5 tips for a worry-free holiday!

Illness, accident, theft… You are naturally optimistic, which is a good thing  But that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t take precautions. It doesn’t take much for an unexpected event to ruin your vacation? By being prepared at a minimum… you can avoid problems when travelling. Here are some recommendations that could save the day 

Make copies of your documents 

A wallet lost at the airport, a stolen handbag, you can’t find your travel documents? No, it’s not something that just happens to others… Think ahead and make copies of your most important documents. A simple photocopy or photo of your passport and your travel documents is sufficient. But make sure to keep them separate from the originals. You can also save them all in your mobile phone, e-mail or in cloud storage.

Note down important numbers

In the event of an accident, you will be happy to have taken the time to note down your insurance policy numbers in a notebook or in your mobile phone.
Has your bank card has been lost or stolen? Think about calling your bank immediately.
At ING Luxembourg, for example, all you need to do is call +352 49 10 10 if you have lost your V PAY, or +352 49 49 94 if you have lost your Visa card.

Ask for your European Health Insurance Card

Caught the turista? sunstroke? a toothache? Injuries, whether big or little, sometimes require medical attention. In Europe, you will need to show your European Health Insurance Card (EHIC), which you can obtain from your complementary health insurance company. You can request it online from the CCSS website. It takes 14 days to receive it, so make sure to ask for it ahead of time! In the event of emergency, you can ask your national health insurance fund for a temporary certificate.

Have your hospital insurance on hand

Fallen off your bike? A head-on collision with a sheep? If you need to be hospitalised(€), this insurance also covers your costs abroad, exactly like in Luxembourg. If you have a Visa Gold card, take the time to read what it offers in terms of coverage during your trip.

For these small or big incidents, that can spoil your holidays in Luxembourg or abroad, better to be well insured!
So, take advantage…

You now hold all the cards to be protected in the event of mishap and enjoy your holidays with peace of mind!


A great summer starts here!

  • Keeping control over your money? No worries.
  • Insurance? All taken care of.
  • An emergency? Keep cool.
  • Did you think of everything? Just sit back and relax.
  •  You want even more tips?

A great winter starts here!

  • Keeping control over your money? No worries.
  • Insurance? All taken care of.
  • An emergency? Keep cool.
  • Did you think of everything? Just sit back and relax.
  •  You want even more tips?

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

5 conseils pour partir en vacances le cœur léger !

Maladie, accident, vol… Vous êtes de nature optimiste et c’est tant mieux   Néanmoins, rien ne vous empêche d’être prévoyant. Il suffit de peu pour que l’imprévu ruine vos vacances ? En anticipant un minimum, vous éviterez les pépins sur place. Voici quelques conseils qui pourront vous sauver la mise 

Copiez vos documents 

Un portefeuille perdu à l’aéroport, un sac volé, des papiers volatilisés ? Et oui, parfois ça n’arrive pas qu’aux autres … alors anticipez et faites un double de vos documents les plus importants. Une simple photocopie ou une photo de votre passeport et de vos papiers essentiels fera l’affaire. Veillez néanmoins, à garder ces doubles dans un endroit séparé des originaux. L’alternative est d’enregistrer le tout dans votre GSM, votre mailbox ou un espace de stockage dématérialisé en ligne.

Notez les numéros importants

En cas d’accident, vous serez heureux d’avoir pris le temps de noter les numéros de vos polices d’assurance dans un carnet et/ou dans votre GSM.
En cas de perte ou de vol de carte bancaire? Ayez le réflexe d’en informer immédiatement votre banque.
Chez ING Luxembourg, par exemple, il vous suffit d’appeler le +352 49 10 10 pour la perte de votre V PAY ou bien le +352 49 49 94 pour la perte de votre carte Visa.

En quelques clics dans votre My ING, vous pouvez également bloquer votre carte Visa et en recommander une nouvelle.

Demandez la carte européenne d’assurance maladie

Une tourista ? une insolation ? Une rage de dents ? Les petits comme les gros bobos nécessitent parfois la prise de médicaments. En Europe, il vous faudra présenter votre carte européenne d’assurance maladie (CEAM), un document à retirer auprès de votre mutuelle. Vous pouvez en faire la commande online sur le site de la CCSS. Le délai de livraison est de 14 jours donc anticipez ! Néanmoins, en cas d’urgence, vous pouvez demander un certificat provisoire auprès de votre caisse de maladie.

Ayez votre assurance hospitalisation sous la main

Chute de vélo du petit ? Collision frontale avec une brebis? Si vous devez être hospitalisé(e), cette assurance familiale couvre aussi vos frais à l’étranger, exactement comme au Luxembourg. Si vous possédez une carte Visa Gold, prenez le temps de lire ce que celle-ci propose en termes de couverture pendant votre séjour.
Pour ces petits ou grands incidents, qui peuvent gâcher vos vacances au Luxembourg ou à l’étranger, mieux vaut être bien assuré !
Alors maintenant, profitez …

Vous avez maintenant toutes les cartes en main pour être protégé en cas de pépin et ainsi profiter de vos vacances l’esprit tranquille !


Un été réussi commence par ici !

  • Garder le contrôle sur votre argent? Pas de souci.
  • Les assurances ? On s'en occupe.
  • Une urgence? Restez zen.
  • Avez-vous pensé à tout ? Allongez-vous et détendez-vous. 
  • Besoin de plus de conseils ?

Un hiver réussi commence par ici !

  • Garder le contrôle sur votre argent? Pas de souci.
  • Les assurances ? On s'en occupe.
  • Une urgence? Restez zen.
  • Avez-vous pensé à tout ? Allongez-vous et détendez-vous. 
  • Besoin de plus de conseils ?

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser