How to plan for retirement in Luxembourg?

When making a significant financial investment (property, car, etc.) people often ask themselves this question: will I have paid back my loan by the time I retire? A question which is often followed by: and when in fact will I be able to take my statutory retirement under the arrangements in Luxembourg?

There are several possibilities in Luxembourg:

From the age of 57, if you have worked and actually paid pension contributions for 40 years,
From the age of 60 if you have a qualifying period of 40 years – including periods treated as qualifying (e.g. parental leave, retrospective purchase, studies between the ages of 18 and 27, baby-years, military service, etc.),
From the age of 65 if you have a qualifying period of 10 years – including periods treated as qualifying years. The legal retirement age in Luxembourg is 65,

If you are close to retirement, did you know that you can contact the Caisse Nationale d’Assurance Pension (www.cnap.lu) to request a certificate of entitlement in respect of your anticipated old-age pension. This certificate will advise you of the first possible date you can take (early) statutory retirement under the arrangements in Luxembourg.

If you have any queries and/or if you want to make sure that your transition to retirement will take place smoothly please contact your financial adviser.

Think about it!

Articles that might interest you

  • The queen of cards. There are many different types and they offer many possibilities other than cashless payment, from differed repayment to additional guarantees on purchases.

  • 3D Secure is an internationally recognised security standard for online payments. The service is limited in Luxembourg to credit cards.

  • If it’s true that when we shop in a store and handover physical cash, the pain of paying finds the act prompts more awareness about spending, and parting with cash may even hurt a bit more than swiping a bank card.

Scheinwerfer auf die Zukunft – Wann kann man sich in Luxemburg zur Ruhe setzen ?

Bei einer beträchtlichen Geldanlage (Immobilie, Auto usw.) stellt man sich oft die Frage: „Kann ich meinen Kredit zurückzahlen, bis ich in Rente gehe ?“, oft gefolgt von der Frage: „Und wann kann ich mich überhaupt nach dem luxemburgischen Rentensystem offiziell zur Ruhe setzen ?“

In Luxemburg gibt es mehrere Möglichkeiten :

Ab dem Alter von 57 Jahren, wenn Sie 40 Jahre lang gearbeitet und effektiv in eine Rentenkasse eingezahlt haben.
Ab dem Alter von 60 Jahren, wenn Sie 40 Jahre lang rentenversichert waren, einschließlich gleichgestellter Zeiten (z. B. Elternzeit, rückwirkender Erwerb, Studium zwischen dem Alter von 18 und 27 Jahren, Erziehungsurlaub, Militärdienst usw.).
Ab dem Alter von 65 Jahren, wenn Sie 10 Jahre lang rentenversichert waren, einschließlich gleichgestellter Zeiten. Das gesetzliche Rentenalter ist in Luxemburg auf 65 Jahre festgelegt.

Wenn Sie bald in Rente gehen, können Sie sich übrigens an die Nationale Pensionsversicherungsanstalt (Caisse Nationale d’Assurance Pension, www.cnap.lu) wenden, um ein Zertifikat anzufordern, das Ihre Rechte auf den Eintritt in die gesetzliche Rente offenlegt. Dieses Zertifikat enthält das frühestmögliche Datum, zu dem Sie nach dem luxemburgischen System (vorzeitig) in die gesetzliche Rente eintreten können.

Wenn Sie irgendwelche Zweifel haben und/oder sichergehen möchten, dass Ihr Eintritt in die Rente reibungslos verläuft, wenden Sie sich an Ihren Finanzberater !

Nicht vergessen !

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten