What €100 can get you in 15 of Europe’s major capital cities? (4)

Now that we’ve explored Northern, Southern and Western Europe, it’s time to pack our bags for Eastern Europe – our last stop on this budgetary journey.

Anyone who has travelled to foreign countries knows that prices can change a lot from one city to the next, even within the same country. With €100, you won’t have the same level of purchasing power in Madrid as you would in, say, London or Athens.

The purchasing power of the currency in a given country depends on a number of factors, one of which is the level of wages. That’s why prices can be noticeably different from country to country. There are various indicators that come into play when comparing the price of a product in every country to gauge the purchasing power of its inhabitants. To keep it simple, we focused on just one question: What can €100 get you in 15 of Europe’s major capital cities?

Sofia, Bulgaria

Like the capital of neighbouring Romania and many other major cities in Eastern Europe, Sofia is a particularly affordable capital city. Even compared to other cities in the region, it’s still very inexpensive. You can expect to spend about €0.98 for a beer at a bar, €5 for a bottle of wine, €1 for a cappuccino, €5 for breakfast and an all-too-reasonable €10 for a three-course dinner at a restaurant.

Warsaw, Poland

The average monthly salary in Poland is less than €800, and this is reflected in the price levels. In Warsaw, you can even rent a place to live for less than €100 per month. A cappuccino will cost you around €1.50 and you can have lunch at a normal restaurant for €5.

Bucharest, Romania

Bucharest is one of the least expensive capital cities in Europe. With €100 you can get pretty far. For example, you can have lunch at a moderately priced restaurant every week for a month, purchase roughly 220 bus tickets, order more than 75 cappuccinos or go to the cinema twice a month for a year.

Same currency, different purchasing power

€100 can buy different things depending on where you are. As we have just discovered, the price of goods and services can vary quite a bit across Europe. It depends on a number of factors such as wages, exchange rates, taxes and monetary policies.


A great summer starts here!

  • Keeping control over your money? No worries.
  • Insurance? All taken care of.
  • An emergency? Keep cool.
  • Did you think of everything? Just sit back and relax.
  •  You want even more tips?

A great winter starts here!

  • Keeping control over your money? No worries.
  • Insurance? All taken care of.
  • An emergency? Keep cool.
  • Did you think of everything? Just sit back and relax.
  •  You want even more tips?

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

Que faire avec 100€ dans 15 grandes capitales européennes ? (4)

Après l’Europe du nord, l’Europe du Sud et l’Europe Occidentale, il est temps de plier bagage pour l’Europe de l’est, qui sera par la même occasion notre dernier arrêt 

Quiconque a voyagé, même juste un peu, sait que les prix peuvent fortement varier d’une ville à l’autre, même au sein d’un même pays. Avec 100 euros, vous ne pouvez pas faire les mêmes choses à Madrid qu’à Londres ou à Athènes.

Le pouvoir d’achat d’une monnaie dans un pays donné est le résultat de nombreux facteurs, parmi lesquels figure le niveau des salaires. C’est pourquoi les prix peuvent être sensiblement différents selon les pays. Pour mesurer ces différences, il existe divers indicateurs qui comparent le prix de ce produit dans chaque pays pour déterminer le pouvoir d’achat de ses habitants. Nous avons donc fait un peu plus simple en nous demandant tout bonnement : que pouvons-nous faire avec 100 euros dans 15 capitales européennes ?

Sofia, Bulgarie

Sofia est, à l’instar de sa voisine roumaine et de nombreuses autres grandes villes d’Europe orientale, une capitale particulièrement abordable. Et dans ce cas, elle n’est vraiment pas chère. Une bière dans un bar coûte environ 0.98€ , une bouteille de vin autour de 5 euros, un cappuccino 1 euro, déjeuner pour 5 euros et enfin,  déguster un dîner 3 plats dans un restaurant pour environ 10 euros.

Varsovie, Pologne

Le salaire mensuel moyen en Pologne est inférieur à 800 euros, ce qui se reflète sur le niveau des prix. À Varsovie, vous pouvez notamment trouver des locations pour un prix inférieur à 100 euros par mois. Un cappuccino coûte environ 1.50 euro et il est possible de déjeuner dans un restaurant normal pour 5 euros.

Bucarest, Roumanie

Bucarest figure parmi les capitales européennes les moins chères. Avec 100 euros dans la capitale roumaine, vous pouvez aller loin. Vous pouvez, entre autres, déjeuner chaque semaine pendant un mois dans un restaurant à prix moyen, prendre environ 220 tickets de bus, acheter plus de 75 cappuccino ou aller au cinéma deux fois par mois pendant un an.

Une même monnaie, un pouvoir d’achat différent

Un billet de 100 euros peut avoir divers usages en fonction du lieu où nous nous trouvons. Comme nous venons de le voir, les prix des biens et services sont très différents en Europe. Ils dépendent de nombreux facteurs, tels que les salaires, le taux de change, les impôts ou la politique monétaire.


Un été réussi commence par ici !

  • Garder le contrôle sur votre argent? Pas de souci.
  • Les assurances ? On s'en occupe.
  • Une urgence? Restez zen.
  • Avez-vous pensé à tout ? Allongez-vous et détendez-vous. 
  • Besoin de plus de conseils ?

Un hiver réussi commence par ici !

  • Garder le contrôle sur votre argent? Pas de souci.
  • Les assurances ? On s'en occupe.
  • Une urgence? Restez zen.
  • Avez-vous pensé à tout ? Allongez-vous et détendez-vous. 
  • Besoin de plus de conseils ?

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser