Watch out for text message scams!

Since the start of the health crisis, scams of all kinds have been proliferating. The most widespread is the creation of fraudulent websites that pretend to sell you gels, masks and diagnostic tests, even chloroquine, at unbeatable prices and within ultra-short time frames. To publicise their site and deceive their victims, scammers use an extremely widespread technique: smishing or phishing by text message. 

How does this technique work? Smishing, or phishing by text message, is a contraction of SMS and phishing. Like phishing, an urgent message is sent to the user to compel them to take action – visit a website or call a premium-rate telephone number – and thereby obtain money from them. The only difference is that, in this case, the future victim does not receive an e-mail, but a text directly on their telephone. The process is all the more dangerous as people tend to exercise less caution with a text message than with an e-mail. Everyone – or almost – knows the risks to their security when they click on links contained in e-mails. This is much less the case when it is a text message. 

A link to a site that is seemingly respectable

Another reason behind the development of this new form of attack is the democratisation of subscriptions and fixed-price offers with unlimited text messages for the general public. In order to connect with their customers, an increasing number of brands offer targeted ads and promotional discounts, and direct their customers to their website to take advantage of these deals! Nothing could then be easier for experienced scammers than to use the same techniques by pretending to be a trustworthy source and thereby fooling consumers who did not expect to receive a dangerous message.

In addition, mistrust tends to drop by a notch in particularly stressful periods such as we are experiencing at the moment. Countless text messages have been sent related to the current pandemic, allegedly from administrative institutions or companies such as banks or payment card issuers. To use the example of the chemists mentioned above, mass text messages are sent out to tempt users onto a site, which looks completely credible; users are persuaded to order large numbers of items to help combat the coronavirus, which they do not have to wait for, but which of course will never arrive. Worse: the duped users will never receive anything, and their personal data (identity, address, telephone and bank details) will be used to steal their money. 

How can you avoid falling into the trap?

Recognising a smishing attempt is relatively easy, even if hackers continue to develop increasingly sophisticated tricks. Here are four things that you should do to avoid falling into their trap.

Check the sender. Do not click on links, attachments or images that you receive in unsolicited texts without having first checked the sender. Also use your common sense. Administrations and banks, for example, do not usually send text messages, and certainly not to ask you for sensitive information.

Don’t be in a hurry. Any message that plays on fear and prompts you to act urgently should get you thinking. Even if this commercial technique is extremely well-known, it is still effective, particularly in troubled times like today, when it is very tempting to give in to panic. By not reacting impulsively and stepping back, you will quickly realise that this is an attempt to defraud you.

Call on your critical faculties. If it’s too good to be true, beware! To this day, there is no vaccine, food, air purifiers, lamps, food supplements or essential oils that can protect or heal you from the coronavirus. Testing kits don’t exist either. Coronavirus can only be diagnosed in Luxembourg by medical professionals and at approved testing centres and laboratories. Also be vigilant when text messages offer worthwhile investments in companies allegedly generating profits during the coronavirus pandemic.

Contact your bank immediately if you think you have replied to a phishing text message and given your bank details. 

10/2020

Articles that might interest you

  • In use in all areas, Big Data has gained a prominent place within society. But how does it work?

  • How do you protect yourself on social networks? What should you do if you notice that your account has been hacked? Here are a few tips to enhance the security of your account.

  • Recognising a fake website remains difficult. Cybercriminals sometimes prepare for months. They can recreate a full website and even have a registered office address. It’s therefore essential for you to know how to quickly recognise a hacking attempt to avoid having your accounts robbed.

Attention aux arnaques par SMS !

Depuis le début de la crise sanitaire, les escroqueries en tout genre se multiplient. Les plus répandues consistent à créer des sites Internet frauduleux qui prétendent vous vendre des gels, des masques, des tests de dépistage, voire de la chloroquine, à des prix défiant toute concurrence et dans des délais ultra-courts. Pour faire connaître leur site et duper la vigilance de leurs victimes, les escrocs utilisent une technique très répandue : le smishing ou phishing par SMS. 

En quoi consiste cette technique ? Le smishing, ou hameçonnage par SMS, est la contraction de SMS  et de phishing. Tout comme le phishing, un message urgent est envoyé à l’utilisateur pour l’obliger à entreprendre une action – aller sur un site Internet ou rappeler un numéro de téléphone surtaxé – et lui soutirer par cette manœuvre de l’argent. La seule différence est qu’ici, la future victime ne reçoit pas un e-mail mais un texto directement sur son téléphone. Le procédé est d’autant plus dangereux que les gens ont moins tendance à se méfier d’un SMS que d’un mail. Tout le monde – ou presque – connaît les risques encourus pour sa sécurité lorsque l’on clique sur des liens contenus dans des e-mails. C’est nettement moins le cas lorsqu’il s’agit d’un SMS. 

Un lien vers un site en apparence tout à fait respectable

Une autre raison qui explique le développement de cette nouvelle forme d’attaque est la démocratisation des abonnements et les offres à forfait avec SMS illimités pour le grand public. Pour se rapprocher de leurs clients, de plus en plus de marques n’hésitent pas à proposer des offres ciblées et des remises promotionnelles et les redirigent directement vers leur site web pour profiter de ces bonnes affaires ! Rien n’est plus facile dès lors pour des escrocs chevronnés d’utiliser les mêmes techniques en se faisant passer pour une source digne de foi et de tromper ainsi la vigilance des consommateurs qui ne s’attendaient pas à recevoir un message dangereux. 

De plus, la méfiance a tendance à encore tomber d’un cran dans les périodes particulièrement anxiogènes comme celle que nous vivons pour le moment. On ne compte plus le nombre de SMS liés à la pandémie actuelle et provenant soi-disant d’institutions administratives ou d’entreprises comme des banques ou des émetteurs de cartes de paiement. Pour reprendre l’exemple des pharmacies mentionnées plus haut, celles-ci envoient des SMS en masse pour pousser les utilisateurs à venir sur leur site en apparence tout à fait crédible et à commander en grand nombre et sans plus attendre des articles contre le coronavirus qui, bien entendu, n’arriveront jamais. Pire : les utilisateurs dupés ne recevront rien mais, en plus, leurs données personnelles (identité, adresse, téléphone et coordonnées bancaires) seront mises à profit pour voler leur argent. 

Comment éviter de tomber dans le piège ?

Reconnaître une tentative de smishing est relativement simple, même si les pirates informatiques continuent de leur côté à développer des ruses toujours plus fines. Voici quatre réflexes que vous devez absolument avoir si vous ne voulez pas tomber dans le panneau.

Vérifiez l’expéditeur. Ne cliquez pas sur des liens, annexes ou images que vous recevez dans des textos non sollicités sans en avoir d’abord vérifié l’expéditeur. Faites également preuve de bon sens. Les administrations et les banques, par exemple, n’ont pas pour habitude d’envoyer des SMS, et certainement pas pour vous demander des informations sensibles.

 

Ne vous précipitez pas. Tout message qui joue sur la peur et vous incite à agir dans l’urgence devrait vous mettre la puce à l’oreille. Même si cette technique commerciale est archiconnue, elle reste efficace, surtout en des temps troublés comme aujourd’hui où la tentation est grande de céder à la panique. En ne réagissant pas de manière impulsive et en prenant du recul, vous vous rendrez vite compte que vous êtes face à une tentative d’escroquerie.

Faites appel à votre sens critique. Quand c’est trop beau pour être vrai, méfiez-vous ! Il n’existe pas à ce jour de vaccin, d’aliments, de purificateurs d’air, de lampes, de compléments alimentaires ou d’huiles essentielles qui protègent ou permettent de guérir du coronavirus. Les kits de dépistage n’existent pas non plus. Tout dépistage du coronavirus au Luxembourg ne peut se faire que sur ordonnance médicale et auprès de centres de dépistage ou de laboratoires agréés. Faites preuve également de vigilance lorsque des SMS vous proposent des investissements avantageux dans des entreprises supposées générer des profits pendant la pandémie de coronavirus.

Contactez immédiatement votre banque si vous pensez avoir répondu à un texto d’hameçonnage et avoir fourni vos coordonnées bancaires. 

10/2020

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser

  • Utilisés dans tous les domaines, les Big Data se sont construits une place importante dans la société. Mais comment fonctionnent-ils ?

  • Comment se protéger sur les réseaux sociaux ? Que faire si vous constatez que votre compte a été piraté ? Voici quelques astuces pour renforcer la sécurité de votre compte.

  • Reconnaître un faux site internet reste difficile. Les cybercriminels se préparent parfois pendant des mois. Ils peuvent recréer un site internet complet, et même avoir une adresse de siège social. Il est donc essentiel que vous sachiez reconnaître rapidement une tentative de piratage pour éviter de voir vos comptes dévalisés.