Is living across the border worth it?

Whether in France, Belgium, or Germany, living on the border in one's own country when one works in Luxembourg has certain advantages. First of all, there are naturally financial advantages! With less expensive rents, purchasing power is greater and living costs are lower: Border countries offer certain advantages compared to Luxembourg. Incidentally, for the past 10 years, the number of Luxembourgers working in Luxembourg and living near the border in France has risen continuously.

In addition, the two major French cities, Metz and Thionville, offer a wide range of services, beautiful cultural events, many restaurants and cafés, and the highest quality of medical care. In Germany, the beautiful city of Trier provides similar benefits.

Basically, only good features, if there wasn't a catch: transportation.

To travel every day from France, Belgium, or Germany can take a long time, even a very long time. If all goes well, estimate 30 minutes on the train and 45 minutes by car. Otherwise, an hour, an hour and a half, if not much longer. More than 80% of the “frontaliers” (border workers) say that transportation is the main reason why they plan to change profession or move.

In the end, one must also realise that it is naturally more difficult to understand the culture of a country where one does not live but one only works, and to finally integrate oneself there.

This raises the question: Why not live in Luxembourg and save those hours of commuting time? The cost of living is certainly elevated but this is outweighed by the high level of salaries, the public services, and the favourable social services (the pension system, a robust infrastructure, as well as clean and safe roads). For people with a medium salary and for their families, life can be quite affordable.

Documents are no problem. No visa or work permit is required. As a frontalier, it is easy to establish yourself in Luxembourg. You must apply for a registration certificate of your address at the Population Office in your municipality no later than 3 months after you arrive. You must prove that you work here, either by presenting your contract of employment or job commitment or, if you are self-employed, by providing documentation of your activity.

And without wanting to disparage any other country, one must admit that Luxembourg has many advantages. High-quality infrastructure, well-equipped hospitals, modern sports complexes, a cosmopolitan population... and, not to be forgotten, tax benefits. The city of Luxembourg was ranked the world's safest city in the 2019 Mercer Quality of Living survey, which also included internal stability, crime rates, implementation of laws, freedom of the press, and restrictions on individual liberties.

Luxembourg’s multicultural aspect can also be a plus. With more than 170 nationalities, you experience the European open spirit, which is particularly appealing. Luxembourg’s cultural activities easily compare to those of the great capitals, and the city is well connected thanks to the airport and the TGV. Moreover, its surrounding countryside, and the nearby forests, vineyards, and lakes are also enjoyable. There is something for all likings. 

11/22

My Money

Articles that might interest you

Est-ce que ça vaut le coup d’habiter à la frontière ?

Que l’on soit en France, en Belgique ou en Allemagne, habiter dans son propre pays à la frontière lorsqu’on travaille au Luxembourg a des avantages certains. Le premier est financier, bien sûr ! Avec des loyers moins chers, la possibilité d’acheter plus grand, un coût de la vie plus bas, les pays frontaliers offrent des avantages certains par rapport au Grand-Duché. D’ailleurs, depuis 10 ans, le nombre de Luxembourgeois travaillant au Luxembourg et s’installant en France près de la frontière ne cesse d’augmenter.

De plus, en France, les deux pôles urbains importants que sont Metz et Thionville offrent des services extrêmement variés, de belles manifestations culturelles, restaurants et cafés à foison ainsi que des prestations médicales de très haute qualité. Il en va de même en Allemagne avec la belle ville de Trèves.

Bref, que des bons côtés n’était ce qui peut vite se transformer en cauchemar : les transports.

Venir tous les jours d’Allemagne, de Belgique ou de France peut être long, très long. Si tout va bien, comptez 30 minutes en train et 45 minutes en voiture. Sinon, une heure, voire une et demie, voire beaucoup plus. Plus de 80% des frontaliers évoquent les transports comme LA raison qui pourrait leur faire changer de métiers et de lieu de résidence.

Ensuite, il faut bien avoir conscience qu’il est forcément plus compliqué de comprendre la culture du pays où l’on travaille sans y vivre, et donc, in fine, de s’intégrer.

Alors, la question se pose : pourquoi ne pas habiter au Grand-Duché et s’épargner ses heures de trajets ? Le coût de la vie est certes élevé, mais cela est largement compensé par le niveau des salaires ainsi que par des services publics et un système de sécurité sociale très avantageux (provision pour pension, infrastructure robuste, rues propres et sécurisées). Pour ceux qui gagnent le salaire moyen et leurs familles, le pays propose une vie abordable.

Questions papiers, pas de problème. Ni visa ni permis de travail. Pour s’installer au Luxembourg, rien de plus simple ! Vous devrez demander une attestation d'enregistrement 3 mois au plus après votre arrivée auprès du bureau de la population de l’administration communale de votre lieu de résidence. Pour cela, il vous faudra prouver que vous travaillez ici, soit avec votre contrat de travail ou votre promesse d'embauche, soit, si vous êtes indépendant, présenter une preuve de votre activité.

Et sans rejeter son pays natal, il faut reconnaître que le Grand-Duché offre de nombreux avantages. Des infrastructures de qualité, des hôpitaux bien équipés, des complexes sportifs modernes, une population très cosmopolite… Sans compter des taxes moindres dans de nombreux domaines. La capitale a ainsi été désignée ville la plus sûre au monde dans le cadre de l’enquête Mercer 2019 sur la qualité de vie, qui tient compte de la stabilité interne, du taux de criminalité, de l’application des lois, de la liberté de la presse et des restrictions à la liberté des personnes.

L’aspect multiculturel du Luxembourg peut aussi être un avantage. Avec plus de 170 nationalités, il y a un esprit européen et ouvert particulièrement appréciable. L’offre culturelle est digne des grandes capitales et la ville est très bien desservie grâce à l’aéroport et au TGV. Appréciable aussi, la nature et ses forêts, ses vignes, ses lacs… Il y en a pour tous les goûts ! 

11/22

My Money

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser