10 ways to make your Wi-fi more secure

By now, most of us know that public hotspots aren’t always safe to use. Yet, internet security can be an issue even when using your home Wi-fi. Here are a number of ways to improve network security at home.

Check which security protocol you are using.

There are a number of different security protocols – WEP is the oldest and weakest. WPA is better than WEP. WPA2 is the current standard for a secure, encrypted Wi-fi network. If your home network is not WPA2, go to the settings page of your router and change it.

Use a secure password. 

One of the most frequent mistakes in home network management is the continued use of the pre-set password (often “admin” or “1234”). Change the secret password to one that is sufficiently complex.

Deactivate remote router control.

The remote router control is usually pre-set to deactivated but you better check that this is indeed the case for your system. If it is not, deactivate the remote control since this could allow others to access your Wi-fi system.

Protect your ID.

Wireless routers usually transmit the user’s Wi-fi ID without restriction. Deactivate this option by un-ticking the relevant box in the settings. Your system will no longer be easy to identify. If you do this, however, you have to enter your network key each time you connect to the Wi-fi.

Do not use the guest network.

Unless you use it, disable your guest network. This allows visitors to connect to your wireless network.

Do not interconnect devices. 

Most modern wireless routers support several protocols to allow devices to interconnect automatically. Deactivate the ones you don’t use to reduce the risk of intrusion.

Keep your firmware up to date. 

Firmware is the program that runs your device, connecting hardware with software. Regularly update your router’s firmware from the manufacturer’s official website to reduce the vulnerability of your system.

Think about where to put your router. 

Signals from wireless systems radiate in all directions. If your router is next to the wall that you share with your neighbour’s home, he will probably get your signal too. Move the router away from the road and from all the points where your home intersects with other houses.

Deactivate your Wi-fi signal when not in use.

If you’re not using your wireless system and/or are connecting to the internet via cable, deactivate the Wi-fi router. A cable connection is far more secure. If you’re going to be away for a long time, switch off your router.

Keep your antivirus software up to date.

Last but not least, install an antivirus software with malware and always keep it up to date.

Articles that might interest you

  • The queen of cards. There are many different types and they offer many possibilities other than cashless payment, from differed repayment to additional guarantees on purchases.

  • 3D Secure is an internationally recognised security standard for online payments. The service is limited in Luxembourg to credit cards.

  • If it’s true that when we shop in a store and handover physical cash, the pain of paying finds the act prompts more awareness about spending, and parting with cash may even hurt a bit more than swiping a bank card.

10 Tipps für ein besser geschütztes WLAN zu Hause

Nicht nur an öffentlichen Hotspots, sondern auch beim Drahtlosnetzwerk zu Hause spielt Sicherheit eine große Rolle: Wir geben Ihnen Tipps, wie Sie das Sicherheitsniveau Ihres Heimnetzwerkes erhöhen können.

Prüfen Sie, welches Sicherheitsprotokoll verwendet wird

Es gibt verschiedene Sicherheitsprotokolle: „WEP“ ist am ältesten und schwächsten, „WPA“ ist besser als „WEP“ und „WPA2“ ist der heutige Standard für ein sicheres und verschlüsseltes Drahtlosnetzwerk. Wenn Ihr Heimnetzwerk nicht mit „WPA2“ geschützt ist, gehen Sie auf die Einstellungsseite des Routers und konfigurieren Sie ihn entsprechend.

Verwenden Sie ein sicheres Passwort

Einer der häufigsten Fehler bei der Konfiguration eines Heimnetzwerks ist die Verwendung des voreingestellten Kennworts (häufig „Admin“ oder „1234“). Ändern Sie das Kennwort und wählen Sie eines, das ausreichend komplex ist.

Deaktivieren Sie die Fernsteuerung des Routers

In der Regel ist die Fernsteuerung des Routers standardmäßig deaktiviert. Prüfen Sie, ob dies der Fall ist. Falls nicht, deaktivieren Sie die Fernsteuerungsfunktion, denn durch diese kann Ihr Drahtlosnetzwerk neugierigen Blicken ausgesetzt sein.

Schützen Sie die Netzwerk-ID

Ein WLAN-Router überträgt normalerweise für jeden sichtbar die ID des Drahtlosnetzwerks. Deaktivieren Sie diese Option, indem Sie in den Einstellungen das Häkchen im entsprechenden Kästchen entfernen, damit Ihr eigenes Netzwerk nicht so einfach identifiziert werden kann. Wenn Sie sich hierfür entscheiden, müssen Sie jedoch jedes Mal, wenn Sie sich im Netzwerk anmelden möchten, den Code eingeben.

Deaktivieren Sie das Gästenetzwerk

Sofern Sie es nicht benutzen, deaktivieren Sie das Gästenetzwerk, also jenes Netzwerk, das verwendet wird, um Gästen Zugriff auf das Drahtlosnetzwerk zu gewähren.

Verbinden Sie nicht mehrere Geräte miteinander

Die modernen WLAN-Router unterstützen verschiedene Protokolle, um mehrere Geräte automatisch miteinander verbinden zu können. Wenn diese Funktion deaktiviert ist, vermindert sich die Gefahr des Zugriffs von Dritten.

Aktualisieren Sie die Firmware

Die Firmware ist das Programm, das den Betrieb des Geräts ermöglicht und den Kontakt zwischen Hardware und Software herstellt. Aktualisieren Sie regelmäßig die Firmware des Routers, indem Sie die Daten auf der offiziellen Seite des Herstellers herunterladen. So können Sie Schwachstellen des eigenen Netzwerkes mindern.

Platzieren Sie den Router an einem strategisch guten Platz

Das Signal eines drahtlosen Netzwerks strahlt in alle Richtungen aus. Wenn sich der Router an der Mauer zur Nachbarwohnung befindet, ist es sehr wahrscheinlich, dass das Signal in dieser ebenfalls empfangen wird. Vergrößern Sie den Abstand des Routers zur Straße und zu Berührungspunkten mit Nachbarhäusern.

Deaktivieren Sie das WLAN-Signal, wenn es nicht verwendet wird

Wenn Sie das Drahtlossignal nicht nutzen und sich mit dem Internet per Kabel verbinden, deaktivieren Sie die WLAN-Funktion des Routers. Eine kabelgebundene Verbindung ist viel sicherer. Wenn Sie für einen längeren Zeitraum das Haus verlassen, schalten Sie den Router ab.

Verwenden Sie immer einen aktuellen Virenschutz

Eine weitere gute Lösung ist die Verwendung einer Antivirus-Software mit einer Maleware-Datenbank, die kontinuierlich aktualisiert wird.

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten