What is the difference between a personal loan and a home loan?

A personal loan is a consumer loan. It can take two main forms.

A secured personal loan 

It allows you to invest in personal projects such as the purchase of a new car, furniture or computer, the renovation of your house or even the organisation of your wedding. This type of personal loan is referred to as a secured personal loan, a personal amortizing loan used for a specific project. You have to supply proof of purchase or use of the loan (estimation of costs for renovation works, for example).

Unsecured personal loan 

It allows you to finance unexpected expenses or to meet your cash requirements. This type of personal loan is referred to as an unsecured personal loan, a personal non-amortizing loan not used for a specific project. You can use the borrowed amount as you wish. You don’t have to explain the use of the loan. 

Personal rate: fixed interest rate, limited term and amount

A personal loan has the following characteristics:

  • It is a fixed interest rate loan (Annual Percentage Rate of Charge or APRC) and the monthly payments are equal

  • The maximum amount that can be borrowed is EUR 75,000

  • The loan terms vary from 6 to 60 months

  • The term, amount and monthly payments are determined in advance and not reviewable during the term of your loan (except prepayments)

Home loan: only used for acquiring a home

Home loans differ substantially from personal loan. Firstly by its purpose:

  • A home loan is exclusively used for buying an existing house or apartment, building, renovating and converting a dwelling and purchasing a building plot.

Secondly by the way in which it operates:

  • Three types of interest rate are possible: fixed rate, reviewable fixed rate and variable rate. The monthly payments will change from one year to another for a variable rate, can be revised after 3, 5 or 10 years for a reviewable fixed rate and remain fixed for a fixed rate

  • The amount borrowed can be greater than EUR 75,000

  • The home loan term can be longer: generally from 5 to 30 years

  • The security required by the bank for a home loan is more substantial: your financial solvency is not enough, you have to get a mortgage, a debt instrument secured by the collateral of specified real estate property that you are obliged to pay back, and your bank can request additional guarantees like a debt balance insurance that covers the outstanding balance of the loan in the event of your death

A personal loan for works or a home loan?

Though the differences between personal loans and home loans may be clear to you now, it is still not always obvious. For instance, what do you do if you want to borrow money from your bank for renovation works? Do you have to take out a personal loan for works or a home loan? It depends on the amount to be borrowed and the term of your loan: if you want to borrow more than EUR 75,000 and/or get a loan term longer than 5 years, you have to take out a home loan. Don’t forget that home loan rates are commonly more attractive than personal loan rates but, in this case, you have to pay additional costs like mortgage costs. 

Articles that might interest you

  • Often you hear people say: “Anyway, until I have paid off my home loan it’s the bank who owns my house”. But is it true?

  • It is always the same question that every one of us is asking before signing a home loan with his bank. To gain a more objective overview, let’s analyse them one by one with their respective advantages and disadvantages.

  • The rate remains fixed for a pre-defined period and, at the end of the period, is subject to a revision. The pre-defined period can vary from one bank to another but is generally 3, 5 or 10 years.

Quelle(s) différence(s) entre prêt personnel et prêt immobilier ?

Le prêt personnel est un crédit à la consommation qui revêt en général deux formes. 

Soit il va vous permettre d’investir dans des projets personnels comme l’acquisition d’une nouvelle voiture, l’achat de nouveaux meubles, le renouvellement de votre matériel informatique, la rénovation de votre maison ou même l’organisation de votre mariage. On parle alors de projet prêt personnel affecté, c’est à dire un prêt personnel amortissable affecté à un projet particulier. Vous devez montrer une preuve d’achat ou l’affectation de votre prêt (le devis des travaux de rénovation, par exemple).

Soit il va servir à faire face à des dépenses imprévues ou à couvrir des besoins de trésorerie. On parle alors de prêt personnel non affecté, c’est à dire un prêt personnel amortissable non affecté à un projet particulier. Vous pouvez utiliser la somme comme vous le souhaitez. Votre projet ne sera que déclaratif.

Prêt personnel : taux fixe, délai et montant limités

Affecté ou non, le prêt personnel présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • c’est un prêt à taux fixe (le taux annuel effectif global ou TAEG) et les remboursements mensuels sont constants ;
  • le montant maximum qui peut être emprunté est plafonné à 75.000 euros ;
  • la période du prêt va généralement de 6 à 60 mois ;
  • la durée, le montant et les remboursements périodiques sont déterminés à l’avance et ne sont pas révisables au cours de la durée de vie du prêt (sauf remboursements anticipés). 

Prêt immobilier : uniquement destiné au logement

Le prêt immobilier présente de nombreuses différences par rapport au prêt personnel. Tout d’abord par son objet :

  • le prêt immobilier ou prêt au logement sert exclusivement à financer l’acquisition d’un maison ou d’un appartement existant, la construction d’un logement, la transformation/rénovation d’un logement et l’achat d’un terrain à bâtir.

Ensuite par son mode de fonctionnement :

  • trois types de taux sont possibles : le taux fixe, le taux révisable et le taux variable. Les remboursements périodiques vont donc varier d’une année à l’autre pour les taux variables et peuvent être revus après 3,5, ou 10 ans pour les taux révisables ; Pour le taux fixe les remboursements seront naturellement fixes.
  • les sommes empruntées peuvent être supérieures à 75.000 euros ;
  • la durée de vie du prêt immobilier est beaucoup plus longue : en général de 5 à 30 ans ;
  • les garanties exigées par la banque pour l’octroi d’un prêt immobilier sont plus importantes : l’analyse de votre seule solvabilité n’est pas suffisante, une hypothèque, à savoir une garantie sur le bien immobilier que vous voulez acheter avec le crédit, est obligatoire et votre banque peut exiger des garanties complémentaires comme une assurance solde restant dû pour couvrir le prêt en cas de décès.

Prêt personnel travaux ou crédit immobilier ?

Si la frontière entre prêt personnel et prêt immobilier est à présent devenue limpide pour vous, elle ne l’est pas forcément dans tous les cas de figure. Comment faire, me direz-vous, si je veux emprunter de l’argent à ma banque pour des travaux de rénovation ? Dois-je contracter un prêt personnel travaux ou un prêt immobilier ? Tout dépendra de la somme empruntée et de la durée de votre prêt : si vous comptez emprunter plus de 75.000 euros et/ou si vous souhaitez une durée de vie du prêt supérieure à 5 ans, vous devrez forcément faire appel à un crédit immobilier. Ne perdez pas de vue non plus que les taux appliqués pour les prêts immobiliers sont en général plus intéressants que ceux appliqués pour les prêts personnels mais, dans ce cas,  des frais supplémentaires sont à prévoir, ne fût-ce qu’au niveau des frais d’hypothèque.

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser