Being in love in Luxembourg      

Finding love is not always easy, but is it more difficult in a multilingual and multicultural country such as Luxembourg? It is true that starting love with someone from another culture can be complicated but, in the Grand-Duchy, there can be an extra layer of complexity you might not have experienced in your home country.   

The Grand-Duchy is a unique place in that many people you meet on a day-to-day basis through work won’t actually live in the country. More than 180,000 people - almost half of the working population - commute into Luxembourg for work from Belgium, Germany and France[1]. With such a transient population, dating can be a bit hit and miss. In addition, many people in the Grand-Duchy do not have time to really look for love and build a relationship due to a busy professional and personal schedule. And, last but not least, there is the language barrier. If you speak only English and not one of the three national languages (Luxembourgish, French or German), finding love – especially local love - may be more problematic than expected. 

Where to go to start dating? 

The best solution is to go to Luxembourg City. English is the lingua franca in the capital city where the majority of the residents (71%) is made of non-Luxembourgish people from 167 different nationalities. This is why there are plenty of places in the town where you can easily socialise in the language of Shakespeare: popular bars such as Konrad Café & Bar, Scott’s Pub, Café des Tramways, The Tube Bar, O’Bar, Rocas or Hitch; upmarket bars such as Octans and cultural cafés such as Café des Capucins or Café des Artistes. And the list is not exhaustive.

And don’t think that city residents are buttoned-up people. It is a myth. If you are looking for after-work entertainment, there are a lot of lively bars for cocktail hour or aperitif. The most vibrant are those clustered along rue du Marché-aux-Herbes and the neighbouring streets, including Le Palais, Go Ten or Urban, where crowds spill onto the street with beer bottles and cocktail glasses in hand during the summer. There are also places to head late in the evening. The trendiest area is “Les Rives de Clausen”, located in the old site of the Mousel brewery and renowned for its nightlife. Aside from the partying scene, Luxembourg City has a large number of wine bars and an impressive line-up of exclusive restaurants with different styles of cuisine from around the world. 

Online dating and singles agencies

You can also try to find the love supreme by using dating and matchmaking websites or applications like Tinder, Badoo or AdopteUnMec (only in French). Sometimes it works or… not. If you want to connect with like-minded expatriates in Luxembourg, you can sign up for online expat communities such as Expatica Dating[1] or InterNations Luxembourg[2]. InterNations Luxembourg organises monthly events and activities for Luxembourg expatriates and newcomers.

Perhaps you are reluctant to use dating sites and prefer to communicate immediately face to face and avoid any possibility to hide your personality behind a screen. In this case, singles agencies are your last option. The most important ones are Love4You, a social club for singles[3], and Luxdates, an introduction agency for educated and sophisticated singles in Luxembourg and Greater Region[4]. They propose a quality service based on your needs but they are not really cheap.       

Whatever your dating strategy is, don’t forget that Luxembourg is a small country and that the number of bars and restaurants where you can go is limited compared to big cities like Berlin, London or Paris. In other words, the chances to bump into someone you had dated are big. It means that if you do a have a negative experience in Luxembourg, avoiding that person in the future will be almost impossible unless one of you moves away. So learn to be emotionally mature and deal with the fact that the only way of forgetting someone is mentally letting go. And don’t take it too seriously. Really, don’t. To paraphrase Oscar Wilde, love is much too important to be taken seriously.

[1] 186,706 cross-border workers as at the fourth quarter of 2017: 45,117 from Belgium, 44,875 from Germany and 96,714 from France (sources: Statec).  

[2] www.luxembourgdating.expatica.com

[3] http://www.internations.org/luxembourg-expats

[4] love4you.lu

[5] luxdates.lu

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Être amoureux au Luxembourg      

Si trouver l’amour n’est pas toujours une mince affaire, l’est-ce encore moins dans un pays multilingue et multiculturel comme le Luxembourg ? Entamer une histoire d’amour avec une personne d’autre culture est, certes, compliqué, mais au Grand-Duché il peut y avoir un niveau de complexité supplémentaire dont vous n’avez peut-être pas fait l’expérience dans votre pays d'origine.  

Le Grand-Duché est un lieu unique dans lequel un grand nombre de personnes que vous rencontrez au quotidien dans votre travail vivent en réalité dans un autre pays. Plus de 180 000 personnes - près de la moitié de la population active - traversent chaque jour la frontière luxembourgeoise, en provenance de la Belgique, de l’Allemagne et de la France, pour aller travailler[1]. Avec une telle population passagère, faire des rencontres peut s’avérer un exercice aléatoire. En outre, de nombreux habitants du Grand-Duché n’ont pas le temps de chercher réellement l’amour et de se mettre en couple en raison de leurs occupations personnelles et professionnelles. À tout cela vient s’ajouter la barrière de la langue. Si vous parlez uniquement l’anglais et aucune des trois langues officielles (le luxembourgeois, le français ou l’allemand) rencontrer l’âme sœur – surtout localement – peut s’avérer plus compliqué que prévu.

Où se rendre pour faire des rencontres ? 

La meilleure solution est de se rendre à Luxembourg-Ville. L’anglais est la langue véhiculaire de la capitale dont la majorité de la population (71 %) est étrangère et constituée de 167 nationalités différentes. C’est pourquoi cette ville fourmille de lieux où vous pouvez facilement vous socialiser dans la langue de Shakespeare : des bars prisés tels que le Konrad Café & Bar, le Scott’s Pub, le Café des Tramways, The Tube Bar, le O’Bar, Rocas ou Hitch ; des bars chics comme Octans et des cafés culturels comme le Café des Capucins ou le Café des Artistes. Et cette liste n’est pas complète.

Et n’allez pas croire que les habitants de cette ville sont réservés. C’est un mythe. Si vous cherchez à vous divertir après le travail, il existe de nombreux bars animés pour prendre un cocktail ou un apéritif. Les plus dynamiques d’entre eux sont regroupés le long de la rue du Marché-aux-Herbes et des rues avoisinantes, y compris le Palais, le Go Ten ou le Urban, dont les clients se déversent dans la rue en été, bouteilles de bière et verres à cocktail à la main. Il existe également des lieux dans lesquels se rendre à des heures plus tardives. Le lieu le plus tendance est « Les Rives de Clausen », situé dans l’ancien site de la brasserie Mousel et réputé pour sa vie nocturne. En dehors des lieux réservés à la fête, Luxembourg-Ville regorge de bars à vin et dispose d’un éventail impressionnant de restaurants raffinés proposant des cuisines des quatre coins du monde. 

Rencontres en ligne et agences matrimoniales

Vous pouvez également essayer de trouver le grand amour à l’aide des sites web de rencontre par affinités, ou d’application de type Tinder, Badoo ou AdopteUnMec. Parfois, cela porte ses fruits... ou pas. Si vous souhaitez vous connecter à des expatriés dans le même cas que vous au Luxembourg, vous pouvez vous inscrire à des communautés d’expatriés en ligne comme Expatica Dating[1] ou InterNations Luxembourg[2]. InterNations Luxembourg organise chaque mois des événements et des activités réservés aux expatriés et aux nouveaux arrivants du Luxembourg.

Vous êtes peut-être réticent à l’idée d’avoir recours à des sites de rencontre et préférez communiquer immédiatement en tête à tête, sans avoir à dissimuler votre personnalité derrière un écran. Dans ce cas, les agences matrimoniales constituent votre dernier recours. Les plus importantes sont Love4You, un social club pour célibataires[3], et Luxdates, une agence de rencontre réservée aux célibataires instruits et sophistiqués situés à Luxembourg et dans la Grande Région[4]. Elles proposent un service de qualité basé sur vos besoins, mais ne sont toujours abordables.

Quelle que soit la stratégie employée pour faire des rencontres, n’oubliez pas que le Luxembourg est un petit pays et que le nombre de bars et de restaurants dans lesquels vous pouvez aller est réduit par rapport à de grandes villes comme Berlin, Londres ou Paris. Autrement dit, les chances de rencontrer un ou une ex sont grandes. Cela signifie que si vous avez vécu une expérience négative au Luxembourg, il sera quasiment impossible de ne pas croiser à nouveau son chemin, à moins de déménager. Par conséquent, apprenez à maîtriser vos émotions et à accepter l’idée que le seul moyen d'oublier quelqu’un est de tourner la page. Et ne prenez les choses trop au sérieux. Vraiment. Comme disait Oscar Wilde, l’amour est une chose trop importante pour être prise au sérieux

[1] 186 706 travailleurs transfrontaliers au quatrième trimestre 2017 : 45 117 de Belgique, 44,875 d’Allemagne et 96 714 de France (sources : Statec).  

[2] www.luxembourgdating.expatica.com

[3] http://www.internations.org/luxembourg-expats

[4] love4you.lu

[5] luxdates.lu

My Money

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser