What €100 can get you in 15 of Europe’s major capital cities? (4)

Now that we’ve explored Northern, Southern and Western Europe, it’s time to pack our bags for Eastern Europe – our last stop on this budgetary journey.

Anyone who has travelled to foreign countries knows that prices can change a lot from one city to the next, even within the same country. With €100, you won’t have the same level of purchasing power in Madrid as you would in, say, London or Athens.

The purchasing power of the currency in a given country depends on a number of factors, one of which is the level of wages. That’s why prices can be noticeably different from country to country. There are various indicators that come into play when comparing the price of a product in every country to gauge the purchasing power of its inhabitants. To keep it simple, we focused on just one question: What can €100 get you in 15 of Europe’s major capital cities?

Sofia, Bulgaria

Like the capital of neighbouring Romania and many other major cities in Eastern Europe, Sofia is a particularly affordable capital city. Even compared to other cities in the region, it’s still very inexpensive. You can expect to spend about €0.98 for a beer at a bar, €5 for a bottle of wine, €1 for a cappuccino, €5 for breakfast and an all-too-reasonable €10 for a three-course dinner at a restaurant.

Warsaw, Poland

The average monthly salary in Poland is less than €800, and this is reflected in the price levels. In Warsaw, you can even rent a place to live for less than €100 per month. A cappuccino will cost you around €1.50 and you can have lunch at a normal restaurant for €5.

Bucharest, Romania

Bucharest is one of the least expensive capital cities in Europe. With €100 you can get pretty far. For example, you can have lunch at a moderately priced restaurant every week for a month, purchase roughly 220 bus tickets, order more than 75 cappuccinos or go to the cinema twice a month for a year.

Same currency, different purchasing power

€100 can buy different things depending on where you are. As we have just discovered, the price of goods and services can vary quite a bit across Europe. It depends on a number of factors such as wages, exchange rates, taxes and monetary policies.

Articles that might interest you

  • The queen of cards. There are many different types and they offer many possibilities other than cashless payment, from differed repayment to additional guarantees on purchases.

  • 3D Secure is an internationally recognised security standard for online payments. The service is limited in Luxembourg to credit cards.

  • If it’s true that when we shop in a store and handover physical cash, the pain of paying finds the act prompts more awareness about spending, and parting with cash may even hurt a bit more than swiping a bank card.

Was kann man in 15 großen europäischen Hauptstädten mit 100 Euro machen? (4)

Nachdem wir nun schon in Nord-, Süd- und Westeuropa waren, packen wir jetzt unsere sieben Sachen und begeben uns nach Osteuropa, wo unsere Reise endet. 

Jeder, der auch nur ein wenig gereist ist, weiß, dass die Preise in verschiedenen Städten sehr unterschiedlich sein können, auch innerhalb desselben Landes. Mit 100 Euro können Sie in Madrid nicht dieselben Sachen kaufen oder unternehmen wie in London oder Athen.

Die Kaufkraft einer Währung in einem bestimmten Land ist auf zahlreiche Faktoren zurückzuführen, zu denen die Höhe der Einkommen zählt. Deshalb können die Preise je nach Land sehr unterschiedlich sein. Um diese Unterschiede zu messen, gibt es verschiedene Indikatoren, die den Preis eines Produktes in jedem Land vergleichen, um die Kaufkraft der Bewohner zu ermitteln. Wir haben die Sache etwas simpler gestaltet und uns ganz einfach gefragt: Was können wir uns in 15 großen europäischen Hauptstädten für 100 Euro leisten?

Sofia, Bulgarien

Sofia ist genauso wie die Hauptstadt Rumäniens und zahlreiche andere Großstädte in Osteuropa eine besonders erschwingliche Hauptstadt. Eigentlich ist sie wirklich günstig. Ein Bier in einer Bar kostet etwa 0,98 Euro, eine Weinflasche knapp 5 Euro, ein Cappuccino 1 Euro, ein Mittagessen 5 Euro und ein Drei-Gänge-Menü in einem Restaurant gibt es schließlich für etwa 10 Euro.

Warschau, Polen

Der Durchschnittsmonatslohn in Polen liegt unter 800 Euro, was die Preise auch widerspiegeln. In Warschau gibt es zum Beispiel Mietwohnungen für weniger als 100 Euro im Monat. Ein Cappuccino kostet etwa 1,50 Euro und man kann in einem normalen Restaurant für 5 Euro zu Mittag essen.

Bukarest, Rumänien

Bukarest zählt zu den günstigsten Hauptstädten Europas. Mit 100 Euro kommt man in der rumänischen Hauptstadt sehr weit. Sie können beispielsweise jede Woche in einem durchschnittlich teuren Restaurant einen Monat lang zu Mittag essen, etwa 220 Bustickets kaufen, über 75 Cappuccino trinken oder zwei Mal pro Monat ein ganzes Jahr lang ins Kino gehen.

Eine Einheitswährung, verschiedene Kaufkräfte

Ein 100-Euro-Schein kann je nach Ort, an dem wir uns befinden, für verschiedenste Sachen benutzt werden. Wie man sehen kann, sind die Preise für Güter und Dienstleistungen in Europa sehr unterschiedlich. Sie sind von zahlreichen Faktoren wie dem Lohn, dem Wechselkurs, den Steuern oder der Geldpolitik abhängig.


Ein toller Sommer beginnt schon hier

  • Behalten Sie die Kontrolle über Ihr Geld? Kein Problem.
  • Versicherung? Wir kümmern uns darum.
  • Ein Notfall? Bleiben Sie zen.
  • Haben Sie an alles gedacht? Legen Sie hin und entspannen Sie.
  • Brauchen Sie mehr Rat?

Ein toller Winter beginnt schon hier

  • Behalten Sie die Kontrolle über Ihr Geld? Kein Problem.
  • Versicherung? Wir kümmern uns darum.
  • Ein Notfall? Bleiben Sie zen.
  • Haben Sie an alles gedacht? Legen Sie hin und entspannen Sie.
  • Brauchen Sie mehr Rat?

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten