What are your voting rights in the Grand Duchy?

As you probably know, legislative elections in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg are held every 5 years and allow to elect the 60 deputies who make up the Chamber of Deputies (the national Parliament)[1]. Voting is compulsory for all voters registered on the electoral roll and only Luxembourg nationals over 18 years of age are allowed to vote. As a foreigner national, you cannot be involved in the voting process but is it also the case for the communal and the European elections?  Before answering this question, it is important to mention the fact that even if they will be not eligible to vote in the next legislative elections, 82% of foreign residents show an interest in Luxembourg politics, according to a survey conducted by the market research company TNS Ilres. The question for voting rights for foreign nationals was among three issues raised in the 2015 referendum but the motion was rejected. However, as a foreigner national, you have the right to vote in the communal and the European elections. What are the prerequisites and how to proceed?

Taking part in communal elections

The municipal elections are held every 6 years, usually on the second Sunday of October but can be moved to the first Sunday in June if the legislative elections and the communal elections were scheduled to take place in October of the same year[1]. Voting is compulsory for all voters registered on the electoral list, regardless of their nationality (Luxembourg nationals, EU nationals and others). To vote, you must fulfil the 4 following conditions: be at least 18 years on the day of the elections, enjoy civil rights, be domiciled in Luxembourg and have resided in the country for at least 5 years, the last year of residence prior to application for registration on the list being uninterrupted.

In addition, if you wish to participate to these elections for the first time, you must be registered on the electoral list no later than the 87th day before the elections. Unlike the Luxembourgish voters, you are not registered automatically. You may submit your request electronically via MyGuichet.lu or submit a written application on plain paper. In this case, you have to go to the communal administration of your place of residence in order to complete, date and sign an application for registration on the separate list of foreign voters (which mentions, among others, your nationality). In order to prevent abstention, you may request to vote by post. It is important to know that you do not lose your right to vote in your country of origin by registering you as a non-Luxembourgish elector for the communal elections.

And why not standing as a candidate?

Even if you are not a Luxembourgish citizen, you may stand as a candidate and be elected communal councillor, alderman or mayor. Of course, the prerequisites are the same as for having the right to vote but, in addition, you must have been living for at least 6 months in the commune at the time of filling your candidate application. If you live in a commune of less than 3,000 inhabitants, you participate in elections under the relative majority system and do not need to be part of a list of candidates. In contrast, if you live in a commune of 3,000 inhabitants and more, you participate in elections under the proportional representation voting system and must be part of a group of candidates. In both cases, you must submit your candidate application at least 30 days before the day of the vote.   

Taking part in European elections

The next elections for the European Parliament will be held in May 2019. If you are an EU national, you will have the right to vote in these elections provided that you are domiciled in Luxembourg and registered on the electoral list of the commune where you are living at least before the 87th day preceding the elections. As for the communal elections, registration is not automatic for non-Luxembourgish electors. The procedure of registration is the same: electronically via MyGuichet.lu or on paper. Pay attention to the fact that the electoral registration for the European elections do not give you the right to vote in the communal elections. They are two separate registers and, as such, a separate registration for each is required. One you are registered, keep in mind that you must vote – voting in the European elections is compulsory – and if you cannot go to the polls for one or another reason, a postal voting system has been put in place.     

Running as a candidate is also possible but the competition is very strong. Luxembourg has only 6 representatives sitting in the European Parliament and each list of candidates must contain a majority of Luxembourgers. You can always try. Who dares nothing wins nothing!

(1) Unlike its neighbouring countries, Luxembourg has a unicameral parliamentary system.
[2] The latest communal elections were held in October 2017.

06/20

Articles that might interest you

  • Immigration has always played a decisive role in the Grand Duchy’s economic development and and this trend is not going to stop. In 1961, the number of inhabitants in Luxembourg amounted to 314,900 people with a proportion of 13.2% of foreigners.

  • Every year, it is the same story. The summer vacation has just begun and you don’t know how to occupy your children. What is the best for your kids and isn’t it too late to plan activities for them? Don’t panic and follow the guide!

  • Summer is here and it can be a fantastic time of year for families around the world. With the kids off school, the focus quickly turns towards the annual summer break and the latest must-go holiday destination. But when you live abroad, the concept of holidays changes, often becomes a dilemma and sometimes turns into a… non-holiday!

Quels sont vos droits de vote dans le Grand-Duché ?

Comme vous le savez probablement, les élections législatives du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg sont organisées tous les 5 ans, visent à élire les 60 députés formant la Chambre des députés (parlement national)[1]. Le vote est obligatoire pour tous les électeurs inscrits sur les listes électorales ; seuls les citoyens luxembourgeois de plus de 18 ans sont autorisés à voter. En tant que ressortissant étranger, vous n’êtes pas concerné par le processus électoral, mais est-ce également le cas pour les élections communales et européennes ?    Avant de répondre à cette question, il est important de préciser que même s’ils n’auront pas le droit de voter aux prochaines élections législatives, 82 % des résidants étrangers se disent intéressés par la politique luxembourgeoise selon une étude menée par l'institut d’études de marché TNS Ilres. La question de l’attribution du droit de vote aux ressortissants étrangers figurait parmi les trois posées dans le cadre du référendum de 2015, mais la proposition a été rejetée. En tant que ressortissant étranger, vous avez néanmoins le droit de voter aux élections communales et européennes. Quelles sont les conditions à remplir et quelles sont les formalités à accomplir ?

Participer aux élections communales

Les élections communales ont lieu tous les 6 ans, en général le deuxième dimanche d’octobre, mais peuvent être déplacées au premier dimanche de juin si les élections législatives et les élections communales sont fixées au mois d’octobre de la même année[1]. Le vote obligatoire pour les électeurs inscrits sur les listes électorales, quelle que soit leur nationalité (citoyens luxembourgeois, européens et autres). Afin de voter, vous devez remplir les 4 conditions suivantes : avoir au moins 18 ans le jour des élections, bénéficier de droits civiques, être domicilié au Luxembourg et y résider depuis au moins 5 ans, et de manière ininterrompue au cours de la dernière année précédant la demande d'inscription.

Par ailleurs, si vous souhaitez participer à ces élections pour la première fois, vous devez être inscrit sur la liste électorale au plus tard le 87e jour avat les élections. À l’inverse des électeurs luxembourgeois, vous n’êtes pas inscrit automatiquement. Vous pouvez faire votre demande en ligne sur le site MyGuichet.lu ou la transmettre par écrit sur papier ordinaire. Le cas échéant, vous devez vous rendre à l’administration communale de votre lieu de résidence afin de remplir, dater et signer une demande d’inscription sur la liste séparée des électeurs étrangers (sur laquelle est mentionnée, entre autres, votre nationalité). Afin d’éviter une abstention, vous pouvez demander de voter par courrier. Il importe de noter que vous ne perdrez pas votre droit de vote dans votre pays d'origine en vous inscrivant en tant qu’électeur non luxembourgeois pour les élections communales.

Et pourquoi pas se porter candidat ?

 

Même si vous n’êtes pas un citoyen luxembourgeois, vous pouvez vous porter candidat et être élu conseiller communal, échevin (adjoint au maire) ou bourgmestre (maire). Bien entendu, les conditions à remplir sont identiques à celles que pour avoir le droit de vote, mais vous devez également vivre depuis au moins 6 mois dans la commune au moment du dépôt de votre demande de candidature. Si vous vivez dans une commune de moins de 3000 habitants, vous participez aux élections à la majorité relative et n’avez pas besoin de faire d'une liste de candidats. À l'inverse, si vous vivez dans une commune de 3000 habitants ou plus, vous participez à des élections au mode de scrutin proportionnel et devez figurer sur une liste de candidats. Dans les deux cas, vous devez remettre votre demande de candidature au moins 30 jours avant le jour du vote.

Participer aux élections européennes

Les prochaines élections visant à élire le Parlement européen sont prévues en mai 2019. Si vous êtes un citoyen européen, vous aurez le droit de voter à ces élections à condition d’être domicilié au Luxembourg et de vous inscrire sur la liste électorale de votre commune de résidence avant le 87e jour précédant les élections. Comme pour les élections communales, l’inscription n’est pas automatique pour les électeurs non luxembourgeois. La procédure d'inscription est identique : en ligne sur le site MyGuichet.lu ou par écrit. Veuillez noter que l’inscription électorale pour les élections européennes ne vous donne pas le droit de voter aux élections communales. Il existe deux listes distinctes et, de ce fait, deux inscriptions distinctes sont requises. Une fois inscrit, n’oubliez pas que vous devez voter – voter aux élections européennes est obligatoire – et si vous ne pouvez pas vous rendre aux urnes pour une raison ou pour une autre, un système de vote par correspondance a été mis en place.    

Il est également possible de se porter candidat, mais la concurrence est très rude. Luxembourg ne compte que 6 députés au sein du Parlement européen et chaque liste de candidats doit contenir une majorité de Luxembourgeois. Ceci dit, rien ne vous empêche de tenter votre chance. Qui ne tente rien n’a rien!

[1] À l’inverse de ses pays voisins, le Luxembourg a un système parlementaire monocaméral.
[2] Les dernières élections communales se sont tenues en octobre 2017.

06/20

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser

  • L’immigration a toujours joué un rôle majeur dans le développement économique, une tendance qui ne s’est jamais démentie. En 1961, la Luxembourg comptait 314 900 habitants, dont 13,2 % d’étrangers. Le 1er janvier 2018, la population du pays a atteint 602 005 habitants, parmi lesquels 47,9 % d’étrangers !

  • Tous les ans, c’est la même histoire. Les vacances d’été viennent à peine de commencer que vous ne savez pas quoi faire pour occuper vos enfants. Quelle est la meilleure solution pour vos enfants ?

  • L’été est là. Un moment peut-être inoubliable pour les familles du monde entier. L’école étant finie, les vacances d’été annuelles et la destination touristique à la mode sont au cœur des conversations. Mais lorsque vous vivez à l’étranger, le concept de vacances est différent et se traduit souvent par un dilemme aboutissant parfois... à une absence de vacances