What is a donation?

Unlike the will which takes effect at death, donation is an act by which a person called the donor transfers during his lifetime irrevocably and gratuitously any property to another person called the donee.

Donation can transfer immovable or movable property to natural (spouse, parents, children, brothers and sisters, etc.) or legal persons (associations, charities, etc.).  

According to the Luxembourgish civil law, donation is only recognised if the contract is passed before the notary (except for real estate located abroad). A document written by a notary is considered as an authentic deed and can’t be challenged by a third person.

However, some gifts are accepted without notarial deed:

  • manual or hand to hand gifts;
  • hidden donations, when the donor pretends selling an asset to the donee at a fixed price which is, in reality, fictitious and will never be paid;
  • indirect donations made by another juridical act than a donation act (as a debt forgiveness for example). 

How much does donation cost?

According to the Luxembourg tax law, donations of immovable and movable property by notarial deeds are subject to registration duties (i.e. gift taxes). The registration duties are calculated on the market value of the property estimated on the day of the donation and depend on the degree of relationship between the donor and the donee. The rates vary from 1.8% or 2,4% for gifts in direct line (between grand-father and grand-son for example) to 14,4% for gifts between non-related persons.

When the donees are municipalities, public institutions, hospices, social offices, non-profit associations or foundations, the rate is 4.8%. Registration duties are divided by two for gifts made in a contract of marriage. Are exempted from registration duties gifts for scholarships to universities or institutions of higher education.  

In principle, registration duties are paid by the donator, unless it is stipulated in the notarial deed that the duties will be paid in whole or in part by the donee.

In addition to the registration duties, the donator has to pay the notary. Notarial fees are calculated in accordance with the value of the goods and the complexity of the legal act. Moreover, immovable goods are subject to a transcription tax (1%) and a municipal surcharge if the property is located within the Luxembourg City municipality.

How to do in practice?

Making a donation is very simple. The donator has to go the notary of his choice with the following documents:

  • the original marriage certificate for a married couple or the original national identity card for a single person;
  • the estimate of the value of the good signed by the donator and the donee in case of a movable property or the notarial deed of transfer of the property rights to the donee in case of an immovable property;
  • the statutes of the legal person and the tax identification number (11 digits) to know which representative of the legal person will sign the notarial deed for acceptance of the donation.    

Indeed, to be valid, the notarial deed must be signed by the donee. As you may expect, there is no donation if the donee doesn’t accept the gift. 

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

Qu’est-ce qu’une donation ?

Contrairement au testament où le testamentaire lègue ses biens après son décès, la donation est un contrat par lequel une personne, appelée le donateur, donne de son vivant, de manière irrévocable et à titre gratuit un ou plusieurs de ses biens à une autre personne, appelée le donataire. 

La donation peut porter sur des biens immeubles ou des biens meubles. Elle peut être faite au bénéfice de personnes physiques (époux, parents, enfants, frères et sœurs, etc.) ou de personnes morales (associations, œuvres caritatives, etc.).

Pour être valable en droit civil luxembourgeois, la donation doit revêtir la forme d’un acte notarié (sauf lorsqu’il s’agit d’un immeuble situé à l’étranger). Un document rédigé par un notaire est en effet considéré comme un acte authentique et ne peut pas être contesté par une tierce personne. Il y a néanmoins des exceptions. Elles sont en général au nombre de trois :

  • les dons manuels ou la donation de biens de main à la main ;
  • les donations déguisées, c’est à dire quand le donateur fait semblant de vendre un bien au donataire pour un prix déterminé qui, en réalité, n’est que fictif et ne sera jamais acquitté ;
  • les donations indirectes qui se réalisent par un acte juridique autre qu’un acte de donation (comme une remise de dette par exemple).

Combien coûte une donation ?

En droit fiscal luxembourgeois, les donations de biens meubles et immeubles faites par acte notarié sont en principe soumises aux droits d’enregistrement. Ces droits d’enregistrement sont calculés sur la valeur vénale (c’est à dire la valeur de marché) du bien estimée au jour de la donation et varient en fonction du lien de parenté entre le donateur et le donataire. Ils peuvent aller de 1,8 ou 2,4% pour les personnes en ligne directe (qui descendent l’une de l’autre comme le grand-père et son petit-fils par exemple) jusqu’à 14,4% entre des personnes non parentes.

Lorsque les donataires sont des communes, des établissements publics, des hospices, des offices sociaux, des associations sans but lucratif ou des fondations, le taux est de 4,8%. Les droits d’enregistrement sont réduits de moitié pour les donations faites par contrat de mariage ou en vue du mariage. Et sont exemptes de droits d’enregistrement des donations ayant pour objet des bourses d’études aux universités et aux établissements publics d’enseignement.

Généralement, les droits d’enregistrement sont à charge du donataire. Sauf s’il est stipulé dans l’acte notarié qu’ils seront en tout ou partie à charge du donateur.

Outre les droits d’enregistrement, d’éventuels frais de notaire sont à prévoir. Ceux-ci sont calculés en fonction de la valeur du bien donné et de la complexité du dossier. Et, pour les biens immeubles, il faut encore ajouter les droits de transcription (1%) et la surtaxe communale si le bien est situé sur le territoire de la Ville de Luxembourg.   

Et en pratique ?

Rien de plus simple. Pour faire une donation, le donateur doit se rendre chez le notaire de son choix avec les documents suivants :

  • l’original du livret de famille pour une couple marié ou l’original de la carte d’identité pour un célibataire ;
  • un état estimatif de la valeur du bien signé par le donateur et le donataire dans le cas d’un bien mobilier ou l’acte notarié relatif à l’acquisition par le donateur dans le cas d’un bien immobilier ;
  • les statuts de la personne morale et éventuellement un numéro de matricule fiscal (11 chiffres) de manière à savoir quel représentant de la personne morale signera l’acte notarié acceptant la donation.

Pour que l’acte notarié soit valable, il faut en effet que le donataire signe également. Une donation ne peut pas se faire si le donataire n’accepte pas la donation. Mais cela, vous vous en doutiez…

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser