Do I have to subscribe to a debt balance insurance 

The answer is no. Contrary to the common held view, you do not have to subscribe to a debt balance insurance when you take out a mortgage loan or a personal credit. 

But, first of all, let’s remind what a debt balance insurance is. This form of accidental death insurance covers the outstanding balance of the loan in the event of your death. The insurance is limited to the duration of the loan and the amount paid by the insurer is the outstanding principal balance of the loan on the date of your death. The beneficiaries are the persons designated in the policy (the spouse or the children for example) or the lending institution. Against an additional premium, some companies extend the cover to disability and loss of income.

How much does it cost? 

It is impossible to answer this question because the premium of the debt balance insurance is calculated on a case by case basis. Firstly, it depends on your loan. The higher the capital insured, the higher will be the premium. The duration of the borrowing period and high interest rates may also determine the amount of the premium insurance.

At least, the premium calculation takes into account your risk of death. This risk can be influenced by a wide range of factors: your age at the day of the conclusion of the credit agreement (the more aged you are, the higher will be the premium), if you are a smoker or not, your heath status and if you practice extreme sports or not. 

In some cases, the amount to pay can rise to thousands of euros, especially when you pay the premium at once! In fact, there are three ways of payment: a single premium to be paid when the contract is signed, annual premiums to be paid during the two thirds of the insured period (for example, 13 annual premiums for a 20-year loan) or annual premiums to be paid throughout the duration of the loan.   

Not required but highly recommended 

Why will you subscribe to a debt balance insurance if it is not legally required? If you have already a life insurance and if the amount is enough to cover the loan, it’s not useful. If not, think twice before declining a debt balance insurance. By subscribing such an insurance, you will save your family from having any financial problem after your accidental death. Especially if the amount to be repaid is significant! And don’t forget that debt balance insurance premiums are, under certain conditions, tax-deductible.   

Keep also in mind that you can take out a loan at a more interesting rate if you subscribe to the insurance offered by the bank which grants you a credit.  

So take the time to think about all the aspects, consider the pros and cons and be sure to be well informed before taking a decision in one way or another

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

Suis-je obligé de souscrire à une assurance solde restant dû ?

La réponse est non. Contrairement à ce que beaucoup de gens pensent, vous n’êtes pas obligé de souscrire à une assurance solde restant dû lorsque vous contractez un emprunt hypothécaire ou un prêt personnel.

Mais, avant toute chose, rappelons ce qu’est une assurance solde restant dû (ASRD). Il s’agit d’une assurance temporaire en cas de décès à capital décroissant. En d’autres termes, elle est limitée à la durée de remboursement du prêt et le capital versé en cas de décès correspondra au solde du capital encore à rembourser. Le bénéficiaire peut être soit une personne désignée dans la police (le conjoint ou les enfants par exemple), soit directement l’organisme prêteur. Moyennant une augmentation de la prime, certaines compagnies acceptent d’étendre la couverture à l’invalidité et à la perte de revenus. 

Combien cela coûte ?

Il est impossible de répondre à cette question car la prime d’assurance solde restant dû est calculée au cas par cas. Elle dépend d’abord de votre prêt. Plus votre capital à assurer est élevé, plus la prime le sera aussi. La durée de l’emprunt et des taux d’intérêt élevés peuvent également avoir une incidence sur le montant de la prime.

Vient ensuite votre risque de décès. Ce risque peut être influencé par l’âge au moment de la signature du contrat (au plus vous êtes âgé, au plus la prime augmente), le fait de fumer, votre situation de santé et la pratique de sports considérés comme dangereux.

Quoi qu’il en soit, la somme à payer peut, dans certains cas, avoisiner les milliers d’euros, en particulier quand vous la payez en une fois ! Il existe en effet trois formules de paiement possibles : soit une prime unique à verser lors de la signature du contrat, soit plusieurs primes annuelles à verser pendant les deux tiers de la période assurée (par exemple, 13 primes pour un prêt à 20 ans), soit des primes à verser chaque année pendant toute la durée du prêt.

Pas obligatoire mais chaudement recommandée

Pourquoi dès lors souscrire à une assurance qui a un coût alors que celle-ci n’est légalement pas obligatoire ? Si vous disposez déjà d’une assurance-vie et que le montant de celle-ci suffit à couvrir votre crédit, ce n’est peut-être pas nécessaire. Sinon, réfléchissez-y à deux fois avant de renoncer à une assurance solde restant dû. En souscrivant à une telle assurance, vous assurez une sécurité supplémentaire à vos proches (conjoint, enfants, etc.) en leur évitant d’être confrontés à des problèmes financiers après votre décès. Surtout si le crédit à rembourser est important ! Sans oublier que les primes d’assurance solde restant dû sont, sous certaines conditions, déductibles fiscalement.

Ne perdez pas de vue non plus que la banque qui vous octroie un crédit vous propose souvent un taux plus intéressant si vous prenez le tout – emprunt et assurance – chez elle.

Bref, prenez le temps de réfléchir à tous les aspects, pesez bien le pour et le contre et informez-vous avant de prendre une décision dans un sens ou l’autre. 

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser