Licensed to drive: motoring legally in Luxembourg 

It may be possible to explore Luxembourg City with a leisurely stroll, but heading further afield requires a car – and a valid driving licence. What do newcomers from abroad need to know in order to drive legally in the grand duchy?

A licence issued by another EU or European Economic Area member state will still be valid in Luxembourg. The grand duchy introduced the standard European driving licence in January 2013. However, it is worth having your licence registered with the National Road Traffic Authority (Société nationale de circulation automobile, or SNCA), in case you ever need a replacement. Non-EU citizens can continue to drive under their existing licences for up to 12 months, after which they are required to exchange it for a Luxembourg licence.

Individuals without a driving licence who wish to obtain a permit for the first time in Luxembourg will be required to take a theory exam, testing their knowledge of the rules of the road, before they can take practical driving lessons on the road. Both tests can be taken in English.

Applicants for driving licences must be at least 16 years old for low-powered motorbikes or 17 years and six months for cars, although they cannot obtain a licence until they are 18.

The relative simplicity of the Luxembourg system gives it an edge as a location for learning to drive over neighbouring countries such as France, where the system has a reputation for being difficult, overly bureaucratic and expensive.

Driving schools

All driving lessons and preparation must be carried out with a registered driving school and candidates will need various documents, including proof of residence, a medical certificate and photo ID.

Learning to drive begins with theory lessons and a written or oral test. Applicants learn the Luxembourg Highway Code (Code de la Route), with learning aids provided by the driving school. They must successfully pass the theory test before beginning on-the-road practical driving lessons – a minimum of 16 hours driving with an instructor – followed by a one-hour practical examination.

Successful drivers remain subject to special rules for their first two years at the wheel. After passing the test, they initially receive a probationary licence that comes with various restrictions, such as lower speed limits and a reduced blood alcohol level.

Driving candidates must take a compulsory training course between three months (or after driving at least 3,000 kilometres) and two years, at the Colmar-Berg driver training centre (Centre de Formation pour Conducteurs, or CFC), in order to obtain a full licence.

Luxembourg’s driving rules are like those in most other European countries. The speed limit is 50 kph in urban areas, 90 kph in outside towns and 130 kph on motorways, or 110 kph when it’s raining or if conditions are otherwise impaired by the weather, as in France. The limit in Belgium is 120 kph.

Speeding offences attract on-the-spot fines. The drink-driving limit is 50mg of alcohol per 100ml of blood – the same as in France, but lower than the 80mg limit in the UK. For probationary drivers, the limit is just 20mg.

Equipped with a valid licence, large swathes of Europe are yours to explore, with Frankfurt, Brussels, Amsterdam, Paris and Cologne just a few hours’ drive away, and Switzerland, southern France and Northern Italy not much further. Happy motoring!

Articles that might interest you

  • The queen of cards. There are many different types and they offer many possibilities other than cashless payment, from differed repayment to additional guarantees on purchases.

  • 3D Secure is an internationally recognised security standard for online payments. The service is limited in Luxembourg to credit cards.

  • If it’s true that when we shop in a store and handover physical cash, the pain of paying finds the act prompts more awareness about spending, and parting with cash may even hurt a bit more than swiping a bank card.

Lizenz zum Fahren: Fahrberechtigung in Luxemburg 

Die Stadt Luxemburg lässt sich prima bei einem gemütlichen Spaziergang erkunden. Wenn Sie jedoch die weitere Umgebung kennenlernen möchten, benötigen Sie ein Auto – und einen gültigen Führerschein. Was müssen Neuankömmlinge aus dem Ausland wissen, wenn sie legal im Großherzogtum fahren möchten?

Führerscheine, die von einem anderen EU- oder EWR-Mitgliedstaat ausgestellt wurden, sind ist in Luxemburg gültig. Das Großherzogtum hat den EU-Führerschein im Januar 2013 eingeführt. Es lohnt sich jedoch, Ihren Führerschein bei der Nationalen Verkehrsbehörde (Société nationale de circulation automobile, kurz SNCA) zu registrieren, falls Sie je einen Ersatz benötigen sollten. Nicht-EU-Bürger können mit ihrem bestehenden Führerschein bis 12 Monate nach ihrer Ankunft fahren. Nach Ablauf dieses Zeitraums müssen sie ihren Führerschein in einen luxemburgischen Führerschein eintauschen.

Personen ohne Führerschein, die ihre erste Fahrgenehmigung in Luxemburg erwerben möchten, müssen zunächst eine Theorieprüfung ablegen, in welcher ihr Wissen zu den Straßenverkehrsregeln geprüft wird, und anschließend praktische Fahrstunden nehmen. Beide Prüfungen können in englischer Sprache durchgeführt werden.

Für den Erwerb einer Fahrerlaubnis gilt für Motorräder mit niedriger Leistung ein Mindestalter von 16 Jahren, für Autos 17,5 Jahre, wobei der Führerschein erst mit 18 Jahren endgültig erhalten werden kann.

Das luxemburgische System ist relativ einfach und es hat einige Vorteile, den Führerschein hier zu erwerben, anstatt in den Nachbarländern wie Frankreich, wo das System den Ruf hat, schwierig, übermäßig bürokratisch und teuer zu sein.

Fahrschulen

Alle Fahrstunden und Vorbereitungskurse müssen bei einer registrierten Fahrschule absolviert werden. Die Fahrschüler müssen verschiedene Unterlagen vorlegen, einschließlich Wohnsitznachweis, ärztliche Bescheinigung und ein Fotoausweis.

Die Fahrausbildung beginnt mit Theoriestunden und einer schriftlichen oder mündlichen Prüfung. Die Fahrschüler lernen die in Luxemburg gültigen Verkehrsregeln (Code de la Route) anhand der Materialien, die von der Fahrschule zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Sie müssen die Theorieprüfung erfolgreich bestehen, bevor sie praktische Fahrstunden nehmen dürfen. Es müssen mindestens 16 Fahrstunden mit einem Fahrlehrer absolviert werden, bevor die 1-stündige praktische Prüfung abgelegt werden kann.

Nach bestandener Prüfung gelten für die ersten beiden Jahre hinter dem Lenkrad besondere Regeln. In der Probezeit nach Erhalt des Führerscheins gelten verschärfte Regeln, zum Beispiel weniger Toleranz bei Geschwindigkeitsüberschreitungen und eine niedrigere Promillegrenze.

Die Fahrschüler müssen nach einem Zeitraum von 3 Monaten (oder nach mindestens 3.000 Kilometern) und zwei Jahren einen obligatorischen Fahrsicherheitskurs am Fahrsicherheitszentrum Colmar-Berg (Centre de Formation pour Conducteurs, kurz CFC) ablegen, um eine endgültige Fahrlizenz zu erhalten.

Die luxemburgischen Verkehrsregeln sind wie in den meisten anderen europäischen Ländern. Die Höchstgeschwindigkeit innerhalb von Ortschaften beträgt 50 km/h, außerhalb von Ortschaften 90 km/h und auf Autobahnen 130 km/h bzw. 110 km/h bei Regen oder anderen witterungsbedingten Beeinträchtigungen, wie in Frankreich. Die Höchstgeschwindigkeit in Belgien ist 120 km/h.

Geschwindigkeitsübertretungen können direkt vor Ort geahndet werden. Die Promillegrenze für Autofahrer beträgt 50 mg Alkohol pro 100 ml Blut – dies entspricht den Vorgaben in Frankreich, ist jedoch niedriger als die Grenze von 80 mg in Großbritannien. In der Probezeit liegt der Grenzwert für Autofahrer bei nur 20 mg.

Mit einer gültigen Fahrlizenz können Sie große Teile von Europa erkunden. Frankfurt, Brüssel, Amsterdam, Paris und Köln sind nur wenige Autostunden entfernt, und die Schweiz, Südfrankreich und Norditalien nicht viel weiter weg. Viel Spaß beim Autofahren!

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten