How does the healthcare system work in Luxembourg?

Getting to know another country’s healthcare system can be daunting for new expats. But if you are living and working in Luxembourg, you don’t have to worry too much because you are in safe hands. Luxembourg’s healthcare system is one of the best in Europe. The state-funded system, overseen by the National Health Fund (Caisse Nationale de Santé or CNS), adheres to high standards, provides basic medical coverage to all citizens and is based on three fundamental principles: compulsory health insurance, free choice of provider for patients and compulsory provider compliance with the fixed set of fees and services. 

Who is covered?

In Luxembourg, all employees and self-employed workers are required to make social security contributions, which in turns entitles them and their dependent family members to healthcare. All minor and children under the age of 30, residing in Luxembourg and not personally insured, may be co-insured with a parent who is personally registered with health insurance. Coverage includes most of the treatments provided by general practitioners or specialists, any laboratory test, prescriptions and hospitalisation. When you start working in Luxembourg, your employer (or potentially you if you are self-employed) will declare your employment to the Joint Centre of Social Security (Centre Commun de la Sécurité Sociale or CCSS). The CCSS will send you a declaration of entry confirming your affiliation to the Luxembourg social security (for more information, visit www.ccss.lu). Once registered, you will receive a social security card bearing your national social security number. This card must be presented to healthcare providers.

If you want to reside in Luxembourg and are retired, you need to show evidence of health insurance in order to acquire resident’s permit. If you are eligible for non-resident tax status, you may not be required to make healthcare contributions and are likely to be covered by your employer’s healthcare insurance scheme.  

Payment in advance or third-party payment system?

The healthcare system in Luxembourg works on the basis of reimbursement, which varies from 80 to 100%. You pay the medical fees upfront and then submit the reimbursement claims to the CNS (for more information, visit www.cns.lu).  In this case, you have to send the original doctor’s invoice or other medical fees paid upfront, duly settled, to the CNS. Good to know: if you send your letter to the CNS from within Luxembourg, you don’t need to put a postage stamp on the envelope. The process will take about three weeks before receiving a reimbursement put directly into your bank account, along with a notification by post.

For certain types of healthcare, the costs are settled directly between the CNS and the provider/supplier. These include pharmaceutical costs, hospital costs, physiotherapist costs, laboratory costs, etc. In this case, you only pay the portion of the costs not covered by health insurance. Medications under medical prescription are usually covered by the CNS through the third-party payment system. They are organized in three categories: 40%, 80% and 100%. Pay attention to the fact that you will be charged full price for non-prescription medicines if you purchase them directly from the pharmacy. Hospital costs are directly paid for by health insurance, except for doctors’ fees.  

Do I need private health insurance?

More than 90% of your healthcare needs are covered by the CNS. However, you can opt to take out an additional private health insurance. Many employers also offer supplementary health cover to their employees as an employment benefit.  The private insurance covers the portion of your medical fees that isn’t covered by the CNS and offers extended coverage for such things as hospitalisation, eye care, dental treatment and medical services outside Luxembourg. The big plus of having an additional insurance is to cover unexpected hospitalization or unforeseen medical costs in a foreign country. So, check carefully the terms and conditions before buying any private insurance policy. 

Some practical information

In Luxembourg, you can choose your own doctor but make sure that your doctor is contracted into the state health scheme to avoid extra fees. You can search for a doctor by discipline and town at www.collegemedical.lu (only in French). Also, www.doctena.lu lists doctors by discipline, town AND language and arrange medical visits so you can book online.

There are no private hospitals in Luxembourg. All hospitals are run by the CNS. You must have a referral from your doctor for an admission to a hospital if your case is not an emergency.

And, last but not least, the medical emergency phone number in Luxembourg is 112. Emergency care is provided by the emergency department at large hospitals. Not all hospitals in Luxembourg have emergency services. Within the Luxembourg area, emergency care outside of working hours is rotated among the two big hospitals (Hôpital Kirchberg and Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg). You can have the list of clinics and hospitals on duty in 2017 (only in French) at http://www.sante.public.lu/fr/urgences-gardes/2017-garde-hopitaux-annuel.pdf

03/20

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Comment fonctionne le système de santé au Luxembourg ?

Pour les expatriés, se familiariser avec le système de santé d’un autre pays peut s'avérer très difficile. Cependant, si vous vivez et travaillez au Luxembourg, il n’y a aucune inquiétude à avoir car vous êtes entre de bonnes mains. Le système de santé du Luxembourg est l’un des meilleurs en Europe. Alimenté par des fonds publics, supervisé par la Caisse Nationale de Santé (CNS), et respectant des normes exigeantes, le système garantit une couverture santé de base à l’ensemble des citoyens et repose sur trois principes fondamentaux : l’assurance maladie est obligatoire, les patients choisissent librement le prestataire de soins et ce dernier est tenu de respecter un ensemble de services et d’honoraires bien défini. 

Qui est couvert ?

Au Luxembourg, l’ensemble des salariés et des travailleurs indépendants sont tenus de verser des cotisations sociales, ce qui leur donne droit à des prestations de santé pour eux et les membres de leur famille à charge. L’ensemble des personnes mineures et des enfants de moins de 30 ans, résidant au Luxembourg et non assurés à titre personnel peuvent être couverts par l’assurance d’un parent personnellement inscrit à l’assurance maladie. La couverture inclut la plupart des traitements fournis par des médecins généralistes ou spécialisés, ainsi que toutes analyses de laboratoire, ordonnances et hospitalisations. Lorsque vous commencez à travailler au Luxembourg, votre employeur (ou, éventuellement, vous-même si vous êtes à votre compte) déclarera votre contrat de travail au Centre Commun de la Sécurité Sociale (CCSS). Le CCSS vous enverra une déclaration d'entrée confirmant votre affiliation à la sécurité sociale du Luxembourg (pour en savoir plus, visitez www.ccss.lu). Une fois inscrit, vous recevrez une carte de sécurité sociale revêtue de votre numéro de sécurité sociale. Cette carte doit être présentée aux professionnels de santé.

Si vous souhaitez vivre au Luxembourg en tant que retraité, il vous faut produire une attestation d’assurance maladie afin d’obtenir un permis de séjour. Si vous avez droit au régime fiscal des non-résidents, vous pouvez être exempté de cotisations sociales et serez probablement couvert par le programme d’assurance maladie de votre employeur.  

Paiement : avance des frais ou tiers-payant ?

Le système de santé du Luxembourg repose sur le remboursement, dont le taux varie entre 80 et 100 %. Vous réglez les frais médicaux à l’avance puis transmettez une demande de remboursement à la CNS (pour en savoir plus, visitez www.cns.lu). Le cas échéant, vous devez transmettre à la CNS les originaux des mémoires d'honoraires ou autres frais médicaux avancés, dûment acquittés. Bon à savoir : si vous envoyez votre lettre à la CNS depuis le Luxembourg, il n’est pas nécessaire d’affranchir votre courrier. Un délai de trois semaines est nécessaire avant de recevoir le remboursement par virement sur votre compte bancaire, accompagné d'une notification par courrier.

Pour certains types de soins, les frais sont acquittés directement entre la CNS et le prestataire. Il s’agit, entre autres, des médicaments, des frais d’hospitalisation, des frais de physiothérapie, des frais de laboratoire, etc. Le cas échéant, vous payez uniquement la partie des frais qui ne sont pas pris en charge par l’assurance maladie. Les médicaments achetés sur ordonnance sont généralement pris en charge par la CNS par l’intermédiaire du système du tiers-payant. Il existe trois taux de prise en charge : 40 %, 80 % et 100 %. Veuillez noter que vous devrez vous acquitter du prix intégral des médicaments sans ordonnance si vous les achetez directement en pharmacie. Les frais d'hospitalisation sont directement acquittés par l’assurance maladie, à l’exclusion des honoraires de médecin.  

Ai-je besoin d'une assurance maladie privée ?

Plus de 90 % de vos frais médicaux sont couverts par la CNS. Cependant, vous pouvez choisir de souscrire une assurance maladie complémentaire privée. De nombreux employeurs proposent également une couverture maladie complémentaire à leurs salariés en tant qu’avantage social. L’assurance privée prend en charge la partie de vos frais de santé qui n’est pas prise en charge par la CNS et offre une garantie étendue pour certaines prestations comme l’hospitalisation, les aides visuelles, les soins dentaires et les prestations de santé reçues en dehors du Luxembourg. Le grand avantage d’une assurance complémentaire est de prendre en charge les hospitalisations ou les frais médicaux imprévus dans un pays étranger. Par conséquent, lisez attentivement les conditions générales d'une assurance maladie privée avant de souscrire. 

Quelques informations utiles

Au Luxembourg, vous pouvez choisir votre propre médecin, mais assurez-vous que celui-ci soit affilié au système de santé public afin d’éviter des frais supplémentaires. Vous pouvez rechercher un médecin par spécialité et commune à l’adresse www.collegemedical.lu (en français uniquement). Par ailleurs, www.doctena.lu contient une liste des médecins par discipline, par commune ET par langue, et permet de fixer des rendez-vous médicaux en ligne.

Il n’existe aucun hôpital privé au Luxembourg. Tous les hôpitaux sont exploités par le CNS. Vous devez être muni d'une recommandation de votre médecin pour être admis dans un hôpital si votre cas ne constitue pas une urgence.

Dernier point, mais non des moindres, le numéro des urgences médicales au Luxembourg est le 112. Les soins d’urgence sont prodigués par le service des urgences des grands hôpitaux. Les hôpitaux du Luxembourg ne sont pas tous dotés d'un service des urgences. Sur le territoire luxembourgeois, les soins d'urgence de garde sont prodigués en alternance par deux grands hôpitaux (l’Hôpital Kirchberg et le Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg). Vous trouverez la liste des cliniques et des hôpitaux de garde en 2019 (en français uniquement) à l’adresse suivante http://sante.public.lu/fr/urgences-gardes/services-garde/hopitaux-garde/2019-garde-hopitaux-annuel.pdf.

03/20

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser

  • L’immigration a toujours joué un rôle majeur dans le développement économique, une tendance qui ne s’est jamais démentie. En 1961, la Luxembourg comptait 314 900 habitants, dont 13,2 % d’étrangers. Le 1er janvier 2018, la population du pays a atteint 602 005 habitants, parmi lesquels 47,9 % d’étrangers !

  • Tous les ans, c’est la même histoire. Les vacances d’été viennent à peine de commencer que vous ne savez pas quoi faire pour occuper vos enfants. Quelle est la meilleure solution pour vos enfants ?

  • L’été est là. Un moment peut-être inoubliable pour les familles du monde entier. L’école étant finie, les vacances d’été annuelles et la destination touristique à la mode sont au cœur des conversations. Mais lorsque vous vivez à l’étranger, le concept de vacances est différent et se traduit souvent par un dilemme aboutissant parfois... à une absence de vacances