How to get married in Luxembourg?

Many people move to Luxembourg for work, and stay for love. If you are planning to get married in the Grand Duchy, be aware that you have to follow some rules and fill and file paperwork. And try to be patient: marriage can’t be done in a finger snap in this country. 

To be able to marry in the Grand Duchy, you and your partner must be at least 18 years of age and one of you must have his/her official place of residence in Luxembourg. Since the law of 4 July 2014 reforming marriage which came into force in January 2015, homosexual couples are placed on the same footing as heterosexual couples[1]. 

Preparing for the civil wedding

In Luxembourg, a religious marriage by itself has no legal validity. Civil marriage is obligatory and must always take place before religious marriage. Given that a certain number of administrative steps have to be accomplished before the civil wedding, it is highly recommended that your preparations start no later than 2 months (if you are a resident of Luxembourgish nationality) or 3 months (if you are resident but not Luxembourgish) before the date of the marriage. A few documents must be presented to the civil register of the commune in which one of you lives: identity card (EU) or passport, birth certificate issued no later than six months before the marriage, residence attestation less than 3 months old if you are not legally domiciled in Luxembourg and a certificate of single-status or celibacy. If you are Luxembourgish, a recent copy of your birth certificate prepared in Luxembourg is enough. If you are not Luxembourgish, proof of single-status must be attested by a certificate of capacity to contract marriage. If this certificate cannot be supplied, it may be replaced by a certificate of national custom and a certificate of single-status (usually delivered by your embassy).    

Other documents that might be needed on certain circumstances can be divorce decree, death certificate of a former spouse and birth certificate of children to be legitimised. Children born before the marriage must be recognised by the father before the civil marriage. Duly recognised children are automatically legitimised.

The required documents must be submitted to the civil registrar’s office no later than 1 month before the date of the marriage and must be in English, French or German. For the commune to accept translation of another language, the documents need to be translated by a sworn translator. A list can be found on the website of the Ministry of Justice.   

The marriage ceremony

In Luxembourg, every marriage must be preceded by the publication of marriage proclamation (or banns) at least ten days before the marriage in the commune where you live in. Your banns are published as soon as the commune in which the marriage ceremony is to be held receives the required documents. 

When all the documents required for the publication of the wedding banns have been submitted, the civil registrar sets with you the date and time of the ceremony. The civil ceremony will usually take place on a weekday but some communes may have particular days only available for a wedding ceremony and some may allow you to have a ceremony on Saturday. You don’t need witnesses for the civil ceremony but, of course, friends and family are welcome. After the civil ceremony, you will receive an official document - a family record book (livret de famille). You can obtain a wedding certificate – which is needed for any religious ceremony you may have at a later date – by writing to the commune where your marriage took place. 

Matrimonial regimes, paid leave and tax alterations

When you marry, you are entitled to special paid leave for personal reasons if you are bound by an employment contract: 6 working days if you are a civil servant and 3 working days if you are an employee of the private sector. You will also receive a new tax card issued by the competent tax office on the basis of the data received from the municipal administration. However, as of the 2018 fiscal year, you may choose, as resident taxpayers, to be taxed separately on the basis of tax class 1 for each of you by submitting and signing a joint application via an online procedure without LuxTrust authentication or by post to the relevant department.

There are three matrimonial regimes in the Grand Duchy: the legal matrimonial regime (or joint ownership restricted to the property acquired during the marriage), the separation of property and the universal community of property. When you marry, you are necessarily bound by one of the three regimes. If you don’t have concluded a marriage contract, the legal matrimonial regime applies automatically. However, you are free to adopt any other form of marriage contract or to make changes to your existing regime.    

Good luck for your exciting journey to getting married in Luxembourg!

 

[1] Since 1994, a civil partnership (PACS) is a legal alternative to marriage and is available for both heterosexual and same-sex couples. 

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Comment se marier au Luxembourg ?

De nombreuses personnes déménagent au Luxembourg pour travailler, avant d’y rester par amour. Si vous envisagez de vous marier dans le Grand-Duché, sachez qu’il vous faudra respecter certaines règles et remplir certains papiers. Et soyez patients : un mariage ne se fait pas en un claquement de doigts dans ce pays. 

Pour pouvoir vous marier dans le Grand-Duché, vous et votre partenaire devez avoir au moins 18 ans, et l’un d’entre vous doit avoir son domicile officiel au Luxembourg. Depuis la loi du 4 juillet 2014 portant réforme du mariage, entrée en vigueur en janvier 2015, les couples homosexuels ont les mêmes droits que les couples hétérosexuels[1]. 

Préparer un mariage civil

Au Luxembourg, un mariage religieux n’a aucune validité légale en soi. Le mariage civil est obligatoire et doit toujours avoir lieu avant le mariage religieux. Compte tenu du nombre de formalités administratives à accomplir avant le mariage civil, il est vivement recommandé de lancer vos préparations pas moins de 2 mois (si vous êtes un résident de nationalité luxembourgeoise) ou 3 mois (si vous êtes luxembourgeois mais d'une autre nationalité) avant la date du mariage. Quelques pièces doivent être fournies à l’officier de l’état civil de votre commune de résidence : une carte d’identité (UE) ou un passeport, un acte de naissance émis moins de six mois avant le mariage, un certificat de résidence de moins de 3 mois si votre domicile légal n’est pas au Luxembourg et une preuve de célibat. Si vous êtes luxembourgeois, une copie récente de votre acte de naissance établie au Luxembourg est suffisante. Si vous n’êtes pas luxembourgeois, la preuve de célibat doit être attestée par un justifié certificat de capacité matrimoniale. Si ce certificat ne peut être délivré, il peut être remplacé par un certificat de coutume et par un certificat de célibat (délivré généralement par votre ambassade).   

Les autres pièces à produire éventuellement, en fonction des circonstances, sont un jugement de divorce, un acte de décès de l’ex-époux(se) et un acte de naissance des enfants à légitimer. Les enfants nés avant le mariage doivent être reconnus par le père avant le mariage civil. Les enfants dûment reconnus sont automatiquement légitimisés.

Les documents requis doivent être déposés au bureau de l’état civil au plus tard 1 mois avant la date du mariage et être établis en anglais, en français ou en allemand. Pour que votre commune accepte une traduction d'un document établi dans une autre langue, celle-ci doit être effectuée par un traducteur assermenté. Une liste de traducteurs assermentés est disponible sur le site web du Ministère de la Justice.   

Célébration du mariage

Au Luxembourg, tout mariage doit être précédé par la publication de la proclamation du mariage (également dénommée les bans) au moins dix jours avant dans la commune où vous vivez. Vos pans sont publiés dès que la commune dans laquelle la cérémonie est prévue reçoit les documents requis.

Dès que l’ensemble des documents requis pour la publication des bans du mariage sont soumis, l’officier de l’état civil vous indique la date et l’heure de la cérémonie. La cérémonie civile aura généralement lieu en semaine, mais certaines communes sont susceptibles de réserver les mariages à certains jours en particulier, et vous permettre de célébrer votre mariage un samedi. Les témoins ne sont nécessaires pour la cérémonie civile mais la famille et les amis sont bien entendu les bienvenus. Après la cérémonie civile, vous recevrez un document officiel, le livret de famille. Il est possible d’obtenir une copie de l’acte de mariage – nécessaire pour toute cérémonie religieuse éventuellement prévue à une date ultérieure – moyennant une demande écrite à la commune où le mariage a été célébré. 

Régimes matrimoniaux, congés payés et répercussions fiscales

À l’occasion de votre mariage, vous avez droit à un congé payé extraordinaire pour motif personnel si vous êtes lié(e) par un contrat de travail : 6 jours ouvrables si vous êtes fonctionnaire et 3 jours ouvrables si vous êtes un salarié du secteur privé. Vous recevrez également une nouvelle fiche de retenue d’impôt délivrée par le bureau d'imposition compétent à partir des données transmises par l’administration communale. Cependant, à compter de l’année fiscale 2018, vous pouvez choisir, en tant que contribuables résidents, d’être imposés séparément au tarif de la classe d’impôt 1 pour chacun d’entre vous, en soumettant au service concerné une demande conjointe signée à l’aide d’une procédure en ligne ne nécessitant pas d’authentification LuxTrust ou par la poste.

Il existe trois régimes matrimoniaux au Grand-Duché : le régime matrimonial légal (ou communauté réduite aux acquêts), la séparation des biens et la communauté universelle. Lorsque vous vous mariez, vous êtes nécessairement soumis à l’un de ces trois régimes. Si vous n’avez pas conclu de contrat de mariage, le régime matrimonial légal est appliqué automatiquement. Toutefois, vous êtes libres d’adopter une autre forme de contrat de mariage ou de modifier votre régime existant. 

 

[1] Depuis 1994, le partenariat (PACS) constitue une alternative légale au mariage dont peuvent bénéficier les couples hétérosexuels et ceux de même sexe.     

My Money

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser