Are you entitled to family benefits in Luxembourg?

The answer to this question is not simple. They are several types of family benefits and they are paid differently according to your family circumstances. Let’s have a look at them.

The maternity allowance is not automatic in Luxembourg. If you are a non-resident, you are eligible for this allowance on the condition that you are registered with the Luxembourg health insurance fund and that you are not already entitled to a similar benefit in your country of residence. In other words, you cannot benefit from the birth allowance on behalf of your wife if she doesn’t work in Luxembourg. In addition, even if the amount of the birth allowance in your country of residence is lower than in Luxembourg, no differential supplement will be paid. 

The maternity allowance is paid in 3 times. Before the birth, the prenatal allowance is paid to the mother of the child when she is resident in Luxembourg or affiliated to the Social Security at the time of the last of the 5 medical examinations or examination dental requirement. At birth, the birth allowance is paid to the mother, provided that the child is born viable (22 weeks of gestation minimum), that the mother resides in Luxembourg or is affiliated to the Social Security at the time of the child’s birth and that she has undergone a postnatal gynaecological examination to determine whether or not her state of health was affected by the pregnancy. After the birth, the postnatal allowance is paid if the child has been continuously brought up in Luxembourg since birth or if one of the two parents has been registered with the Luxembourg health insurance fund since the birth of the child until his or her 2 years. Unlike the two other allowances, the postnatal allowance can be applied for by the child’s father or mother. In addition, the child must have undergone 6 medical examinations, including 2 perinatal check-ups.     

The allowance for the future of the children (or family allowance) is a monthly financial benefit designed to help your household to bring up your child by compensating financial expenses linked to the child’s care and education. The allowance is paid until your child is 18 years old under the following conditions: your child has its legal residence in Luxembourg and resides there permanently and effectively or one of you works and is affiliated to the Luxembourg Social Security and your child resides in a country of the European Union. In this case, the amount of the allowance may vary depending on allowances already awarded in your country of residence. The allowance is extended to the age of 25 for children who are in secondary, secondary technical or similar education for at least 24 hours, for pupils who attend differentiated teaching institutes, departments or centres or an equivalent establishment abroad and for apprentices whose pay is below the social minimum wage.   

Paid each year in August, the back-to-school allowance is intended to help you with extra expenses incurred by the start of the school year. To benefit from this allowance, your child must be schooled and aged 6 or more. The allowance stops being paid in the calendar year during which your child ends secondary or technical secondary education or when he or she is aged 25.   

As a complement to the welfare detailed above, you can also benefit from the Chèque-Service-Accueil. This state and municipal grant is open to all parents with children under 12 or still in elementary school and residents of Luxembourg. It enables you to a certain number of free hours of day-care per week and reduced rates for subsequent hours according to your salary. Some institutions providing musical activities, art clubs or sport associations for children up to 12 years are also covered by the system. In order to benefit, you must request your child’s personalised membership card from your local commune. The card is valid for 12 months and must be renewed each year[1]. To benefit from the Chèque-Service-Accueil, European workers nationals, who are working in the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg and are non-residents, must apply to the Children’s Future Fund (Caisse pour l’avenir des enfants www.cae.public.lu). The CAE is a public institution under the oversight of the Ministry of Family Affairs, Integration and the Greater Region and is responsible for managing family, maternity and back-to-school allowances.

Last but not least, you are also entitled to certain tax benefits for your child, in particular a tax reduction, either in the form of a tax bonus (boni pour enfant) calculated on an annual basis or a tax relief, and tax deductions.

 

[1] For more information: www.accueilenfant.lu (only in French).      

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Avez-vous droit aux prestations familiales au Luxembourg ?

La réponse à cette question n’est pas simple. Il existe plusieurs types de prestations familiales, dont le versement dépend de votre situation familiale. Passons-les en revue.

L’allocation de naissance n’est pas systématique au Luxembourg. Si vous êtes non-résident, vous pouvez prétendre à cette allocation à condition d’adhérer à la Caisse nationale de santé du Luxembourg et de ne pas déjà percevoir une prestation analogue dans votre pays de résidence. En d’autres termes, vous ne pouvez avoir droit à l’allocation de naissance au nom de votre femme si elle ne travaille pas au Luxembourg. En outre, même si le montant de l’allocation de naissance dans votre pays de résidence est inférieur à celle prévue au Luxembourg, aucun supplément ne sera versé.

L’allocation de naissance est payée 3 fois. Avant la naissance, l’allocation prénatale est versée à la mère de l’enfant à condition qu’elle réside au Luxembourg ou soit affiliée à la sécurité sociale, et qu’elle se soumette à cinq examens médicaux ou dentaires. À la naissance, l’allocation de naissance est versée à la mère, à condition que l’enfant soit né viable (au moins 22 semaines de gestation), que la mère soit domiciliée au Luxembourg ou soit affiliée à la sécurité sociale au moment de la naissance de l’enfant, et qu’elle se soumette à un examen postnatal visant à vérifier si son état de santé n’a pas été affecté par la grossesse. Après la naissance, l’allocation postnatale est versée si l’enfant a été élevé de façon continue au Luxembourg depuis sa naissance ou si l’un des deux parents est affilié à la Caisse nationale de santé du Luxembourg entre la naissance de l’enfant et son 2e anniversaire. Contrairement aux deux autres allocations, l’allocation postnatale peut être demandée par le père ou la mère de l’enfant. En outre, l’enfant doit avoir passé 6 examens médicaux, y compris 2 examens périnataux.          

L’allocation pour le futur de l’enfant (ou allocation familiale) est une prestation financière mensuelle visant à aider votre foyer à élever votre enfant en couvrant des dépenses liées à sa garde et son éducation. L’allocation, versée jusqu’au 18e anniversaire de votre enfant, est soumise aux conditions suivantes : votre enfant a un domicile légal au Luxembourg et y réside de manière continue et effective, ou l’un d’entre vous travaille et est affilié à la sécurité sociale du Luxembourg et votre enfant réside dans un pays de l’Union européenne. Le cas échéant, le montant de l’allocation pourra varier en fonction des allocations dont vous bénéficiez déjà dans votre pays de résidence. L’allocation est versée jusqu’à 25 ans pour les enfants suivant un enseignement secondaire, secondaire général ou un enseignement analogue pendant au moins 24 heures, pour les élèves inscrits dans des établissements, des départements ou des centres d’éducation différenciée ou des établissements équivalents à l’étranger, ou pour les apprentis dont la rémunération est inférieure au salaire minimum social.  

Versée en août chaque année, l’allocation de rentrée scolaire vise à vous aider à supporter les dépenses supplémentaires engagées au début de l’année scolaire. Pour en bénéficier, votre enfant doit être scolarisé et avoir au moins 6 ans. L’allocation cesse d’être versée à l’année civile au cours de laquelle votre enfant termine le cycle d’enseignement secondaire classique ou général, ou à son 25e anniversaire.  

En complément des prestations sociales détaillées ci-dessus, vous pouvez également obtenir le chèque-service accueil. Cette prestation d’État et communale est réservée à l’ensemble des parents avec des enfants de moins de 12 ans ou qui n’ont pas quitté l’enseignement fondamental, et qui résident au Luxembourg. Elle vous permet de bénéficier d'un nombre d’heures gratuites par semaine d'un service d’accueil et de tarifs réduits pour les heures supplémentaires, en fonction de votre salaire. Certains établissements proposant des activités musicales, clubs d’art ou associations sportives pour les enfants de 12 ans ou moins sont également pris en charge par ce système. Pour en bénéficier, vous devez demander à votre commune locale une carte d’adhésion personnalisée au nom de votre enfant. Cette carte, valable 12 mois, doit être renouvelée chaque année[1]. Pour bénéficier du chèque-service accueil, les ressortissants de l’Union européenne qui travaillent dans le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg et sont non-résidents doivent déposer une demande auprès de la Caisse pour l’avenir des enfants www.cae.public.lu. La CAE est un établissement public rattaché au Ministère de la Famille, de l'Intégration et à la Grande Région et est chargée de gérer les allocations familiales, de naissance et de rentrée scolaire.

Dernière chose, et pas des moindres, vous pouvez également bénéficier de certains avantages fiscaux pour votre enfant, notamment une réduction d'impôt, soit sous la forme d'un boni pour enfant calculée sur une base annuelle, soit sous la forme d'une exonération ou déduction fiscale.

[1] Pour en savoir plus : www.accueilenfant.lu (uniquement en français).

My Money

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser