Online payment in Luxembourg: always safer and more convenient

With the COVID-19 crisis and the health rules it imposes, payment for online purchases has gained new momentum, thanks in particular to 3D Secure technology. 

What is 3D Secure and how does it work in Luxembourg?

To recall, 3D Secure, also known as a payer authentication, is a recognized security protocol that helps to prevent fraud in e-commerce card transactions. It aims to ensure that the rightful cardholder makes each online payment. The name 3D refers to the three “domains”, the three parties involved in the process: the issuer (your bank), the merchant/acquirer and the interoperability domain that performs the authentication. Initiated and created by Visa and MasterCard, this additional layer of security[1] is branded as Verified by Visa and MasterCard SecureCode respectively.

In Luxembourg, 3D Secure currently works with credit cards and is completely free of charge. Two conditions must be fulfilled to use the service: the online merchant must support 3D Secure – the logos Verified by Visa and MasterCard Secure Code are displayed on its website – and you must enrol your credit card for this service. We therefore advise you to register your payment card using a LuxTrust means (Mobile or Token) by using one of the registration solutions offered by your bank.

From personal password to mobile

Since its adoption by most Luxembourg banks in 2012, 3D Secure technology has evolved a lot. Previously, a personal password was required. From 4 July 2016, to confirm your payment, you must enter a one-time password (OTP) only valid for your purchase transaction generated by your LuxTrust Token[2]. From 30 June 2020, the validation with the LuxTrust Token benefits from two new features. If you use your classic Token, 3D Secure integrates now a “secret image” into authentication. This image systematically appears when you enter the single-use code to validate your purchase. This is the same image when you currently perform a transaction via your online bank. If you do not see or recognize the image, it is a sign that the site is fraudulent. In this case, you should immediately stop the transaction and contact LuxTrust or your bank to report it. If you have the LuxTrust Mobile application, you can now use it to validate your online purchases. In this way, your Token is no longer mandatory, and you are no longer blocked if you do not have it to hand.

So, LuxTrust Token and Mobile application are the only solutions to secure your e-commerce transactions. Don’t wait to enrol them with your card!

These innovations result from the market’s adaptation to comply with the European Payment Services Directive (PSD2). The aim is to enhance online transactions' security further and reduce the fraudulent use of credit cards on the Internet. From 1 January 2021, the majority of EU e-commerce sites will ask you to authenticate yourself with 3D Secure when shopping online. 

Therefore, it is in your best interest to opt for the LuxTrust Mobile application if you want to continue to purchase online. By 2021, most Luxembourg banks will prioritize the LuxTrust Mobile app for all their online services.

For more information, you can consult the ING Luxembourg 3D Secure page.

[1] As a reminder, the first layers of security are the credit card number, the expiry date and the visual cryptogram (the three numbers on the back of your card).

 

 

01/2021

Articles that might interest you

  • Currency floating exchange rates change constantly based on a multitude of factors. Like equities in the stock market, floating rates are determined by the forces of supply and demand in the foreign exchange market (Forex).

  • Unlike the will which takes effect at death, donation is an act by which a person called the donor transfers during his lifetime irrevocably and gratuitously any property to another person called the donee.

  • The queen of cards. There are many different types and they offer many possibilities other than cashless payment, from differed repayment to additional guarantees on purchases.

Le paiement en ligne au Luxembourg : toujours plus sûr et plus pratique

Avec la crise de la Covid-19 et les règles sanitaires qu’elle impose, le paiement des achats en ligne a pris un nouvel élan, notamment grâce à la technologie 3D Secure. 

Qu’est-ce que 3D Secure, et comment ce service fonctionne-t-il au Luxembourg ?

3D Secure, également appelé authentification du payeur, est un protocole de sécurité reconnu qui aide à prévenir la fraude dans les transactions d’e-commerce réglées par carte. Il vise à garantir que c’est le titulaire légitime de la carte qui effectue chaque paiement en ligne. Le nom 3D fait référence à trois « domaines », à savoir les trois parties impliquées dans le processus : l’émetteur (votre banque), le commerçant/acquéreur, et l’interopérabilité qui permet d’effectuer l’authentification. Initiée et créée par Visa et Mastercard, cette couche de sécurité supplémentaire[1] porte les marques Verified by Visa et Mastercard SecureCode, respectivement.

Au Luxembourg, 3D Secure fonctionne déjà avec les cartes de crédit, et ce service est entièrement gratuit. Deux conditions doivent être réunies pour bénéficier de ce service : le commerçant en ligne doit prendre en charge 3D Secure — les logos Verified by Visa et Mastercard SecureCode sont affichés sur son site web — et vous devez inscrire votre carte de crédit. Nous vous conseillons donc d’inscrire votre carte de paiement par un moyen LuxTrust (Mobile ou Token), en utilisant l’une des solutions d’enregistrement proposées par votre banque.

Du mot de passe personnel au mobile

Depuis son adoption par la plupart des banques luxembourgeoises en 2012, la technologie 3D Secure a beaucoup évolué. Auparavant, un mot de passe personnel était requis. Depuis le 4 juillet 2016, pour confirmer votre paiement vous devez saisir un mot de passe à usage unique (OTP) qui est seulement valable pour votre transaction d’achat, généré par votre token LuxTrust[2]. Depuis le 30 juin 2020, la validation à l’aide du token LuxTrust compte deux nouvelles fonctionnalités. Si vous utilisez votre token classique, 3D Secure incorpore désormais une « image secrète » dans l’authentification. Cette image s’affiche chaque fois que vous saisissez le code à usage unique pour valider votre achat. Il s’agit de la même image que celle qui apparaît lorsque vous réalisez une transaction à travers votre banque en ligne. Si vous ne voyez pas l’image ou ne la reconnaissez pas, c’est un signe que le site est frauduleux. Dans ce cas, vous devez immédiatement suspendre la transaction et contacter LuxTrust ou votre banque pour signaler l’incident. Si vous disposez de l’application LuxTrust Mobile, vous pouvez désormais l’utiliser pour valider vos achats en ligne. De cette façon, votre token n’est plus obligatoire, et vous n’êtes plus bloqué si vous ne l’avez pas sous la main.

Ainsi, le token LuxTrust et l’application Mobile sont les seules solutions pour sécuriser vos transactions d’e-commerce. N’attendez pas pour vous inscrire avec votre carte !

Ces innovations sont le résultat de l’effort du marché pour se conformer à la directive européenne sur les services de paiement (PSD2). L’objectif est de renforcer la sécurité des transactions en ligne et de réduire l’usage frauduleux des cartes de crédit sur Internet. À partir du 1er janvier 2021, la majorité des sites d’e-commerce européens vous demanderont de vous authentifier avec 3D Secure pour réaliser vos achats en ligne. 

Il est donc dans votre intérêt d’opter pour l’application LuxTrust Mobile, si vous souhaitez continuer à acheter en ligne. D’ici 2021, la plupart des banques luxembourgeoises donneront la priorité à l’application LuxTrust Mobile pour tous leurs services en ligne.

Pour plus d’informations, vous pouvez consulter la page ING Luxembourg 3D Secure.

[1] Pour rappel, les premiers niveaux de sécurité sont le numéro de carte de crédit, la date d’expiration et le cryptogramme visuel (les trois chiffres au dos de votre carte).
[2] Pour plus d’informations sur LuxTrust, lisez notre article L’identité LuxTrust : qu’est-ce que c’est et comment fonctionne ce service ?

01/2021

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser