Wandering in the Luxembourgish woods

Did you know that more than a third of the Grand Duchy is surrounded by vast open plains, towering mountains and parks which are home to dense forests? According to the National Institute of Statistics and Economic Studies (Statec), the Grand Duchy has the highest afforestation rate of the 4 countries in the Greater Region. Its forest area covers about 88,000 hectares and more than 85% of the forests are within 1,500 meters of an agglomeration. There are so many different trails throughout the five regions of the country that Luxembourg is the perfect hiking destination: from the capital and its surroundings to the Ardennes, the Land of the Red Rocks, the Mullerthal Region and the Moselle Valley. 

A capital city ringed by forests

The city of Luxembourg has some 1,055 hectares of woods, which represents more than 20% of its total area. The southern part has a lot of communal forests, the main ones being those of Hamm, Cessange, Kockelscheuer, Tawioun and Birelergronn. In the north, accessible by the Muhlenbach district, the Bambësch is the largest forest massif of Luxembourg-City. Several hiking or nature discovery trails are offered to walkers and marked for courses from 4,6 km (Lièvre or Hare) to 7,5 km (Hibou or Owl). For the athletic ones, a health course is available on 2,7 km with 18 tackles and a cross course of 5,5 km. You will find more information about the walk and fitness trails in the Bambësch and the Hamm-Kockelscheuer sector by downloading the information brochures (only in French and German) on the VDL (Ville de Luxembourg) website.

The beautiful landscapes of the Éislek

Located in the northern part of the country, the Ardennes, called Éislek by the Luxembourgers, represent one third of the surface of the Grand Duchy and almost half of the woodlands. Lush forests, green hills, deep valleys and windy plateaus characterise the region which hosts two nature parks – the Nature Park of the Upper Sûre and the Nature Park Our – and offers exceptional hiking experiences. The 23 circular trails of the NaturWanderPark delux with a total of 400 km take you through unique cultural and natural landscapes along the Sûre and Our rivers. Certified as “Leading Quality Trail – Best of Europe”, the hiking trail Escapardenne of 159 km, from Ettelbruck to La Roche-en-Ardenne (in Belgium), allows you to discover splendid panoramic views. More information on www.visit-eislek.lu/en.

The Land of the Red Rocks

The Land of the Red Rocks (Terres Rouges) in the south of the country has been strongly marked by its industrial culture. The old opencast iron ore mines – hence the name of Red Rocks - have now become protected nature reserves with several mountain bike and hiking trails. The park of Galgenberg (Gaalgebierg) in Esch-sur-Alzette, the capital city of the region, is also worth a visit. More information on www.redrock.lu/en.

Luxembourg’s Little Switzerland

Often referred to as Luxembourg’s Little Switzerland, Mullerthal – or Mëllerdall in Luxembourgish – owes its name to its hilly landscape reminiscent of Switzerland. The region has a diverse and unique geological heritage of imposing sandstone cliffs with narrow clefts and deep gorges. That is why the nature park “Mëllerdall” is also a Geopark which aims at promoting public awareness of its geological area through tourism. On a length of 112 km, the spectacular Mullerthal Trail passes all the natural particularities of the region. Natural paths lead through forests and meadows and can be combined with impressive canyons and bizarre rock formations. More information on www.mullerthal.lu/en and www.mullerthal-trail.lu/en.

Escapes in the Moselle’s nature

Forming a natural boundary with Germany, the Moselle river lends its name to one of the most beautiful valleys of the country, renowned for its wineries, charming hotels, medieval town and… landscapes. The region has several nature reserves – “Grouf” and “Strombierg” in Schengen, “Haff Réimech” and Biodiversum on the bottom of the wine slopes between Schengen and Remich, “Kuebendällchen” in Wintrange -   and many theme trails lead the hikers to observe countless species of fauna and flora. More information on www.visitmoselle.lu/en.

Good for your physical and mental health

Walking in the forests can have beneficial effects on your health. Several scientific studies have shown that the molecules released by the trees, the phytoncides, would strengthen the immune system, reduce blood pressure, lower blood sugar levels and improve concentration, memory, cardiovascular system and metabolism. In Japan, forest therapy, or tree therapy, has been recognised as a preventive medicine since 1982. Trees can also significantly reduce stress and risk of depression.

And the good news is that you don’t have to walk in the woods for hours to feel these benefits. A few minutes is enough. So, do not hesitate. Take regularly your dose of forest bathing, even once a week, and you will be better, both physically and mentally. For example, why not make a lovely little walk in the woods during your lunch break? As you know it now, the forest is never far away in Luxembourg. 

05/19

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Randonner dans les forêts luxembourgeoises

Savez-vous que plus d’un quart du Grand-Duché regorge de vastes plaines ouvertes, de majestueux plateaux et de parcs abritant des forêts luxuriantes ? Selon l’Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques (Statec), le Grand-Duché présente le taux de boisement le plus élevé des quatre pays de la Grande Région. Sa zone forestière couvre en effet environ 88 000 hectares et plus de 85 % des forêts se situent à moins de 1,5 km d’une agglomération. Il existe tant de sentiers différents dans les cinq régions du Luxembourg que le pays constitue une destination idéale pour la randonnée, de la capitale à ses environs, en passant par les Ardennes, les Terres Rouges, la région de Mullerthal et la vallée de la Moselle.

Une capitale entourée de forêts

La ville de Luxembourg comporte environ 1 055 hectares de forêts, soit plus de 20 % de sa superficie totale. Le sud de la ville est riche en forêts communales, notamment Hamm, Cessange, Kockelscheuer, Tawioun et Birelergronn. Dans le nord, accessible par le quartier de Muhlenbach, la forêt de Bambësch constitue le plus vaste massif forestier de Luxembourg-Ville. De nombreux sentiers de randonnée et de découverte de la nature s’offrent aux promeneurs et sont balisés pour la course à pied, de 4,6 km (Lièvre) à 7,5 km (Hibou). Pour les plus sportifs, un parcours de santé de 2,7 km est proposé avec 18 agrès ainsi qu’un parcours de cross de 5,5 km. Vous trouverez plus d’informations sur les parcours de course à pied et de santé dans les secteurs de Bambësch et de Hamm-Kockelscheuer en téléchargeant les dépliants sur le site Internet VDL (Ville de Luxembourg).

Les merveilleux paysages d’Éislek

Situées dans la partie septentrionale du pays, les Ardennes luxembourgeoises (Éislek) représentent un tiers de la surface du Grand-Duché et près de la moitié de sa zone forestière. Forêts luxuriantes, collines verdoyantes, vallées profondes et plateaux battus par le vent… Telles sont les caractéristiques de cette région qui accueille deux parcs naturels, le Parc Naturel de la Haute-Sûre et le Parc Naturel de l’Our, qui offrent tous deux des expériences de randonnée exceptionnelles. Se déployant sur 400 km, les 23 sentiers circulaires du NaturWanderPark delux vous mènent à travers des paysages culturels et naturels uniques le long des rivières Sûre et Our. Certifié par le label de qualité « Leading Quality Trail – Best of Europe », le sentier de randonnée de l’Escapardenne, qui s’étire sur 159 km entre ttelbruck et La Roche-en-Ardenne (en Belgique), vous permet de découvrir de splendides panoramas. Plus d’informations sur www.visit-eislek.lu/fr.

Les Terres Rouges

Situées dans le sud du Grand-Duché, les Terres Rouges sont fortement marquées par leur culture industrielle, puisqu’elles doivent leur nom aux anciennes mines de fer à ciel ouvert qui ont aujourd’hui laissé place à des réserves naturelles protégées et à de nombreux sentiers de VTT et de randonnée. Le parc de Galgenberg (Gaalgebierg), qui se trouve dans la capitale régionale d’Esch-sur-Alzette, vaut également le détour. Plus d’informations sur www.redrock.lu/fr.

La Petite Suisse du Grand-Duché

Souvent surnommée la « Petite Suisse du Luxembourg », Mullerthal (Mëllerdall en luxembourgeois) offre à voir des paysages vallonnés qui rappellent la Confédération helvétique. La région est dotée d’un héritage géologique aussi varié qu’unique, constitué de falaises de grès aux ravins étroits et aux gorges abruptes. Raison pour laquelle le parc naturel Mëllerdall est également un Géoparc visant à sensibiliser le public à cette zone géologique grâce au tourisme. Sur une longueur de 112 km, le spectaculaire sentier de Mullerthal sillonne à travers les particularités de la région. Les chemins naturels traversent des forêts et des prairies et se conjuguent à d’impressionnants canyons et à des formations rocheuses étranges. Plus d’informations sur www.mullerthal.lu/fr et www.mullerthal-trail.lu.

Escapades dans la nature mosellane

Formant une frontière naturelle avec l’Allemagne, la rivière Moselle prête son nom à l’une des plus belles vallées du Luxembourg, réputée pour ses caves à vins, ses hôtels de charme, ses villes médiévales… et ses paysages. La région compte plusieurs réserves naturelles – Grouf et Strombierg à Schengen, Haff Réimech et Biodiversum au fond des vallées bordées de vignes entre Schengen et Remich, Kuebendällchen à Wintrange – ainsi qu’une pléthore de sentiers thématiques destinés à l’observation d’innombrables espèces animales et florales. Plus d’informations sur www.visitmoselle.lu/fr.

Le bon plan santé

Marcher dans la forêt a bien des vertus pour votre santé, physique comme mentale. De nombreuses études scientifiques ont montré que les composés organiques libérés par les arbres, les phytoncides, renforcent le système immunitaire, réduisent la pression artérielle et la glycémie et améliorent la concentration, la mémoire, le système cardiovasculaire et le métabolisme. Au Japon, la sylvothérapie, ou thérapie par les arbres, a été reconnue médecine préventive en 1982. Les arbres sont en effet connus pour réduire le stress et le risque de dépression.

Et la bonne nouvelle, c’est qu’il n’est pas nécessaire de parcourir les forêts pendant des heures pour ressentir leurs bienfaits : quelques minutes suffisent. Alors, n’hésitez pas et prenez régulièrement votre dose de bain de forêt, ne serait-ce qu’une fois par semaine, pour vous sentir mieux dans votre tête comme dans votre corps. Pourquoi ne pas vous accorder une charmante balade en forêt pendant votre pause du midi ? Comme vous le savez maintenant, au Luxembourg, la forêt n’est jamais bien loin…

05/19

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser

  • L’immigration a toujours joué un rôle majeur dans le développement économique, une tendance qui ne s’est jamais démentie. En 1961, la Luxembourg comptait 314 900 habitants, dont 13,2 % d’étrangers. Le 1er janvier 2018, la population du pays a atteint 602 005 habitants, parmi lesquels 47,9 % d’étrangers !

  • Tous les ans, c’est la même histoire. Les vacances d’été viennent à peine de commencer que vous ne savez pas quoi faire pour occuper vos enfants. Quelle est la meilleure solution pour vos enfants ?

  • L’été est là. Un moment peut-être inoubliable pour les familles du monde entier. L’école étant finie, les vacances d’été annuelles et la destination touristique à la mode sont au cœur des conversations. Mais lorsque vous vivez à l’étranger, le concept de vacances est différent et se traduit souvent par un dilemme aboutissant parfois... à une absence de vacances