Paid vacation in Luxembourg: what you need to know

As the long summer break approaches, it is more than time to plan your next vacation. But do you know your rights regarding your annual paid leave? Here is some useful information to avoid unpleasant surprise.  

How many paid vacation days?

Luxembourg is one of the top European countries with most paid vacation days. The legal duration of annual leave is set to a minimum of 25 working days per year. In comparison, the majority of workers in Belgium, France and Germany are entitled to at least 20, 25 and 24 working days’ leave per year. Moreover, a collective or an individual agreement between the employer and the employee may include additional days of leave for the employee. Certain categories of workers are automatically granted additional holidays: 6 working days per year for war invalids, victims of accident at work and disabled workers and 3 working days per year for manual workers and technical engineers in the mining industry. Employee or apprentice who has not been able to benefit from a continuous rest period of 44 hours per week is given one day of additional leave for each period of 8 weeks, successive or not.

Last year, there was a debate in Parliament on a petition which proposed a 6th week of holidays for the 41% of the private sector employees who don’t fall under a collective work contract. The petition has gathered over 10,000 signatures but did not meet government support.   

How to be eligible to annual leave?

Any employee, including apprentice, whatever their working schedule (part time, full time, etc.) or type of contract (fixed-term or permanent), is entitled to paid annual leave. An employee working part time (including part time parental leave) benefits from annual leave calculated in proportion to his/her weekly working schedule. To be eligible, you must first have worked for an unbroken period of 3 months for the same employer. You are prohibited from carrying out paid activity during your leave. If you do not respect this condition, you will lose your leave allowance. You may not give up the leave which you are entitled on, even in return for compensatory pay, except if the working relationship is terminated. 

Who plans the holidays?

In principle, you can choose your holidays but you must tell your employer one month in advance. Your employer may refuse your holidays planning due to operational requirements or justified wishes of other employees. In many businesses, priority is given to employees with children.        

You have to take your holidays completely during the current year. There are some exceptions. On your request, you may defer your annual leave until 31 December of the following year if it consists of leave accumulated during your first year of work that could not be taken in full. Any outstanding annual leave may be carried forward until 31 March of the following year if that outstanding annual leave was due to either business purposes or to the genuine needs of other employees or if you still have days of annual leave when going on maternity leave, adoption leave or parental leave.  

If the company closes for annual holiday, the period of the collective leave must be fixed by mutual agreement with your employer who must notify it to the employees not later than during the first quarter of the reference year. There are three types of collective agreements which are recognised as a general obligation and impose collective summer and/or winter leave: one for the construction and civil engineering sector; one for sanitary fitters, heating and air conditioning fitters and refrigeration fitters and one for roofers-renderers.     

What happens if you fall ill during your holidays…

In this case, you must inform your employer and submit a medical certificate within 3 working days if you are in Luxembourg or as soon as possible if you are abroad. The number of days covered by the medical certificate are no longer considered as annual leave. If you are no longer ill, you must return to work to the date initially scheduled with your employer and agree with him a new period of leave.  

…or if your working relationship is over?

It is important to know that you are not protected against dismissal during your annual leave. If the working relationship is terminated before you have taken all your annual leave days, your employer must pay you an indemnity corresponding to the days of leave not taken. When you have resigned or have been dismissed with notice, your employer cannot request from you to use up the remaining leave, if any, during the notice period. Similarly, your employer does not have to grant you leave during the notice period. On the contrary, if you have taken all your annual leave days before you left the company, your employer is entitled to recover the overpaid holiday allowance.

10/20

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Die Sommerferien stehen vor der Tür und es wird höchste Zeit, Ihren nächsten Urlaub zu planen. Aber kennen Sie Ihre Rechte im Hinblick auf den bezahlten Jahresurlaub? Mit diesen nützlichen Informationen können Sie unliebsame Überraschungen vermeiden.  

Wie viele Urlaubstage werden bezahlt?

Luxemburg gehört zu den europäischen Ländern mit den meisten bezahlten Urlaubstagen. Gesetzlich sind mindestens 25 Urlaubstage pro Jahr vorgeschrieben. Zum Vergleich: Die meisten Arbeitnehmer in Belgien, Frankreich und Deutschland haben Anspruch auf mindestens 20, 25 bzw. 24 Arbeitstage Urlaub pro Jahr. Darüber hinaus können aufgrund von Tarifverträgen oder individuellen Arbeitsverträgen zwischen Arbeitnehmer und Arbeitgeber weitere Urlaubstage für den Arbeitnehmer hinzukommen. Bestimmte Gruppen von Arbeitnehmern erhalten automatisch zusätzliche Urlaubstage: sechs Arbeitstage pro Jahr für Kriegsversehrte, Opfer von Arbeitsunfällen und behinderte Arbeitnehmer und drei Arbeitstage pro Jahr für gewerbliche Arbeitnehmer und Techniker im Bergbau. Beschäftigte oder Auszubildende, die keine ununterbrochene Ruhezeit von 44 Stunden pro Woche hatten, erhalten für jeden Achtwochenzeitraum einen zusätzlichen Urlaubstag, unabhängig davon, ob diese am Stück gearbeitet wurden.

Im letzten Jahr debattierte das Parlament über eine Petition, in der eine 6. Urlaubswoche für die 41 % der Beschäftigten auf dem Privatsektor vorgeschlagen wurde, für die kein Tarifvertrag gilt. Die Petition wurde mehr als 10.000 Mal unterschrieben, aber nicht von der Regierung unterstützt.   

Wie wird der Urlaubsanspruch erworben?

Alle Beschäftigten, einschließlich der Auszubildenden, haben unabhängig von ihren Arbeitszeiten (Teilzeit, Vollzeit usw.) oder der Vertragsart (befristet oder unbefristet) Anspruch auf bezahlten Urlaub. Der Urlaubsanspruch von Teilzeitbeschäftigten (einschließlich Teilzeit-Erziehungsurlaub) wird anhand der wöchentlichen Arbeitszeit ermittelt. Um den Urlaubsanspruch zu erwerben, müssen Sie zunächst drei Monate lang ununterbrochen für denselben Arbeitgeber tätig gewesen sein. Sie dürfen während Ihres Urlaubs keiner bezahlten Tätigkeit nachgehen. Bei Verstößen gegen diese Vorschrift verfällt ihr Anspruch auf Vergütung des Urlaubs. Sie dürfen nicht auf Ihren Urlaubsanspruch verzichten oder ihn sich auszahlen lassen, es sei denn, das Beschäftigungsverhältnis wurde gekündigt. 

Wer plant den Urlaub?

Prinzipiell dürfen Sie Ihren Urlaub frei wählen. Sie müssen dies Ihrem Arbeitgeber jedoch einen Monat im Voraus mitteilen. Ihr Arbeitgeber kann Ihre Urlaubsplanung aufgrund von betrieblichen Anforderungen oder berechtigten Wünschen anderer Mitarbeiter ablehnen. Beschäftigte mit Kindern haben in vielen Unternehmen Vorrang.       

Sie müssen Ihren kompletten Urlaub während des laufenden Jahres nehmen. Hierbei gelten jedoch einige Ausnahmen. Sie können Ihren Jahresurlaub auf Antrag bis zum 31. Dezember des folgenden Jahres verschieben, wenn es sich um Urlaubsansprüche aus dem ersten Jahr Ihrer Beschäftigung handelt, die Sie nicht vollständig in Anspruch nehmen konnten. Ausstehende Urlaubsansprüche können bis zum 31. März des Folgejahres übertragen werden, wenn dieser Urlaub aus betrieblichen Gründen oder aufgrund von berechtigten Ansprüchen anderer Mitarbeiter nicht genommen werden konnte oder wenn bei Beginn des Mutterschutzes oder Erziehungsurlaubs noch Urlaubsanspruch bestand. 

Wenn das Unternehmen Betriebsferien macht, muss der gemeinschaftliche Urlaub einvernehmlich mit dem Arbeitgeber vereinbart werden. Dieser muss die Beschäftigten spätestens im zweiten Quartal des Referenzjahres darüber informieren. Es gibt drei Arten von Tarifverträgen, die als allgemeine Verpflichtung gelten und gemeinsamen Sommer- und/oder Winterurlaub vorschreiben: einen für den Hoch- und Tiefbaubereich, einen für Sanitär-, Heizungs- und Klimainstallateure sowie Kühltechnikinstallateure und einen für Dachdecker.     

Wenn Sie während Ihres Urlaubs krank werden …

In diesem Fall müssen Sie Ihren Arbeitgeber informieren und innerhalb von drei Arbeitstagen, wenn Sie sich in Luxemburg aufhalten, bzw. schnellstmöglich, wenn Sie sich im Ausland aufhalten, ein ärztliches Attest einreichen. Die Anzahl der Tage, während der Sie krankgeschrieben sind, gelten nicht als Urlaubstage. Wenn Sie nicht mehr krank sind, müssen Sie am ursprünglich mit Ihrem Arbeitgeber vereinbarten Datum wieder zur Arbeit erscheinen und neuen Urlaub mit ihm vereinbaren.  

Sie sollten wissen, dass Sie auch während Ihres Urlaubs entlassen werden können. Wenn das Beschäftigungsverhältnis gekündigt wird, bevor Sie Ihren Jahresurlaub vollständig genommen haben, muss Ihnen Ihr Arbeitgeber eine Entschädigung für die nicht genommenen Urlaubstage zahlen. Wenn Sie fristgerecht gekündigt haben oder wurden, kann Ihr Arbeitgeber Sie nicht auffordern, eventuell verbleibende Urlaubstage während der Kündigungsfrist zu nehmen. Ebenso wenig muss Ihnen Ihr Arbeitgeber während der Kündigungsfrist Urlaub gewähren. Wenn Sie vor Verlassen des Unternehmens bereits Ihren gesamten Jahresurlaub genommen haben, kann Ihr Arbeitgeber die Vergütung für die überzähligen genommenen Urlaubstage sogar zurückfordern.

10/20

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten

  • Einwanderung war für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Großherzogtums schon immer von entscheidender Bedeutung und an diesem Trend wird sich auch nichts ändern. 1961 hatte Luxemburg 314.900 Einwohner, 13.2 % davon Ausländer.

  • Es ist jedes Jahr das Gleiche. Die Sommerferien haben begonnen und Sie wissen nicht, wie Sie Ihre Kinder beschäftigen sollen. Was ist das Beste für Ihre Kinder und ist es nicht schon zu spät, Aktivitäten für sie zu planen?

  • Es ist Sommer. Das kann für Familien in aller Welt eine tolle Zeit sein. Wenn die Kinder nicht zur Schule müssen, rücken schnell der jährliche Sommerurlaub und das angesagteste Reiseziel in den Blickpunkt. Wenn man im Ausland lebt, ändert sich das Urlaubskonzept jedoch. Oft steht man vor einem Dilemma und der Urlaub wird alles andere als erholsam!