherzogtums Luxemburg und die europäische Integration (3 x 2 Stunden).

Der Sproochentest

Die dritte Voraussetzung für die freiwillige Annahme der Staatsbürgerschaft sind Kenntnisse der Luxemburgischen Sprache, die durch eine Bescheinigung über eine bestandene Luxemburgische Sprachprüfung nachgewiesen werden können. Die vom INL organisierte mündliche Luxemburgisch-Prüfung ist nicht kostenlos – die Anmeldegebühr beträgt 75 EUR – und besteht aus einem Test der gesprochenen Sprache (Stufe A2) und einem Hörverständnistest (Stufe B1). Beim Test der gesprochenen Sprache müssen Sie zeigen, dass Sie sich in einfacher Sprache ausdrücken können, indem Sie sich dem Prüfer vorstellen und ein visuelles Hilfsmittel beschreiben. Beim Hörverständnistest müssen Sie sich drei Stücke anhören – einen Beitrag aus den Radionachrichten, ein alltägliches Gespräch zwischen zwei Personen, und eine Diskussion oder Präsentation zu einem bestimmten Thema. Nach jedem Stück müssen Sie einen Multiple-Choice-Test ausfüllen, bei dem Sie Antworten auf einem Fragebogen markieren (seien Sie vorsichtig: manchmal besteht nur ein geringer Unterschied zwischen den Antwortmöglichkeiten!). Um die Luxemburgisch-Sprachprüfung zu bestehen, müssen Sie beim Test der gesprochenen Sprache mindestens 50 % erreichen. Wenn Sie im Test der gesprochenen Sprache weniger als 50 % erreichen, können Sie dies durch Ihr Ergebnis im Hörverständnistest ausgleichen. In diesem Fall haben Sie die Prüfung bestanden, wenn das arithmetische Mittel der Ergebnisse aus den beiden Tests höher ist als 50 % der Gesamtpunktzahl. Sie können sich online für die Prüfung anmelden. Das Anmeldeformular (auf Französisch) sollte, zusammen mit den Begleitunterlagen, bis zum Ende der Anmeldefrist eingesendet werden. Ein guter Rat: Warten Sie mit der Anmeldung zum Sproochentest nicht zu lange. Die Wartezeit für die Anmeldung kann lang sein (mehrere Monate)! 

 Wenn Sie die Voraussetzungen erfüllt haben, müssen Sie die folgenden Dokumente beim Standesamt Ihrer Gemeinde einreichen: Kopie der Geburtsurkunde, Kopie eines gültigen Reisepasses, biografische Angaben, Bescheinigung über die bestandene Luxemburgisch-Sprachprüfung, die Teilnahmebescheinigung für Vivre ensemble au Grand Duché de Luxembourg und ein polizeiliches Führungszeugnis (aus Ihrem Heimatland und aus Luxemburg). Haben Sie Geduld! Der Justizminister bewilligt Ihre Einbürgerung innerhalb von acht Monaten nach Antragstellung!  

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie von der Infoline zur Staatsbürgerschaft: 8002 1000. Besuchen Sie auch unsere Website und entdecken Sie unsere maßgeschneiderten Lösungen.

 

06/20

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten

  • Einwanderung war für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Großherzogtums schon immer von entscheidender Bedeutung und an diesem Trend wird sich auch nichts ändern. 1961 hatte Luxemburg 314.900 Einwohner, 13.2 % davon Ausländer.

  • Es ist jedes Jahr das Gleiche. Die Sommerferien haben begonnen und Sie wissen nicht, wie Sie Ihre Kinder beschäftigen sollen. Was ist das Beste für Ihre Kinder und ist es nicht schon zu spät, Aktivitäten für sie zu planen?

  • Es ist Sommer. Das kann für Familien in aller Welt eine tolle Zeit sein. Wenn die Kinder nicht zur Schule müssen, rücken schnell der jährliche Sommerurlaub und das angesagteste Reiseziel in den Blickpunkt. Wenn man im Ausland lebt, ändert sich das Urlaubskonzept jedoch. Oft steht man vor einem Dilemma und der Urlaub wird alles andere als erholsam!