Can we trust virtual currencies?

Will virtual currencies used on the web ever replace physical currencies such as the euro? This is not certain, especially for the most used of them, the Bitcoin.

A currency without central bank

Bitcoin exists since 2009. Unlike the current monetary system, Bitcoin is not being created by a trusted central instance such as the European Central Bank (ECB) for the euros but by members of the Bitcoin network, known as miners.

Miners use special software to solve math problems and are issued a certain number of bitcoins in exchange. They help keep the Bitcoin network secure by approving transactions. People are sending bitcoins to each other over the Bitcoin network all the time, but unless someone keeps a record of all these transactions, no one would be able to keep track of who paid what. The Bitcoin networks deals with this by collecting all the transactions made during a set period into a list, called a block. It’s the miners’ job to confirm those transactions, and write them into a general ledger. This general ledger is a long list of blocks, known as the blockchain. When a block of transactions is created, miners put it through a process. They take the information in the process and apply a mathematical formula to it, turning it into a far shorter, seemingly random sequence of letters and numbers known as a hash. This hash is stored along with the block, at the end of the blockchain. Every time a miner successfully creates a hash, he gets a reward of 25 bitcoins (about EUR 9,900, reward divided by two from July 2016).

How to get bitcoins ?

First of all, you need to have a virtual wallet on your computer or your mobile device, allowing you to store and exchange bitcoins.

Once you have your virtual wallet, you can start getting bitcoins:

·         you can try to solve a math problem such as a minor do (good luck!);

·         you can buy or exchange bitcoins with euros via an online Bitcoin exchange platform;

·         you can exchange services and/or goods for bitcoins.

What are the risks?

At first sight, the advantages of Bitcoin are obvious: fast transactions, much lower fees compared to traditional banking and anonymity. But what are the risks?

The first and most important risk is the risk of security. If you have downloaded a wallet program on your computer, you should make sure never forget the password or your funds will be permanently lost. Unlike your bank, there are very limited password recovery options with Bitcoin. You need to backup your wallet on a regular basis and to store it in a safe place. If you don’t do this, you could definitely lose your bitcoins in the event your hard disk fails or your computer is stolen. Using online services is not a good idea because such services generally still do not provide enough insurance and security to be used to store money like a bank.

The high volatility of bitcoins can significantly affect the price. On Tuesday 18 August 2015, bitcoin’s price fell 16% in just one day!

The third problem is the opacity in bitcoin management. In April 2014, MtGox, the world famous Bitcoin exchange platform, has gone bankrupt. Sixteen months later, in August 2015, the former head of MtGox, French-born Mark Karpelès, has been arrested in Japan for embezzlement.

So, can you attempt the Bitcoin adventure? Yes, provided that you keep in mind that it is a speculative currency and you commit only small amounts of money.

Articles that might interest you

  • The queen of cards. There are many different types and they offer many possibilities other than cashless payment, from differed repayment to additional guarantees on purchases.

  • 3D Secure is an internationally recognised security standard for online payments. The service is limited in Luxembourg to credit cards.

  • If it’s true that when we shop in a store and handover physical cash, the pain of paying finds the act prompts more awareness about spending, and parting with cash may even hurt a bit more than swiping a bank card.

Sollte man sich vor virtuellem Geld hüten?

Werden die neuen im Netz genutzten digitalen Währungen schon bald die klassischen, wie den Euro, ersetzen? Das ist alles andere als sicher, insbesondere was die meistgenutzte unter ihnen angeht, den Bitcoin.

Eine Währung ohne Zentralbank

Der Bitcoin ist eine Kombination der englischen Begriffe bit (Binärziffer) und coin (Münze) und existiert seit 2009. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Währungen wird sie nicht von einer zentralen Behörde wie der Europäischen Zentralbank (EZB) für die Euro hergestellt, sondern von Mitgliedern des Bitcoin-Netzwerks, die man Miner nennt.

Gegen Entgelt stellt ein Miner seine technischen Ressourcen zur Verfügung, um das ordnungsgemäße Funktionieren der Transaktionen zwischen Nutzern weltweit zu gewährleisten. Jedes Mal, wenn eine Person Bitcoins an eine andere schickt, wird die Transaktion vom Netzwerk überprüft, daraufhin in dem sogenannten Block Chain gespeichert. Ein Block ist eine mit Transaktionen konsolidierte Folge, die in einem gewissen Zeitraum stattgefunden hat. Man reiht sie aneinander, was eine Block Chain bildet. Bei der Erstellung eines Blocks überprüfen die Miner ihn und berechnen daraufhin einen sogenannten Hash (eine Folge von Zahlen und Buchstaben), die den Block identifiziert. Dieser wird dann an den Block gehangen, woraufhin er in die Block Chain integriert wird. Ein Miner wird nämlich für seine produzierten Hashs bezahlt (momentan 25 Bitcoins pro Hash, also etwa 9.900 EUR, diese Bezahlung wird ab Juli 2016 halbiert).

Wie erhält man Bitcoins?

Zunächst braucht man eine virtuelle Wallet (Geldbeutel), mit der man Bitcoins lagern und tauschen kann. Sie können sie auf Ihrem PC oder Smartphone über eine Online-Software erstellen.

Sobald Sie Ihre virtuelle Wallet haben, können Sie schon anfangen Bitcoins zu erhalten:

·         Entweder versuchen Sie, wie die Miner, eine neue Gleichung zu lösen (viel Glück dabei!);

·         Oder Sie kaufen oder tauschen Bitcoins online gegen Euro über eine Bitcoin-Umtauschseite im Internet;

·         Oder Sie tauschen Dienstleistungen oder Gegenstände gegen eine Zahlung in Bitcoins ein.

Welche Gefahren birgt dieses virtuelle Geld?

Auf den ersten Blick sind die Vorteile des Bitcoin offensichtlich: schnelle Transaktionen, quasi keine Gebühren, da es keinen Vermittler mehr gibt, und Anonymität. Aber wie sieht es mit den Gefahren aus?

Die erste und wichtigste ist die Sicherheit. Wenn Sie ein Bitcoin-Kundenkonto auf Ihrem PC installiert haben, dürfen Sie niemals Ihr Passwort vergessen oder es in einer Datei speichern, da es bei Bitcoin äußerst schwierig ist, es wiederherzustellen. Des Weiteren sollten Sie lieber regelmäßig eine Sicherheitskopie Ihrer Wallet an einem sicheren Ort machen. Wenn Sie diese Vorsichtsmaßnahme nicht nehmen, können Sie Ihre Bitcoins im Falle einer Panne Ihrer Festplatte oder dem Diebstahl Ihres PCs für immer verlieren. Die Nutzung der Onlinedienste ist nicht unbedingt eine gute Lösung, da sie bis jetzt keine ausreichenden Sicherheitsgarantien bieten, um Ihr Geld wie bei einer Bank zwischenzulagern.

Die sehr hohe Volatilität der Bitcoins kann Ihnen ebenfalls einen üblen Streich spielen. Vergessen Sie nicht, dass der Bitcoin am Dienstag, den 18. August 2015 16% seines Werts verlor. An einem einzigen Tag!

Hinzu kommt die Undurchsichtigkeit der Verwaltung der Bitcoins. Im April 2014 ging MtGox, die bekannteste und weltweit meistgenutzte Bitcoin-Tauschplattform Pleite. Sechzehn Monate später, im August 2015, wurde ihr ehemaliger CEO, der Franzose Mark Karpelès in Japan wegen Unterschlagung festgenommen.

Sollte man sich also in das Bitcoin-Abenteuer wagen? Ja, wenn man nur immer im Hinterkopf behält, dass es sich um eine spekulative Währung handelt, und man nur wenig Kapital investieren sollte. In etwa wie bei Sportwetten.

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten