Evaluating your borrowing capacity

Before taking out a loan - especially a property or home loan - it is important to accurately determine the amount you are able to repay each month to avoid debt building up. In other words, to find out your borrowing capacity. But what exactly is it, and how is it calculated? What is the maximum capacity agreed by the bank and what happens when it is exceeded?

Borrowing capacity, also called repayment capacity, refers to the maximum amount you can spend on monthly repayments on loans, based on your income and other outgoings. Two main approaches are typically used, sometimes combined, to evaluate this borrowing capacity, i.e. debt level calculation and disposable income calculation.

Debt level calculation

The debt level calculation consists of comparing your income and your outgoings to evaluate the percentage of income taken up by recurring expenses. Calculation of income includes the following: salary after tax, other work-related income (profits from self employment for farmers, retail outlets, tradesmen and independent professionals), court-ordered maintenance payments, and other welfare payments such as pensions or incapacity payouts. Depending on the lender, other income might be included, such as family allowance, housing benefit, welfare, or commissions such as might be earned by sales representatives. Irregular income, such as one-off bonus payments or work-related compensation, is not included. As regards outgoings, the debt level calculation before new borrowing includes monthly repayments for current loans (consumer loans, vehicle loans, home loans if you are already a homeowner), monthly rental payments (if you are a tenant and your loan is not a home loan), maintenance payments to your spouse and any other recurring outgoings (telephone, gas, electricity, etc. bills).

Let’s take a simple example. Imagine a couple, with net aggregate monthly income of €8,000 and monthly outgoings of €1,600 (€1,200 miscellaneous costs and €400 on car loan repayments). Their current debt level is 20% (€1,600 / €8,000 x 100). For most financial institutions, when outgoings are more than a third of monthly income, the risk of excessive indebtedness or insolvency strongly increases. The income remaining to pay ongoing costs and provide room for manoeuvre for contingencies is limited, and exposes the borrower to potential difficulties. In our example, the borrowing capacity available to the couple is €1,040 (€8,000 x 33% - €1,000) per month. Above this sum, the bank could refuse to grant the loan... unless the calculation of disposable income is favourable to them. 

Calculation of disposable income

Disposable income equates to the sum remaining available once you have paid all your outgoings. It is used to determine what is left to enable you to live normally and ensure that unavoidable ongoing spending is met, such as food, transport and childcare. This closer analysis of your budget can encourage banks to make an exception to the 33% rule to grant a loan. It all depends on your household’s situation - are you single or in a couple, with or without children? - on your location - close to Luxembourg or some distance away? - on your property situation - are you a tenant or homeowner? - and on your current and future income - is it high, or even very high, or are you a young person with high earning potential? If, ultimately, the bank believes your disposable income comfortably covers your requirements, it will have no difficulty granting you a loan.

You will have grasped the point that whether a bank grants you a loan will depend in large part on its credit policy and your relationship with the bank. In other words, just because your borrowing capacity exceeds the 33% threshold, your request will not automatically be turned down.

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

Comment évaluer sa capacité d’endettement ?

Avant de se lancer dans un emprunt – et notamment un emprunt immobilier -, il est important d’identifier avec précision le montant que vous êtes capable de consacrer par mois afin d’éviter le surendettement, en d’autres termes, de connaître votre capacité d’endettement. Mais de quoi s’agit-il au juste ? Comment la calcule-t-on ? Quelle est la capacité maximale acceptée par la banque et que faire quand celle-ci est dépassée ?

La capacité d’endettement, également appelée capacité de remboursement, désigne le montant maximal que vous pouvez accorder au remboursement des mensualités d’un crédit en fonction de vos ressources et d’autres charges. Deux grandes approches sont habituellement retenues, voire croisées, pour évaluer cette capacité d’endettement : le calcul du taux d’endettement et le calcul du reste à vivre.

Le calcul du taux d’endettement

Le calcul du taux d’endettement consiste à comparer vos charges à vos revenus afin d’évaluer le pourcentage des ressources consacré au paiement de dépenses récurrentes. Sont prises en considération dans ce calcul les sources de revenus suivantes : les salaires nets, les revenus professionnels non-salariés (bénéfices des agriculteurs, commerçants, artisans et professions libérales), les pensions alimentaires reçues sur décision judiciaire et les autres pensions comme la retraite ou le handicap. Selon les organismes prêteurs, d’autres revenus peuvent être pris en compte comme les allocations familiales, les allocations logement, les revenus ou les commissions, perçues par exemple par les commerciaux. Les revenus non réguliers, comme les primes exceptionnelles ou les indemnités professionnelles, sont exclus. Au niveau des charges, sont intégrés dans le calcul du taux d’endettement avant emprunt les mensualités de remboursement de crédit en cours (crédit à la consommation, prêt véhicule ou crédit immobilier si vous êtes déjà propriétaire), le loyer mensuel (si vous êtes locataire et si votre emprunt ne concerne pas un crédit immobilier), les pensions alimentaires versées à votre conjoint et toute autre charge récurrente (téléphone, gaz électricité, etc.).  

Prenons un exemple simple.  Imaginons un couple dont les revenus mensuels nets cumulés se montent à 8.000 € et les charges mensuelles à 1.600 € (1.200 € de charges diverses et 400 € de prêt pour un véhicule). Leur taux d’endettement actuel est de 20% (1.600 €/8.000 € X 100). Pour la plupart des organismes financiers, quand les charges dépassent un tiers des ressources mensuelles, le risque de surendettement augmente fortement. Les ressources qui restent pour faire face aux dépenses courantes et les marges de manœuvre en cas d’imprévus sont en effet réduites et exposent l’emprunteur à des difficultés potentielles. Dans notre exemple, la capacité de remboursement disponible du couple est de 1.040 € (8.000 € X 33% - 1.000 €) par mois. Au-delà de cette somme, la banque pourrait leur refuser d’accorder l’emprunt… à moins que le calcul du reste à vivre ne leur soit favorable. 

Le calcul du reste à vivre

Le reste à vivre correspond à la somme qui reste à votre disposition une fois que vous vous êtes acquitté de l’ensemble de vos charges. Il permet de déterminer ce qu’il vous reste pour vous permettre de vivre normalement et d’assurer des dépenses courantes incompressibles comme l’alimentation, les transports ou la garde d’enfants. Cette analyse plus fine de votre budget peut parfois inciter les banques à faire exception à la règle des 33% pour accorder un crédit. Tout dépend de la situation de votre foyer – êtes-vous célibataire, en couple, avec ou sans enfants ? -, de votre localisation – habitez-vous près ou loin de Luxembourg ? –, de votre statut en matière immobilière – êtes-vous locataire ou propriétaire ? - et de vos revenus présents ou à venir – sont-ils élevés, voire très élevés ou êtes-vous un jeune client disposant d’un fort potentiel au niveau professionnel ? Si, au final, la banque estime que votre reste à vivre est plus que confortable au regard de vos besoins, celle-ci n’aura pas de difficultés à vous accorder un prêt.

Vous l’aurez compris : l’octroi d’un crédit par votre banque dépendra en grande partie de sa politique de crédit et des relations que vous entretenez avec elle. Autrement dit, ce n’est pas parce que votre capacité d’endettement dépasse les 33% que votre demande d’emprunt sera automatiquement refusée !

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser