Biking in Luxembourg

Now that the spring is close, why no riding a bike? It is one of the easiest transport solutions. For distances under 6 km, bicycles are more efficient than cars. And for longer distances, combining biking with public transport is the best alternative to driving. But what is the state of cycling in the Grand Duchy? What are the resources put in place to make bicycles easier to use?  

Compared to cities at the head of the pack in Europe such as Amsterdam or Copenhagen, Luxembourg City is not so far behind. Local authorities have adopted a policy in favour of soft mobility and bicycles now play an important role in the daily lives of Luxembourg residents. Today, more than a million of bicycles are counted per year at the 13 checkpoints located on the streets of the capital.

The situation of Luxembourg City is not an exception. With more than 280,000 bicycles used in 2017, the whole country is bike-friendly. According to the Eco-Counter Worldwide Cycling Index 2018, the Grand Duchy is the first country with Italy which has the best progression of bicycle traffic between 2016 and 2017 (+10%). More than 600 km of cycle paths – 139 in Luxembourg City - are currently available on the national territory and this number should increase to 900 km in the next five years. 

You don’t even need a bike, you can rent it

There are several self-service bicycle companies in Luxembourg. The rental system is very simple: you borrow a bicycle for a fee and you re-deposit it at another station. The main cities of the country are equipped with self-service bicycles on the principle of bike-sharing.

In Luxembourg City, the vel’Oh! self-service rental bike system is a real success story. Available 24/7 at a super cheap price – you can rent a bike for 2 € for one day and 18 € for an annual subscription (the first half hours are free) -, the system has an increasing number of subscribers (7,819 in 2018) and 86 rental stations located in the town and the surrounding communes (Bertrange, Hesperange and Strassen). Since the end of the year 2018, the vel’Oh! stations are gradually equipped with electric bicycles. These new electrically-assisted bikes called pedelecs – 600 out of a total of 850 - have an autonomy of 30 to 40 km and help you to accelerate up to a maximum of 25 km per hour. Luxembourg is the second city in Europe, after Stockholm, to introduce such bikes.  

Similarly, the association “Vélo en Ville” located in the Grund allows you to rent bikes and tandems for the whole family. You can have 20% discounts on bike rental prices per day, weekend or week for groups from 4 people, children and young people under 26 years old. 

Combine biking with bus and train

In the Grand Duchy, bikes are carried on buses and trains free of charge. You are allowed to take your bicycle on any bus adequately equipped and on any national CFL train provided that you load and unload your bike yourself. Moreover, you can leave your bike at the station in a dry and secure place by using an mBox. You can find these secure parking boxes near 32 stations in the country. To get access to an mBox, you have to order it in the mShop and charge it on your mKaart – if you have one – at one of the numerous Pick Up stations.

Don’t forget the rules!

As a cyclist, you have to follow a certain number of rules. First of all, you have to ride on bicycle paths. There are three types of paths especially designed for cyclists: separated bike path, mandatory bike lane on the road and mandatory path for cyclists and pedestrians. You are allowed to ride in pedestrian zones if there is a special sign. Usually it is also marked when you can ride there: permanently, during or excluding certain hours. In certain cases, if there is a special sign, you can ride on unidirectional streets in both directions. If nothing is marked on the road, you have to ride on the very right side of the road. The following things are forbidden: riding on pavement, touching other cyclists while riding, releasing the steering bar with two hands simultaneously and riding more than two cyclists in one line.

By contrast, there is no specific parking rules for bicycles. You can park everywhere as long as your bike doesn’t hamper with other vehicles and pedestrians to pass. In the cities, and Luxembourg City in particular, there are plenty of bicycle racks. It is better to live your bike there but you are not obliged to use them. The helmet is not included into the list of the compulsory equipment but it is highly recommended to wear it.

So, what do you wait to ride a bike? Biking is good your wallet, your health, your quality of life and the environment. The only thing you risk is having a bike addiction. The more you cycle, the less you will want to return to other forms of transport.

03/19

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Être cycliste au Luxembourg

Le printemps approche… Pourquoi ne pas sortir à vélo ? C’est une solution de transport des plus simples. Pour toute distance inférieure à 6 km, le vélo s’avère plus efficace que la voiture. Et au-delà, sa combinaison avec les transports en commun s’avère la meilleure alternative. Mais que propose le Grand-Duché aux cyclistes ? Quelles sont les ressources déployées pour faciliter le recours au vélo ?  

Mine de rien, Luxembourg-Ville talonne les municipalités, comme Amsterdam ou Copenhague, qui ont une longueur d’avance en Europe. Les autorités locales ayant adopté une politique favorable à la mobilité douce, la petite reine occupe désormais une place importante dans la vie quotidienne des résidents luxembourgeois. À l’heure actuelle, les 13 points de comptage répartis dans les rues de la capitale dénombrent plus d’un million de passages de vélos par an.

C’est loin d’être une exception nationale. Avec plus de 280 000 vélos utilisés en 2017, le pays tout entier est adapté à cette pratique. Selon l’index mondial du vélo Éco-Compteur 2018, le Grand-Duché est le pays – avec l’Italie – qui affichait la plus forte progression de la circulation à vélo entre 2016 et 2017 (+10 %). Il existe actuellement plus de 600 km de pistes cyclables sur le territoire – dont 139 à Luxembourg-Ville – et ce chiffre devrait passer à 900 km d’ici 5 ans. 

Pas de vélo ? Louez-en un !

Le Luxembourg compte plusieurs systèmes de vélos en libre-service. Leur fonctionnement est simple : vous empruntez à petit prix à une station une bicyclette que vous rendez ensuite à une autre station. Les principales agglomérations du pays proposent ce genre de partage de vélos.

À Luxembourg-Ville, le système de location vel’OH! remporte un franc succès. Disponible 24 h/24 et 7 j/7 à un prix très attractif – 2 € pour une journée et 18 € pour un abonnement annuel (la première demi-heure est gratuite) –, ce service fait de plus en plus d’adeptes (7 819 abonnés en 2018) et compte 86 stations dans la capitale et les communes voisines (Bertrange, Hesperange et Strassen). Depuis fin 2018, vel’OH! s’équipe progressivement en vélos électriques. Ces nouveaux engins, appelés pedelecs – au nombre de 600 sur un total de 850 – affichent une autonomie de 30 à 40 km et peuvent atteindre une vitesse de 25 km/h. Luxembourg-Ville est la deuxième cité européenne, après Stockholm, à adopter ces vélos.

De même, l’association Vélo en Ville, située dans le Grund, loue des vélos et des tandems pour toute la famille. Les groupes à partir de 4 personnes, les enfants et les jeunes de moins de 26 ans bénéficient de 20 % de réduction sur les prix de location des vélos par journée, week-end ou semaine.

Combinez vélo, bus et train

Dans le Grand-Duché, les bus et les trains transportent les vélos gratuitement. Vous pouvez monter avec le vôtre dans tout bus disposant de l’équipement adéquat et dans tout train CFL national, à condition de le charger et de le décharger vous-même. En outre, vous pouvez laisser votre vélo au sec et en sécurité à la gare dans une mBox. Ces cages à vélos se trouvent à proximité de 32 gares à travers le pays. Pour obtenir votre accès à une mBox, vous devez le commander dans le mShop et le charger sur votre mKaart – le cas échéant – à l’une des nombreuses stations Pick Up.

Respectez les règles !

En tant que cycliste, vous avez certaines règles à observer. D’abord, vous devez emprunter les voies prévues à cet effet. Il en existe trois sortes : les pistes cyclables (réservées), les voies cyclables obligatoires (sur la chaussée) et les chemins obligatoires pour cyclistes et piétons. Vous pouvez circuler dans les zones piétonnes où la signalisation vous y autorise. En général, elle indique quand vous pouvez vous y rendre : tout le temps, à certaines heures où en dehors de certaines heures. Parfois, si un panneau le précise, vous pouvez aussi emprunter une rue à sens unique dans le sens opposé. En l’absence de marquage au sol, vous devez circuler sur la partie extrême droite de la chaussée. Il est interdit aux cyclistes de rouler sur les trottoirs, de toucher d’autres cyclistes lorsqu’ils sont à vélo, de lâcher le guidon des deux mains et de rouler à plus de deux côte à côte.

En revanche, il n’existe aucune règle de stationnement. Vous pouvez garer votre vélo où bon vous semble, tant qu’il n’obstrue pas le passage des autres véhicules et des piétons. Les agglomérations, notamment Luxembourg-Ville, proposent de nombreux râteliers à vélos. Il est préférable de les utiliser, mais cela reste facultatif. Si le casque ne figure pas sur la liste des équipements obligatoires, son port est néanmoins vivement recommandé.

Alors, qu’attendez-vous pour sortir à vélo ? C’est bon pour votre porte-monnaie, votre santé, votre qualité de vie et l’environnement. Le seul risque que vous courez, c’est de ne bientôt plus pouvoir vous en passer ! Plus vous ferez du vélo, moins vous souhaiterez revenir aux autres modes de transport. 

03/19

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser

  • L’immigration a toujours joué un rôle majeur dans le développement économique, une tendance qui ne s’est jamais démentie. En 1961, la Luxembourg comptait 314 900 habitants, dont 13,2 % d’étrangers. Le 1er janvier 2018, la population du pays a atteint 602 005 habitants, parmi lesquels 47,9 % d’étrangers !

  • Tous les ans, c’est la même histoire. Les vacances d’été viennent à peine de commencer que vous ne savez pas quoi faire pour occuper vos enfants. Quelle est la meilleure solution pour vos enfants ?

  • L’été est là. Un moment peut-être inoubliable pour les familles du monde entier. L’école étant finie, les vacances d’été annuelles et la destination touristique à la mode sont au cœur des conversations. Mais lorsque vous vivez à l’étranger, le concept de vacances est différent et se traduit souvent par un dilemme aboutissant parfois... à une absence de vacances