How to optimise your tax declaration?

Every year, it is the same old story: we have to fill in our tax declaration. For many of you, this annual exercise is like a chore. It is a pity because a tax declaration, correctly optimised, can save you money by reducing your taxes. Today, the range of tax-deductible products is so broad that it is sometimes difficult to choose. To help you get a better picture, we will describe the main fiscal products available on the market.

Home savings

You can deduct the contributions paid for a home savings policy from your total net income. The home savings policy allows you to receive a loan with attractive conditions for the purchase of a personal residence in exchange for contributions.

The premiums and contributions are only deductible up to the limit of EUR 672 for the taxpayer increased by the same amount for the jointly taxable spouse (or partner in case of partnership) and also for each of the taxpayer’s children subject to a tax allowance for children.

To be deductible, the home savings contract must be taken out in order to finance the construction, acquisition or transformation of an apartment or a house to be occupied by the owner.

Private pension insurance

Taking out a private pension insurance contract allows you to build up an individual supplementary pension. The private pension insurance contract is often called the third pillar because it is a private initiative in opposition to the compulsory social-security scheme – the first pillar – and to the additional pension scheme set up by the employer – the second pillar.

The deduction ceiling for a private pension insurance contract depends on your age and varies from EUR 1,500 to EUR 3,200.

Personal loan and debit interest

You can also deduct from your total net income the debit interest linked to personal loans (purchase of movable goods, purchase of a car, holiday financing, acquisition of a portfolio of investment securities, funds to help maintain your standard of living, etc.). The debit interest on your current account or your credit card is also deductible.

However, the limitation is not applicable to debit interest related to loans contracted in order to finance the acquisition or construction of the taxpayer’s personal residence or a residence to let or to carry out a self-employed or commercial professional occupation.

The debit interest is only deductible up to the limit of EUR 336 for the taxpayer increased by the same amount for the jointly taxable spouse (or partner in case of partnership) and also for each of the taxpayer’s children subject to a tax allowance for children.

Insurance contributions and premiums

Certain contributions and insurance premiums may also be deducted from your total net income. These contributions and premiums are mainly paid for life, death, accidents, invalidity, sickness or civil liability insurance.

In case of the all-risk motor insurance, parts of the premiums related to theft, fire, broken glass, material damage and legal protection are not deductible. Only the parts related to civil liability and corporal damage are deductible.

In addition to the deduction ceiling of EUR 672 per person in the same household, a one-time premium for a debt balance insurance to ensure the payment of a loan granted in order to purchase the main residence is also deductible. The limit is EUR 6,000 maximum, EUR 12,000 in case of collective taxation and increased by EUR 1,200 for each of the taxpayer’s children subject to a tax allowance for children.

Figure it out: if you have the 4 fiscal products mentioned above, you can deduct more than a few thousand euros per year from your total net income! Not bad, is it?

Articles that might interest you

  • Often you hear people say: “Anyway, until I have paid off my home loan it’s the bank who owns my house”. But is it true?

  • It is always the same question that every one of us is asking before signing a home loan with his bank. To gain a more objective overview, let’s analyse them one by one with their respective advantages and disadvantages.

  • The rate remains fixed for a pre-defined period and, at the end of the period, is subject to a revision. The pre-defined period can vary from one bank to another but is generally 3, 5 or 10 years.

Comment optimiser sa déclaration fiscale ?

Chaque année, il faut remplir sa déclaration d’impôts. Pour beaucoup d’entre vous, cet exercice annuel s’apparente à une corvée. C’est dommage car une déclaration fiscale, quand elle est correctement optimisée, peut vous faire gagner de l’argent en réduisant le montant de vos impôts. Aujourd’hui, les possibilités de déductions fiscales sont nombreuses et variées, à tel point qu’il est parfois difficile de s’y retrouver. Pour vous aider à y voir plus clair, nous vous présentons les principaux produits fiscaux disponibles sur le marché.

L’épargne logement

Vous pouvez déduire de vos revenus soumis à l’impôt les cotisations versées dans le cadre d’un contrat d’épargne-logement. L’objet d’un contrat d’épargne logement est de vous permettre de recevoir un prêt avec des conditions avantageuses pour le financement de son habitation personnelle en échange du versement de cotisations.

Ces cotisations ainsi que les intérêts créditeurs versés dans le cadre d’un contrat d’épargne-logement sont déductibles à hauteur de 672 euros par an maximum. Ce plafond est majoré de son propre montant pour le conjoint (ou le partenaire dans le cas d’un partenariat) et pour chaque enfant faisant partie du ménage.

Pour bénéficier de la déduction d’impôts, le contrat d’épargne-logement est soumis à certaines conditions, la principale étant que celui-ci doit être souscrit en vue de financer la construction, l’acquisition ou la transformation d’un appartement ou d’une maison utilisé(e) pour les besoins personnels d’habitation.

Le contrat de prévoyance vieillesse

Souscrire à un contrat de prévoyance vieillesse vous permet de vous créer une épargne à l’âge de la retraite. On appelle souvent le contrat de prévoyance vieillesse le troisième pilier parce qu’il s’agit d’une initiative privée contrairement au régime de sécurité sociale obligatoire – le premier pilier – et au régime complémentaire de pension mis en place par l’employeur – le deuxième pilier.

Le plafond de déductibilité du contrat de prévoyance vieillesse dépend de votre âge et oscille entre 1.500 et 3.200 euros.

Le prêt personnel et les intérêts débiteurs

Vous pouvez également déduire de vos revenus soumis à l’impôt tous les intérêts liés à un emprunt contracté pour financer l’achat d’une voiture, de meubles privés ou de tout autre type de dépenses personnelles (l’acquisition d’un portefeuille titre ou d’un terrain à bâtir, le financement de vos vacances ou des fonds empruntés et utilisés pour maintenir votre niveau de vie, etc.). Sont également déductibles les intérêts débiteurs que vous devez payer sur vos cartes de crédit ou sur vos comptes bancaires.

Par contre, ne sont pas couverts les intérêts liés à un emprunt contracté pour financer l’acquisition d’une habitation personnelle ou d’un immeuble donné en location ainsi que les intérêts liés à un emprunt lié à une activité de commerçant ou d’indépendant.

Les intérêts liés à l’emprunt sont déductibles à hauteur de 336 euros par an maximum. Ce plafond est majoré de son propre montant pour le conjoint (ou le partenaire dans le cas d’un partenariat) et pour chaque enfant faisant partie du ménage.

Les primes d’assurance

Sous certaines conditions, les primes versées dans le cadre d’un ou plusieurs contrats d’assurance peuvent également être déduites de vos revenus. Il s’agit principalement des primes portant sur un contrat de vie, de décès, d’accidents, d’invalidité, de maladie ou de responsabilité civile.

Ainsi, dans le cadre de l’assurance automobile tous risques, toute la partie des primes relative aux risques de vol, incendie, bris de glaces, dégâts matériel et protection juridique n’est pas déductible. Seule peut l’être la partie relative à la responsabilité civile et aux dommages corporels.

Outre le plafond de déductibilité ordinaire de 672 euros par an comme pour l’épargne logement et le prêt personnel, il existe une majoration extraordinaire en cas de paiement de la prime unique d’assurance-décès contractée pour garantir le remboursement d’un prêt à l’acquisition d’un bien (l’assurance solde restant dû). Cette majoration est de 6.000 euros maximum, doublé en cas d’imposition collective et augmenté de 1.200 euros par enfant faisant partie du ménage.

Faites le calcul : si vous disposez des 4 produits fiscaux mentionnés ci-dessus, vous pouvez déjà déduire de vos revenus quelques milliers d’euros par an ! Pas mal, non ?

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser