What €100 can get you in 15 of Europe’s major capital cities (3)

Now that we’ve seen an overview of Northern and Southern Europe, it’s time to take a look at a few countries in Western Europe.

The purchasing power of the currency in a given country depends on a number of factors, one of which is the level of wages. That’s why prices can be noticeably different from one country to another. There are various indicators that come into play when comparing the price of a product in every country to gauge the purchasing power of its inhabitants. But we kept it simple and focused on just one question: What can €100 get you in 15 of Europe’s major capital cities?

Brussels, Belgium

Home to the main offices of the European Parliament, Brussels boasts a pretty advanced economy. Nevertheless, you can find a four-star hotel for under €100 a night and eat an all-inclusive meal at a classy restaurant for around €25 to €30.

Berlin, Germany

Contrary to what you might think, Berlin is one of the least expensive capital cities in Europe. In Berlin, €100 goes a long way. In fact, it would buy you tickets to most of the city’s museums or dinner for a week. You can also find four-star hotels for under €100 a night.

Amsterdam, Netherlands

The Dutch capital isn’t known for being particularly affordable. With €100, you could pay for a monthly public transport pass or mandatory private health insurance, but that’s about it. You can easily spend €60 for two people at a restaurant, so if you’re planning on eating out for lunch, you might want to consider fast food.

Paris, France

Paris is one of the most expensive cities in the world, for both living and visiting. That’s why €100 will get you next to nowhere. For instance, if you’re a coffee lover, Paris could break the bank – €100 can only get you coffee Monday through Friday for a month or a dinner for two (max.).

In our next and final article in the series “What €100 can get you in 15 of Europe’s major capital cities,” we’ll take a look at Eastern Europe. Until then, feel free to share your favourite tips and tricks with us 


A great summer starts here!

  • Keeping control over your money? No worries.
  • Insurance? All taken care of.
  • An emergency? Keep cool.
  • Did you think of everything? Just sit back and relax.
  •  You want even more tips?

A great winter starts here!

  • Keeping control over your money? No worries.
  • Insurance? All taken care of.
  • An emergency? Keep cool.
  • Did you think of everything? Just sit back and relax.
  •  You want even more tips?

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

Que faire avec 100 euros dans 15 grandes capitales européennes ? (3)

Après avoir fait un tour d’horizon en Europe du nord et du sud, il était temps d’aller faire un tour dans les pays qui se trouvent à quelques pas du Luxembourg.

Le pouvoir d’achat d’une monnaie dans un pays donné est le résultat de nombreux facteurs, parmi lesquels figure le niveau des salaires. C’est pourquoi les prix peuvent être sensiblement différents selon les pays. Pour mesurer ces différences, il existe divers indicateurs qui comparent le prix de ce produit dans chaque pays pour déterminer le pouvoir d’achat de ses habitants. Mais, nous avons donc fait un peu plus simple en nous demandant tout bonnement : que pouvons-nous faire avec 100 euros dans 15 capitales européennes ?

Bruxelles, Belgique

Siège du Parlement européen, Bruxelles est une ville caractérisée par un haut niveau économique. Cependant, vous pouvez trouver des hôtels quatre étoiles pour moins de 100 euros la nuit et des restaurants de qualité pour un prix compris entre 25 et 30 euros.

Berlin, Allemagne

Contrairement à ce que beaucoup pourraient penser, Berlin figure parmi les capitales européennes les moins chères. 100 euros peuvent vous permettre d’aller loin. Avec cette somme d’argent, vous pouvez en fait visiter la plupart des musées et, bien sûr, diner pendant presque une semaine. Vous pouvez également trouver des hôtels quatre étoiles pour moins de 100 euros la nuit.

Amsterdam, Pays-Bas

La capitale néerlandaise n’est pas spécialement réputée pour ses prix abordables. Avec 100 euros, vous pouvez vous payer l’abonnement mensuel aux transports en commun ou l’assurance maladie privée obligatoire, mais rien de plus. En plus, si vous comptez déjeuner, préférez aller dans un fast-food, car le prix d’un repas pour deux personnes peut atteindre plus de 60 euros.

Paris, France

Paris est l’une des villes les plus chères au monde, à la fois pour y vivre et faire du tourisme. C’est pourquoi partir avec 100 euros revient presque à ne partir avec rien. Et, si vous aimez le café, Paris peut vous ruiner, puisque pour 100 euros, vous pourrez vous offrir un café du lundi au vendredi pendant un mois ou deux diners (tout au plus).

En attendant le prochain article où nous irions faire un tour du côté de l’Europe de l’est et qui conclura cette série sur « que faire avec 100 euros dans 15 grandes capitales européennes », n’hésitez pas à partager vos bons plans pour compléter notre liste.


Un été réussi commence par ici !

  • Garder le contrôle sur votre argent? Pas de souci.
  • Les assurances ? On s'en occupe.
  • Une urgence? Restez zen.
  • Avez-vous pensé à tout ? Allongez-vous et détendez-vous. 
  • Besoin de plus de conseils ?

Un hiver réussi commence par ici !

  • Garder le contrôle sur votre argent? Pas de souci.
  • Les assurances ? On s'en occupe.
  • Une urgence? Restez zen.
  • Avez-vous pensé à tout ? Allongez-vous et détendez-vous. 
  • Besoin de plus de conseils ?

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser