6 facts about inflation you should know

  1. Inflation is an increase in the general level of prices of goods and services over a period of time: the inflation rate is the annualized percentage change in the general price index (consumer price index)

  2. When prices increase we have less money at our disposal to buy goods and services: inflation reflects a reduction in our purchasing power
  3. If we lose purchasing power we buy less; and if we all buy less companies shut down and people lose their jobs
  4. Printing money so we all can continue buying and keep our jobs is not the solution; in fact, it’s like adding wood to the fire: an increase in circulating money can cause an increase in the demand of a certain good or service, the price of which will increase because offer will not meet demand levels
  5. Without external controls, inflation generates inflation in an upward spiral: an increase in prices causes us to lose purchasing power, so we’ll want to earn more which causes production costs to increase, so prices will increase causing us to lose again purchasing power…
  6. The European Central Bank’s main task is to maintain the euro’s purchasing power and thus price stability in the euro area, by keeping inflation below, but close to, 2% in the medium term.

 

Do you have 3 minutes? Watch this video!

Articles that might interest you

  • The queen of cards. There are many different types and they offer many possibilities other than cashless payment, from differed repayment to additional guarantees on purchases.

  • 3D Secure is an internationally recognised security standard for online payments. The service is limited in Luxembourg to credit cards.

  • If it’s true that when we shop in a store and handover physical cash, the pain of paying finds the act prompts more awareness about spending, and parting with cash may even hurt a bit more than swiping a bank card.

6 Fakten, die Sie über Inflation wissen sollten

1. Inflation ist eine Erhöhung des allgemeinen Preisniveaus von Gütern und Dienstleistungen über einen gegebenen Zeitraum : Die Inflationsrate ist die annualisierte prozentuale Veränderung des allgemeinen Preisindexes (Verbraucherpreisindex)

2. Wenn die Preise steigen, haben wir weniger Geld zur Verfügung, um Güter und Dienstleistungen zu erwerben : Die Inflation hat somit eine Schwächung unserer Kaufkraft zur Folge.

3. Mit einer schwächeren Kaufkraft kaufen wir auch weniger. Und wenn alle weniger kaufen, schließen Unternehmen und Arbeitnehmer verlieren ihre Arbeitsplätze

4. Mehr Geld zu drucken, damit wir weiterhin kaufen und unsere Arbeitsplätze behalten können, ist keine Lösung. Dies schürt eher die Flamme : Eine Zunahme des Geldes, das im Umlauf ist, kann die Nachfrage für gewisse Güter oder Dienstleistungen verstärken, wodurch deren Preise jedoch steigen werden, da das Angebot nicht der Nachfrage standhalten kann

5. Ohne externe Kontrollen generiert Inflation immer mehr Inflation : Ein Anstieg der Preise schwächt unsere Kaufkraft, daraufhin wollen wir mehr verdienen, wodurch die Produktionskosten steigen, somit steigen die Preise und wir verlieren nochmals an Kaufkraft usw.

6. Die wichtigste Aufgabe der Europäischen Zentralbank ist es, die Kaufkraft des Euro und somit die Preisstabilität im Euroraum zu gewährleisten. Dies tut sie, indem sie die Inflation auf mittlere Sicht unter, aber nahe 2% hält.


Haben Sie noch 3 Minuten Zeit ? Dann sehen Sie sich dieses Video an !

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten