What are the steps to host an au pair in Luxembourg?

You have one or more children aged under 13 years old and you don’t know how to take care of them when you are at the office? Why not hosting a young au pair? It is a win-win situation. Young people coming from abroad help you in the household chores and, in exchange, they have the opportunity to expand their language abilities and increase their general cultural knowledge. But how it works? Here are the steps to follow for a successful au pair experience!  

Step 1: finding an au pair

This step is not so easy as you might think. There is no au pair agency officially located in Luxembourg but a lot of online platforms connecting host families and au pairs such as aupair.com, kangarooaupair.com, www.aupairworld.com and greataupair.com can help in your search. One piece of advice: do not accept immediately any au pair candidate and try to find someone whose expectations are in sync with yours.

Step 2: getting the agreement as a host family and as an au pair

To obtain the au pair approval, you must introduce a request to the Ministry of National Education, Children and Youth (Ministère de l’Education nationale, de l’Enfance et de la Jeunesse) with different administrative documents: the application form (available online in French and English), a household composition certificate issued by the commune of the residence, a criminal record certificate dated less than 3 months ago for all adult members of your family and a proof of day-care arrangements for children under 6 years old (this may be provided by a day-care facility or a parental assistant or you can also make an affidavit). 

At the same time, your future au pair must have the approbation of the Ministry for Family Affairs and Integration. For this purpose, the following conditions must be fulfilled: be at least 18 and less than 30 years old, reside in a country other than Luxembourg, hold a certificate giving them access to higher education in his/her country of origin or prove that he/she has attended class until the age of 17, have basic knowledge of one the languages spoken by your family as well as English or one of the 3 administrative languages of the country (French, German or Luxembourgish), provide a medical certificate established less than 3 months prior to arrival and attesting his/her ability to carry out simple routine family tasks, including childcare and have concluded with you an au pair hosting agreement.

If the au pair is a third-country national (from a country which is not an EU Member State, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland), a procedure in two steps is required. Before entering the country, the au pair must apply for a temporary authorisation to stay to the Immigration Directorate of the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs and request a visa if needed. After entering the country, the au pair must undergo a medical check and apply for a residence permit (the temporary authorisation to stay is only valid for 90 days). 

Step 3: respecting your legal obligations

The provisions of the Labour Code do not apply to hosting an au pair. But in order to prevent any kind of abuse, the Luxembourg of February 2013 law determinates a very specific framework in which your rights and duties as a host family are clearly defined. Once your au pair arrived in Luxembourg, you must register him/her for health insurance and accident insurance and take out civil liability insurance for him/her from a duly approved insurer in Luxembourg. In addition to providing food, a private room and unrestricted access to your home, you must pay the au pair a monthly set amount corresponding to ¼ of the social minimum wage as pocket money (€ 512) and cover costs related to his/her language courses. The participation of your au pair in household chores must not exceed 5 hours on average per day in a one-week period and 30 hours on average per week in a one-month period. According to the Luxembourg law, working is not the primary goal of the au pair’s stay.

The au pairs’ stays are managed, monitored and coordinated by the National Youth Service (Service National de la Jeunesse - SNJ). The SNJ acts as an intermediary between host families and candidates, manages requests for approval of host families and for au pair approval, monitors au pairs’ host situations, organises mandatory information sessions for au pairs hosted in Luxembourg and provides mediation in the event of disputes between a host family and an au pair.

 

Step 4: ending the stay

You may host at most one au pair at a time and the total duration of the au pair’s residency must not exceed one year. You have the right to terminate early the au pair hosting agreement, with immediate effect, in the event of force majeure or serious misconduct by one of the parties, and through prior notice of at least 1 month in all other cases.

You can find more information on the site accueil-aupair.lu managed by the SNJ.

04/20

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Was muss man tun, um in Luxemburg ein Au-pair aufzunehmen?

Sie haben Kinder unter 13 Jahren und keine Betreuung für sie, während Sie im Büro sind? Warum nehmen Sie nicht ein Au-pair auf? Das ist eine Win-win-Situation. Junge Leute aus dem Ausland helfen Ihnen im Haushalt. Im Gegenzug erhalten sie die Möglichkeit, ihre Sprachkenntnisse zu verbessern und ihren kulturellen Horizont zu erweitern. Aber wie geht das? Das müssen Sie tun, um Ihr Au-pair-Vorhaben erfolgreich in die Tat umzusetzen.  

1. Schritt: Ein Au-pair finden

Das ist nicht so einfach, wie Sie vielleicht glauben. Es gibt keine Au-pair-Agentur mit offiziellem Sitz in Luxemburg. Stattdessen gibt es eine Vielzahl von Online-Plattformen, die Gastfamilien und Au-pairs zusammenbringen, z. B. aupair.com, kangarooaupair.com, www.aupairworld.com und greataupair.com. Sie alle können Ihnen bei der Suche helfen. Ein guter Rat: Akzeptieren Sie nicht den erstbesten Au-pair-Bewerber, sondern suchen Sie nach jemandem, dessen Erwartungen zu Ihren eigenen passen.

2. Schritt: Genehmigung für Gastfamilie und Au-pair einholen

Um eine Au-pair-Genehmigung zu erhalten, müssen Sie einen Antrag beim Ministerium für Bildung, Kinder und Jugend (Ministère de l’Education nationale, de l’Enfance et de la Jeunesse) stellen, dem verschiedene Dokumente beigelegt werden müssen: das Antragsformular (online auf Französisch und Englisch verfügbar), eine Bescheinigung über die Zusammensetzung des Haushalts, die von der Wohnsitzgemeinde ausgestellt wird, ein polizeiliches Führungszeugnis für alle erwachsenen Familienmitglieder, das nicht älter als drei Monate sein darf, und eine Bescheinigung über die Kinderbetreuung für Kinder unter 6 Jahren (Sie erhalten sie von einer Kinderbetreuungseinrichtung oder einer Tagesmutter oder Sie können eine eidesstattliche Erklärung abgeben).  

Auch zukünftige Au-pairs müssen eine Genehmigung des Ministeriums für Familie und Integration vorlegen. Dafür müssen die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein: mindestens 18 und höchstens 30 Jahre alt, Wohnsitz in einem anderen Land als Luxemburg, Besitz einer Hochschulzugangsberechtigung im Heimatland oder eines Nachweises, dass er/sie bis zum Alter von 17 Jahren zur Schule gegangen ist, Grundkenntnisse in einer der in Ihrer Familie gesprochenen Sprachen sowie Englisch oder einer der drei Amtssprachen des Landes (Französisch, Deutsch oder Luxemburgisch), Vorlage eines ärztlichen Attests, das maximal drei Monate vor der Ankunft ausgestellt wurde, und das ihm/ihr die Fähigkeit bescheinigt, einfache Aufgaben in der Familie wie Kinderbetreuung zu übernehmen sowie Abschluss eines Au-pair-Aufnahmevertrags mit Ihnen.

Wenn Ihr Au-pair Bürger eines Drittstaats ist (d. h. eines anderen Landes als der EU-Mitgliedsstaaten, Islands, Norwegens, Liechtensteins und der Schweiz), ist ein zweistufiges Verfahren vorgeschrieben. Vor der Einreise muss Ihr Au-pair eine vorläufige Aufenthaltserlaubnis bei der Einwanderungsstelle des Ministeriums für auswärtige und europäische Angelegenheiten sowie ggf. ein Visum beantragen. Nach der Einreise muss Ihr Au-pair sich einer ärztlichen Untersuchung unterziehen und eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis beantragen (die vorläufige Aufenthaltserlaubnis gilt maximal für 90 Tage).

3. Schritt: Einhaltung der gesetzlichen Verpflichtungen

Die Bestimmungen des Arbeitsgesetzbuchs gelten nicht für die Aufnahme von Au-pairs. Um jedoch jeglichem Missbrauch vorzubeugen, gibt das Luxemburger Recht seit Februar 2013 ein sehr strenges Regelwerk vor, in dem die Rechte und Pflichten von Gastfamilien eindeutig festgelegt sind. Nach der Ankunft Ihres Au-pairs in Luxemburg müssen Sie ihn/sie bei der Kranken- und Unfallversicherung anmelden und eine Haftpflichtversicherung für ihn/sie bei einer zugelassenen Versicherungsgesellschaft in Luxemburg abschließen. Sie müssen dem Au-pair nicht nur Verpflegung, ein eigenes Zimmer und unbeschränkten Zugang zu Ihrem Haus oder Ihrer Wohnung zur Verfügung stellen, sondern darüber hinaus ein festes monatliches Taschengeld in Höhe von ¼ des Mindestlohns bezahlen (512 €) und die Kosten für seinen/ihren Sprachkurs übernehmen. Die Mithilfe des Au-pairs in Ihrem Haushalt darf durchschnittlich 5 Stunden pro Tag über einen Zeitraum von einer Woche und durchschnittlich 30 Stunden pro Woche über einen Zeitraum von einem Monat nicht überschreiten. Nach Luxemburger Recht ist die Arbeit nicht der primäre Zweck eines Au-pair-Aufenthalts.

Au-pair-Aufenthalte werden vom Nationalen Jugendwerk (Service National de la Jeunesse, SNJ) verwaltet, überwacht und koordiniert. Das SNJ vermittelt zwischen Gastfamilien und Bewerbern, bearbeitet Anträge auf Genehmigungen für Gastfamilien und Au-pairs, überwacht die Situation der Gastfamilien, organisiert verpflichtende Informationsveranstaltungen für Au-pairs in Luxemburg und schlichtet bei Streitigkeiten zwischen Gastfamilien und Au-pairs.

4. Schritt: Ende des Aufenthaltes

Sie dürfen jeweils immer nur ein Au-pair auf einmal für maximal ein Jahr aufnehmen. Bei Ereignissen höherer Gewalt oder schwerem Fehlverhalten einer der Parteien sind Sie berechtigt, den Au-pair-Vertrag vorzeitig mit sofortiger Wirkung zu kündigen, in allen anderen Fällen mit einer Frist von mindestens einem Monat. 

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Website accueil-aupair.lu, die vom SNJ betrieben wird.

 

04/20

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten

  • Einwanderung war für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Großherzogtums schon immer von entscheidender Bedeutung und an diesem Trend wird sich auch nichts ändern. 1961 hatte Luxemburg 314.900 Einwohner, 13.2 % davon Ausländer.

  • Es ist jedes Jahr das Gleiche. Die Sommerferien haben begonnen und Sie wissen nicht, wie Sie Ihre Kinder beschäftigen sollen. Was ist das Beste für Ihre Kinder und ist es nicht schon zu spät, Aktivitäten für sie zu planen?

  • Es ist Sommer. Das kann für Familien in aller Welt eine tolle Zeit sein. Wenn die Kinder nicht zur Schule müssen, rücken schnell der jährliche Sommerurlaub und das angesagteste Reiseziel in den Blickpunkt. Wenn man im Ausland lebt, ändert sich das Urlaubskonzept jedoch. Oft steht man vor einem Dilemma und der Urlaub wird alles andere als erholsam!