Things to consider before renting out a property

Are you the happy owner of a flat or house? Great! But, whoops, life happens and suddenly you need to rent out your flat or house, or maybe just a room there in. What should you consider before putting it on the rental market? Here are six points you need to remember to avoid any nasty surprises:

Remember the tax credit on deeds!

In order to reduce the fees associated with buying a home, the Luxembourg government has introduced an allowance, known as a tax credit, for registration and recording charges that is available to anybody wishing to buy a property for personal occupation. The tax credit is capped at €20,000, applies individually to each buyer – in the case of a joint purchase, the amount will be doubled – and can be used as and when required for other purchases, until it runs out.

In order to receive the tax credit, you have to commit to occupying the property for a continuous period of at least two years. During this time, you are not permitted to rent out your home, even partly, sell it or move out of it. Failure to comply with these terms will result in being ordered to repay the allowance in full.

Is your energy performance certificate still valid?

When you became a homeowner, you received an energy performance certificate. This certificate, also known as an energy passport, provides information on the building’s energy consumption and CO2 emissions. It rates energy performance from A (the best) to I (the worst) and was designed specifically for residential properties by experts (members of the Order of Architects and Consulting Engineers approved by the Finance Ministry). The energy performance certificate is valid for 10 years. Once this period has expired, if you wish to rent out your property you can order another certificate (at your own expense) from an approved expert. Any real estate rental advertisement (be it in the media or through an estate agency) must indicate the building’s energy performance category, and potential tenants are entitled to ask to see the energy performance certificate before making a decision.

Get a sense of current prices before setting your rent

Before setting your rent, get a sense of the rental market in your local area. Which is greater, supply or demand? What is the rental price range for properties like yours? Are vacancy rates high? Are rents rising or falling?

This information will be helpful as you look to set a rent for your property and avoid problems down the line. If you have placed the bar too high and fail to come to an amicable agreement with your tenant, he/she is entitled after six months to submit a rent reduction request to the municipal (or regional if the property is in a town or village with fewer than 6,000 residents) Rent Commission. If you refuse to accept the Commission’s decision, you may find yourself in court.  The same thing applies if you realise you are undercharging and wish to put up the rent.

You should also remember that Luxembourgish law puts a cap on rent. You are entitled to increase your rental charge every two years, provided it does not exceed 5% of the initially invested and re-evaluated capital.  The law states that the owner of a property can charge to the tenant only the fees incurred for him or her.

Furnished or unfurnished?

If you choose to rent your property out furnished, the rental charge absolutely cannot exceed double the legal rent for unfurnished properties and will depend on the value of the furnishings. Furnished means fully kitted out, not merely a bed, a table and a chair. The lease agreement must also contain an inventory of furnishings provided to the tenant. The main advantage of furnished renting is that it tends to be short term.

Make sure you have all the documents you need to be a landlord

The main documents you will need are the lease agreement and the inventory of fixtures. Do not waste your time drafting them yourself. If you rent out your property via an estate agency, they will have their own templates. If you are doing it privately, go online to the Luxembourg government’s administrative website where you can download a lease agreement template under Citoyens/Logement/Location, or visit here , where you can freely download an inventory template produced by Luxembourg’s Ministry for Small Businesses, Tourism and Housing.

Don’t forget taxes!

Any resident or resident for tax purposes who owns a property that is rented out in Luxembourg or abroad is subject to certain tax obligations. The taxable income from the renting out of real estate corresponds to the amount of rent received, minus acquisition costs (maintenance and repair costs, interest expense, amortisation and depreciation, management fees, etc.).

All you need to do now is find a good tenant who pays their rent on time, does not present you with any particular problems and is easy to communicate with. This may end up being the hardest part of all!

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

A quoi faut-il être attentif avant la mise en location d’un logement ?

Vous êtes l’heureux propriétaire d’un appartement ou d’une maison ? Parfait ! Seulement voilà, les circonstances de la vie ont changé et vous souhaitez à présent louer votre appartement, votre maison ou seulement une partie. A quoi devez-vous être attentif avant de procéder à la mise en location ? Voici les six points à ne pas négliger si vous voulez vous épargner de mauvaises surprises.

Attention au crédit d’impôt sur les actes notariés !

Afin de diminuer les frais annexes à l’acquisition d’un logement, le gouvernement luxembourgeois a introduit un abattement, appelé crédit d’impôt, sur les droits d’enregistrement et de transcription pour toutes les personnes désireuses d’acquérir un immeuble à des fins d’habitation personnelle. Le crédit d’impôt est limité à 20.000 euros, s’applique à chaque acquéreur individuellement – si vous achetez l’immeuble à deux, le montant du crédit d’impôt sera doublé – et peut être utilisé au fur et à mesure, pour d’autres acquisitions, jusqu’à épuisement.

Pour bénéficier de ce crédit d’impôt, vous devez vous engager à occuper l’immeuble pendant une période ininterrompue de 2 ans au moins. Pendant cette période, vous ne pourrez ni louer votre immeuble, même partiellement, ni le céder, ni interrompre votre occupation. Si vous ne respectez pas ces conditions, vous serez dans l’obligation de rembourser intégralement l’abattement accordé.

Votre certificat de performance énergétique est-il encore valable ?

Lorsque vous êtes devenu propriétaire, vous avez reçu un certificat de performance énergétique. Ce certificat (aussi appelé passeport énergétique) livre des informations sur le besoin énergétique calculé du bâtiment et sur les émissions de CO2. Il prévoit des classes de performance énergétique allant de la meilleure (A) à la plus mauvaise (I) et est établi par des experts pour bâtiments d’habitation (architectes ou ingénieurs-conseils membres de l’Ordre des Architectes et Ingénieurs-conseils et experts agrées par le ministre de l’Economie). Ce certificat de performance énergétique est valable pour une durée de 10 ans. Passé ce délai, vous devrez en commander un autre à vos frais auprès d’un expert agréé si vous souhaitez mettre votre bien en location. Toute annonce immobilière de location – que ce soit dans les médias commerciaux ou via une agence de relocation – doit en principe indiquer la classe de performance énergétique de l’immeuble à louer et tout candidat locataire peut vous demander de consulter le certificat de performance énergétique avant de prendre sa décision.

Informez-vous sur les prix en vigueur avant de fixer votre loyer

Avant de fixer le prix de votre loyer, informez-vous sur le marché de location dans votre ville. L’offre est-elle supérieure à la demande ou vice-versa ? Quelle est la fourchette des loyers pratiqués sur des biens similaires aux vôtres ? La vacance locative est-elle importante ? Les loyers évoluent-ils à la hausse ou à la baisse ?

Ces renseignements vous seront bien utiles pour fixer un prix correct et vous éviter des ennuis par la suite. Si vous avez placé la barre trop haut, le locataire peut très bien, au bout de six mois de location, introduire une demande de réduction du loyer auprès de la Commission des loyers de la commune où se trouve le bien loué (ou de sa région pour les communes de moins de 6.000 habitants) s’il ne parvient pas à trouver un accord à l’amiable avec vous, voire aller devant le juge de paix si vous n’acceptez pas une décision de la Commission des loyers lui étant favorable. Et l’inverse est vrai également si vous réalisez que vous avez placé la barre trop bas et souhaitez une augmentation du loyer.

Vous devrez également tenir compte du fait que la loi luxembourgeoise prévoit un plafonnement pour les loyers. Vous pourrez certes augmenter votre loyer tous les deux ans mais à condition que celui-ci ne dépasse pas 5% du capital initialement investi et réévalué.  Quant aux charges locatives, la loi prévoit que le propriétaire peut uniquement mettre à charge du locataire les frais qu’il a exposés pour lui.

Location nue ou meublée : que choisir ?

Si vous choisissez une location meublée, le loyer ne peut en aucun cas dépasser le double du loyer légal des logements non meublés et est fonction de la valeur du mobilier garnissant les lieux loués. Il doit être complètement équipé et ne pas se limiter à un lit, une table et une chaise. Votre bail devra en outre comporter un inventaire des meubles fournis au locataire. Le principal avantage de la location meublée est qu’elle est en général de courte durée.

Equipez-vous de tous les documents nécessaires à un bailleur

Les principaux documents dont vous aurez besoin sont le contrat de bail et l’état des lieux. Ne vous fatiguez pas à les rédiger vous-même. Si vous faites appel à des agents immobiliers pour louer votre bien, ceux-ci ont leurs propres modèles. Sinon, vous pouvez en trouver en ligne sur le guichet du gouvernement luxembourgeois : un modèle de bail à loyer est téléchargeable à la rubrique Citoyens/Logement/Location et un modèle d’état des lieux fait partie de l’ouvrage « Bail à loyer – La nouvelle législation en matière de bail à usage d’habitation » édité par le ministère des Classes moyennes, du Tourisme et du Logement et disponible gratuitement à l’adresse suivante : www.ml.public.lu/pictures/Bail____loyer/brochure_bail_loyer.pdf

Et n’oubliez pas… le fisc

Toute personne résidente ou considérée comme un contribuable résident qui est propriétaire d’un immeuble donné en location au Luxembourg ou à l’étranger est soumise à des obligations fiscales. Les revenus imposables provenant de la location de biens immobiliers correspondent au montant des loyers perçus, déduction faite des frais d’obtention (frais d’entretien et de réparation, intérêts débiteurs, amortissement, frais de gérance, etc.).

Il ne vous reste plus à présent qu’à trouver un bon locataire, qui paye en temps et en heure, ne pose pas de problème particulier et avec qui vous pouvez échanger facilement au sujet de cette location. Cette étape n’est pas forcément la plus simple !

Articles that might interest you

  • Often you hear people say: “Anyway, until I have paid off my home loan it’s the bank who owns my house”. But is it true?

  • It is always the same question that every one of us is asking before signing a home loan with his bank. To gain a more objective overview, let’s analyse them one by one with their respective advantages and disadvantages.

  • The rate remains fixed for a pre-defined period and, at the end of the period, is subject to a revision. The pre-defined period can vary from one bank to another but is generally 3, 5 or 10 years.