What are your voting rights in the Grand Duchy?

As you probably know, legislative elections in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg are held every 5 years and allow to elect the 60 deputies who make up the Chamber of Deputies (the national Parliament)[1]. Voting is compulsory for all voters registered on the electoral roll and only Luxembourg nationals over 18 years of age are allowed to vote. As a foreigner national, you cannot be involved in the voting process but is it also the case for the communal and the European elections?  Before answering this question, it is important to mention the fact that even if they will be not eligible to vote in the next legislative elections, 82% of foreign residents show an interest in Luxembourg politics, according to a survey conducted by the market research company TNS Ilres. The question for voting rights for foreign nationals was among three issues raised in the 2015 referendum but the motion was rejected. However, as a foreigner national, you have the right to vote in the communal and the European elections. What are the prerequisites and how to proceed?

Taking part in communal elections

The municipal elections are held every 6 years, usually on the second Sunday of October but can be moved to the first Sunday in June if the legislative elections and the communal elections were scheduled to take place in October of the same year[1]. Voting is compulsory for all voters registered on the electoral list, regardless of their nationality (Luxembourg nationals, EU nationals and others). To vote, you must fulfil the 4 following conditions: be at least 18 years on the day of the elections, enjoy civil rights, be domiciled in Luxembourg and have resided in the country for at least 5 years, the last year of residence prior to application for registration on the list being uninterrupted.

In addition, if you wish to participate to these elections for the first time, you must be registered on the electoral list no later than the 87th day before the elections. Unlike the Luxembourgish voters, you are not registered automatically. You may submit your request electronically via MyGuichet.lu or submit a written application on plain paper. In this case, you have to go to the communal administration of your place of residence in order to complete, date and sign an application for registration on the separate list of foreign voters (which mentions, among others, your nationality). In order to prevent abstention, you may request to vote by post. It is important to know that you do not lose your right to vote in your country of origin by registering you as a non-Luxembourgish elector for the communal elections.

And why not standing as a candidate?

Even if you are not a Luxembourgish citizen, you may stand as a candidate and be elected communal councillor, alderman or mayor. Of course, the prerequisites are the same as for having the right to vote but, in addition, you must have been living for at least 6 months in the commune at the time of filling your candidate application. If you live in a commune of less than 3,000 inhabitants, you participate in elections under the relative majority system and do not need to be part of a list of candidates. In contrast, if you live in a commune of 3,000 inhabitants and more, you participate in elections under the proportional representation voting system and must be part of a group of candidates. In both cases, you must submit your candidate application at least 30 days before the day of the vote.   

Taking part in European elections

The next elections for the European Parliament will be held in May 2019. If you are an EU national, you will have the right to vote in these elections provided that you are domiciled in Luxembourg and registered on the electoral list of the commune where you are living at least before the 87th day preceding the elections. As for the communal elections, registration is not automatic for non-Luxembourgish electors. The procedure of registration is the same: electronically via MyGuichet.lu or on paper. Pay attention to the fact that the electoral registration for the European elections do not give you the right to vote in the communal elections. They are two separate registers and, as such, a separate registration for each is required. One you are registered, keep in mind that you must vote – voting in the European elections is compulsory – and if you cannot go to the polls for one or another reason, a postal voting system has been put in place.     

Running as a candidate is also possible but the competition is very strong. Luxembourg has only 6 representatives sitting in the European Parliament and each list of candidates must contain a majority of Luxembourgers. You can always try. Who dares nothing wins nothing!

(1) Unlike its neighbouring countries, Luxembourg has a unicameral parliamentary system.
[2] The latest communal elections were held in October 2017.

06/20

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Welches Wahlrecht habe ich in Luxemburg?

Wie Sie sicher wissen, finden am 14. Oktober 2018 Parlamentswahlen im Großherzogtum Luxemburg statt. Diese Wahlen werden alle fünf Jahre abgehalten. Dabei werden die 60 Abgeordneten gewählt, aus denen sich die Abgeordnetenkammer (das Nationalparlament) zusammensetzt[1]. Für alle im Wahlregister eingetragenen Wähler herrscht Wahlpflicht und nur Luxemburger Staatsangehörige ab 18 Jahren sind wahlberechtigt. Als Ausländer dürfen Sie nicht wählen. Aber gilt das auch für Kommunal- und Europawahlen?    Bevor wir diese Frage beantworten, sollte erwähnt werden, dass 82 % der in Luxemburg lebenden Ausländer sich für die Luxemburger Politik interessieren, auch wenn sie nicht an der anstehenden Parlamentswahl teilnehmen dürfen. Das ergab eine Umfrage des Marktforschungsunternehmens TNS Ilres. Die Frage nach dem Wahlrecht für Ausländer war eines der drei Themen im Referendum von 2015. Es wurde jedoch abgelehnt. Als ausländischer Staatsbürger sind Sie jedoch berechtigt, an Kommunal- und Europawahlen teilzunehmen. Was sind die Voraussetzungen dafür und wie geht das?

Teilnahme an Kommunalwahlen

Die Gemeinderatswahlen finden alle sechs Jahre, meist am zweiten Sonntag im Oktober, statt. Sie können jedoch auf den ersten Sonntag im Juni verschoben werden, wenn die Parlamentswahlen und die Kommunalwahlen im Oktober desselben Jahres stattfinden sollen[1]. Für alle im Wahlregister eingetragenen Wähler herrscht Wahlpflicht, unabhängig von ihrer Nationalität (Luxemburger Staatsangehörige, EU-Bürger und andere Nationalitäten). Wenn Sie wählen möchten, müssen Sie die folgenden vier Bedingungen erfüllen: Sie müssen am Wahltag mindestens 18 Jahre alt sein, Bürgerrechte genießen, in Luxemburg ansässig sein und mindestens fünf Jahre im Land gelebt haben, das letzte Jahr vor der Registrierung als Wähler ununterbrochen.

Außerdem müssen Sie spätestens 87 Tage vor der Wahl im Wahlregister eingetragen sein, wenn Sie zum ersten Mal an diesen Wahlen teilnehmen möchten. Anders als die Luxemburger Wähler werden Sie nicht automatisch eingetragen. Sie können Ihren Antrag auf elektronischem Wege unter MyGuichet.lu einreichen oder schriftlich einen formlosen Antrag stellen. In diesem Fall müssen Sie bei der Gemeindeverwaltung Ihres Wohnortes vorstellig werden und einen Antrag auf Eintragung in das separate Verzeichnis ausländischer Wähler (in dem unter anderem Ihre Nationalität angegeben ist) ausfüllen, mit Datum versehen und unterschreiben. Um Stimmenthaltungen zu vermeiden, können Sie Briefwahl beantragen. Beachten Sie, dass Sie das Wahlrecht in Ihrem Heimatland nicht verlieren, wenn Sie sich als ausländischer Wähler für die Luxemburger Kommunalwahlen registrieren.

Warum nicht kandidieren?

Selbst wenn Sie kein Luxemburger Bürger sind, können Sie sich als Ratsmitglied, Beigeordneter oder Bürgermeister zur Wahl stellen. Natürlich gelten dieselben Voraussetzungen wie für das aktive Wahlrecht, aber zusätzlich müssen Sie mindestens sechs Monate lang in der jeweiligen Gemeinde gelebt haben, wenn Sie den Antrag für Ihre Kandidatur einreichen. Wenn Sie in einer Gemeinde mit weniger als 3.000 Einwohnern leben, können Sie nach dem System der relativen Mehrheit an Wahlen teilnehmen und müssen nicht auf einer Kandidatenliste stehen. Wenn Sie in einer Gemeinde mit mehr als 3.000 Einwohnern leben, müssen Sie an einer Wahl nach dem Verhältniswahlsystem teilnehmen und Teil einer Gruppe von Kandidaten sein. In beiden Fällen müssen Sie Ihre Kandidatur mindestens 30 Tage vor der Wahl beantragen.   

Teilnahme an Europawahlen

Die nächsten Wahlen für das Europaparlament finden im Mai 2019 statt. Wenn Sie EU-Bürger sind, dürfen Sie an dieser Wahl teilnehmen, sofern Sie Ihren Wohnsitz in Luxemburg haben und im Wählerverzeichnis der Gemeinde eingetragen sind, in der Sie mindestens 87 Tage vor der Wahl Ihren Wohnsitz hatten. Wie bei den Kommunalwahlen werden Wähler ohne Luxemburger Staatsangehörigkeit nicht automatisch registriert. Das Registrierungsverfahren ist gleich: elektronisch unter MyGuichet.lu oder schriftlich. Beachten Sie, dass eine Registrierung als Wähler für die Europawahlen Sie nicht berechtigt, an Kommunalwahlen teilzunehmen. Es handelt sich um zwei separate Verzeichnisse, daher ist für jedes eine separate Registrierung erforderlich. Denken Sie daran, dass Sie wählen müssen, wenn Sie erst einmal registriert sind – die Teilnahme an den Europawahlen ist verpflichtend. Wenn Sie aus irgendeinem Grund nicht wählen gehen können, steht Ihnen das Briefwahlsystem zur Verfügung.    

Sie können sich auch als Kandidat aufstellen lassen, aber die Konkurrenz ist groß. Luxemburg ist nur mit sechs Sitzen im Europaparlament vertreten und bei der Mehrheit der Kandidaten auf den jeweiligen Listen muss es sich um Luxemburger handeln. Aber Sie können es natürlich versuchen. Wer nicht wagt, der nicht gewinnt!

[1] Anders als seine Nachbarländer hat Luxemburg ein Einkammersystem.

[2] Die letzten Kommunalwahlen fanden im Oktober 2017 statt.

06/20

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten

  • Einwanderung war für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Großherzogtums schon immer von entscheidender Bedeutung und an diesem Trend wird sich auch nichts ändern. 1961 hatte Luxemburg 314.900 Einwohner, 13.2 % davon Ausländer.

  • Es ist jedes Jahr das Gleiche. Die Sommerferien haben begonnen und Sie wissen nicht, wie Sie Ihre Kinder beschäftigen sollen. Was ist das Beste für Ihre Kinder und ist es nicht schon zu spät, Aktivitäten für sie zu planen?

  • Es ist Sommer. Das kann für Familien in aller Welt eine tolle Zeit sein. Wenn die Kinder nicht zur Schule müssen, rücken schnell der jährliche Sommerurlaub und das angesagteste Reiseziel in den Blickpunkt. Wenn man im Ausland lebt, ändert sich das Urlaubskonzept jedoch. Oft steht man vor einem Dilemma und der Urlaub wird alles andere als erholsam!