Where to find help for newcomer students in Luxembourg?

Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners. On 1 January 2018, the country reached a population of 602,005 people, among which 47,9% of foreigners! Some of them join the international schools present in the Grand Duchy, while others choose to integrate the Luxembourg school system[1]. This choice is crucial for the Luxembourgish authorities as it promotes the integration of newcomers into society and preserves the social balance of the country.

Intercultural mediators

That is why several structures have been set up to welcome and guide newcomer students to Luxembourg. First of all, you have the Department of Schooling for Foreign Children (Service de la scolarisation des enfants étrangers - SECAM). Depending on the Ministry of National Education, Childhood and Youth, this service aims to inform newcomers to Luxembourg about the Luxembourg school system, support systems, enrolment in schools and provide, if necessary, intercultural mediation.

Parents, teachers and school authorities can ask for help, free of charge, from an intercultural mediator who speaks a foreign language in addition to the official languages of the Grand-Duchy[1]. Mediators facilitate communication and mutual understanding between families, pupils and teachers. They give assistance to parents and teachers during the welcoming of the pupils, translate information about the child’s previous schooling in his/her country of origin, help occasionally or regularly in class, etc. To request the intervention of an intercultural mediator, you have to use an online form (only in French).

School reception for students over 12

The School Reception Unit for Newly Arrived Children (Cellule d’accueil scolaire pour élèves nouveaux arrivants – CASNA) provides assistance to young people aged between 12 and 18 who wish to continue their studies in post-primary education. It facilitates their placement into a class corresponding to their profile.

Students who are fluent in Luxembourg’s languages instructions (German, French and, depending on the level, English) are placed in regular classes.

For students aged 12 to 15 who are not fluent in French and German, special classes known as reception classes or integration classes are available. Reception classes are transitional classes designed for non-French speaking students. The students take classes in French for beginners, mathematics and Luxembourgish with a view to joining a lower- or mid-level class in the technical secondary education system (special language-track classes) or in the preparatory track. French-language integration classes are intended for students who do not speak French but had a good academic level in their country of origin. In these classes, the language of instruction is French. They study French intensively, do not learn German and can continue their education in special language-track classes or in preparatory classes leading to the International Baccalaureate diploma. German-language integration classes are aimed at students with a good knowledge of French who had a good academic level in their country of origin. They study German intensively, while all other subjects are taught in French. Depending on the level reached by the end of the year, they can continue their education in a regular secondary school or in a technical secondary school.

For students aged 16 to 17 who are not fluent in French and German, there are 3 options. Integration classes for young adults (Classes d’insertion pour jeunes adultes – CLA) offer basic instruction in French in preparation for technical secondary education or social and economic self-sufficiency. In special language-track classes in mid- and upper-level secondary education (RLS), the programs are identical to those in the standard technical and vocational education system, but the language of instruction is French instead of German. Pre-professional integration classes (Classes d’insertion pré-professionnelle – CLIPP) are transitional classes for students with some knowledge of French. Depending on the student’s skills and goals, the instruction will be geared towards entering the school system or the world of work.     

  • For more information, you can contact CASNA at the following number: (+352) 247-85277. They provide information in English. And don’t forget to visit our website if you want to discover our solutions tailored to newcomers. 

[1] See our previous article “In which school should you place your children?”
[2] As of September 2016, the available languages were Albanian, Arabic, Bulgarian, Chinese, Creole (Cap Verde), Creole (Guinee Bissau), Czech, Dutch, Filipino, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Korean, Nepalese, Persian (Farsi), Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbo-Croat, Slovak, Spanish, Turkish, Ukrainian, Vietnamese, and Wolof.

04/20

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Où trouver des renseignements pour les étudiants qui viennent d’arriver au Luxembourg ?

L’immigration a toujours joué un rôle majeur dans le développement économique, une tendance qui ne s’est jamais démentie. En 1961, la Luxembourg comptait 314 900 habitants, dont 13,2 % d’étrangers. Le 1er janvier 2018, la population du pays a atteint 602 005 habitants, parmi lesquels 47,9 % d’étrangers ! Certains d’entre eux rejoignent les écoles internationales du Grand Duché, tandis que d’autres décident d'intégrer le système scolaire luxembourgeois[1]. Ce choix est crucial pour les autorités luxembourgeoises, dans le sens où il favorise l’intégration des nouveaux arrivants dans la société et préserve l’équilibre social du pays.

Médiateurs interculturels

C’est la raison pour laquelle plusieurs structures ont été mises en place pour accueillir et orienter les étudiants qui viennent d’arriver au Luxembourg. Pour commencer, citons le Service de la scolarisation des enfants étrangers (SECAM). Rattaché au ministère de l’Éducation nationale, de l’enfance et de la jeunesse, ce service a pour mission d’informer les nouveaux arrivants au Luxembourg au sujet du système scolaire du pays, des systèmes d’aide, de l’inscription dans les établissements et d’assurer, si nécessaire, une médiation interculturelle.

Les parents, les enseignants et les autorités scolaires peuvent demander gratuitement l’aide d'un médiateur interculturel qui parle une langue étrangère en plus des langues officielles du Grand-Duché[1]. Les médiateurs facilitent la communication et la compréhension mutuelle entre familles, élèves et enseignants. Ils prêtent assistance aux parents et aux enseignants au cours de l’accueil des élèves, traduisent les informations relatives au parcours scolaire de l’enfant dans son pays d'origine, fournissent occasionnellement ou régulièrement de l’aide en classe, etc. Pour demander l’intervention d'un médiateur interculturel, il vous faut remplir un formulaire en ligne (en français uniquement).

Accueil à l’école des étudiants de plus de 12 ans

La Cellule d’accueil scolaire pour élèves nouveaux arrivants (CASNA) prête assistance aux adolescents de 12 à 18 ans qui souhaitent poursuivre leurs études secondaires. Elle facilite leur placement dans une classe adaptée à leurs profils.
Les étudiants qui maîtrisent les langues d’enseignement au Luxembourg (l’allemand, le français, et, en fonction du niveau, l’anglais) sont placés dans des classes normales.

Pour les élèves de 12 à 15 ans qui ne maîtrisent ni le français, ni l’allemand, des classes spéciales, dénommées « classes d’accueil » ou « classes d'insertion », sont disponibles. Les classes d’accueil sont des classes de transitions réservées aux élèves ne parlant pas français. Les élèves suivent des cours de français pour débutants, de mathématiques et de luxembourgeois dans le but de rejoindre une classe de premier niveau ou de niveau intermédiaire dans le système d’éducation secondaire général (des classes à régime linguistique spécifique) ou dans la filière préparatoire. Les classes d’insertion en langue française sont destinées aux élèves qui ne parlent pas français mais ayant un bon niveau académique dans leurs pays d'origine. Les cours y sont enseignés en français. Les élèves suivent des cours intensifs de français, aucun cours d’allemand, et peuvent poursuivre leur éducation dans des classes à régime linguistique spécifique ou dans des classes préparatoires menant au diplôme du Baccalauréat international. Les classes d’insertion en langue allemande sont destinées aux élèves ayant un bon niveau en français et un bon niveau académique dans leurs pays d'origine. Ils suivent des cours intensifs d’allemand, tandis que les autres matières sont enseignées en français. En fonction du niveau atteint en fin d’année, ils peuvent poursuivre leur éducation dans une classe secondaire régulière ou dans un établissement secondaire général.

Pour les élèves de 16 à 17 ans qui ne maîtrisent ni le français, ni l’allemand, 3 options sont possibles. Les classes d’insertion pour jeunes adultes (CLIJA) proposent un enseignement de base en français afin de préparer à l’enseignement secondaire général ou à l’autonomie sociale et économique. Dans les classes à régime linguistique spécifique du cycle intermédiaire et supérieur l’enseignement secondaire (RLS), les programmes sont identiques à ceux du système d’enseignement classique, général et professionnel, mais la langue d’enseignement est le français et non pas l’allemand. Les Classes d’insertion pré-professionnelle (CLIPP) sont des classes de transition réservées aux élèves avec des notions de français. En fonction des compétences et des objectifs de l’élève, l’apprentissage sera orienté vers l’accès au système scolaire ou au monde du travail.    

  • Pour obtenir de plus amples informations, vous pouvez contacter la CASNA au numéro suivant : (+352) 247-85277. Ils fournissent des renseignements en anglais. Et n’oubliez pas de visiter notre site web si vous souhaitez découvrir nos solutions adaptées aux nouveaux arrivants. 

[1] Voir notre précédent article « Dans quel établissement scolaire faut-il inscrire vos enfants ? »

[2] À compter de septembre 2016, le formulaire est disponible en albanais, en arabe, en bulgare, en chinois, en créole (Cap-Vert), en créole (Guinée-Bissau), en tchèque, en néerlandais, en philippin, en grec, en hongrois, en italien, en coréen, en népalais, en persan (farsi), en polonais, en portugais, en roumain, en russe, en serbo-croate, en slovaque, en espagnol, en turc, en ukrainien, en vietnamien et en wolof.

04/20

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser

  • L’immigration a toujours joué un rôle majeur dans le développement économique, une tendance qui ne s’est jamais démentie. En 1961, la Luxembourg comptait 314 900 habitants, dont 13,2 % d’étrangers. Le 1er janvier 2018, la population du pays a atteint 602 005 habitants, parmi lesquels 47,9 % d’étrangers !

  • Tous les ans, c’est la même histoire. Les vacances d’été viennent à peine de commencer que vous ne savez pas quoi faire pour occuper vos enfants. Quelle est la meilleure solution pour vos enfants ?

  • L’été est là. Un moment peut-être inoubliable pour les familles du monde entier. L’école étant finie, les vacances d’été annuelles et la destination touristique à la mode sont au cœur des conversations. Mais lorsque vous vivez à l’étranger, le concept de vacances est différent et se traduit souvent par un dilemme aboutissant parfois... à une absence de vacances