Tax deductible pension savings plans

Everybody knows they should do something for their pension, but more often than not we seem to think that our pension is still a long way away and that providing for it can wait another day. In this article I will explain you a bit more about pension savings plans. These plans not only help you prepare your financial future, but also allow for a nice tax reduction via the money you are saving.

The benefits of a pension savings plan

The pension savings plans allow you to compensate fully or partially (depending on the amount paid in) the gap between your last salary and the (lower) pension received. And they are tax beneficial during their savings accumulation phase: the tax deductible amount of the pension savings plan depends on your age; it starts at €1.500 per year for people below 40 years of age and ends at a €3.200 for those older than 55 years.

Different types of pension savings plans

These savings plans are contracted by an insurance company in connection with a bank where the saved money is invested. Most pension savings plans offer different possibilities on how the savings are invested. The classic option offers a conservative interest based approach; the dynamic product offers the possibility to invest partially into investment funds for expected higher returns. The allocation between cash, bonds and shares within the investment funds depends on your investment strategy and the legal framework: the older you become the smaller the percentage of securities in your pension scheme can be.

The pension savings plan in action

Arrived at maturity (usually at pension age) the pension savings plan will start paying out benefits. The payout is possible as a combination of the following two options: your can have the benefits of your pension savings plan paid out as a monthly payment which will run until death; or as a single one shot payment (the one shot payment can constitute maximum 50% of the contracted pension amount). And in case there are still funds in the scheme at the moment of death, the rest of the saved amount will be paid out to the beneficiaries stipulated in the contract (spouse, children, grandchildren…).

Tip: Given the uncertainties around the future of pensions in Europe, this savings product should be high on your priority list!

The latest luxembourgish pension reform modulates future pensions in a way that will either reduce pensions paid out or oblige the insured to work at least 3 years longer; wouldn’t it be nice not to have to make this choice?

Articles that might interest you

  • Every company wants to be green, ethical, responsible, socially conscious etc. Is this possible? And does Sustainable and Responsible Investment really make a difference?

  • If you have followed the previous posts you are an advanced saver by now! If you have managed to set aside some spare savings that you will not need in the short term you should continue to read this article…

  • A share is a unit of ownership delivered by a capital company. In most cases, it is a commercial company with a limited liability. Holding one of several shares – in other words, being a shareholder – means that you own a part of the company’s capital but you are not held personally liable for the company’s debts.

Plans d’épargne-pension fiscalement déductibles

Nous savons tous que nous devons préparer notre retraite dès à présent mais souvent, nous avons tendance à estimer que nous avons encore le temps d’y penser et que cela peut attendre !  Dans cet article, je vous en dis un peu plus sur les formules d’épargne-pension. En plus de vous aider à préparer votre retraite, ces formules vous permettent de bénéficier de belles déductions fiscales grâce aux sommes d’argent que vous épargnez en vue de cette retraite.

Les avantages d’un plan d’épargne-pension

Les plans d’épargne-pension vous permettent de pallier entièrement ou partiellement (en fonction du montant payé) l’écart entre votre dernier salaire et votre pension (inférieure). De plus, vous pouvez bénéficier d’avantages fiscaux pendant la phase d’accumulation de l’épargne : le montant fiscalement déductible du plan d’épargne-pension dépend de votre âge ; il commence à 1.500 € par an pour les moins de 40 ans et va jusque à 3.200 € pour les plus de 55 ans.

Types de plans d’épargne-pension

Ces plans d’épargne font l’objet d’un contrat, signé avec une compagnie d’assurance en collaboration avec une banque où l’argent épargné est investi. La plupart des plans d’épargne-pension proposent différentes possibilités d’investissements pour votre épargne. L’option classique est une approche traditionnelle basée sur des intérêts ; ce produit dynamique offre la possibilité d’investir en partie dans des fonds de placement dans l’espoir d’obtenir un rendement supérieur. La répartition entre des liquidités, des obligations et des actions au sein du fonds de placement dépend de votre stratégie d’investissement et du cadre légal : plus vous avancerez en âge, moins le pourcentage de valeurs mobilières pourra être élevé dans votre plan de pension.

 Plan d’épargne-pension activé

Arrivé à l’échéance (généralement à l’âge de la pension), le plan d’épargne-pension commencera à porter ses fruits. Vous toucherez votre épargne suivant la combinaison des deux options suivantes : vous pouvez toucher les bénéfices de votre plan d’épargne-pension mensuellement jusqu’à votre décès ; ou vous pouvez les toucher d’un seul coup (ce paiement ne peut représenter que maximum 50 % du montant de pension contracté). Et dans le cas où il y a toujours des fonds dans le plan au moment du décès, le reste du montant épargné sera versé aux bénéficiaires stipulés sur le contrat (l’épouse, les enfants, les petits-enfants…)

Astuce : vu les incertitudes concernant l’avenir des pensions en Europe, ce produit d’épargne devrait figurer au sommet de votre liste de priorités !
La dernière réforme luxembourgeoise en date relative aux pensions ajuste les futures pensions de telle manière qu’elle va soit diminuer le montant des pensions versé, soit obliger l’assuré à travailler au moins 3 années supplémentaires ; ne serait-il pas mieux de ne pas avoir à choisir cette option ?

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser