How to start a business in Luxembourg as a startup?

As Luxembourg want to become a startup nation, more and more newcomers are poised to create their own businesses. According to the Global Entrepreneurship Monitor Luxembourg 2016/2017, the proportion of entrepreneurs was 9,2% in 2016, higher than the European average (8,6%). But is it so easy to start a startup in Luxembourg? Yes, provided that you follow the administrative steps described below.  

Step 1: choosing the legal form

There are multiple options for legal forms in Luxembourg. The most common ones are the sole proprietorship, the limited liability company (SARL) and the simplified company (SARL-S). A sole proprietorship is a business form whereby you finance the business and make all the business decisions alone. No distinction is made between your startup and you. You assume full responsibility vis-à-vis third parties and invest your personal assets. In a SARL, there is a strict separation between the property belonging to you and the property belonging to the company. This means that you are only liable for the debts of the company up to the amount of your contribution. In January 2017, in a bid to make entrepreneurship accessible to more people, Luxembourg created a new form called SARL-S. SARL-S is mostly similar to the classic SARL except that it only requires 1 euro instead of 12,500 euros.

Step 2: establishing a registered office

Once you have chosen the legal form, you have to establish your registered office in Luxembourg. Leasing an office space in the Grand Duchy is easy. Many hubs and incubators, such as the House of Startups in Luxembourg City, offer equipped and operational office spaces on advantageous renting terms.

Step 3: obtaining a business license

In Luxembourg, your startup must obtain a business license (autorisation d’établissement) from the Ministry of Economy prior to conducting any commercial, craft, industrial or liberal activities.

Some conditions are required. Your startup must have in the country a fixed physical establishment, equipped with the administrative and technical installations suitable for your activities. Other conditions are related to the owner of the holder of the business license. First, you must satisfy the conditions of professional integrity. Professional integrity aims to guarantee the integrity of the profession and to protect future contracting partners and clients. In practice, the Ministry assesses your professional integrity based on the following documents: your criminal record and a sworn declaration indicating any management positions held by you during the 3 years prior to the application. If you have resided in Luxembourg for less than 5 years, you must also provide a notarial declaration of non-bankruptcy by which you declare that you have never been involved in a bankruptcy.

Then you must prove that you possess the required professional qualifications. Their extent and nature may vary according to the nature of your business. For instance, there are 3 ways to comply with the qualifications required for commercial activities. Either you possess the appropriate degree, diploma or certificate of completion. Or you have practiced relevant professional activity for at least 3 years in an EU Member State. Or you have successfully passed the final exam which completes the course for access to commercial activities organized by the Chamber of Commerce via the House of Training or any similar training course provided in another Member State. A legislative reform is underway in order to abolish any prerequisite for professional qualifications for basic commercial activities.

Apart from a tax stamp of 24 €, the process for obtaining a business license is free of charge. You can submit your application online via MyGuichet with a Luxtrust card or send it by standard mail or email to the General Directorate – SME, Entrepreneurship and the Internal Market.

If you are a non-EU national, you must submit your business license application together with your application to stay as a self-employed person and send them in a single dossier to the Ministry of Immigration.

Step 4: carrying out additional formalities

Upon receipt of the business license, you need to carry out additional formalities with other Luxembourg administrative bodies. You must be affiliated with the Social Security Centre as a self-employed person or as an employer if you intend to recruit staff. You must register for income tax with the Luxembourg Inland Revenue and for VAT with the Registration Duties, Estates and VAT Authority.

You don’t know which legal form choose for your business? You want some help to obtain your business license and to carry out other formalities? You can find assistance at the Contact Entreprise of the Chamber at the Chamber of Skilled Trades and Crafts for craft activities or at the House of Entrepreneurship for commercial activities and provision of services.

 

04/20

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Comment lancer une start-up au Luxembourg ?

Alors le Luxembourg souhaite devenir une « start-up nation », de plus en plus de nouveaux arrivants sont prêts à lancer leur propre entreprise. Selon l’enquête Global Entrepreneurship Monitor Luxembourg 2016/2017, la proportion d’entrepreneurs s’élevait à 9,2 % en 2016, un chiffre supérieur à la moyenne européenne (8,6 %). Mais est-il aussi simple de créer une start-up au Luxembourg ? Oui, à condition de suivre les étapes administratives décrites ci-dessous.  

Étape 1 : choisir la forme juridique

Les entreprises existent sous de multiples formes au Luxembourg. Les plus répandues sont les entreprises individuelles, les sociétés à responsabilité limitée (SARL) et les sociétés à responsabilité limitée simplifiées (SARL-S). Une entreprise individuelle est une entreprise dont vous seul financez l’activité et prenez toutes les décisions. Aucune distinction n’est faite entre votre start-up et vous-même. Vous assumez l’entière responsabilité à l’égard des tiers et investissez vos actifs personnels. Dans le cas d’une SARL, une démarcation stricte est faite entre vos propres biens et ceux de l’entreprise. Autrement dit, vous n’êtes responsable des dettes de l’entreprise qu’à la hauteur de votre contribution. En janvier 2017, afin de faciliter l’accès à la création d’entreprise, le Luxembourg a créé une nouvelle forme dénommée SARL-S. La SARL-S est en grande partie identique à une SARL classique, à la différence que son capital social minimum est de 1 euro au lieu de 12500 euros.

Étape 2 : établir son siège social

Après avoir choisi la forme juridique, vous devez établir votre siège social au Luxembourg. Il est très simple de louer un espace de bureaux dans le Grand-Duché. De nombreux hubs et incubateurs, comme la House of Startups de Luxembourg-Ville, proposent des espaces de bureaux équipés et opérationnels à des loyers compétitifs.

Étape 3 : obtenir une autorisation d’établissement

Au Luxembourg, votre start-up doit obtenir une autorisation d’établissement auprès du Ministère de l’économie avant d’exercer des activités commerciales, artisanales, industrielles ou libérales. 

Certaines conditions doivent être remplies. Votre start-up doit disposer d'un établissement physique fixe dans le pays, doté des installations administratives et techniques adaptées à vos activités. D’autres conditions sont liées à l’actionnaire/associé majoritaire et au titulaire de l’autorisation d’établissement. Premièrement, vous devez justifier de votre honorabilité professionnelle. L’honorabilité vise à garantir l’intégrité de la profession ainsi que la protection des futurs cocontractants et clients. Concrètement, le Ministère évalue votre honorabilité professionnelle sur la base des documents suivants : un extrait de votre casier judiciaire, et une déclaration sur l'honneur relative à d’éventuelles fonctions dirigeantes dans des entreprises au cours des 3 années précédent la demande. Si vous résidez au Luxembourg depuis moins de 10 ans, vous devez également fournir une déclaration de non-faillite faite devant notaire qui doit attester que vous n’avez jamais été impliqué dans la faillite d'une entreprise.

Vous devez ensuite prouver que vous disposez des qualifications professionnelles requises. Leur envergure et leur nature peuvent varier selon la nature de votre activité. Par exemple, il existe 3 façons de respecter les qualifications requises pour exercer des activités commerciales. Soit en possédant le diplôme ou le certificat de fin d’études approprié. Soit en ayant exercé l’activité professionnelle concernée pendant au moins 3 ans dans un État membre de l’UE. Soit en ayant réussi l’examen final sanctionnant la formation d’accès aux activités commerciales dispensée par la Chambre de commerce par l’intermédiaire de la «House of Training», ou une formation analogue dispensée dans un autre État membre. Une réforme législative est prévue afin d’abolir l’obligation de justifier de qualifications professionnelles pour des activités commerciales de base.  

En dehors des droits de chancellerie de 24 €, la procédure d’obtention d'une autorisation d’établissement est gratuite. Vous pouvez transmettre votre demande en ligne par l’intermédiaire de MyGuichet et à l’aide d’un certificat Luxtrust, ou par courrier simple ou email adressé à la Direction générale - PME entrepreneuriat et marché intérieur.

Si vous êtes ressortissant d’un pays tiers, vous devez accompagner votre demande d’autorisation d’établissement de votre demande d’autorisation de séjour en tant que travailleur indépendant et envoyer le tout dans un seul dossier au ministère de l’Immigration.

Étape 4 : formalités supplémentaires

Upon receipt of the business license, you need to carry out additional formalities with other Luxembourg administrative bodies. You must be affiliated with the Social Security Centre as a self-employed person or as an employer if you intend to recruit staff. You must register for income tax with the Luxembourg Inland Revenue and for VAT with the Registration Duties, Estates and VAT Authority.

You don’t know which legal form choose for your business? You want some help to obtain your business license and to carry out other formalities? You can find assistance at the Contact Entreprise of the Chamber at the Chamber of Skilled Trades and Crafts for craft activities or at the House of Entrepreneurship for commercial activities and provision of services.

 

04/20

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser

  • L’immigration a toujours joué un rôle majeur dans le développement économique, une tendance qui ne s’est jamais démentie. En 1961, la Luxembourg comptait 314 900 habitants, dont 13,2 % d’étrangers. Le 1er janvier 2018, la population du pays a atteint 602 005 habitants, parmi lesquels 47,9 % d’étrangers !

  • Tous les ans, c’est la même histoire. Les vacances d’été viennent à peine de commencer que vous ne savez pas quoi faire pour occuper vos enfants. Quelle est la meilleure solution pour vos enfants ?

  • L’été est là. Un moment peut-être inoubliable pour les familles du monde entier. L’école étant finie, les vacances d’été annuelles et la destination touristique à la mode sont au cœur des conversations. Mais lorsque vous vivez à l’étranger, le concept de vacances est différent et se traduit souvent par un dilemme aboutissant parfois... à une absence de vacances