5 easy steps to achieve your financial New Year resolutions!

75% of Luxembourg’s residents’ state that they intend to have a Financial New Year’s Resolution. Are you one of them? Do you also tell yourself: “well I did not achieve 2013’s resolutions and I am planning 2014’s…”? Even if 2014 has already started, it is not too late to rethink your Financial New Year’s Resolution, keep reading to get started in the right direction!

1. Be specific about your financial resolution. 

If you set a resolution such as reduce debt or increase savings, it might be difficult to change your behaviour to achieve it. Be more specific! First, you will need to take some time and do the budgeting basics by listing your fixed and variable expenses. Do not forget to foresee an annual amount for unexpected events. Once you have a clear view of your finances you will be able to identify what your financial goal has to look like: build an emergency fund by saving a certain monthly amount, accumulate savings for a specific goal, reduce debt to a certain level, etc.

2. Measure, measure and measure. 

Setting an amount might sound like a difficult task, but it’s not! It will help you to check along the year if you are in the right path to achieve your goal and in the end to check if you have actually managed to achieve it. The more often you measure your status the more motivated you will be.

3. Take one step at a time. 

Breaking down your goal in smaller and quantified steps will allow you to check its feasibility with regards to your budget. If you think about a savings plan, for instance, you might decide to set up an automatic savings plan or to save a smaller amount the first half of the year and a higher amount once you have acquired the habit. Having a clear budget will help you to plan better. For example, you will be able to identify the months where you need to pay more attention to your spending because of holidays, birthdays or other specific events, and you could prepare for those moments by making a bigger effort in other months.

4. A realistic goal is the best way to get you motivated. 

You can go for an ambitious goal but only go for it when you are fully willing to pursue it and have the ability to do so. It might be helpful to tell your closest family and friends about the goal you are willing to achieve. They could be your coach to motivate you and remind you of your goal in those moments where you might be “forgetful”. You could even schedule a review with your coach on where you stand with regards to your goal at a specific moment of time. This helps to keep up the motivation.

5. Set a deadline for your goal with a special treat or even a small celebration – it’s a must!

Last but not least, get started now; focus on your agenda and the moment you will start preparing your financial goal. Do not underestimate this; it takes some time to gather your budgeting papers. If you are in a relationship, consider sitting together to discuss with your partner and agree upon financial goals both of you are absolutely willing to achieve.
Finally do not forget that your banker can be a good adviser in this task. He might give you some tips on how to make sure you are able to save on a regular basis or how to best manage your debt.

Kick off now your financial new year’s resolution and let us know how you are doing!

Articles that might interest you

  • Often you hear people say: “Anyway, until I have paid off my home loan it’s the bank who owns my house”. But is it true?

  • It is always the same question that every one of us is asking before signing a home loan with his bank. To gain a more objective overview, let’s analyse them one by one with their respective advantages and disadvantages.

  • The rate remains fixed for a pre-defined period and, at the end of the period, is subject to a revision. The pre-defined period can vary from one bank to another but is generally 3, 5 or 10 years.

Comment tenir ses bonnes résolutions financières en 5 étapes !

  75 % des résidents luxembourgeois déclarent avoir l’intention de prendre une bonne résolution financière pour la nouvelle année. En faites vous partie? Est-ce que vous aussi vous vous dites : « tu n’as pas tenu tes résolutions en 2013, à quoi bon en prendre des nouvelles en 2014… » ? Même si l’année 2014 a commencé il y a plusieurs mois déjà, il n’est pas trop tard pour prendre de bonnes résolutions financières. Lisez ce qui suit pour (re)partir du bon pied !

1. Soyez spécifique et précis au moment de prendre votre bonne résolution financière.

Si vous prenez une résolution du style « réduire mon niveau d’endettement » ou « augmenter mon niveau d’épargne », vous aurez sans doute des difficultés à opérer les changements de comportement nécessaires pour parvenir à vos fins. Soyez plus spécifique ! Vous allez d’abord devoir prendre le temps d’établir un budget de base et de dresser une liste de vos dépenses fixes et variables. N’oubliez pas de prévoir un montant annuel pour les imprévus! Lorsque vous aurez une vue d’ensemble claire de vos finances, vous serez en mesure d’identifier votre objectif financier : constituer un fonds d’urgence en économisant un montant mensuel spécifique, mettre de l’argent de côté pour atteindre un objectif spécifique, etc.

2. Mesurer, mesurer et mesurer !

Fixer un montant peut paraître complexe, mais ça ne l’est pas ! Cela vous aidera à vérifier pendant l’année si vous êtes sur la bonne voie et, au final, à déterminer si vous êtes parvenu ou non à atteindre votre objectif. Plus vous mesurerez souvent vos progrès, plus vous serez motivé!

3. Avancez progressivement.

Scinder votre objectif en étapes intermédiaires quantifiées vous permettra de vérifier sa faisabilité par rapport à votre budget. Si vous envisagez par exemple de constituer une épargne, vous pouvez décider d’établir un programme d’épargne automatique ou d’économiser un montant moins important durant les six premiers mois pour ensuite l’augmenter lorsque vous en aurez fait une habitude. Un budget clair vous aide à mieux planifier. Il vous permet par exemple d’identifier les mois pendant lesquels vous devez prêter davantage attention à vos dépenses, en raison de vacances, d’anniversaires ou d’autres événements spécifiques, et de vous préparer à ces moments en consentant un effort plus soutenu les autres mois.

4. Rien de plus motivant qu’un objectif réaliste.

Vous pouvez vous fixer un objectif ambitieux, mais ne le faites que si vous êtes véritablement prêt et en mesure de l’atteindre. Il peut être utile d’informer vos proches de l’objectif que vous vous êtes fixé. Ils pourront en effet vous motiver et vous rappeler votre objectif si vous veniez à l’« oublier » ! Vous pourriez même organiser à un moment donné un rendez-vous avec l’un de ces proches pour faire le point sur vos progrès. Rien de tel pour rester motivé.

5. Assortissez votre objectif d’une échéance et promettez-vous une récompense – c’est indispensable !

Dernier point mais non des moindres : commencez sans plus tarder ; concentrez-vous sur votre planning et sur le moment où vous commencerez à préparer votre objectif financier.
Ne sous-estimez pas ce dernier point ; réunir les documents nécessaires demande un certain temps. Si vous êtes en couple, songez à avoir une discussion avec votre partenaire afin de fixer des objectifs financiers que vous êtes tous deux prêts à atteindre.
Pour terminer, n’oubliez pas que votre banquier peut être de bon conseil dans cet exercice. Il pourra en effet vous donner des conseils pour épargner régulièrement et gérer efficacement vos dettes.
Commencez sans plus attendre à mettre en œuvre votre bonne résolution financière et tenez-nous au courant de vos progrès !

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser