5 tips to save money on your skiing trip

It smells like holidays … Christmas is coming pretty soon and so does New Year’s Eve … Are you already thinking about your next holidays? I do hihi. I already have plans and it is about a winter sports holiday.  We all know that this kind of holidays are quite expensive. Thus, I wanted to share some savvy tips to enjoy them as much as possible without worrying about money with you!

Be original!

If you want to find the cheapest destination to ski, try destinations where nobody is going … I mean try to select an anti-flagship station ;-). To help you,  try ski stations located in Germany or even some located in countries where the cost of living is less elevated such as Poland , the Czech Republic or Slovakia. In these locations you can fully enjoy skiing slopes as they are less crowded   The following website www.bergfex.com tells you everything about ski, ski resorts in Europe as well as their ratings to help you choose where you want to go.

Fighting Fit! 

Don’t be careless about preparation. If you are going to ski,  sport and trainings have to be in your plans no matter what. This way, your muscles will be trained and you will decrease the risk of injuries.  You’ll return home safely and you won’t have to worry about medical expenses!

Be covered!

If you’re going to ski, be sure of what your insurance is actually covering. You never know what is going to happen !! For example, travel insurance  is essential, not optional. Many medical costs in Europe may be covered by the free European Health insurance  but it is not a suitable substitute for travel insurance during a winter sports trip.

Be equipped!

You have 2 options: buy or rent. Let’s have a deeper look at these 2 options:

  • Rental ski shops upgrade their inventory quite often (every couple of years) to make sure that they stay up to date. Renting can give you more options in terms of choice but also the possibility to change equipment (ski VS. snowboard if you do both).  Now, many shops take online reservations which allows you to save time and also money ( special discounts are sometimes applied).
  • If you bring your own ski/ snowboard, you will be comfortable and more confident on the ski slopes but be aware that you will have to transport your complete equipment ! You also have to take into account the fact that if you invest in this kind of equipment you won’t be able to renew it every year.

Picnic

Keep in mind that restaurants that are on the ski slopes are often more expensive than the ones in the valley. If you really are in a cost saving mode, favor a snowy picnic with homemade sandwiches, fruits and a bottle of water

To conclude, I wish you luck with packing but, more importantly,  I wish you a merry Christmas 

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

5 bons plans pour partir au ski sans se ruiner

Ca sent les vacances … Noël et le Nouvel An arrivent à grands pas… Avez-vous déjà réfléchi à vos prochaines vacances ? Moi oui  ! Je prévois un séjour aux sports d’hiver et, comme chacun le sait, cela représente un certain budget ! J’ai donc eu envie de partager quelques bons plans pour profiter au maximum de la neige sans se ruiner !

Sortez des sentiers battus !

Pour trouver la destination ski la moins chère, optez pour des lieux moins courus… autrement dit, évitez les stations prestigieuses ;-). Pour vous donner quelques idées, intéressez-vous aux stations situées en Allemagne ou dans des pays où le coût de la vie est moins cher, tels que la Pologne, la République tchèque ou encore la Slovaquie. Vous pourrez ainsi profiter pleinement des pistes, bien moins encombrées qu’ailleurs  Le site Internet www.bergfex.com vous dira tout ce qu’il y a à savoir sur le ski, les stations d’Europe et leur classement pour que vous puissiez choisir votre destination.

Veillez à votre forme ! 

Ne négligez pas la préparation. Vous voulez skier ? Pratiquez une activité sportive et entraînez-vous d’abord. Le risque de blessure est plus limité avec des muscles entraînés. Vous pourrez ainsi rentrer chez vous en parfaite santé sans vous inquiéter des frais médicaux à régler !

Pensez à vous assurer !

Avant de partir au ski, vérifiez précisément ce que votre assurance couvre. Vous ne pouvez pas savoir à l’avance comment votre séjour va se dérouler ! Une assurance voyage est donc absolument indispensable. En Europe, la carte européenne d’assurance maladie permet la prise en charge gratuite d’une grande partie des frais médicaux, mais elle ne remplace pas l’assurance voyage au cours d’un séjour aux sports d’hiver.

Équipez-vous !

Vous avez le choix entre acheter et louer. Étudions ces deux options de plus près :

  • Les magasins de location de skis remplacent régulièrement leur matériel (environ tous les deux ans) pour proposer des produits récents. Louer vous offre davantage de choix et la possibilité de changer d’équipement (passer du ski au snowboard si vous pratiquez les deux, par exemple). Aujourd’hui, de nombreux magasins de location acceptent les réservations en ligne, ce qui vous permet de gagner du temps et de faire des économies (des remises spéciales s’appliquent dans certains cas).
  • Si vous emportez vos skis/votre snowboard, vous serez plus à l’aise sur les pistes, mais vous devrez transporter tout votre équipement ! N’oubliez pas non plus que si vous choisissez d’investir dans votre propre matériel, vous ne pourrez pas le remplacer tous les ans!

Pique-niquez!

Les restaurants au pied des pistes sont souvent plus chers que ceux situés dans la vallée. Si vous avez un petit budget, optez pour le pique-nique sur la neige avec des sandwichs maison, des fruits et une bouteille d’eau. 

Pour finir, je vous souhaite bon courage pour les valises, mais surtout un très joyeux Noël  !

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser