9 tips to save money on your flights

Anticipate and compare flights and prices, including using applications: how to reserve a holiday flight for the lowest cost possible.Whatever your destination, airline tickets are one of the most costly items. Here are some tips for buying low-cost flights.

1. Book early.

According to Skyscanner, the best time to book an airline ticket is approximately 30 weeks before you leave, saving around 9% compared to the average cost. Buying a ticket 7 – 10 weeks in advance saves around 10%. Note that prices are 25% higher one week before departure!

2. Track airline companies on social networks.

Airline companies begin putting tickets on sale around 11 months ahead of departure date. All new offers, including reduction vouchers, special offers and promotions, appear on the main companies’ social networks or just on their website. By subscribing to the newsletter, you will benefit from personalised reductions and you will be alerted if there is a flash sale, lasting only a day or several hours.

3. Be flexible in your dates and times.

If you are not obliged to travel on a specific date, be flexible. Avoid week-end flights, opting for weekday flights instead which are nearly always cheaper. Choose your departure time carefully as overnight or very early-morning flights are cheaper.

4. Find last-minute flights with Google Flights.

Thanks to agreements between Google and worldwide airline companies, Google Flights (also available as an app) finds cheap last-minute journeys to all destinations. Google Flights is very simple to use: key in your departure city, your destination and your dates and that’s it! Once you have found a suitable flight (the results can be sifted by price, duration, stopovers or departure time), Google Flights indicates which company to contact directly to reserve on-line. If you are not obliged to leave on a particular day, check the screen which shows the whole month as a calendar and a chart. The cheapest outbound and inbound flights are shown for your destination.

5. Save money using apps. 

The Hopper app, which is available for Android and Apple (download from the official site), targets the most advantageous days for a departure. The app is very simple to use: once installed, the first time the app is started, Hopper indicates the closest airports to your location. Next, you can find a ticket by keying in your destination and dates. Hopper presents a calendar presenting days which are coloured differently according to price. The app’s most useful feature indicates whether the prices are likely to increase or decrease. Jetradar, which is available for Apple and Android devices, compares the prices of over one thousand airline companies to find the cheapest flight and helps the user throughout each step of the reservation. 

6. Compare several offers using search engines. 

Search engines like KAYAK, Expedia, eDreams, etc. are another way of saving money on airline tickets. These portals use the departure and arrival city and dates to compare dozens of offers and promise savings of over 30% on ticket prices. 

7. Delete browser history and cookies.

When you browse for holidays on sites such as the ones we have referred to, it is a good idea to delete search data and cookiesfrom the browser prior to reserving. Every time you consult an airline company’s site (standard or low-cost flights), you leave a trace of your preferences and habits and this information is then used by companies to propose stopovers, flights details and, of course, ticket prices.

8. Check for any extra costs. 

Once you have chosen your flight, before reserving, check on the flight on the airline company’s website. Certain price comparison websites levy a percentage of the cost of the flight. Buying a ticket on the company website avoids these fees. Check also for any extra costs. By clicking on the wrong tab, you may be buying various unwanted services (priority embarkation, special seats, insurance, car hire, hotels, etc.). Reduce the cost of the journey by specifying that you are not interested in these services.

9. Buy one ticket at a time (if you are travelling in a group). 

Flights for one person cost less than flights for several people (excluding taxes). The reason for this is a simple one: certain airline company booking systems increase the price as the number of available tickets decreases. Therefore, if you travel as a group, it is best to buy one ticket at a time. Check-in early to ensure that you sit together during the flight.


A great summer starts here!

  • Keeping control over your money? No worries.
  • Insurance? All taken care of.
  • An emergency? Keep cool.
  • Did you think of everything? Just sit back and relax.
  •  You want even more tips?

A great winter starts here!

  • Keeping control over your money? No worries.
  • Insurance? All taken care of.
  • An emergency? Keep cool.
  • Did you think of everything? Just sit back and relax.
  •  You want even more tips?

Articles that might interest you

  • The queen of cards. There are many different types and they offer many possibilities other than cashless payment, from differed repayment to additional guarantees on purchases.

  • 3D Secure is an internationally recognised security standard for online payments. The service is limited in Luxembourg to credit cards.

  • If it’s true that when we shop in a store and handover physical cash, the pain of paying finds the act prompts more awareness about spending, and parting with cash may even hurt a bit more than swiping a bank card.

9 conseils pour faire des économies sur vos vols

Anticiper, comparer les vols et les prix, y compris avec des applications : voilà comment réserver un vol pour les vacances en dépensant le moins possible. Quelle que soit la destination, les billets d’avion constituent l’un des postes les plus onéreux. Voici quelques conseils pour acheter des vols à bas prix.

1. Réserver à l’avance.

Selon Skyscanner, le meilleur moment pour réserver un billet d’avion se situe approximativement 30 semaines avant le départ : on économise ainsi environ 9 % par rapport au coût moyen. En achetant un billet entre 7 et 10 semaines à l’avance, on épargne environ 10 %. Sachez qu’une semaine avant le départ les prix sont 25% plus élevés !

2. Surveiller les compagnies aériennes sur les réseaux sociaux.

Les compagnies aériennes commencent à mettre des billets en vente environ 11 mois avant la date de départ. Toutes les nouveautés, y compris les bons de réduction, offres et promotions, apparaissent sur les réseaux sociaux des principales compagnies ou tout simplement sur leur site internet. En vous inscrivant à la newsletter, vous bénéficierez de réductions personnalisées et serez averti en cas de ventes flash (qui ne durent qu’une journée ou que quelques heures).

3. Être souple lors du choix des dates et horaires. 

Si vous n’êtes pas tenu par une date de départ précise, tablez sur la flexibilité. Evitez les vols le week-end, mais préférez les vols en semaine qui sont presque toujours plus économiques. Veillez également à l’heure de départ : les vols de nuit ou très tôt le matin sont moins chers.

4. Trouver des vols de dernière minute avec Google Flights.

Grâce aux accords passés entre Google et les compagnies aériennes du monde entier, Google Flights (également disponible sous forme d’application) permet de trouver des offres de voyage économiques de dernière minute pour chaque destination. L’utilisation de Google Flights est un jeu d’enfant : indiquez votre ville de départ, votre destination, les dates, et c’est parti ! Une fois que vous avez trouvé le vol qui vous convient (les résultats peuvent être triés par prix, durée, escales, heures de départ), Google Flights indique les compagnies à contacter directement pour réserver en ligne. Si vous n’êtes pas tenu de partir un jour en particulier, vérifiez l’écran qui affiche le mois complet avec le calendrier et un graphique : les allers et retours aux plus bas prix sont affichés pour votre destination.

5. Économiser grâce aux applications. 

Disponible pour Android et Apple (téléchargement depuis le site officiel), Hopper est une application qui cible les journées les plus favorables à un départ. Le fonctionnement est très simple : après installation, lors du premier démarrage, Hopper signale les aéroports environnants en fonction de votre localisation. Ensuite, vous pouvez chercher votre billet en saisissant votre destination et les dates. Hopper affiche un calendrier présentant les jours dans des couleurs différentes, en fonction du prix. En outre, et c’est sa caractéristique la plus intéressante, l’application indique si les prix sont susceptibles d’augmenter ou, au contraire, de baisser. Disponible pour les appareils Apple et Android, Jetradar compare les prix de plus d’un millier de compagnies aériennes pour trouver le vol le plus économique et aider l’utilisateur à chaque phase de la réservation. Très simple d’utilisation, HipMunk est une application qui signale tous les vols selon un choix nommé « Agony », qui tient compte du prix, de la durée et du nombre d’escales, pour aider l’utilisateur à trouver la solution la moins chère et la plus commode.

6. Comparer plusieurs offres avec des moteurs de recherche. 

Autre moyen de faire des économies sur les billets d’avion, les moteurs de recherche comme kayak, expedia, edreams, etc. Ces portails se servent du départ, de l’arrivée et des dates pour comparer des dizaines d’offres et promettre une économie de plus de 30 % sur le prix du billet.

7. Supprimer l’historique et les cookies.

Lorsque vous effectuez une recherche en vue de vos vacances sur des sites comme ceux que nous venons de mentionner, il est utile d’effacer l’historique et les cookies du navigateur avant de réserver. Chaque fois que vous consultez le site d’une compagnie aérienne (vols réguliers ou à bas prix), vous laissez des traces de vos préférences et habitudes, des informations qui sont ensuite utilisées par les compagnies pour proposer des escales, des horaires de vols, ainsi que, bien sûr, le prix des billets.

8. Vérifier les suppléments éventuels. 

Une fois que vous avez choisi votre vol, avant de procéder à la réservation, cherchez-le sur le site de la compagnie aérienne. Certains comparateurs prélèvent un pourcentage sur le coût du vol : l’achat du billet sur la page de la compagnie permet d’éviter cette dépense. Veillez également aux frais supplémentaires éventuels : en cliquant sur le mauvais bouton, vous pouvez acheter de nombreux services non désirés (embarquement prioritaire, places spéciales, assurance, location de voitures, hôtel, etc.). En signalant que vous n’êtes pas intéressé, vous diminuerez le coût du voyage.

9. Acheter un billet à la fois (si vous voyagez en groupe). 

Les vols pour une personne coûtent moins cher que les vols pour plusieurs personnes (prix hors taxes). La raison est simple : certains systèmes de réservation des compagnies aériennes augmentent le prix à mesure que le nombre de billets disponibles diminue. Aussi, si vous voyagez en groupe, mieux vaut acheter un billet à la fois. Pour être sûrs d’être assis les uns à côté des autres pendant le voyage, rendez-vous sans tarder à l’enregistrement.


Un été réussi commence par ici !

  • Garder le contrôle sur votre argent? Pas de souci.
  • Les assurances ? On s'en occupe.
  • Une urgence? Restez zen.
  • Avez-vous pensé à tout ? Allongez-vous et détendez-vous. 
  • Besoin de plus de conseils ?

Un hiver réussi commence par ici !

  • Garder le contrôle sur votre argent? Pas de souci.
  • Les assurances ? On s'en occupe.
  • Une urgence? Restez zen.
  • Avez-vous pensé à tout ? Allongez-vous et détendez-vous. 
  • Besoin de plus de conseils ?

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser