Living together, is it less expensive?

Yes and… no. On the one side, sharing costs (rent, food, car, etc.) enables you to make significant savings. Moreover, if the couple registers a civil partnership to their local commune, taxation is more advantageous than separate taxation, even without children. On the other side, living together is not necessarily Scrooge’s paradise. Unexpected expenses can occur like, for instance, the fact that one partner doesn’t want to impose limits to the lifestyle of the other or hides debt for fear of compromising the relationship.

So, what are the financial risks of living together and how to avoid them?

1. Create a personal then common financial statement

Before creating a common financial statement, everyone would make a personal list of assets and debts. It allows identifying the assets that everyone wants to keep for themselves and to better understand the consumption and savings habits of the partner. It will avoid you judging the other too quickly as a miser or a spendthrift.

2. Your place, my place or ours?

Moving together means making choices. Which furniture or appliances will you keep? Which ones will you sell, give or throw away? Or do you prefer to buy new furniture? Do you opt for cohabitation or co-ownership? If you choose co-ownership, it is better to consult a lawyer or notary first in order to set fair rules, especially if you don’t bring the same down payment or if you expect that the mortgage contribution will be different from one partner to another.

3. Draw up a common budget

A common budget is not so easy to draw up. It is still the best way to know the income and expenses of each partner and to agree on an equitable sharing of common expenses according to the income of each other. What part of your income will be allocated to the common expenses? How much will you spend on personal expenses? How will you split common expenses with your partner?

There are 3 ways to create a common budget:

– the common pot: this model where couples merge all their finances can be a source of conflict if one partner is too wasteful or if they are too big differences in income. Another disadvantage is that the joint bank account can be frozen if one of the partners dies.

– half and half: sharing equally the common expenses is adequate for partners earning the same salary, but doesn’t allow redressing inequalities. The richest partner is getting richer and the poorest partner is getting poorer.

– pro rata basis: common expenses are split proportionally to the income of each other. This model can help the partner earning the least to save money and to reduce his/her financial insecurity. But the partner earning the most could dislike it, even if it is the most equitable model.

4. Don’t let one become richer than the other

Even if it can be more convenient when you earn less than your partner, don’t fall into the trap of paying the daily expenses and letting your partner buying in his/her own name durable goods such as house and furniture. These goods have a resale value and, in case of relationship breakdown, you will be left without anything.

5. Sign a cohabitation or a financial agreement

You are living a true love story; it is wonderful! When things are going well, take the opportunity to set rules that will apply in case of separation: the way the assets will be shared, the inventory and share of common goods, the occupation of the house, etc. Lay down these rules in a cohabitation agreement if you are actual cohabitants or in a financial agreement if you have registered a civil partnership to your local commune. Don’t hesitate to use the services of a lawyer or a notary for the drawing up of these documents.

In a nutshell, love and money can go together if each partner communicates their needs, expectations and limits openly.

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

Vivre à deux, est-ce moins cher ?

Oui et… non. D’un côté, la mutualisation des coûts (loyer, nourriture, véhicule, etc.) permet de réaliser des économies importantes. De plus, si le couple déclare leur partenariat auprès de la commune de leur lieu de résidence, l’imposition est plus avantageuse que celle de deux célibataires, même sans enfant. De l’autre, la vie de couple n’est pas pour autant le paradis des radins. Des dépenses insidieuses peuvent se mettre en place comme, par exemple, le fait qu’un conjoint ne veut pas imposer des limites au train de vie de l’autre ou cache ses dettes par peur de compromettre la relation.

Alors, quelles sont les dérives financières possibles de la vie à deux et comment les éviter ?

1. Dresser un bilan individuel, puis commun

Avant de créer un nouveau bilan pour le couple, chacun devrait d’abord dresser une liste de ses biens et de ses dettes. Cet exercice permet d’identifier les actifs que l’on veut garder en propre et de mieux comprendre les habitudes de consommation et d’épargne de son conjoint. Cela vous évitera aussi de juger trop rapidement l’autre comme un/e gros/sse radin/e ou un/e ultra dépensière(ier).

2. Chez toi, chez moi ou chez nous ?

Emménager à deux implique forcément des choix. Quels sont les meubles et électroménagers que vous allez garder ? Quels sont ceux que vous allez vendre, donner ou jeter ? Ou peut-être préférez-vous repartir à neuf ? Allez-vous opter pour la cohabitation ou la copropriété ? Si vous choisissez la copropriété, consultez d’abord un avocat ou un notaire afin d’établir des règles équitables, surtout si la mise de fonds est inégale ou si vous prévoyez que les versements hypothécaires seront différents.

3. Etablir un budget commun

L’opération peut s’avérer difficile, voire délicate. C’est pourtant la meilleure manière de connaître les entrées et sorties mensuelles de chacun et de s’entendre sur une partage équitable en fonction des revenus de chacun. Quelle part de vos revenus allez-vous consacrer aux dépenses communes ? Quelle somme garderez-vous pour vos dépenses personnelles ? Comment allez-vous répartir les dépenses ?

Trois grandes formules budgétaires sont à votre disposition :

  • Pot commun : ce modèle où tout est mis en commun peut être une source de conflits si l’un des conjoints est très dépensier ou si les écarts de revenus sont trop grands. Autre inconvénient : le compte joint peut être gelé en cas de décès d’un des deux conjoints.
  • Moitié-moitié : le partage en parts égales peut convenir aux conjoints gagnant un salaire équivalent, mais ne permet pas de rééquilibrer les inégalités. Le conjoint le plus riche s’enrichit, tandis que le plus pauvre s’appauvrit.
  • Prorata : les dépenses communes sont divisées au prorata des salaires de chacun. Cette formule peut aider le partenaire qui gagne le moins à épargner et contribuer à réduire son insécurité. Par contre, elle peut déplaire à celui qui gagne le plus, même si c’est la formule la plus équitable.

4. Ne pas laisser l’un s’enrichir au détriment de l’autre

Même si cela peut s’avérer commode si vous gagnez moins que votre conjoint, ne tombez pas dans le piège d’assumer l’essentiel des dépenses quotidiennes et de laisser votre partenaire payer en son nom seul les bien durables comme la maison et les meubles. Ceux-ci possèdent une valeur de revente et, en cas de rupture, vous vous retrouverez sans rien.

5. Conclure un contrat de vie commune ou une convention patrimoniale

Vous vivez aujourd’hui le grand amour, c’est formidable ! Profitez-en pour prévoir quand tout va bien les règles qui prévaudront en cas de rupture : le mode de partage de certains actifs, l’inventaire et le partage des biens communs, l’occupation de la maison, etc. Inscrivez-les dans un contrat de vie commune si vous êtes cohabitants de fait ou dans une convention patrimoniale en cas de déclaration de partenariat auprès de votre commune de résidence. N’hésitez pas à faire appel à un avocat ou à un notaire pour la rédaction de ces documents.

En résumé, amour et argent peuvent faire bon ménage à condition que chacun exprime en toute franchise ses besoins, ses attentes et ses limites.

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser