What qualifications do you need to work in Luxembourg?

The Grand-Duchy is still an attractive place for medium and high-skilled workers from all over the world. According to the National Institute of Statistics and Economic Studies (Statec), employment rose 3.9% between the second quarters 2017 and 2018. During the same timeframe, the number of EU and non-EU nationals living and working in the country increased respectively by 2.7% and 10%. But before you take the decision to work in Luxembourg, how to be sure that your diplomas and qualifications obtained abroad will be recognised?     Higher education diplomas obtained abroad are formally recognised either through recording in the register of certificates of academic education, or through official approval in order to be admitted to supplementary courses in Luxembourg law and to gain access to certain legal professions.

Registration is required to carry an academic title and attests the duration of your studies and the value of your diploma(s). Associate degrees (brevet d’enseignement supérieur, diploma van gegradueerde, graad van gegradueerde, getuigschrift associate degree), Bachelor’s, Master’s or Doctor’s degrees (diplomas awarded following the defence of a thesis) obtained in Belgium or in the Netherlands and awarded for higher education courses recognised in Belgium or in the Netherlands are automatically registered in Luxembourg without any prior formality. Diplomas that are not recognised by the State authorities where they were issued may not be recorded in the register of certificate.

Application form is available online with eTracking[1] in English, French and German and must be sent, with your documents drafted in one of the 3 official languages of the country (French, Luxembourgish or German) or translated into one of these languages and certified by a sworn translator, to the Ministry of Higher Education and Research (Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche). A proof of the payment of the fee to cover the processing costs (€ 75) is also required. And if you are not a national from the member States of the European Union, of the European Economic Area or of the Swiss Confederation, you must add a copy of your residence permit in Luxembourg.

Gaining access to specific professions

Your diplomas, certificates and/or professional qualifications earned abroad need to be recognised as equivalent if you want to access specific professions such as liberal professions, commercial and craft activities, healthcare and socio-educational professions (graduate educator, carer). Application form for recognition of equivalence is available online (only in French) and must be sent, with your documents and the proof of payment of the fee (€ 75), to the Department for the Recognition of Diplomas (Service de la reconnaissance des diplômes). For commercial, liberal and craft professions, you can obtain the recognition for your higher education (academic) diploma acquired abroad by following the same procedures as mentioned above: registration or official approval for certain legal professions.

If you have obtained your professional qualifications outside of the European Union, you must be able to prove a formal qualification issued by a non-EU country and which is officially recognised by another EU member State and a professional experience of 3 years in that member State. 

Requesting an accreditation of prior and experiential learning

Your knowledge and skills acquired during your professional career or through training courses, during internships, in your leisure time or when carrying out voluntary work may be officially recognised by means of the accreditation of prior and experiential learning (validation des acquis de l’expérience – VAE). The VAE enables you to obtain certificates or diplomas required to take part to a training course, to shorten the training course or to acquire a title, certificate or diploma in full or in part. All professional and non-professional activities may be accredited, provided that you can prove you have spent at least 3 years (or 5,000 hours) learning a skill directly related to the certificate or diploma requested.

Secondary technical education certificates and diplomas (certificate of professional anility, professional aptitude diploma, technical diploma and secondary school technical diploma) and the master craftsman’s certificate can be subject to an accreditation of prior and experiential learning. Thanks to the VAE, you can also access training courses resulting in a BTS (brevet de technicien supérieur – advanced technician’s certificate) or first-, second, and- third levels courses at the University of Luxembourg, even if you do not have a secondary school or university diploma. You will find more information and application forms (only in French) on guichet.lu

Just arrived in Luxembourg? Visit our website.

06/20

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Welche Qualifikationen braucht man, um in Luxemburg zu arbeiten?

Das Großherzogtum ist immer noch ein Anziehungspunkt für mittel- bis hochqualifizierte Fachkräfte aus aller Welt. Dem Nationalen Institut für Statistik und Wirtschaftsstudien (Statec) zufolge ist die Beschäftigungsquote zwischen dem zweiten Quartal 2017 und 2018 um 3,9 % gestiegen. Im selben Zeitraum stieg die Zahl der EU- und Nicht-EU-Ausländer, die im Land lebten und arbeiteten, um 2,7 % bzw. 10 % an. Aber wie kann man sicher sein, dass ausländische Abschlüsse und Qualifikationen anerkannt werden, bevor man den Entschluss fasst, in Luxemburg zu arbeiten? Im Ausland erworbene Hochschulabschlüsse werden entweder durch Eintragung in das Register für Bildungsnachweise des Hochschulwesens oder durch eine offizielle Anerkennung für die Zulassung zu ergänzenden Studien des Luxemburger Rechts und den Zugang zu bestimmten juristischen Berufen formal anerkannt.

Die Registrierung ist erforderlich, wenn Sie einen akademischen Titel führen möchten. Sie bescheinigt die Dauer Ihrer Ausbildung und den Wert Ihres Abschlusses (bzw. Ihrer Abschlüsse). Associate-Abschlüsse (brevet d’enseignement supérieur, diploma van gegradueerde, graad van gegradueerde, getuigschrift associate degree), Bachelor- oder Master-Abschlüsse oder Doktortitel (Abschlüsse, die nach der erfolgreichen Dissertation vergeben werden) die aus Belgien oder den Niederlanden stammen oder für Hochschulstudiengänge vergeben werden, die in Belgien oder den Niederlanden anerkannt sind, werden in Luxemburg ohne vorheriges förmliches Verfahren automatisch eingetragen. Abschlüsse, die nicht von den Behörden der Staaten, in denen sie ausgestellt wurden, anerkannt sind, können nicht in das Register für Bildungsnachweise eingetragen werden. 
 
Antragsformulare sind online mit eTracking auf Englisch, Französisch und Deutsch verfügbar. Sie müssen sie zusammen mit Ihren in einer der drei Amtssprachen des Landes (Französisch, Luxemburgisch und Deutsch) ausgestellten oder in Form einer beglaubigten Übersetzung in eine dieser Sprachen vorliegenden Dokumenten beim Ministerium für Hochschulwesen und Forschung (Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche) einreichen. Ein Beleg über die Zahlung der Bearbeitungsgebühr (75 €) muss ebenfalls vorgelegt werden. Wenn Sie kein Bürger eines Mitgliedsstaates der Europäischen Union, des Europäischen Wirtschaftsraums oder der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft sind, müssen Sie eine Kopie Ihrer Aufenthaltserlaubnis für Luxemburg vorlegen.

Zugang zu bestimmten Berufen

Ihre im Ausland erworbenen Abschlüsse, Zeugnisse bzw. beruflichen Qualifikationen müssen als gleichwertig anerkannt werden, wenn Sie bestimmte Berufe ausüben möchten, beispielsweise freie Berufe, gewerbliche und handwerkliche Tätigkeiten oder Berufe im Gesundheitswesen oder sozialen/erzieherischen Bereich (Pädagogen, Kinderbetreuer). Das Antragsformular für die Anerkennung als gleichwertig ist online (nur auf Französisch) verfügbar. Sie müssen es gemeinsam mit Ihren Dokumenten und dem Beleg über die Zahlung der Gebühr (75 €) bei der Abteilung für Diplomanerkennung (Service de la reconnaissance des diplômes) einreichen. Auch für gewerbliche, freie und handwerkliche Berufe können Sie sich Ihren im Ausland erworbenen (akademischen) Hochschulabschluss anhand des oben beschriebenen Verfahrens anerkennen lassen: Eintragung oder offizielle Anerkennung für bestimmte juristische Berufe. 

Wenn Sie Ihre beruflichen Qualifikationen außerhalb der Europäischen Union erworben haben, müssen Sie eine von einem Nicht-EU-Land ausgestellte offizielle Qualifikation vorlegen können, die offiziell von einem anderen EU-Mitgliedsstaat anerkannt wurde, und drei Jahre Berufserfahrung in diesem Mitgliedsstaat nachweisen.

Qualifizierende Anerkennung erworbener Kompetenzen beantragen

Das Wissen und die Fähigkeiten, die Sie im Laufe Ihres Berufslebens oder durch Schulungen, Praktika, in Ihrer Freizeit oder durch ehrenamtliche Tätigkeiten erworben haben, können Sie sich durch die qualifizierende Anerkennung erworbener Kompetenzen (validation des acquis de l’expérience, VAE) anerkennen lassen. Mithilfe der VAE können Sie Zeugnisse oder Abschlüsse bekommen, die Sie benötigen, um an einer Vollzeitausbildung teilzunehmen, die Ausbildungszeit zu verkürzen oder ganz oder teilweise einen Titel, ein Zeugnis oder einen Abschluss zu erhalten. Alle beruflichen und nicht beruflichen Aktivitäten können anerkannt werden, sofern Sie nachweisen können, dass Sie mindestens drei Jahre (oder 5.000 Stunden) aufgewendet haben, um eine Kompetenz zu erwerben, die unmittelbar mit dem beantragten Abschluss oder Zertifikat in Verbindung steht.

Für Zeugnisse und Abschlüsse der technischen Sekundarstufe (Bescheinigung über die berufliche Eignung, Zeugnis der fachlichen Eignung, technisches Abschlusszeugnis und Abschlusszeugnis der technischen Sekundarstufe) sowie den Meisterbrief kann eine Anerkennung erworbener Kompetenzen erforderlich sein. Dank der VAE können Sie auch an Ausbildungen, die zu einem BTS-Abschluss (brevet de technicien supérieur, höheres Fachdiplom) führen, oder an Studien ersten, zweiten und dritten Grades an der Universität Luxemburg teilnehmen, selbst wenn Sie kein Abitur oder einen Hochschulabschluss haben. Weitere Informationen und Antragsformulare (nur auf Französisch) finden Sie unter
guichet.lu.

Neu in Luxemburg? Besuchen Sie unsere
Website.

06/20

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten

  • Einwanderung war für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Großherzogtums schon immer von entscheidender Bedeutung und an diesem Trend wird sich auch nichts ändern. 1961 hatte Luxemburg 314.900 Einwohner, 13.2 % davon Ausländer.

  • Es ist jedes Jahr das Gleiche. Die Sommerferien haben begonnen und Sie wissen nicht, wie Sie Ihre Kinder beschäftigen sollen. Was ist das Beste für Ihre Kinder und ist es nicht schon zu spät, Aktivitäten für sie zu planen?

  • Es ist Sommer. Das kann für Familien in aller Welt eine tolle Zeit sein. Wenn die Kinder nicht zur Schule müssen, rücken schnell der jährliche Sommerurlaub und das angesagteste Reiseziel in den Blickpunkt. Wenn man im Ausland lebt, ändert sich das Urlaubskonzept jedoch. Oft steht man vor einem Dilemma und der Urlaub wird alles andere als erholsam!