Six common beliefs on Luxembourg: myth or truth?

A lot of stereotypes are still circulating about the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. Even the neighbouring countries of Belgium, France and Germany do not know the country. But what are the major beliefs people have about Luxembourg and to what extent they are true?    

1. There is nothing to see and to do in Luxembourg

False. The country is far to be boring. Luxembourg City is an open-air museum and a UNESCO World Heritage Site because of its historic fortifications and old quarters. If you are instead an aficionado of edgy art, you will find plenty to satisfy your taste with more than a dozen contemporary art galleries. Star architects have made their mark on the capital, including the legendary, now deceased, I.M. Pei who designed the angular and avant-garde Contemporary Art Museum of Luxembourg (MUDAM). It is not by chance that Luxembourg City was the first to be listed twice as the European Capital of Culture[1]. The city also has a vibrant bar culture. After work, people flock out to lively bars and pubs in the town for an extended “happy hour”.

Don’t think that outside Luxembourg City, there are only woods and lakes! The country is full of museums, monuments, castles and entertaining events. For nature lovers, there are countless hiking trails and biking tracks[2].  Just take a look at the multilingual site of Visit Luxembourg, and you will be convinced.

2. French is the prevailing language in the Grand Duchy

It is a fact that a lot of people speak French in Luxembourg. It is one of the three official languages and the majority of cross-border workers are French-speaking. According to the National Institute of statistics and economic studies (Statec), 103,775 are coming from France and 47,156 from Belgium out of a total of 197,661. Besides, 46,938 French and 19,953 Belgian people are living in the Grand Duchy (more than 10% of total inhabitants). But these numbers do not mean that French is the dominant language everywhere in the country. In the North and the East, people speak rather Luxembourgish and German. In Luxembourg City, where the population is composed of 160 nationalities and in vast majority foreign-born (more than 70% in 2019), English is as much used as French.

3. Luxembourg is a tax haven

Not really. Everybody here pays taxes, including companies. Thinking that the corporate effective tax rates are close to zero in the Grand Duchy is wrong. For example, the overall standard tax rate applicable for companies in Luxembourg City stands at 26,01%, far beyond those applied in other European financial places such as Ireland (12%), the United Kingdom (19%) and Switzerland (18% in average).

4. There are only banks in the Grand Duchy

Of course, Luxembourg is well known to be the second largest investment fund centre worldwide after the United States. But this is just one of the aspects of the economic activities of the country. Luxembourg’s economy is robust and diversified. There is expertise in steel, polymers, composite materials, car-component manufacturing, logistics, digital services, satellite development and media production. The country also has the ambition to position itself as Europe’s next hub for technological innovation. Belval is the perfect symbol of this entire new neighbourhood erected by the government. Very close to Esch-sur-Alzette, the second largest city of the Grand Duchy, this former industrial area has undergone in only a few years an exemplary conversion into an international pole of knowledge and research. And - unbelievable but true! – Luxembourg has its space agency and is one of the top five per capita contributors to ESA (European Space Agency).

5. Everyone is rich in Luxembourg

If it could be true! Yes, OK, the Grand Duchy has the highest GDP per capita in the world - 112.846 USD in 2018 – as well as the highest minimum wage in the EU. But the risk of poverty exists in Luxembourg and is growing from year to year. A news bulletin published by the Statec in August 2019 shows that housing is amplifying inequalities in Luxembourg. Real estate prices have increased by almost 5.4% per year between 2011 and 2018. For residents, housing is the largest item of expenditure, and its weight has steadily increased in recent years. In 2017, 15,8% of the population was at risk of poverty. After the deduction of the cost of housing, this rate rose to 24%!    

6. It always rains in the Grand Duchy

Indeed, in Luxembourg, the level of precipitations is abundant. Winters are generally harsh with a lot of snow and temperatures below zero. In other seasons, rains are frequent and the umbrella is more than necessary – it is almost an extension of your arm! That being said, sunny days in Luxembourg with a blue sky and high temperatures are not exceptional. And the country has so many advantages that newcomers quickly get used to the weather.

Just arrived in the Grand Duchy? Visit our website.

03/20

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Sechs weit verbreitete Annahmen über Luxemburg: Mythos oder Realität?

Über das Großherzogtum Luxemburg kursieren noch immer viele Vorurteile. Sogar in den Nachbarländern Belgien, Frankreich und Deutschland weiß man nicht viel über das Land. Doch welche Annahmen über Luxemburg sind dennoch verbreitet, und entsprechen Sie der Realität?        

1. In Luxemburg gibt es nichts zu sehen und zu erleben

Falsch. Das Land ist weit davon entfernt, langweilig zu sein. Luxemburg Stadt ist ein Freilichtmuseum und zählt wegen seiner historischen Festungsanlagen und seiner Altstadt zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe. Wenn Sie stattdessen ausgefallene Kunst bevorzugen, werden Sie in mehr als einem Dutzend Galerien für zeitgenössische Kunst ganz sicher auf den Geschmack kommen. Stararchitekten haben der Hauptstadt ihren Stempel aufgedrückt, darunter der legendäre und inzwischen verstorbene I.M. Pei, der das verwinkelte und avantgardistische Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Luxemburg (MUDAM) entworfen hat. Es ist kein Zufall, dass Luxemburg Stadt als erste Stadt zweimal europäische Kulturhauptstadt war[1]. In der Stadt gibt es auch eine lebendige Barkultur. Nach der Arbeit strömen die Menschen für eine ausgedehnte „Happy Hour“ in die belebten Bars und Kneipen der Stadt.

 

Denken Sie keinesfalls, dass es außerhalb von Luxemburg Stadt nur Wälder und Seen gibt! Sie finden im ganzen Land Museen, Monumente, Schlösser und unterhaltsame Veranstaltungen. Naturliebhaber können zahllose Wander- und Radwege genießen[2]. Ein Besuch auf der mehrsprachigen Website Visit Luxembourg wird Sie überzeugen. 


[1] In den Jahren 1995 und 2007.
[2] Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie in unserem Artikel „Ein Spaziergang durch die Wälder Luxemburgs“.

2. Französisch ist die vorherrschende Sprache im Großherzogtum

Tatsächlich sprechen viele Menschen in Luxemburg Französisch. Es ist eine der drei Amtssprachen und die Mehrheit der Menschen, die über die Landesgrenze zur Arbeit pendeln, spricht Französisch. Laut dem Nationalen Institut für Statistik und Wirtschaftsstudien des Großherzogtums Luxemburg (Statec) kommen von den insgesamt 197.661 Pendlern 103.775 aus Frankreich und 47.156 aus Belgien. Davon abgesehen leben 46.938 Franzosen und 19.953 Belgier im Großherzogtum (das sind über 10 % der Gesamtbevölkerung). Aber diese Zahlen alleine bedeuten nicht, dass Französisch überall im Land die vorherrschende Sprache ist. Im Norden und Osten des Landes sprechen sie Menschen eher Luxemburgisch und Deutsch. In Luxemburg Stadt wohnen Menschen aus 160 Nationen und die Mehrheit von ihnen wurde in einem anderen Land geboren (mehr als 70 % im Jahr 2019). Hier ist Englisch genauso weit verbreitet wie Französisch.

3. Luxemburg ist ein Steuerparadies

Nicht wirklich. Hier muss jeder Steuern bezahlen, auch Unternehmen. Die Annahme, dass die effektiven Steuersätze der Körperschaftssteuer gegen Null gehen, ist falsch. So liegt etwa der allgemeine Standardsteuersatz für Unternehmen in Luxemburg Stadt bei 26,01 % und damit weit über den Steuersätzen, die in anderen europäischen Finanzplätzen wie Irland (12 %), Großbritannien (19 %) und der Schweiz (durchschnittlich 18 %) gelten.

4. Im Großherzogtum gibt es nur Banken

Natürlich ist Luxemburg dafür bekannt, nach den Vereinigten Staaten das zweitgrößte Investmentfonds-Zentrum der Welt zu sein. Aber das ist nur ein Aspekt der wirtschaftlichen Aktivitäten im Land. Luxemburgs Wirtschaft ist stark und divers aufgestellt. Im Land gibt es Expertise in den Bereichen Stahl, Polymere, Verbundwerkstoffe, Herstellung von Autoteilen, Logistik, digitale Dienstleistungen, Satellitenentwicklung und Medienproduktion. Außerdem strebt Luxemburg an, sich als Europas nächste Drehscheibe für technologische Innovationen zu positionieren. Belval ist das perfekte Symbol dafür – ein völlig neues Viertel, das von der Regierung errichtet wurde. Ganz in der Nähe von Esch-sur-Alzette, der zweitgrößten Stadt Luxemburgs, hat sich dieses ehemalige Industriegebiet in nur wenigen Jahren in einer beispielhaften Wandlung zu einem internationalen Wissens- und Forschungszentrum entwickelt. Und – unglaublich, aber wahr! – Luxemburg hat eine eigene Raumfahrtbehörde und gehört zu den fünf größten Pro-Kopf-Beitragszahlern der ESA (European Space Agency).

5. Alle Einwohner Luxemburgs sind reich

Wenn es nur wahr wäre! Nun gut, das Großherzogtum hat das weltweit höchste BIP pro Kopf (112.846 USD im Jahr 2018) und den höchsten Mindestlohn in der EU. Aber auch in Luxemburg ist ein Armutsrisiko vorhanden, und es steigt von Jahr zu Jahr. Ein im August 2019 von der Statec veröffentlichtes Nachrichtenbulletin zeigt, dass das Thema Wohnraum die Ungleichheiten in Luxemburg verstärkt. Die Immobilienpreise sind zwischen 2011 und 2018 um fast 5,4 % pro Jahr gestiegen. Für die Bewohner ist das Wohnen der größte Ausgabenposten, und sein Anteil hat in den letzten Jahren konstant zugenommen. Im Jahr 2017 waren 15,8 % der Bevölkerung von Armut bedroht. Nach Abzug der Wohnkosten stieg dieser Satz auf 24 %!

6. In Luxemburg regnet es ständig

Indeed, in Luxembourg, the level of precipitations is abundant. Winters are generally harsh with a lot of snow and temperatures below zero. In other seasons, rains are frequent and the umbrella is more than necessary – it is almost an extension of your arm! That being said, sunny days in Luxembourg with a blue sky and high temperatures are not exceptional. And the country has so many advantages that newcomers quickly get used to the weather.

Just arrived in the Grand Duchy? Visit our website.

03/20

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten

  • Einwanderung war für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Großherzogtums schon immer von entscheidender Bedeutung und an diesem Trend wird sich auch nichts ändern. 1961 hatte Luxemburg 314.900 Einwohner, 13.2 % davon Ausländer.

  • Es ist jedes Jahr das Gleiche. Die Sommerferien haben begonnen und Sie wissen nicht, wie Sie Ihre Kinder beschäftigen sollen. Was ist das Beste für Ihre Kinder und ist es nicht schon zu spät, Aktivitäten für sie zu planen?

  • Es ist Sommer. Das kann für Familien in aller Welt eine tolle Zeit sein. Wenn die Kinder nicht zur Schule müssen, rücken schnell der jährliche Sommerurlaub und das angesagteste Reiseziel in den Blickpunkt. Wenn man im Ausland lebt, ändert sich das Urlaubskonzept jedoch. Oft steht man vor einem Dilemma und der Urlaub wird alles andere als erholsam!