What are the financial aids for your renovation project? 

You are the owner of an old housing and you want to renovate it? Good, but before stating work, plan your equipment, get your finances ready and take into account financial aids from the State. The Luxembourgish State grants direct and indirect aids for renovation works under certain conditions. 

Direct aid in the form of capital payment

Firstly, there is the financial aid for the renovation of old housing. This funding from the State may be obtained for certain works to improve the habitability, hygiene and safety of old housing. The following conditions are required for the grant of the subsidy.

You must live in the housing as your principal and permanent residence and not be the owner or usufructuary of another residence, whether in Luxembourg or abroad. The works must be performed in buildings that were first occupied more than 15 years ago or, in the event of increasing the building’s surface area, not exceed 140 m2 of useful residential surface for a single-family residence (120 m2 for an apartment). The surface area measurements do not include cellars, attics, garages or common areas in co-owned buildings. For buildings constructed prior to 10 September 1944, there is no surface area condition. Routine maintenance and embellishments do not qualify for the subsidy.

The subsidy will correspond to no more than 30% of the total amount paid for the renovation works and may not be greater than EUR 10,000 per beneficiary. In addition, the amount of the renovation subsidy is determined according to the income and family status. If, for example, your household is childless and your monthly accumulated income exceeds EUR 6,250, you are not entitled to the subsidy.

Financial aid from the State for the renovation of old housing may be combined with the additional grant for architect or consultant engineer fees capped at 1,250 EUR. You may also benefit from other aids, such as the financial aid for special home adaptations for persons with physical disabilities – 60% of the cost of works without exceeding EUR 15,000 – and financial aids for the promotion and rational use of energy and the development of renewable energy sources. The Ministry of Environment (Ministère de l’Environnement) grants subsidies called “PRIMe HOUSE” for energy efficiency enhancements in existing residential buildings and to cover the investment and installation costs of solar thermal or photovoltaic systems, heat pumps, wood-fuelled boilers and heating networks and connections.  

Indirect financial aids (tax benefits)

There are two types of indirect financial aids. The first concerns the VAT rate. The Luxembourgish State offers a super-reduced VAT rate of 3% on the construction and renovation of housing, provided you use and own the property as your principal residence. The reduced rate is directly applied in the invoices or the difference between the normal VAT and the reduced rate is reimbursed. The total amount of the tax benefit resulting from the application of the super-reduced rate of 3% must be no more than EUR 50,000 per newly built and/or renovated home. In addition, some works such as equipped kitchen, special technical equipment (installation of an alarm system, etc.), internal blinds and curtains and furnishing of surrounding areas are excluded from reduced-rate VAT.

You can also deduct from your taxes interest payments and other renovation work expenses if the building is unoccupied during the work. Be careful, if the tax administration accepts without difficulty the deductibility of home renovation loan interests, that is not the case for renovation work expenses. If you want to change the nature of your housing (by subdividing your dwelling into flats or transforming it into a commercial space), improve it (by installing, for example, a central heating system or a lift) or enlarge it (by adding a room or converting the attic into living space), your renovation work expenses will be considered as investment expenses and, as such, not deductible. By way of simplification, the Luxembourg Inland Revenue considers that renovation works not exceeding 20% of the purchase price (excluding land) do not improve the building and may be deductible as maintenance and repair costs. If you intend to make a massive home renovation, there are few chances that your expenses will be considered as deductible by the tax administration.

One piece of advice: find out about the grants from the State before starting your renovation works, especially if you intend to include the amount of these financial aids in your renovation budget. Don’t hesitate to read carefully all the information in the Citizen’s Portal on the site www.guichet.lu. The information is mostly available in French or German but is worth reading because it can allow you to increase or decrease the maximum amount of your renovation works.

Articles that might interest you

  • Often you hear people say: “Anyway, until I have paid off my home loan it’s the bank who owns my house”. But is it true?

  • It is always the same question that every one of us is asking before signing a home loan with his bank. To gain a more objective overview, let’s analyse them one by one with their respective advantages and disadvantages.

  • The rate remains fixed for a pre-defined period and, at the end of the period, is subject to a revision. The pre-defined period can vary from one bank to another but is generally 3, 5 or 10 years.

Quelles sont les aides financières pour votre projet de rénovation ?

Vous êtes l’heureux propriétaire d’un logement ancien et vous souhaitez le rénover ? Bien, mais avant de vous lancer dans des travaux, planifiez bien vos aménagements et équipements, préparez bien vos finances et ne perdez pas de vue les aides éventuelles étatiques. L’Etat luxembourgeois a en effet prévu des aides directes et indirectes pour la rénovation auxquelles vous pourriez avoir droit sous certaines conditions. 

Les aides directes en capital

Il y a tout d’abord la prime pour l’amélioration de logements anciens. Cette aide en capital de l’Etat peut être obtenue pour certains travaux effectués dans le but d’améliorer l’habitabilité, la salubrité et la sécurité des logements anciens. Plusieurs conditions sont requises pour bénéficier de cette prime.

Il faut habiter le logement à titre de résidence principale et de manière permanente et n’être ni propriétaire ni usufruitier d’un autre logement, que ce soit au Luxembourg ou à l’étranger. Les travaux doivent être effectués dans un immeuble dont la première occupation est antérieure à 15 ans ou, en cas d’agrandissement de la surface de l’immeuble, ne pas dépasser 140 m2 de surface utile d’habitation pour une maison unifamiliale (120 m2 pour un appartement). Par surface utile, il faut comprendre que ne sont pas compris dans les dimensions précitées les cave, grenier et garage ainsi que tous les espaces communs dans les immeubles en copropriété. Pour les immeubles construits avant le 10 septembre 1944, aucune condition de surface n’est à remplir. Les travaux purement d’entretien ou d’embellissement n’entrent pas non plus en ligne de compte.

La prime d’amélioration correspond à maximum 30% du montant des factures relatives aux travaux d’amélioration et ne peut pas dépasser la somme totale de 10.000 euros par bénéficiaire. De plus, son montant est fixé suivant le revenu et la situation de famille. Ainsi, si votre ménage n’a pas d’enfant et que vos revenus mensuels cumulés dépassent les 6.250 euros, vous n’aurez pas droit à cette prime.   

La prime d’amélioration peut être cumulée avec le complément de primes pour frais d’architecte ou d’ingénieur conseil dont le montant maximal est de 1.250 euros. Vous pouvez également bénéficier d’autres aides comme la participation aux frais d’aménagements spéciaux au profit de personnes handicapées physiques – 60% du coût des travaux sans dépasser 15.000 euros – et les aides financières pour des investissements ayant pour but l’utilisation rationnelle de l’énergie et la mise en valeur des sources d’énergie renouvelables. L’Etat octroie ainsi une aide financière appelée « PRIMe HOUSE » pour l’assainissement énergétique de bâtiments existants ainsi que pour des coûts d’investissement et de montage d’installations solaires thermiques ou photovoltaïques, de pompes à chaleur, de chaudières à bois et de réseaux de chaleur et de raccordement.

Les aides indirectes (avantages fiscaux)

Les aides indirectes sont de deux types. La première concerne le taux de TVA. L’Etat luxembourgeois soumet la création et la rénovation d’un logement destiné à des fins d’habitation principale à un taux réduit de 3%. Cette réduction peut s’effectuer de deux manières : soit par l’application directe du taux réduit sur les factures, soit par le remboursement de la différence entre le taux de TVA normal et le taux réduit. Cette faveur fiscale ne peut pas excéder 50.000 euros par logement créé ou rénové. De plus, tous les travaux ne bénéficient pas du taux réduit. C’est notamment le cas pour les cuisines équipées, les équipements techniques spéciaux tels que l’installation d’alarmes, les stores intérieurs et rideaux ou l’aménagement des alentours (jardin ou terrasse par exemple).

Vous pouvez également déduire de vos impôts les intérêts débiteurs et autres frais liés à la rénovation de votre immeuble à condition que vous n’occupiez pas celui-ci pendant toute la durée des travaux. Attention, si l’administration fiscale accepte assez facilement la déductibilité des intérêts débiteurs liés à un prêt pour la rénovation ou de l’impôt foncier, ce n’est pas le cas pour les frais liés aux travaux de rénovation proprement dit. Celle-ci ne considère en effet pas comme déductibles à titre de frais d’obtention les dépenses d’investissement. Il faut entendre par dépenses d’investissement celles qui ont pour but de changer la nature d’un immeuble (par exemple, la subdivision d’une habitation en habitations plus petites ou la transformation d’une habitation en local commercial), de l’améliorer (par exemple l’installation d’un chauffage central ou d’un ascenseur) ou de l’agrandir (par exemple, l’ajout d’une pièce ou des travaux d’aménagement d’un étage mansardé). Par mesure de simplification, l’Administration des contributions directes admet que les frais de rénovation ne dépassant pas 20% du prix d’acquisition (hors terrain) ne constituent pas une amélioration considérable de l’immeuble et sont dès lors à considérer comme des frais d’entretien et de réparation. Pour résumer, si vous envisagez d’effectuer une rénovation lourde de votre logement, il y a peu de chance que vos frais soient considérés comme déductibles par l’administration fiscale.

Un conseil : renseignez-vous bien sur les aides étatiques avant de vous lancer, surtout si vous comptez incorporer le montant de ces aides dans votre budget de rénovation. N’hésitez pas à lire attentivement toutes les informations contenues dans le Portail Citoyens du site www.guichet.public.lu. Cette lecture en vaut la peine car elle peut déterminer à la hausse ou à la baisse l’ampleur des travaux envisagés. 

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser