What is a reviewable fixed rate?

In a previous article, we have explained the advantages and disadvantages of the two main rates used for home loans: the fixed rate and the variable rate. There is a third option: the reviewable fixed rate. What is it and how does it work?  

The reviewable fixed rate combines the flexibility of variable rate financing with the security of fixed rate financing. 

The rate remains fixed for a pre-defined period and, at the end of the period, is subject to a revision. The pre-defined period can vary from one bank to another but is generally 3, 5 or 10 years. Upon expiry of each renewal period, you can decide whether to continue with a fixed or variable rate until the end of the next period and so on.

Let’s take the example of a 20-year contract with a review period of 5 years. At the end of the first 5-year period, you decide to keep a fixed rate for the second period. For the third period, you choose to change to a variable rate. For the fourth period, you go back to a fixed rate.    

What are the advantages?

  • You are protected in the event of rate increases during your chosen fixed rate period (3, 5 or 10 years).
  • You have the flexibility to choose the rate you want: upon expiry of each renewal period, you can either opt for a new fixed rate or change to a variable rate for the next period. This allows you to take maximum advantage of market opportunities. If the rates tend to decrease and if you have a fixed rate at the end of the renewal period, you can change to a variable rate, and vice versa.
  • You have the freedom to choose without paying additional charges. You can change the type of rate for each renewal period or you can repay your loan (fully or in part) without early repayment charges upon expiry of each renewal period. 

What are the disadvantages? 

  • Depending on the chosen renewal period (3, 5 or 10 years), the reviewable fixed rate can be higher than the variable and the fixed rates.
  • The reviewable fixed rate represents a risk, even if this risk is more limited than the variable rate. The rate, whatever the type chosen at the end of each renewal period, can be higher than expected. Let’s take again the example of the 20-year reviewable fixed rate with a review period of 5 years. Nothing indicates that in 5, 10 or 15 years, the rates, fixed or variable, will remain as low as today.
  • The reviewable fixed rate is a tailored contract, more complex than the two other rates. That's why you don’t have to be afraid to ask questions to your banker before signing this type of contract. 

Articles that might interest you

  • Often you hear people say: “Anyway, until I have paid off my home loan it’s the bank who owns my house”. But is it true?

  • It is always the same question that every one of us is asking before signing a home loan with his bank. To gain a more objective overview, let’s analyse them one by one with their respective advantages and disadvantages.

  • The rate remains fixed for a pre-defined period and, at the end of the period, is subject to a revision. The pre-defined period can vary from one bank to another but is generally 3, 5 or 10 years.

Was ist ein fester Zinssatz mit Revisionsklausel?

In einem vorherigen Artikel haben wir Ihnen die Vor- und Nachteile der zwei zumeist genutzten Zinssätze für Immobilienkredite dargelegt: den festen Zinssatz und den variablen Zinssatz. Es gibt jedoch noch eine dritte Möglichkeit: den festen Zinssatz mit Revisionsklausel. Aber um was handelt es sich genau und wie funktioniert er?

Der feste Zinssatz mit Revisionsklausel bietet gleichzeitig die Flexibilität des variablen Zinssatzes und die Sicherheit des festen Zinssatzes

Der Zinssatz wird für einen gewissen Zeitraum festgelegt und am Ende dieses Zeitraums revidiert. Dieser Zeitraum kann von Bank zu Bank variieren, beträgt jedoch normalerweise 3, 5 oder 10 Jahre. Am Ende jedes Revisionszeitraums haben Sie die Wahl, entweder mit einem festen Zinssatz fortzufahren oder einen variablen Zinssatz bis zum Ende des Zeitraums zu nutzen und so weiter und so fort.

Hier ein Beispiel: Sie schließen einen Vertrag über 20 Jahre ab, dessen Zinssatz nach 5 Jahren revidiert wird. Nach den ersten 5 Jahren entscheiden Sie sich dazu, den festen Zinssatz für den zweiten Zeitraum beizubehalten. Für den dritten Zeitraum ändern Sie den Zinssatz in einen variablen. Für den vierten Zeitraum entscheiden Sie sich schließlich wieder für einen festen Zinssatz.

Welche Vorteile birgt dieser Zinssatz?

  • Sollten die Zinsen während Ihres Zeitraums, in dem Sie einen festen Zinssatz nutzen (3, 5 oder 10 Jahre), ansteigen, sind die davor geschützt.
  • Sie sind flexibel und können Ihren Zinstyp wählen: Nach Ablauf jedes Zeitraums haben Sie die Wahl zwischen einem festen und einem variablen Zinssatz und profitieren somit am besten von den Marktchancen. Sollten die Zinsen eher zurückgehen und Sie sind am Ende des Zeitraums angelangt, während dem Sie einen festen Zinssatz hatten, dann können Sie diesen für einen variablen Zinssatz eintauschen und andersherum.
  • Sie können frei und ohne Zusatzkosten wählen. Nach Ablauf jedes Zeitraums können Sie den Zinstyp ändern und/oder Ihren Kredit vorzeitig (ganz oder teilweise) zurückzahlen. 

Welche Nachteile birgt dieser Zinssatz? 

  • Je nach dem gewählten Zeitraum (3, 5 oder 10 Jahre) kann der feste Zinssatz mit Revisionsklausel über oder unter dem variablen und dem festen Zinssatz liegen.
  • Er besteht nach wie vor ein gewisses Risiko, auch wenn dieses weitaus begrenzter ist, als beim variablen Zinssatz. Der Zinstyp, den Sie am Ende jedes Zeitraums wählen, ist der zu diesem Zeitpunkt gültige Zinssatz. Nehmen wir nochmals das Beispiel eines Vertrags über 20 Jahre, dessen Zinssatz nach 5 Jahren revidiert wird. Es ist nicht gewährleistet, dass die Zinsen, ob nun fest oder variabel, in 5, 10 oder 15 Jahren noch so niedrig wie momentan sein werden.
  • Der feste Zinssatz mit Revisionsklausel ist ein maßgeschneiderter Vertrag, der ein wenig komplexer ist, als die anderen beiden Zinstypen. Deshalb sollten Sie Ihrem Bankberater alle Fragen stellen, bevor Sie solch einen Vertrag abschließen.

Artikel, die Sie interessieren könnten