What to do with children during the summer break?

Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!   In the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, a lot of workshops and camps will appeal to the more artistic or to the more sports enthusiasts and will allow you to keep your little ones busy outside family vacation or by Grandpa and Granny.

Art workshops

Art workshops are legion in the country. If your children are aged between 11 and 15 and want to master the art of theatre performance, they can attend workshops (in French or in Luxembourgish) at the Ecole de Théâtre in Luxembourg-Neudorf. Several art workshops in English, French, German and Luxembourgish for kids aged between 5 and 12 take place in the Grevenmacher Kultuhuef on different periods of the summer. At Pause-Art, children aged over 5 can participate in artistic workshops that will allow them to stimulate their creativity. Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain offers a series of creative and amusing activities in French, English and German which aims to promote children’s interest in contemporary art and encourage them to complete their own artistic projects. In the same way, the European Circle of the Proliferation of Art (Cercle européen pour la Propagation des Arts – CEPA) organises each year its Summerakademie, a summer school with different art classes in French, German and Luxembourgish.    The Luxembourg City’s National Museum of History and Art (Musée national d’histoire et d’art - MNHA) proposes thematic guided tours through the museum.  Kids can also take circus lessons at Zaltimbanq’Zirkus. And if they are between 12 and 16 years old, they can even learn to make a short film at the National Audiovisual Centre in Dudelange.   

Sport workshops

Hockey, swimming, tennis, football, trampoline, karate, self-defence, gymnastics, dance, horse riding, fitness, badminton, etc.: sport workshops in Luxembourg cover almost all the sporting disciplines. Very often, these workshops combine sport with any other activities. For example, that is the case for the Little Gym Camps. These theme camps (Pirate Ship, Come into the Jungle, Princesses and Knights, etc.) propose a combination of physical fitness, fun, arts and special events. Each summer, the city of Luxembourg organises the S.d.S. Sport-Wochen. These sport camps are open to young people between 11 and 17, whether they are living in Luxembourg City or not. You can check here if places are still available.    

Outdoor workshops

If your kids cannot stand still, why not subscribe them to outdoor workshops? The BDK workshops (only in French) offer, in Belgium and Luxembourg (Bertrange), a lot of outdoor and indoor activities such as nature walk, adventure trails, outdoor games, Fort Boyard, Koh-Lanta, music and crafts. For more than 40 years, CAPEL (Centre d’Animation Pédagogique et de Loisirs) has been organising Aktioun Bambësch in Luxembourg City. These various outdoor activities are aimed at children aged between 5 and 12 and living in Luxembourg City. Participation is free but you need to subscribe your kids two months before the beginning of the activities.  As at the time of publishing this article, it will be too late. But not if your children are aged between 13 and 17. In this case, you can subscribe them to Aktioun Jugend Aktiv. No prior registration is required.      

Language courses

Another option is to subscribe your children to language courses. Numerous bodies in the country organise linguistic camps coupled most of the time with sport, cultural or artistic activities.

Of course, the list above is not exhaustive. There a plenty of other activities. If you want to know more, the best solution is to inquire with your municipal administration. Each year, municipalities organise activities during summer holidays. You can also visit the website colonies.lu. It gives detailed information about all the holiday camps for children and young people in the Grand Duchy and abroad. And if you understand French, cast a glance at petitweb.lu site. You will find a vast choice of charged or free activities. The selection is very complete and regularly updated.   

And what about scouting?

It can be a good idea to occupy your children. It may be too late for this summer but think about it for the next years. Two scouting federations are at your disposal in Luxembourg. They organise multiple activities focused on nature, group and sharing activities and offer nature camps during the school holidays. The Fédération Nationale des Eclaireurs du Luxembourg (FNEL) is a laic scout movement which includes the Robert Schuman French-speaking unit and the Telstar English-speaking unit. The Lëtzebuerger Guiden a Scouten is a movement of catholic scouting.       


Have good summer holidays and don’t forget to visit our website if you want to discover our solutions tailored to newcomers!

04/20

 

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Que faire avec vos enfants pendant les vacances d’été ?

Tous les ans, c’est la même histoire. Les vacances d’été viennent à peine de commencer que vous ne savez pas quoi faire pour occuper vos enfants. Quelle est la meilleure solution pour vos enfants ? N’est-il pas trop tard pour leur prévoir des activités ? Restez calme et suivez le guide !   Dans le Grand-Duché du Luxembourg, une multitude d’ateliers et de colonies feront la joie des enfants ayant la fibre artistique ou des plus sportifs, et vous permettront d’occuper vos enfants en dehors des vacances en famille ou des séjours chez les grands-parents.

Ateliers artistiques

Le pays regorge d’ateliers artistiques. Si vos enfants ont entre 11 et 15 ans et souhaitent s'initier à l’art du théâtre, ils peuvent participer à des ateliers (en français ou en luxembourgeois) à l’École de Théâtre de Luxembourg-Neudorf. Plusieurs ateliers artistiques sont proposés en anglais, en français, en allemand et en luxembourgeois pour les enfants de 5 à 12 ans au Kultuhuef de Grevenmacher à différentes périodes de l’été. Chez Pause-Art, les plus de 5 ans peuvent participer à des ateliers artistiques qui leur permettront de donner libre cours à leur créativité. Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain propose une série d’activités créatives et amusantes en français, en anglais et en allemand visant à éveiller l'intérêt des enfants pour l’art contemporain et à les encourager à mener à bien leurs propres projets artistiques. De la même manière Le Cercle européen pour la promotion des arts (CEPA) organise chaque année sa Summerakademie, une école d’été avec différentes classes artistiques en français, en allemand et en luxembourgeois. Le Musée National d'histoire et d'art (MNHA) propose des visites guidées thématiques à travers le musée. Les enfants peuvent également s’initier aux arts du cirque chez Zaltimbanq’Zirkus. Et ceux ayant entre 12 et 16 ans peuvent même apprendre à tourner un court-métrage au Centre national de l’audiovisuel à Dudelange.     

Sport

Hockey, natation, tennis, football, trampoline, karaté, autodéfense, gymnastique, danse, équitation, fitness, badminton, etc. : les activités sportives proposées au Luxembourg couvrent presque toutes les disciplines. Ces activités associent très souvent le sport à d’autres activités. C’est le cas, par exemple des Stages de Little Gym. Ces stages à thème (bateau pirate, excursion dans la jungle, chevaliers et princesses, etc.) proposent un mélange d’activité physique, de divertissement, d’art et d’événements spéciaux. Chaque été la ville de Luxembourg organise les S.d.S. Sport-Wochen. Ces stages sportifs sont ouverts aux jeunes de 11 à 17 ans de Luxembourg-Ville d’ailleurs. Vous pouvez cliquer ici afin de vérifier si des places sont disponibles.   

Stages en extérieur

Si vos enfants ne tiennent pas en place, pourquoi ne pas les inscrire à des stages en plein air ? Les stages BDK (en français uniquement) proposent, en Belgique et au Luxembourg (Bertrange), de nombreuses activités en plein air et en salle comme des randonnées, des trails aventure, des jeux en plein air, des jeux Fort Boyard et Koh-Lanta, de la musique et des travaux manuels. Depuis plus de 40 ans, le CAPEL (Centre d’Animation Pédagogique et de Loisirs) organise l’Aktioun Bambësch à Luxembourg-Ville. Ces activités en plein air variées sont destinées aux enfants de 5 à 12 ans habitant Luxembourg-Ville. La participation est gratuite mais il nécessaire d'inscrire vos enfants deux mois avant le début des activités. Au moment de la publication de cet article, il sera trop tard sauf si vos enfants ont entre 13 et 17 ans. Le cas échéant, vous pouvez les inscrire à l’Aktioun Jugend Aktiv. Aucune inscription préalable n’est requise.           

Cours de langues

Il est également possible d'inscrire vos enfants à des cours de langues. De nombreux organismes du pays organisent des stages linguistiques agrémentés la plupart du temps d’activités sportives, culturelles ou artistiques.

Bien entendu, la liste ci-dessus n’est pas complète. Il existe une multitude d’autres activités. Et si vous souhaitez en savoir plus, le mieux est de se renseigner auprès de votre administration communale. Chaque année, les communes organisent des activités au cours des vacances d’été. Vous pouvez également visiter le site web colonies.lu. Il donne des informations détaillées sur l’ensemble des colonies d’été organisées au Grand-Duché et à l’étranger pour les enfants et les jeunes. Et si vous comprenez le français, jetez un œil à petitweb.lu site. Vous trouverez un vaste choix d’activités, gratuites ou non. La sélection, très complète, est mise à jour régulièrement. 

Et pourquoi pas le scoutisme ?

Cette idée peut s’avérer excellente pour occuper vos enfants. Il est peut-être trop tard pour cet été mais pensez-y pour les prochaines années. Deux fédérations de scoutisme sont à votre disposition au Luxembourg. Elles organisent de nombreuses activités axées sur la nature, la vie en groupe et les activités de partage, ainsi que des colonies en plein air pendant les vacances scolaires. La Fédération nationale des éclaireurs du Luxembourg (FNEL) est un mouvement scout laïc qui comprend l’Unité Robert Schuman francophone et l’Unité Telstar anglophone. Le Lëtzebuerger Guiden a Scouten est un mouvement de scoutisme catholique.        


Passez de bonnes vacances d’été et n’oubliez pas de visiter notre site web si vous souhaitez découvrir nos solutions adaptées aux nouveaux arrivants !

04/20

 

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser

  • L’immigration a toujours joué un rôle majeur dans le développement économique, une tendance qui ne s’est jamais démentie. En 1961, la Luxembourg comptait 314 900 habitants, dont 13,2 % d’étrangers. Le 1er janvier 2018, la population du pays a atteint 602 005 habitants, parmi lesquels 47,9 % d’étrangers !

  • Tous les ans, c’est la même histoire. Les vacances d’été viennent à peine de commencer que vous ne savez pas quoi faire pour occuper vos enfants. Quelle est la meilleure solution pour vos enfants ?

  • L’été est là. Un moment peut-être inoubliable pour les familles du monde entier. L’école étant finie, les vacances d’été annuelles et la destination touristique à la mode sont au cœur des conversations. Mais lorsque vous vivez à l’étranger, le concept de vacances est différent et se traduit souvent par un dilemme aboutissant parfois... à une absence de vacances