Where to find help for newcomer students in Luxembourg?

Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners. On 1 January 2018, the country reached a population of 602,005 people, among which 47,9% of foreigners! Some of them join the international schools present in the Grand Duchy, while others choose to integrate the Luxembourg school system[1]. This choice is crucial for the Luxembourgish authorities as it promotes the integration of newcomers into society and preserves the social balance of the country.

Intercultural mediators

That is why several structures have been set up to welcome and guide newcomer students to Luxembourg. First of all, you have the Department of Schooling for Foreign Children (Service de la scolarisation des enfants étrangers - SECAM). Depending on the Ministry of National Education, Childhood and Youth, this service aims to inform newcomers to Luxembourg about the Luxembourg school system, support systems, enrolment in schools and provide, if necessary, intercultural mediation.

Parents, teachers and school authorities can ask for help, free of charge, from an intercultural mediator who speaks a foreign language in addition to the official languages of the Grand-Duchy[1]. Mediators facilitate communication and mutual understanding between families, pupils and teachers. They give assistance to parents and teachers during the welcoming of the pupils, translate information about the child’s previous schooling in his/her country of origin, help occasionally or regularly in class, etc. To request the intervention of an intercultural mediator, you have to use an online form (only in French).

School reception for students over 12

The School Reception Unit for Newly Arrived Children (Cellule d’accueil scolaire pour élèves nouveaux arrivants – CASNA) provides assistance to young people aged between 12 and 18 who wish to continue their studies in post-primary education. It facilitates their placement into a class corresponding to their profile.

Students who are fluent in Luxembourg’s languages instructions (German, French and, depending on the level, English) are placed in regular classes.

For students aged 12 to 15 who are not fluent in French and German, special classes known as reception classes or integration classes are available. Reception classes are transitional classes designed for non-French speaking students. The students take classes in French for beginners, mathematics and Luxembourgish with a view to joining a lower- or mid-level class in the technical secondary education system (special language-track classes) or in the preparatory track. French-language integration classes are intended for students who do not speak French but had a good academic level in their country of origin. In these classes, the language of instruction is French. They study French intensively, do not learn German and can continue their education in special language-track classes or in preparatory classes leading to the International Baccalaureate diploma. German-language integration classes are aimed at students with a good knowledge of French who had a good academic level in their country of origin. They study German intensively, while all other subjects are taught in French. Depending on the level reached by the end of the year, they can continue their education in a regular secondary school or in a technical secondary school.

For students aged 16 to 17 who are not fluent in French and German, there are 3 options. Integration classes for young adults (Classes d’insertion pour jeunes adultes – CLA) offer basic instruction in French in preparation for technical secondary education or social and economic self-sufficiency. In special language-track classes in mid- and upper-level secondary education (RLS), the programs are identical to those in the standard technical and vocational education system, but the language of instruction is French instead of German. Pre-professional integration classes (Classes d’insertion pré-professionnelle – CLIPP) are transitional classes for students with some knowledge of French. Depending on the student’s skills and goals, the instruction will be geared towards entering the school system or the world of work.     

  • For more information, you can contact CASNA at the following number: (+352) 247-85277. They provide information in English. And don’t forget to visit our website if you want to discover our solutions tailored to newcomers. 

[1] See our previous article “In which school should you place your children?”
[2] As of September 2016, the available languages were Albanian, Arabic, Bulgarian, Chinese, Creole (Cap Verde), Creole (Guinee Bissau), Czech, Dutch, Filipino, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Korean, Nepalese, Persian (Farsi), Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbo-Croat, Slovak, Spanish, Turkish, Ukrainian, Vietnamese, and Wolof.

04/20

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Wo finden neu eingereiste Schüler Hilfe?

Einwanderung war für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Großherzogtums schon immer von entscheidender Bedeutung und an diesem Trend wird sich auch nichts ändern. 1961 hatte Luxemburg 314.900 Einwohner, 13.2 % davon Ausländer. Am 1. Januar 2018 war die Einwohnerzahl des Landes auf 602.005 gestiegen, darunter waren 47,9 % Ausländer! Einige von ihnen besuchen die internationalen Schulen im Großherzogtum, andere entscheiden sich für das Luxemburger Schulsystem[1]. Diese Entscheidung ist für die Luxemburger Behörden entscheidend, da sie die Integration der Neuankömmlinge in die Gesellschaft fördert und das soziale Gleichgewicht im Land erhält.

Interkulturelle Mediatoren

Deswegen wurden verschiedene Strukturen geschaffen, um Schüler, die neu in Luxemburg sind, willkommen zu heißen und zu unterstützen. Zunächst einmal ist da die Abteilung für die Einschulung von ausländischen Kindern (Service de la scolarisation des enfants étrangers, SECAM). Diese Dienststelle untersteht dem Ministerium für Bildung, Kinder und Jugend und soll Neuankömmlinge in Luxemburg über das Luxemburger Schulsystem, Unterstützungssysteme und die Anmeldung an Schulen informieren und bei Bedarf als interkultureller Mediator fungieren.

Eltern, Lehrer und Schulen können sich kostenlos an interkulturelle Mediatoren wenden, die zusätzlich zu den Amtssprachen des Großherzogtums auch noch eine ausländische Sprache beherrschen[1]. Die Mediatoren erleichtern die Kommunikation und das gegenseitige Verständnis von Familien, Schülern und Lehrern. Sie unterstützen Eltern und Lehrer bei der Einschulung der Schüler, übersetzen Informationen über die bisherige Schullaufbahn der Kinder im Heimatland, helfen gelegentlich oder regelmäßig im Unterricht usw. Wenn Sie die Hilfe eines interkulturellen Mediators in Anspruch nehmen möchten, müssen Sie dies per Online-Formular (nur auf Französisch) beantragen. 

Einschulung von Schülern ab 12 Jahren

Die Empfangsstelle des Bildungsministeriums für neu zugezogene Schüler (Cellule d’accueil scolaire pour élèves nouveaux arrivants, CASNA) bietet Unterstützung für Jugendliche zwischen 12 und 18 Jahren, die ihre Ausbildung an einer weiterführenden Schule fortsetzen möchten. Sie kümmert sich um die Einstufung in eine Klasse, die zu ihrem Profil passt.

Schüler, die die Luxemburger Unterrichtssprachen (Deutsch, Französisch und, je nach Jahrgangsstufe, Englisch) fließend beherrschen, werden regulären Klassen zugewiesen. 

Für Schüler zwischen 12 und 15 Jahren, die nicht fließend Französisch und Deutsch sprechen, gibt es spezielle Aufnahmeklassen oder Integrationsklassen. Aufnahmeklassen sind Übergangsklassen für nicht-französischsprachige Schüler. Die Schüler erhalten Französischunterricht für Anfänger sowie Unterricht in Mathematik und Luxemburgisch mit der Perspektive, in eine untere oder mittlere Klasse der technischen Sekundarstufe (Klassen mit spezieller sprachlicher Ausrichtung) oder in vorbereitende Klassen zu wechseln. Französischsprachige Integrationsklassen richten sich an Schüler, die kein Französisch sprechen, aber in ihrem Heimatland gute schulische Leistungen erbracht haben. Unterrichtssprache in diesen Klassen ist Französisch. Sie lernen intensiv Französisch, aber kein Deutsch, und können ihre Ausbildung in Klassen mit spezieller sprachlicher Ausrichtung oder in vorbereitenden Klassen fortsetzen, die zum internationalen Abitur (International Baccalaureate) führen. Deutschsprachige Integrationsklassen richten sich an Schüler, die gut Französisch sprechen und in ihrem Heimatland gute schulische Leistungen erbracht haben. Sie lernen intensiv Deutsch, alle anderen Fächer werden jedoch auf Französisch unterrichtet. Je nach dem am Jahresende erreichten Niveau können sie ihre Ausbildung an einer Schule mit regulärer oder technischer Sekundarstufe fortsetzen.

Schüler zwischen 16 und 17 Jahren, die nicht fließend Französisch und Deutsch können, haben drei Möglichkeiten. Integrationsklassen für junge Erwachsene (Classes d’insertion pour jeunes adultes, CLA) vermitteln Grundkenntnisse in Französisch und bereiten auf die technische Sekundarstufe und wirtschaftliche Unabhängigkeit vor. In Klassen mit spezieller sprachlicher Ausrichtung in der mittleren und oberen Sekundarstufe (RLS) entsprechen die Lehrpläne denen des standardmäßigen technischen und beruflichen Bildungssystems, aber die Unterrichtssprache ist Französisch anstelle von Deutsch. Berufsvorbereitende Integrationsklassen (Classes d’insertion pré-professionnelle, CLIPP) sind Übergangsklassen für Schüler, die über gewisse Französischkenntnisse verfügen. Je nach den Fähigkeiten und Zielen der Schüler bereitet der Unterricht auf das Schulsystem oder die Arbeitswelt vor.     . 

  • Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie von der CASNA unter folgender Rufnummer: (+352) 247-85277. Dort erhalten Sie Informationen auf Englisch. Besuchen Sie auch unsere Website. Hier finden Sie unsere maßgeschneiderten Lösungen für Neuankömmlinge. 

[1] Lesen Sie auch unseren früheren Artikel „Bei welcher Schule sollten Sie Ihre Kinder anmelden?“

[2] Verfügbare Sprachen mit Stand von September 2016: Albanisch, Arabisch, Bulgarisch, Chinesisch, Kreolisch (Kapverden), Kreolisch (Guinea-Bissau), Tschechisch, Niederländisch, Philippinisch, Griechisch, Ungarisch, Italienisch, Koreanisch, Nepalesisch, Persisch (Farsi), Polnisch, Portugiesisch, Rumänisch, Russisch, Serbokroatisch, Slowakisch, Spanisch, Türkisch, Ukrainisch, Vietnamesisch und Wolof.

04/20

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten

  • Einwanderung war für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Großherzogtums schon immer von entscheidender Bedeutung und an diesem Trend wird sich auch nichts ändern. 1961 hatte Luxemburg 314.900 Einwohner, 13.2 % davon Ausländer.

  • Es ist jedes Jahr das Gleiche. Die Sommerferien haben begonnen und Sie wissen nicht, wie Sie Ihre Kinder beschäftigen sollen. Was ist das Beste für Ihre Kinder und ist es nicht schon zu spät, Aktivitäten für sie zu planen?

  • Es ist Sommer. Das kann für Familien in aller Welt eine tolle Zeit sein. Wenn die Kinder nicht zur Schule müssen, rücken schnell der jährliche Sommerurlaub und das angesagteste Reiseziel in den Blickpunkt. Wenn man im Ausland lebt, ändert sich das Urlaubskonzept jedoch. Oft steht man vor einem Dilemma und der Urlaub wird alles andere als erholsam!