Student employees’ rights and obligations

As a student, you might want to make some extra money and gain some paid work experience. Very good idea, but do you know your rights and obligations as a student employee?

Above all, you have to take into account the difference between the holiday-only student contract and the fixed-term employment contract outside school holidays.

The student contract

To draw up a student contract, you must fulfil the following conditions.

  1. You are between 15 and 26 years old, are enrolled in a teaching establishment in Luxembourg or abroad and follow a regular full-time education programme. If your school registration has ended less than 4 months ago, you are still considered a pupil/student

  2. You are only hired during school holidays. If you are formally enrolled in a teaching establishment abroad, the holidays of which differ from the school holidays of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, you can work under a student contract during the free periods in question.

  3. You can draw up one or several student contract(s), but you can only be hired for a maximum period of 2 months per civil year (from 1 January to 31 December), or an average of 346 hours per year. If you fail to adhere to this rule, you can lose the right to receive family allowance.

The student contract offers many advantages. Your remuneration may not be lower than 80% of the social minimum wage adjusted, where applicable, according to your age (from € 1,442.22 gross per month if you are between 15 and 17 years old to € 1,538.37 gross per month [1] if you are 18 years old or over) and is tax exempt. But you are not entitled to paid leave. Even public holidays and sick days are not paid.

Fixed-term employment contract

If you are between 15 and 26 years old and enrolled in a teaching establishment in Luxembourg, you can work outside school holidays. In this case, you are not allowed to draw up a student contract; you need to sign a fixed-term employment contract instead. In this case, you have two different statuses: a student status during school holidays and a salaried employee status outside school holidays.

Be careful: the fixed-term employment contract for students is subject to certain conditions. The weekly working time can’t exceed 10 hours on average, over a period of 1 month or 4 weeks. The contract may be renewed more than twice, without being considered as a permanent employment contract, provided that it does not exceed a total duration of 5 years.

By signing a fixed-term employment contract, you are considered a salaried employee. Your remuneration may not be lower than the social minimum wage adjusted, where applicable, according to your age (from € 355.55 to € 576.89 if you work 40 hours a month [2]). Your income is also subject to withholding tax and you must register as a salaried worker with all the social-security branches (sickness, pension, accident and long-term care insurance). However, you are entitled to paid annual leave on a prorate basis of your working hours. And, of course, public holidays and sick days are paid.

Don’t forget that if you carry out a professional activity for more than 4 months during a school year and if your gross annual salary equals or exceeds 4 times the social minimum wage (€ 1,992.96 x 4 = € 7,971.84), you lose your right to receive family allowance.

For more information, visit the Guichet Citoyens website ( https://guichet.public.lu/fr/citoyens/travail-emploi.html ) and the website of the Inspectorate of Labour and Mines (www.itm.public.lu).

[1] Index value 775.17 as of 1 January 2016

[2] Index value 775.17 as of 1 January 2016

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

Quels sont les droits et obligations des étudiants salariés ?

Vous êtes étudiant et vous avez envie d’arrondir vos fins de mois ou bénéficier d’une expérience professionnelle à faire valoir sur votre CV ? Très bonne idée, mais connaissez-vous vos droits et obligations en tant qu’étudiant salarié ?

Il convient d’abord de faire une différence entre le contrat d’étudiant pendant les vacances scolaires et le contrat à durée déterminée en dehors des vacances scolaires.

Le contrat d’étudiant

Pour bénéficier d’un contrat d’étudiant, vous devez remplir les conditions suivantes.

  1. Vous devez avoir entre 15 et 26 ans inclus, être inscrit dans un établissement scolaire luxembourgeois ou étranger et y suivre un cycle d’enseignement à temps plein. Si votre inscription scolaire a pris fin il y a moins de 4 mois, vous êtes toujours considéré comme étudiant.
  2. Votre contrat d’étudiant doit se situer pendant les vacances scolaires. Si vous êtes régulièrement inscrit dans un établissement étranger, dont les dates de congés scolaires ne coïncident pas avec celles du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, vous pouvez également travailler sous contrat d’étudiant pendant ces dates valables à l’étranger.
  3. Vous pouvez signer un ou plusieurs contrats d’étudiant par an mais attention à ne pas dépasser les deux mois d’occupation par année civile (du 1er janvier au 31 décembre), soit en moyenne 346 heures par an. Sinon, vous risquez de perdre les allocations familiales.

Le contrat d’étudiant a des avantages. Votre rémunération ne peut pas être inférieure à 80% du salaire social minimum gradué, le cas échéant, en fonction de votre âge [1] (de 1.442,22 €  bruts mensuels si sous avez entre 15 et 17 ans à 1.538,37 bruts mensuels si vous avez 18 ans ou plus) et n’est pas soumise à l’impôt. Par contre, vous n’avez droit à aucun congé et les jours où vous ne travaillez pas ne sont pas payés, même s’il s’agit d’un jour férié ou pour cause de maladie

Le contrat à durée déterminée

Si vous avez entre 15 et 26 ans inclus et si vous êtes régulièrement inscrit dans un établissement scolaire luxembourgeois, vous pouvez également travailler en dehors des vacances scolaires mais, dans ce cas, ce ne sera pas sous contrat d’étudiant mais sous contrat à durée déterminée. Vous aurez donc deux statuts : un statut d’étudiant pendant les vacances scolaires et un statut de salarié en dehors des vacances scolaires.

Attention, ce contrat à durée déterminée est assorti de certaines conditions. La durée hebdomadaire de travail ne peut pas dépasser 10 heures en moyenne, sur une période d’un mois ou de quatre semaines. Le contrat peut être renouvelé plus de 2 fois, sans être considéré comme contrat à durée indéterminée, à condition de ne pas dépasser une durée totale de 5 ans.

Au niveau de la rémunération, vous êtes considéré comme un salarié. Le minimum que l’employeur doit vous payer correspond au salaire social minium gradué, le cas échéant, selon votre âge (soit entre 355,55 € et 576,89 € bruts mensuels en supposant que vous travaillez 40 heures par mois [2]). Contrairement au contrat d’étudiant, vos revenus sont imposés et votre employeur est tenu de vous affilier auprès de l’ensemble des régimes de sécurité sociale luxembourgeois. Par contre, vous avez droit à des jours de congé annuels au prorata de vos heures prestées. Et, bien entendu, les jours fériés légaux et les congés de maladie vous sont payés.

Ne perdez pas de vue non plus que si vous travaillez pendant plus de 4 mois pendant l’année scolaire et que vous touchez par an pour cette activité un revenu dépassant un certain seuil, à savoir 4 fois le salaire social minimum (1.992,96 x 4 = 7.971,84 € bruts), vous perdez vos allocations familiales.

Si vous souhaitez plus d’informations, n’hésitez pas à consulter les sites du Guichet Citoyens (http://www.guichet.public.lu/citoyens/fr/travail-emploi/types-contrat-travail/index.html) et de l’Inspection du Travail et des Mines (www.itm.public.lu).

[1] A partir du 1er janvier 2016 (indice 775,17)

[2] A partir du 1er janvier 2016 (indice 775,17

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser