How does the income tax system work in Luxembourg?

If you are going to work in Luxembourg, you will probably have some queries on the tax system of the country. Do you have to pay tax in the Grand-Duchy? Which income will be taxed? What are the different types of taxes and rates that apply? To find answers to all these questions, follow our expat’s guide to taxes in Luxembourg.

Residents and non-residents

First of all, you have to know that the taxation of individuals in Luxembourg is based entirely on the concept of residence, regardless of nationality. Individuals are considered to be resident taxpayers if they have their fiscal residence in Luxembourg and have been living in the country for longer than six months consecutively. Non-resident taxpayers refer to people who cross the border to work and to new incomers to Luxembourg within the first six months. Residents have to pay income tax according to their global earnings while non-residents are taxable on their Luxembourg income source only. There are, however, a number of situations where resident foreigners may be granted a special status, allowing them to be taxed as non-residents on certain categories of income.

There are double tax treaties between the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg and 80 or more countries, designed to ensure that income that has already been taxed in one country isn’t taxed again in another. You can check the list of the Luxembourg double tax treaties in force on the direct tax authority website. If you are subject to double taxation, you are strongly advised to consult a tax expert to optimize your taxation.  

Three different tax classes

Income tax rates are progressive in Luxembourg. They vary from 0% up to 42%. There are five categories of taxable income in Luxembourg: income from trades or businesses, employment income including salary and benefits, pensions and annuities, investment income and other income including any payments for jobs or services in excess of € 250 and taxable capital gains. The calculation of Luxembourg income taxes depends of the applicable tax class, established according to the individual’s personal situation. There are three tax classes : class 2, class 1a and class 1. Class 2 includes married taxpayers, widows whose partners have died during the last three years preceding the current tax year and separated or divorced individuals for the three years following the year of divorce or separation. Civil partners have to pay collective taxes according to the class 2 rates, upon request, following the end of the fiscal year, through assessment by filling an income tax declaration form provided they have been living at the same address throughout the fiscal year. From 1 January 2018, new measures will enter into force. Upon request, married resident taxpayers will have the possibility to continue to file a joint tax return or to opt for separate individual taxation. Non-resident married taxpayers will be able to opt to be treated as Luxembourg tax residents and benefit from tax class 2 provided that more than 90% of the worldwide income of one member of the household is taxable in Luxembourg.

Class 1a includes widowed persons not included in class 2, individuals aged at least 65 on 1 January and single parents where the child forms part of their household. Class 1 includes everyone not eligible in classes 1a and 2. Resident and non-resident taxpayers are eligible to a tax moderation for their children provided those are less than 18 years old on the 1 January of the fiscal year and are part of the household. 

Highly skilled workers tax regime

If you are living in Luxembourg as a highly skilled worker who have been recruited abroad by your company, you are entitled to the impatriate tax regime. Several conditions must be met, such as being a Luxembourg resident, having been employed based on skills that are not replacing another local employee and earning a minimum annual salary of € 50,000. The main advantage of this tax regime is that you can obtain tax relief for certain expenses such as relocation, school fees, rent and utilities and even home leave trips (one trip per year per family member). If you think you might be eligible to the impatriate tax regime, talk to your employer about applying.

Tax card and tax return

Soon after your arrival, you will be issued a tax card (fiche de retenue d’impôt) from the direct tax authority (Administration des Contributions directes). The card contains personal details and the details of any deductions you are entitled to, such as dependent children, and indicates the tax category to which you belong. This information is issued to calculate the amount of tax payable per month and should be given to your employer. In case of any changes to your personal circumstances which may affect the amount you need to pay, you have to notify it to the tax office.

Completing an income tax return (declaration pour l’impôt sur le revenu) can be very complicated. Don’t hesitate to engage the services of a professional accountant. It will cost you money but will make the whole process easier. 

11/17

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Comment fonctionne le système d’impôt sur le revenu au Luxembourg ?

Si vous partez au Luxembourg pour travailler, vous vous poserez probablement des questions sur le système fiscal local. Devez-vous verser des impôts au Grand-Duché ? Quels revenus seront imposés ? Quels sont les différents types d’impôts, et quels sont les taux en vigueur ? Pour obtenir la réponse à toutes ces questions, parcourez notre guide des impôts au Luxembourg pour les expatriés.

Résidents et non-résidents

Pour commencer, vous devez savoir que l’imposition des personnes physiques au Luxembourg repose entièrement sur le concept de résidence, quelle que soit la nationalité. Les personnes physiques sont réputées être des contribuables résidents si leur domicile fiscal se trouve au Luxembourg et s’ils vivent dans le pays depuis plus de six mois consécutifs. Les contribuables non-résidents désignent les personnes qui franchissent la frontière pour travailler, ainsi que les nouveaux venus au Luxembourg, au cours des six premiers mois. Les résidents doivent s’acquitter de l’impôt sur le revenu en fonction de leur revenu global, tandis que les non-résidents sont imposés sur les revenus générés au Luxembourg uniquement. Il existe cependant plusieurs situations dans lesquelles les résidents étrangers peuvent obtenir un statut spécial leur permettant d’être imposés en tant que non-résidents sur certaines catégories de revenu.

Des conventions fiscales lient le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg à au moins 80 pays, et permettent de garantir que les revenus imposés dans un pays ne le soient pas à nouveau dans un autre. Vous pouvez vérifier la liste des conventions fiscales en vigueur auxquelles le Luxembourg fait partie sur le site de l’administration des contributions directes. Si vous êtes soumis à une double imposition, il vous est vivement recommandé de consulter un conseil fiscal. 

Trois catégories distinctes d’impôts

Les taux d'imposition du revenu sont progressifs au Luxembourg. Ils varient entre 0 % et 42 %. Il existe cinq types de revenus imposables au Luxembourg : le revenu commercial, le revenu issu d'une activité salariée comprenant le salaire et les avantages sociaux, les pensions et les rentes, les revenus d'investissements et les autres revenus comprenant les paiements supérieurs à 250 € en contrepartie de prestations, et les plus-values de capitaux imposables. Le calcul des impôts sur le revenu au Luxembourg dépend de la classe d’impôt applicable, déterminée en fonction de la situation personnelle du contribuable. Il existe trois classes d'impôt : classe 2, classe 1a et classe 1. La classe 2 comprend les contribuables mariés, les veufs dont les partenaires sont décédés au cours des trois années précédant l’année fiscale en cours et les personnes séparées ou divorcées depuis trois ans ou moins. Les partenaires sont imposés collectivement aux taux de la classe 2, sur demande, à l’issue de l’année fiscale, par voie d’assiette sur la base d'une déclaration d’impôt sur le revenu remplie, à condition qu’ils aient vécu à la même adresse pendant l’année fiscale. À partir du 1er janvier 2018, de nouvelles mesures entreront en vigueur. Sur demande, les contribuables mariés résidents auront le choix entre continuer à remplir une déclaration d’impôt conjointe ou être imposés individuellement. Les contribuables mariés non-résidents auront la possibilité d’être considérés comme des contribuables résidents et de bénéficier de la classe d’impôt 2 si plus de 90 % du revenu global d’un membre du ménage est imposable au Luxembourg.

La classe 1a comprend les veufs non compris dans la classe 2, les personnes d’au moins 65 ans au 1er janvier et les parents célibataires dont le ménage comprend un enfant. La classe 1 comprend toutes les personnes non comprises dans les classes 1a et 2. Les contribuables résidents et non-résidents peuvent bénéficier d'une modération fiscale pour leurs enfants à condition que ceux-ci aient moins de 18 ans au 1er janvier de l’année fiscale et sont compris dans le ménage. 

Régime fiscal des salariés hautement qualifiés

Si vous vivez au Luxembourg et que vous êtes un travailleur hautement qualifié recruté à l’étranger par votre société, vous pouvez prétendre au régime fiscal des impatriés. Il est obligatoire de remplir plusieurs conditions, comme être un résident luxembourgeois, avoir été employé sur la base de qualifications sans remplacer un salarié local et percevoir un salaire annuel minimal de 50 000 €. Le principal avantage de ce régime fiscal est que vous pouvez bénéficier d'une exonération d’impôt de certaines dépenses parmi lesquelles le déménagement, les frais de scolarité, le loyer et les frais de chauffage/gaz/électricité/eau, ainsi que les voyages vers le pays d'origine (un voyage par an et par membre de la famille). Si vous pensez être éligible au régime fiscal des impatriés, discutez-en avec votre employeur aux fins d'une demande d’adhésion.

Fiche de retenue d'impôt et déclaration d’impôt

Peu de temps après votre arrivée, vous recevrez une fiche de retenue d’impôt de l’Administration des Contributions directes. Cette fiche contient des informations personnelles et une description détaillée des déductions auxquelles vous avez droit, comme celles liées aux enfants à charge, et indique la classe d’impôt à laquelle vous appartenez. Ces informations, communiquées aux fins du calcul des impôts dus par mois, doivent être fournies à votre employeur. Si votre situation personnelle évolue d'une manière qui pourrait affecter le montant à verser, vous devez le signaler au bureau d'imposition.

Le remplissage d’une déclaration pour l’impôt sur le revenu peut s’avérer très compliqué. N’hésitez pas à solliciter les services d’un comptable professionnel. Ces services, bien que coûteux, faciliteront l’ensemble du processus. 

11/17

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser

  • L’immigration a toujours joué un rôle majeur dans le développement économique, une tendance qui ne s’est jamais démentie. En 1961, la Luxembourg comptait 314 900 habitants, dont 13,2 % d’étrangers. Le 1er janvier 2018, la population du pays a atteint 602 005 habitants, parmi lesquels 47,9 % d’étrangers !

  • Tous les ans, c’est la même histoire. Les vacances d’été viennent à peine de commencer que vous ne savez pas quoi faire pour occuper vos enfants. Quelle est la meilleure solution pour vos enfants ?

  • L’été est là. Un moment peut-être inoubliable pour les familles du monde entier. L’école étant finie, les vacances d’été annuelles et la destination touristique à la mode sont au cœur des conversations. Mais lorsque vous vivez à l’étranger, le concept de vacances est différent et se traduit souvent par un dilemme aboutissant parfois... à une absence de vacances