How to spot a fake banknote?

Did you know that the number of fake euro banknotes has leapt by 37% over one year? In 2015, 454,000 fake banknotes were withdrawn from circulation, against 331,000 during the same period in 2014. The most desirable were €20 and €50 banknotes.Do you have doubts about your banknotes? MyMoney explains you more about the method to be adopted and recommended by the ECB to distinguish real from fake banknotes.

The ECB’s method consists of touching, examining and tilting the banknote.

Touch the banknote 

By touching the banknote, you will have a precise idea of the paper used and therefore of its texture. It must be firm and the banknote must have its own specific sound – almost a crackling sound. It must not be limp or waxy. The printing techniques used for manufacturing banknotes are special and give the banknote a relief effect. The ink used for printing the main pattern is thicker. If you touch the banknote, you should feel a relief under your fingers. If you have a sensation of “smoothness”, your banknote is counterfeit;

Look at the banknote

If you look at the banknote so that the light passes through it, you will notice that the figure (of the face value) in the upper corner of the banknote is divided. When held against the light, so that it is transparent, the figure is reconstituted.
Still looking at the banknote so that it is transparent, you may notice that there is a dark band that divides the banknote into two parts. This is the security thread, on which you can read the face value in tiny letters followed by the word “EURO”. On new banknotes, “€” appears instead of the word “EURO”. The security thread must never appear distinctly and superimposed over other printed elements, because it has been incorporated into the paper. If this is the case, it is a counterfeit banknote;

Tilt the banknote

When you tilt the banknote, a changing image must appear on the hologram on the front – the silver strip on small denomination notes (€5, €10 and €20) or the silver disc on large denomination notes (on denominations of €50, €100, €200 and €500): alternating the face value and a window or a gate. On the back, you can see the shiny strip or the amount of the banknote in a changing colour.
The new banknotes in euros have a new security element: the small slanting dashes printed at the ends of the front of the banknote, which facilitate recognition of the banknote by touch for the visually impaired.

In addition to your sharp eyes, there is an infallible technique for recognising a counterfeit banknote: ultraviolet light.
Under violet light, the banknote darkens and certain parts become green. In particular, this includes the European flag or the signature of the representative of the European Central bank. On the back, the map, the bridge and the figure of the face value stand out in yellow.

You can also use an infrared lamp.
At the front, only the emerald green face value, the right-hand part of the main pattern and the silver strip are visible under an infrared light. At the back, only the figure indicating the face value and the horizontal serial number appear.
You are now experts in detecting counterfeit banknotes!
Even though Luxembourg is only slightly affected by the traffic of counterfeit notes, be vigilant. If you think that you have a counterfeit banknote, contact the police or the Luxembourg Central Bank, which will destroy it. Please bear in mind that you will not recover the value of this banknote.

Articles that might interest you

  • The queen of cards. There are many different types and they offer many possibilities other than cashless payment, from differed repayment to additional guarantees on purchases.

  • 3D Secure is an internationally recognised security standard for online payments. The service is limited in Luxembourg to credit cards.

  • If it’s true that when we shop in a store and handover physical cash, the pain of paying finds the act prompts more awareness about spending, and parting with cash may even hurt a bit more than swiping a bank card.

Wie erkennt man einen gefälschten Geldschein?

Wussten Sie, dass die Zahl der gefälschten Euro-Scheine innerhalb von einem Jahr um 37% angestiegen ist? Im Jahr 2015 wurden bereits 454.000 gefälschte Scheine aus dem Verkehr gezogen, während es in demselben Zeitraum 2014 gerade einmal 331.000 waren. Am beliebtesten sind hier die 20- und 50-Euro-Scheine.

Sie haben irgendwelche Zweifel was Ihre Geldscheine betrifft? MyMoney verrät Ihnen, wie Sie vorgehen sollten, um einen gefälschten Geldschein zu erkennen. Darüber hinaus ist dies auch die von der EZB empfohlene Vorgehensweise 
Die Methode der EZB beinhaltet das Fühlen, Ansehen und Kippen des Geldscheins.

Den Geldschein fühlen

Indem Sie den Geldschein in die Hand nehmen, bekommen Sie eine genauere Idee des benutzten Papiers und somit seiner Oberflächenbeschaffenheit. Sie muss griffig und fest sein und der Schein muss ein ihm eigenes Geräusch von sich geben, das beinahe knacksend ist. Er darf nicht weich oder wächsern sein. Das Druckverfahren für Geldscheine ist ein besonderes, wodurch der Schein eine Art Relief erhält. Die für das Hauptmotiv benutzte Tinte ist dicker. Wenn Sie den Schein anfassen, müssen Sie das Relief unter Ihren Fingern spüren. Sollte die Oberfläche glatt sein, dann ist Ihr Geldschein gefälscht.

Den Geldschein ansehen

Wenn Sie den Geldschein gegen das Licht betrachten, wird Ihnen auffallen, dass die Zahl (der Wertzahl) im oberen rechten Eck des Scheins abgehackt ist. Wenn man den Schein jedoch gegen das Licht betrachtet, und nur dann, ist die Zahl ganz.
Gegen das Licht betrachtet sieht man ebenfalls einen dunklen Streifen, der den Geldschein in zwei Teile aufteilt. Dies ist der Sicherheitsfaden, auf dem man die Wertzahl in Kleinbuchstaben gefolgt von dem Wort „EURO“ lesen kann. Auf den neuen Geldscheinen erscheint „€“ anstatt des Worts „EURO“. Der Sicherheitsfaden darf niemals deutlich auftreten oder über anderen gedruckten Elementen stehen, da er in das Papier eingearbeitet wurde. Sollte dies der Fall sein, handelt es sich um einen gefälschten Geldschein.

Den Geldschein kippen

Wenn der Geldschein gekippt wird, sollte sich das Hologramm auf der Vorderseite ändern; der silberne Streifen auf den kleinen Scheinen (5,10 und 20 Euro) oder die silberne Plakette auf den großen Scheinen (50, 100, 200 und 500 Euro): es wechseln sich die Wertzahl und ein Fenster oder ein Tor ab. Auf der Rückseite sieht man entweder den glitzernden Streifen oder die Wertzahl des Geldscheins verändert ihre Farbe.

Die neuen Euro-Scheine besitzen ein neues Sicherheitsmerkmal: die kleinen erhabenen Linien, die auf der Vorderseite am Rand des Geldscheins aufgedruckt sind, vereinfachen es Menschen mit Sehbehinderung die Scheine zu unterscheiden.

Zusätzlich zu Ihren Adleraugen gibt es noch eine unfehlbare Methode zum Erkennen eines falschen Geldscheins: das UV-Licht.
Unter dem ultravioletten Licht wird der Geldschein dunkel und gewisse Teile werden grün. Insbesondere die europäische Flagge oder die Unterschrift des Vertreters der Europäischen Zentralbank. Auf der Rückseite werden die Karte, die Brücke und die Wertzahl gelb.

Darüber hinaus können Sie auch eine Infrarotlampe zur Hand nehmen.
Unter einer Infrarotlampe werden auf der Vorderseite nur die Smaragd-Wertzahl, der rechte Teil des Hauptmotivs und der silberne Streifen sichtbar bleiben. Auf der Rückseite sind es nur die Wertzahl und die horizontale Seriennummer.
Sie sind jetzt echte Profis, was das Erkennen von gefälschten Geldscheinen angeht!
Auch wenn es in Luxemburg nicht sonderlich viele davon gibt, seien Sie dennoch auf der Hut. Wenn Sie denken, einen gefälschten Geldschein zu besitzen, wenden Sie sich an die Polizei oder die Banque Centrale du Luxembourg (BCL), die ihn vernichten werden. Beachten Sie jedoch, dass Sie den Wert des Scheins nicht zurückbekommen.

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten